check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Beverly Herrington

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

SPECIAL! $139/night thru 12/19/16 Beautiful Oceanview 1 BDRM Condo, Non-Smoking

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Lahaina Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)

Our B102 ( B Building) ocean view condo has granite in both the kitchen as well as the bathroom. With new furniture, new flatscreen TV, modern new range, king bed, bedroom carpet, etc., our condo is very comfortable for our guests. It provides easy access to the putting greens, gas BBQs, hot tubs, and swimming pools just footsteps from your door. Feel free to play some tennis on Papakea Resort's well maintained tennis courts lounge by the pool with free Wifi throughout the facility. Enjoy the tropical breezes and Maui sunsets while relaxing on your private lanai. You'll understand why Maui is rated the #1 island in the world! This property has wonderful expansive tropical gardens and ponds. The amenities include 2 pools, 2 Jacuzzis, 3 lighted tennis courts, 2 shuffleboards, 2 putting greens, 12 gas barbecues, picnic areas, free parking, free WiFi Internet access, free tennis, free local calls and a concierge who can arrange island activities: luaus, whale watching tours in season, sailing, snorkeling trips, golf, biking down the volcano, and so much more.

We always endeavor to keep our guests informed as to any unusual activity at Papakea Resort. We have been informed of an emergency repair on the seawall in front of the Papakea Resort. Management believes there will be some noise and the view may be obstructed around the repair site at times depending where they are in the project. Work began December 7, 2015 and will be completed December 18, 2016. The work hours are Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. No weekend work.

Papakea consists of two separate and equal facilities (pools, hot tubs, shuffleboards, putting greens) in two “V” shapes (see photo). All of these facilities will be available during the project. We have had very good reviews of the project so far.

Papakea Resort has implemented a $17/day Facilities Use Fee (with a 10-day maximum charge). This fee will be collected by the front desk and provides the amenities listed above for no additional charge.

Panoramic Video: Please view our video of our spectacular oceanview condo, Papakea Resort, and fun activities in Lahaina and Kaanapali. Mahalo!

Mahalo!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Beverly Herrington (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

About Beverly Herrington

I live in Sydney, Australia and have since 2002. It's very beautiful here just like Maui. The lure of Maui came when I was a young boy where we travelled to West Maui every year for two weeks for approximately 10 years of my life growing up. I loved the sun, water, and the natural beauty of the island. It was always a dream of mine to own a place in Maui with such fond memories. In October of 2009 I was fortunate enough to be in a position to buy unit B-102 at the resort. I chose this location because it's a ground floor unit with excellent views. You can walk out onto the manicured putting green or directly to the pool, jacuzzi, and BBQ's without having to ride any lifts or hike down stairs. Currently, I work for a large software company in Sydney so it is a very nice 'central' meeting point in Maui when the family wants to get together without everyone having to fly 13 hours.

I hope you enjoy the peace and beauty of Maui as much as I do. It's my own little paradise.

Beverly Herrington purchased this condo in 2009

Why Beverly Herrington chose Maui

Maui provides for outdoor activities such as golf, and snorkeling right off of the shore only minutes from the condo. I chose this property because it is on the water, there are great local restaurants within minutes walk, or you can walk across the road to a fantastic shopping market to get dinner then bbq by the pool watching the sunset. It feels like a home away from home.

What makes this condo unique

This is a ground floor unit which means you literally walk out the onto the putting green or take a dip in the pool. Its great for parents with small children as you can sit on the lanai while the kids play within eyesight. For those who prefer a short walk to a ride in the elevator, this gives them easy access to the pool and/or spa. All in all you get the best of a vacation whether you are 5 or 85.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)
SPECIAL! $139/night thru 12/19/16 Beautiful Oceanview 1 BDRM Condo, Non-Smoking
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 27 reviews
5

Second stay in this unit

  • 5 of 5

We love the fact that this unit is on the ground level. We have been to Papakea several times but this unit is our favorite, hands down. The kitchen is well-appointed with excellent cookware, utensils, etc. and the location of the unit within Papakea is perfect (easy walking access to the ABC store and strip mall with local restaurants and grocery). We have also appreciated the customer service provided by the owners. All and all such a great condo contributed to a wonderful trip.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The most beautiful view

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Bev and family for renting your condo to us. It was exactly as you described. We couldn't have asked for more.

Your condo is well equipped to cook in and save not eating out. The barbaques at the resort was a great addition.

We enjoyed using the extras, beach chairs, snorkel gear etc.

We will definitely have our family return to your condo

Jayne

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Would stay here again.

  • 4 of 5

Represented well on vrbo. Would stay here again. Great value compared to other resorts in its class.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that our guests enjoyed their stay in our lovely condo and are pleased that they want to return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Family holiday

  • 1 of 5

We have stayed at this resort eight times over the past eight years. This year as a treat we decided to take our entire family to paradise for Christmas. We rented three other units in total including this one. The other units were great but we were very disappointed in our unit. It was advertised as clean, quiet and having an Ocean view.

The bedroom carpet was filthy and had a large stain on it. There was a pervasive odor in the bedroom. The carpet was cleaned on January 4. This improved the odor.

The blanket for the bed had stains. When we washed it, it came out a vibrant color so it was dirty as well as stained.

There were cockroaches which we reported to the owner's mother on December 29 in a phone call, after an email to her on December 25 remained unanswered. The solution to this was roach bait, dropped off by the cleaner, which we then distributed. We continued to see cockroaches both dead and alive.

The ocean view was blocked by large black tarps until January 5, 2016. Until then the noise and beeping from a backhoe was constant during most days with the exception of holidays and weekends. A sinkhole was being repaired so no Oceanview and no quiet.

Cleaning products were sparse. We bought a toilet brush, cleanser, facial tissues and J cloths because there weren't any in the unit. We soon had to purchase additional dish soap, hand soap, laundry soap, garbage bags and paper towels.

Kitchen cupboards didn't close properly, were stained and had odors.

The stove elements were unreliable. Symbols were worn off the knobs and burner pots were wrapped in for foil. A hot burner light wouldn't turn off.

The dishwasher does a poor job and cannot hold the dinner plates. Many dishes must be done by hand.

Although there were only two of us, The unit is supposed to sleep four. Yet there were only two chairs on the lanai along with an old, dirty, ill fitting lounge that was later replaced by a smaller well used model. When family visited we took out, inside chairs.

Our stay was from December 18 until January 19. We communicated our concerns to the owner's mother by email. She had many excuses for the condition of the unit as well as plans to replace the carpet and stove but she did nothing to improve our situation. We were very disappointed with her lack of interest in our concerns.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are fortunate enough to own five condos on Maui. We're always disappointed when one of guests does not have a good stay; however, inevitably, there always seems to be someone we can't please. Unfortunately, we've had two such guests in a short period of time. We should have seen this one coming. On average, it takes us a total of four communications per rental. With this particular rental, we had 26 emails plus phone calls. Our housekeeper made multiple visits to address her concerns. On December 25, after having been in the condo for a week, we received an email from this guest which states, "We are having the holiday of a lifetime with our kids and grandkids. We have purchased laundry supplies and can't seem to find an egg lifter. Other than that, the unit meets our needs and the bed is quite comfortable. An excerpt from another email states, "We found the utensils, dishes and glassware to be clean; the A/C, dishwasher, fridge, washer and dryer to do their jobs. As you know, we received a 50% discount for our son's unit due to seawall construction and am wondering if there will be any compensation for us?" This last sentence was the real problem. In an effort to please the guest, we offered her a $300 refund. Her response was that she was hoping for a $1,500 refund. In this case, the only solution would have been financial. We do not wish to discount the problems a guest may experience, and we do everything possible to remedy all issues immediately.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Good value

  • 4 of 5

We got our money's worth.

Describing the view as "stunning" is a bit of an oversell as the condo is set back a bit.

The location is pretty good and the amenities are OK. You can't swim in the ocean using the access area adjacent to the property, there's no beach area, and the nearest bar for beach-side cocktails are at the property next door which is an easy walk (there's a little bridge as you walk south).

There's no snorkel grea there so you have to rent it from Snorkel Bob's which is across the street.

The in-unit dryer vents directly into the closet which causes it to overheat and automatically shut down for ~1 hr so if you plan to do laundry, use the timed dry mode and NOT the automatic sensing mode.

Propety was in good condition, bed was comfortable.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Kirkland, Washington
1

B-102

  • 1 of 5

I have been staying at different units at the Papakea since it was opened in the late 1970's (approx. 25+ times). This past visit, was by far, the worst unit I have stayed in. Upon arrival almost 2 weeks ago there were ants on the kitchen & bathroom counters, floors, counter tops, sinks & bathtubs were dirty, & the bed sheets were dirty. We called the owners & they could not get anyone to the unit until the next day. There were not proper cleaning supplies in the unit so went to the store & bought supplies to clean.

We washed the sheets but the clothes dryer quit working before they were dry. Again called the owners & they said that happens with the dryer sometimes & to wait 1-2 hrs. & try again. We waited & it worked.

The next day after having friends over for dinner (lots of dirty dishes) we discovered the dishwasher would not clean the dishes (we tried the same load 3 times in a row). We had to hand wash the dishes the remainder of the stay. The icemaker would not work. A maintenance man showed up the following day with extra sheets & could not fix either the dishwasher or ice maker. Also the following day & pest control man was in the unit trying to get rid of the ants (which worked).

The owner called again & offered to refund our money if we could find another unit on the property. We were doubtful that we would get the refund so we stayed.

Another minor problem was the drape rod in the living room came off.

To top off the week sometime in the last 3 days, I discovered money was missing from the safe in the bedroom closet!!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very proud of our condos in Maui as we have been coming to for the past 30+ years. We pride ourselves on resolving guest issues quickly which is captured in a number of our reviews. We are unclear how any belongings would be missing from the safe as the guest sets their own personal passcode upon their arrival. Unfortunately every so often we are unable to fully delight a guest in which case we offer refunds for the remainder of their stay. We strive to ensure our property is clean, quiet, and comfortable. It's a tropical environment which incurs slightly more maintenance; hence, we work with some of the best local on-island companies who pay attention to the little details. We take reviews and feedback very seriously and have worked diligently to ensure that all maintenance related issues have been resolved. Papakea is a family friendly and quiet resort; hence, we have guests come back year after year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

The beautiful Papakea Resort is located on the ocean (short walk to the beach, restaurants, and shopping) in the Kaanapali area of Maui. Travel only 10 minutes to the famous town of Lahaina—the most popular spot on Maui full of shops, romantic oceanfront dining, ice cream parlors, boat harbor, and nightspots. A tropical paradise!

Other Activities: Shopping, Kayaking

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lahaina Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Value Season
Mar 7 2016 - Dec 18 2016
3 night minimum stay
$139
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas Eve & Day
Dec 24 2016 - Dec 25 2016
2 night minimum stay
$229
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak Season
Dec 26 2016 - Apr 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$199
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Value Season 2017
Apr 18 2017 - Dec 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
$159
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$199
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

One-Time Checkout Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 16.42%

Based on 2 Guests; $10/night for extra guest
Maximum of 4 Guests
One-Time Cleaning Fee $100
16.42% Tax
We accept e-Checks, VISA, Mastercard, and Discover
Free: Parking, Tennis, In-Room WiFi, Local Calls
Papakea implements a $15/day Facilities Use Fee (10-day maximum charge). The fee will be collected by the front desk. We have no involvement with this fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lahaina Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • New Granite, sink, etc.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Convertible Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Brand new King size bed
  • Ceiling Fan, Beautiful Furniture, In-Room Safe
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Gazebo ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Shared Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach View, Ocean View. Elevator, Gazebo: Located near the pool. Great for parties, but must be reserved. Air Conditioning: Window air conditioner located in the living room. Ceiling fans are in both the living room and bedroom. Putters, tennis racquets, iPod/iPhone docking station

Partner Offers