check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Aloha Coast Realty/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals

Member since: 2000
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!

35 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Puna District House Rental Photos and Description

With your own private, thermally heated pond, sprawling lawns and lots of indoor/outdoor space, Hale Mahana is a true Hawaiian experience!

Imagine floating languidly in a warm volcanic pond, gently caressed by waves of water. Feel the warmth of sun beams dancing on your body, inhale the sweet fragrance of tropical flowers, and feel the cool, gentle tradewinds as you relax on the lanai. Awake to the cooing of doves and watch moonbeams dance across the pond at night. You're at Hale Mahana (House of Rest) in Kapoho on the East side of the Big Island of Hawaii!

Take a video peek.

Hale Mahana is a multi-facetted building designed with the temperate Hawaiian weather in mind. There are two master suites, the each has a Queen size Select-Comfort bed with a 4" memory foam mattress topper, wet bar with sink, microwave and mini-fridge, flat screen TV, screened lanai and full en-suite bath. Both master bathrooms have jetted tubs, tiled floors and garden views. Each suite also has its own screened in lanai with a view of the Hale Mahana pond. The lower-level lanai also has a futon day bed for that 5th guest. From the lanais you can hear the ocean just a couple of blocks away. There is a third bathroom off the kitchen that boasts a large and artisic outdoor shower! The stained glass shows several Hawaiian fish, can you name them?

The kitchen is well equipped and with an outdoor gas grill as well, you can feast on local Hawaiian seafood and produce! There is room for dining al fresco under the stars or in the garden view dining room just off the kitchen. There is even a small flat screen TV in the kitchen so you don't miss a thing while you're cooking away! And if you're visiting in winter, you just may get chilly enough to turn on the small electric fireplace to warm your toes with your morning coffee or tea.

The tidepool ranges from 6 feet deep at low tide and up to 15 feet at high tide. The temperature varies from 88 degrees F at high-tide to 91 degrees at low tide, year round. This lagoon is one of the original natural tidepools in Kapoho and neighborhood legend has it that King Kamehameha III frequented these grounds and swam in this tidepool!

Kapoho is known for its great weather and the renowned Champagne Pond where you can swim with sea turtles and tropical fish, just two blocks from Hale Mahana. Pahoa Village is a 12 minute drive and has great restaurants, quaint shopping and even a public pool. Fly into the Hilo airport and you're an easy 45 minute drive to Kapoho or fly into Kailua-Kona about a 3-hour drive.

W01061298-01

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Aloha Coast Realty/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals (Property Manager)
Member since: 2000
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Why Aloha Coast Realty/Hawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals chose Puna District

Kapoho Beach Lots is a beautiful vacation gated community with geothermally heated ponds, spectacular snorkeling and a friendly relaxed atmosphere.

What makes this house unique

Having a personal pond on the property makes it very unique and relaxing.

Reviews

4.2
based on 35 traveler reviews

Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
average rating of 4.2285714 based on 35 reviews
Laguna Beach, CA, USA
4

Concur With Previous Comments

  • 4 of 5

Yes, there was a neighbor who enjoyed swimming in the buff, but that's OK as we enjoyed doing the same. Though suits shouldn't come off until you are in the pool as the backyard doesn't have much privacy from any direction. Beds were not very comfortable as new mattresses are needed. Bugs are attracted to lights at night, so if you don't want them in your bedroom, turn on the bathroom light and that's where they'll go. Unfortunately, you can also expect a bathroom sink full of tiny flies upon waking in the morning. Kitchen cupboards are very large and do not have pulls, so they were quite awkward to use. And there are no shelves or dressers in the bedrooms for unpacking clothes, so you will likely live out of your luggage. Gatherings at night have to be in one of the two bedrooms as there is no great room or even a family room with a TV. That being said, the outdoor thermal pond is fabulous, the location is very, very quiet and we had a nice time. Get plenty of supplies before you arrive because it is a haul back to town. Beaches on this side of the island are mostly rock and not really swimmable, compared to Kona side. And the pace of living is a whole lot slower, but that's a nice change of pace, in my opinion. I would recommend this property, but be sure you know what you're getting into before you get there so there are no surprises.

  • Submitted: May 27, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Georgetown, TX
2

Beds and neighbors

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was more than happy with the location.

The vacation rental was clean.

The property manager was very helpful.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

\Place was somewhat clean although because of ill fitting screens and doors it was buggy. Beds are horrible, and seeing a neighbor sun bathing in the nude was disgusting. It would have been nice to have tools to clean the leaves out of the pond. The place is for sale and it seems that the ownership has given up on keeping it up. I will not stay here again

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: We so wish you would have called so that we could have tried to address the bug issues. We're very familiar with the layout of Hale Mahana and, in fact, it sits below the neighboring parcels. We cannot figure out where the nude sunbathing neighbor might have been - since only one home is visible from Hale Mahana and that home sits above it.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Belmont, CA
4

Great tide pool and beautiful house!

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was very happy with the location.

The vacation rental was spotless.

The property manager was very helpful.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We enjoyed very much our stay at Hale Mahana. The house and surrounding garden are very beautiful and definitely unique. On our 3rd day we started to get used to the strange layout. This was not our first time at Kapoho, and this was our best place to stay so far. The house is located very close to the Champagne Pond; and the geothermal pool was a highlight of this wonderful place! Hale Mahana is very private, peaceful and relaxing. I liked its style and beauty, so we took lots of pictures.

We had a few minor issues, e.g. bed mattress has a depression in the middle, but we did not have any back problems. It would be very helpful to have at least some hooks or towel racks in bathrooms, so we could hang towels to dry after we used them. It would be nice to have folding drying racks to hang wet things to dry after swimming. Also it would be nice to have some kind of shelving or drawers in bedrooms to unload our things into. I tried to use provided kitchenettes to hold our stuff, but mostly things stayed in our luggage.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful vacation rental

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was very happy with the location.

The vacation rental was spotless.

The property manager was more than helpful.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We only had a few days to stay so did not get to take advantage of the hot pond as much as we would have liked.The property was very clean and comfortable. Our only real complaint was the kitchen. It was not stocked as well as we would have liked,was extremely small and the huge cabinet doors were very hard to open without any kind of knobs or handles on them. The set up of the property is very unique and we liked that, would have liked a larger indoor common area for when it was raining, our bedroom ending up being mostly our indoor "living area. I would recommend this property for no more than 4 people since there is not an actual living area indoors. Overall, very pleased. The hot pond is the most outstanding feature.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kailua Kona, HI
5

Girlfriend said it was a perfect choice

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was very happy with the location.

The vacation rental was spotless.

The property manager was very helpful.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

All good, great surrounding environment, bedroom & spa bath combos were fabulous except for the beds ... Second floor bed really sunk in middle so bad we moved to first floor bedroom, better but ended up with sore lower backs, otherwise kitchen, shower in small structure very nice, living room area adjoining kitchen was nice but not really a living room you could get comfortable in. The private heated pond was a real plus. Rain came and went and added to the flavor of the Kapoho experience? I would rent again if they upgraded the beds.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, OR
5

Loved the Tide Pool

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was more than happy with the location.

The vacation rental was spotless.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We thoroughly enjoyed our five days at Hale Mahana. The home was very clean and well situated. We loved being a short walk away from Chanpagne Pond, and within striking distance of interesting things to see in Puna as well as the national park. The house itself has a unique layout that we enjoyed, though it would have been nice to have a larger common area or living room.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Hilo
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Kapoho

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates are based on a party of 2; additional guests are are $10 each per night plus tax.
    There is a cleaning fee of $150 - $165, depending upon group size.
    All reservations require a non-refundable $35 damage waiver and Hawaii taxes of 13.416%

    We accept major credit cards for payment.
    We require a 25% deposit to confirm, with the balance due 90 days before arrival.
    Reservations arriving within 90 days are due in full at the time of booking.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Puna District House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Hale 1 has dining, galley kitchen, small seating area, powder room, outdoor walk-in shower. Hale 2 has full master suite on lower and upper level, both with private lanai.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...