Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Private Villa, Staff on Site

Bedrooms 6
Half Baths1
Space 5,650 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Villa, 6 Bedrooms, 6.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

A spacious family villa, this property is ideally suited for multi-generational vacations. Equipped with a variety of children's toys and books as well as an extensive paperback book library perfect for beach reading. We also have beach toys, chairs and umbrellas. This property is sure to have something to amuse everyone. The private pool on the deck allows for quick dips day and night. The villa is for your exclusive use.

Dawn Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches on the island, is just a 7 minute walk away. This is a downhill walk and is quite quick, but the walk back is up hill and will take at least twice as long. Dawn Beach will give you access to some of the best snorkeling on the island. At the far end of this beach you can walk to a gourmet dinner and gambling at the Westin Hotel.

All the beaches on Saint Maarten have public access. Some are deserted, but many have both beach bars as well as activities, including a variety of water sport equipment rental. Every day you can go to a different beach. Remember to pick up the most recent Discover magazine in the airport when you arrive. There is usually one at the villa if you forget.

A duty free port, SXM has some great bargain shopping. Phillipsburg has a large selection of beautiful jewelry and watches as well as a long boardwalk on a lovely beach. You can swim and shop and go to happy hour all in one spot. Marigot, on the French side has European designer shopping as well as a large outdoor market. This is also where you can get the ferry to Anguilla for a day trip.

Saint Maarten has many excursions available - from sailing on a 10 meter America's Cup yacht to a tour on a Pirate Ship. Fishing, sailing, windsurfing, Jet skiing, snorkeling and scuba diving and para sailing are all easily accessible on the island. There is an activity for everyone. Ferries leave from various locations to the islands of Anguilla and St. Barth. Both islands are fun for a day trip. The St. Barth ferry leaves from Captain Olivers, just across the pond, every Wednesday. The Anguilla ferry leaves from Marigot daily.

A minute drive away is the best baby beach on the island, Galion Beach/Coconut Grove. As we affectionately call it, Coco Lobo, is just past the Butterfly Farm, where you can witness an impressive display of Lepidopterology and botany in the early mornings as the butterflies break out of their cocoons. Coco Lobo is also a popular kite sailing local; always exciting to watch.

Fiddler's Green has spacious living areas including a dinning room table that seats 12, everyone can come together in the evening to share their various adventures. The villa boasts a beautiful view across the ocean to St. Barths. Even at night the view can't be beat twinkling lights of this French island.

Keywords: Villa, beach front, beach swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, fishing, para sailing, kite sailing, body surfing, surfing, wind surfing, jet skiing, sand and sea, nude beaches, island rental, Caribbean rental, ocean views, sea breezes, relaxing, fun in the sun rental, duty free shopping, great restaurants, private, exclusive, spacious, vistas, tranquil

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 8, 2017

About Suzanne

Born in the USA, we moved to Montreal, Canada in the 1960's. We have the splendid privilege to enjoy some of the best skiing on the East coast and then fly down to Saint Maarten to some of the best beaches in the Caribbean! Building our own house meant that we can travel with our dogs too. Life is good!

Suzanne purchased this villa in 1996

Why Suzanne chose Oyster Pond

Situated on the eastern border between Dutch/French Saint Maarten we are located in an area developed for villas. We avoid the extremely tourist areas without losing any convenience. Just 10 minutes from Phillipsburg everything we need is nearby. The French side has great restaurants and excellent convenience stores; French baguettes, croissants and pain au chocolate every morning.

What makes this villa unique

With a spectacular view of the beach and ocean and the gentle trade winds our home is a true paradise. Even at night we have the twinkling lights of St. Barths in our sites. A private garden behind the house is a great place for morning coffee and if you are lucky maybe you can find some fresh lemons or limes. Even visiting several times a year there is always something new to discover on the island of Sint Maarten - St.Martin. This is truly a tourist paradise with an endless variety of activities and so many beautiful beaches it is impossible to 'do it all' in one trip.

The villa invites you to relax and enjoy your stay. You will find complimentary 'starter' groceries in the kitchen, milk, eggs, bread, butter so you can enjoy your arrival with breakfast for your first morning already at hand.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thank you for the use of your beautiful home. The setting and view are spectacular and Moreen and Justin are very gracious. As the 10 of us sit here on the deck our last morning, it is very quiet. No one wants to leave in a few hours. We have had a wonderful vacation - and we are all still friends after a week of togetherness!
Jan 1999
  • 1 of 5


Baie Rouge Beach
"This beach is very popular with French locals. It is chill on Sundays when there is often a..."
"This beach is a bit hard to find but is well worth it. We often go early and have breakfast..."
Maho Beach
"This THE beach for watching the planes land. Check out the Youtube videos online. It is ve..."
"This is a bit far from us but well worth the trip. The food is delicious and the service im..."
Palm Beach
Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Princess Juliana International Airport (SXM)
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Mr. Busby's Beach Bar
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Captain Oliver's
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Mullet Bay
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Big Fish
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Dawn Beach
Car: recommended

A an endless variety of activities on the island include kite sailing, sailboat rental with or without crew, deep sea fishing, snorkel and scuba gear rental, the Butterfly Farm.

Planning your activities before you arrive will help you keep you options open, but remember you can always just go the the beach.


Oyster Pond Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 5650 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Computer Available
  • Filtered Water
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
    Bathroom 6 -
  • Full bathrooms in all the bedrooms and a powder room on the main floor.
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Air conditioning, cable t.v., shower, double sinks
    Tower Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Air conditioning, cable t.v., shower
    Tower Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Air conditioning, cable t.v., shower, balcony
    Apartment Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed , Air conditioning, cable t.v., shower, patio
    Master bedroom 2 - 2 double , Air conditioning,cable t.v, bathtub, double sink
    Bowling Alley Bedroom - 1 double , 4 bunk bed , Air conditioning, cab le t.v., shower, patio, patio
  • All bedrooms have private baths and individual air conditioning with remote controls. Most have a balcony, deck or patio access from the bedroom.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 8 beach chairs
  • alternative lifestyle
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Daily Maid Service
  • bay/sound
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Beach chairs, umbrellas, coolers, towels, beach toys available to guests. Security gate for pool, high chair and booster seat for children upon request


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
31% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Private Villa, Staff on Site
average rating of 4.5625 based on 21 reviews
Richmond, Texas

Fantastic Vacation

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful home. This is the second time we have stayed at Fiddler's Green. The house was in great shape and the amenities, where should I start?

The owner, Suzanne is great to work with. She answers all questions promptly and is very fair with her guests.

The caretakers are priceless. Justin and Moreen go above and beyond to make sure your needs are met.

The house has beautiful views and a nice breeze through out. The pool area is the perfect spot when you return from exploring the island to enjoy a cocktail.

The kitchen is well appointed.

There are several restaurants nearby. Our favorite day was when we rented a yacht and toured around the entire island. The yacht rentals are 2 minutes away.

We can't wait to return to Fiddler's Green

Susan C

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, Thanks very much for the lovely review. We enjoy having you as guests. I know that Moreen and Justin always tell me what great guests you all are. Please have a wonderful winter and we hope that you will stay with us again, Thanks again, Suzanne
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Nashville, TN

Amazing view

  • 3 of 5

We stayed at the villa over New Years Eve for 6 days with a group of 6 (3 couples). We rented the whole house (we originally thought more people were going but they backed out). When the first 2 couples arrived, they picked the 3rd room they wanted (other than the main house/living area) and the other 3 rooms were closed off. That was a little disappointing since we had paid full price, it would've been nice to have been able to grab a couple extra towels from the other bathrooms or pillows for the bedrooms (we did ask for extra towels after the 2nd day and they were there the next morning). We also didn't have hot water (occasionally warm for a few minutes but never hot), and very little water pressure, so we may have tried out the lower bathrooms to see if they were better. Moreen and Justin were great and she was there every morning cleaning and was ready to attend to anything we needed. Justin would close the gate at dark and a couple of times we got locked out but after a few minutes he came down to let us out. The dogs weren't a problem for us, we thought they were adorable. Especially the little one! The sheets and towels felt pretty "crispy", like they were air-dried I'm assuming, so I would probably take my own sheets or a soft blanket if we were going back. I'd probably recommend taking your own beach towel also if you want a big soft one. The beds were very hard, my husband loved it, I didn't like it so much. The house was very spacious and more than enough room for us. It had all the basic necessities we needed for the kitchen (we ate out every night so didn't need much, but what we did need was there). The view can't be beat -it really was gorgeous. We watched the fireworks over on St Barth's for NYE. It was nice to have the pool, although it was chilly so we never got in it. It would probably be great in warmer months. I was pretty religious about bugspray and sleeping with the mosquito nets so I didn't get any bites, but the other girls had a lot of them. Other than a little updating needed (mainly linens -bedding, towels, curtains...), the house and the housekeepers were great and very easy to communicate with.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Karen, I am glad that Moreen and Justin were able to help you with all that you needed. It is true that there are some things about living on an island that are a bit different than at "home". We have tried to respect that beauty of Sint Maarten and to do things that will ensure its future. We have tried to develop a green home. Yes, the sheets and towels are air dried. We sold our dryer after we realized that all the electricity on the island is derived from diesel that is shipped in to the island. The use of electricity on Sint Maarten is a big contributor to pollution there. So no, you will not find big, fluffy towels beach towels and it is true the sheets are a bit crisp. In fact we just replaced all our beach towels with Turkish towels. They are much easier to carry to the beach and dry very quickly so you are not trying to manage a wet, sandy towel. We have blankets in the house and in most of the bedrooms. Moreen should have been able to give you one. I understand that you would have liked to use all the bedrooms, but your contract was for 3 bedrooms. We normally keep the others closed to save Moreen the obligation of cleaning bedrooms that are not being used. I apologize as I could have given you a contract for all six of the bedrooms it I had known that you were interested in that option. Unfortunately I cannot improve the water pressure. We have city water and as such we are at the mercy of GEBE, the power and water service in Sint Maarten. Sometimes it is good, sometimes not. But we are lucky that we actually get city water. All the other villas beside us and above us get their water from a water service that delivers their water by truck to their cisterns. Because the hot water tank is on the lowest level of the house, it can take a long time for the hot water to get to the hot, but it does come. I am not patient so that is why I make my husband take the first shower, LOL. Please know that we try to make all of our guests have an enjoyable stay and we do appreciate suggestions and new perspectives. I will see if I can make some of the things that were surprises to you more clear in the description of the villa. We would be very happy to host you again in the future. Regards, Suzanne
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fun island to visit

  • 4 of 5

House was nice but if you require 100% air conditioning or a washer and dryer for a long stay this isn't your place. Housekeeper is in place every weekday by 930 am. She is a real treasure. The house is extremely well maintained and a fantastic location. Our family loved it but wouldn't recommend for small kids.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, Thank you for your response. It is true we use the trades winds from the ocean as a benefit in the Great Room and this is best accomplished with the doors open front and back. We do have air conditioning in all the bedrooms. We are very well equipped for small children and in fact we even have a security fence for the pool. Moreen is available to do your laundry should you require. Thanks for all your suggestions, Suzanne
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Winnipeg, MB, Canada

A+++ vacation Villa on the charming island of Sint Maarten

  • 5 of 5

Wow! This villa is heaven on earth! My husband and I stayed for two weeks and we can't wait to go back next year. Whether you have a large group or small one, this property will suit you. We normally do all-inclusives but found the well appointed kitchen and layout of the villa to be wonderful and casual. We bbq'd as well as had appi's and beverages on the deck. We stayed in the pent house room and had tons of privacy as well as terrific service from the on-site staff. The beaches are tremendous and only a short hop away or we could just walk down the driveway to Dawn Beach at our feet. We even spent a couple of afternoons lounging by the pool on deck overlooking St Barts and Anguilla. We took a few shopping excursions into Philipsburg and Marigot and picked up some lovely island treasures. One other thing that we found impressive was the villa's commitment to sustainability and keeping "GREEN". Speaking of green, the two-for-one drinks and yummy appetizers at the Green House in Philipsburg were a repeat destination for us. All-in-all, this was one truly amazing vacation destination.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2015
  • Stayed: March 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Beautiful Private Villa

  • 5 of 5

My family and friends had a wonderful time at this villa. All of the rooms were pleasant and well decorated, the views were great, the layout excellent for guests to be together and have some privacy, and the on-site staff were very pleasant and kept things clean. I would seriously like to go back and have recommended this villa to friends. I loved the location on the island which was right near the French border and away from big hotels. It's easy by car to get to nearby beaches and you can walk to the little town down the road. There are good nearby restaurants but the villa was so pleasant, we often cooked in. The outdoor patio has a gorgeous view looking out to St. Barts and is great to hang on at all times of the day. Rent a smaller car to navigate the roads of the island and the driveway leading up to the villa. Small children would be tough as there is a nice little pool on the patio to cool off in. Put this place high on your list!!

  • Submitted: May 24, 2015
  • Stayed: January 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Margaret, Thank you for your review. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Just to let you know, when your family is ready to visit with their little children we do have a security fence for the pool so everyone can enjoy the deck without concern for the children. We have used it for all our babies! It really helps to be able to relax without worry. We look forward to having you at the villa again. Thanks again, Suzanne
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Fiddlers Green - St. Maarten

  • 5 of 5

Wow, what a wonderful island. The villa was beautiful, clean and had everything we needed to make our stay the best ever.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $150
Property Damage Protection $99
Tax Rate 9.0%

All prices are based on 2 person occupancy, with exclusive use of villa
Each additional person is:
$150/week Low Season
$275/week High Season
Events are priced for 12 people or 6 rooms

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.