Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Immaculate Oceanfront Home; Fireplace ,Keurig, 2Masters, Xbox1 ,Netflix, Wifi

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

Single Family Home; 3 Brms(2Masters)+ loft; 3.5 Baths; Sleeps11-13; No pets ever

If you want to find me on another site try, HomeEscape 78263000, to find a lower price.

Most of the time the first sentence in an inquiry is, "What a beautiful home!" And it is. You are welcomed in by a clean, open, serene floor plan (no crazy Miami colors), with designer appliances and furnishings. Two story floor to ceiling windows overlook the ocean which walk out to a huge main floor deck and 2 screened in porches.

Recently this oceanfront single family home underwent a complete renovation with exceptional designer details throughout the home it has two private and separate master suites making it perfect for 2 families to share. People who have pet allergies will be comfortable, animals have never been allowed in the home. It has granite surfaces, stainless appliances, a gas fireplace, and new bamboo floors.

It has all the electronic entertainment systems you love including 4 TV/DVD’s, Xbox1 and, surround sound. The house has cable, Wifi and, a NetFlix account giving you access to 1000's of movies on demand. This Premier Neighborhood has a pool, clubhouse, tennis court, and boat launch.

Beach Reclamation Project was completed June 1, 2015! Beach is wide and you can see the beach & ocean from the decks.

The home has direct ocean views and is a beach front property. It has private multiple neighborhood beach access, the closest of which is off the driveway on the left side of the house. It is conveniently located less than 5 miles from each bridge access to Topsail Island.

The pool is about 200 yards from the house, about the length of 1 football field.

Fall & Winter special amenities; switch activated gas fireplace, double garage with direct home entry - great for bringing in groceries on a cold or rainy day, single floor living - master, kitchen, and living room are on the first floor, and a desk area, in case work must be done.

Please email me for a quote! The options on the site are not flexible enough to offer everyone the lowest fees & deposits possible from the automated quote system.

Linens are not included but, I do list a few local companies that can provide them within the body of the 'terms and conditions' contract. That way you can customize them to your specific needs.

More Details

Jennifer Dolan
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 10, 2017

About Jennifer Dolan

We love this island! We have owned a personal home here since 2005. It is so family friendly. We can't wait for you to discover it's charm also. We are often here on weekends so if you need anything we are close by.

Jennifer Dolan purchased this house in 2010

Why Jennifer Dolan chose Village of Stump Sound

Shh... don't tell to many people about it though. We like it to remain a little quiet and mysterious.

What makes this house unique

The oceanfront home has great views and is very private. Their is nothing to block the ocean views, particularly from the upper decks (the lower deck is just above dune height), miles of beach and ocean can be seen.

The private neighborhood beach access is past the driveway to the left of the house. I always think this is a great safety feature if you happen to have any 'escape artists' in your party.

The neighborhood pool is 5 houses to the right (about a football field).

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hey Jennifer,

Thanks for opening your home to us. We really enjoyed being there.

My apologies, but I realized I did not start the dishwasher. It has a tablet in it ready to go though.

Take care!

Sep 2017
  • 1 of 4


Nearest Airport
40 Metres
Wilmington, NC
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
sneeds ferry
Nearest Motorway
30 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Surf City
Nearest Beach
in the back yard
Car: necessary

Located 3 miles to downtown Surf City


Village of Stump Sound House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Village ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom 2nd floor - toilet , shower , jetted tub , 2 sinks
    Master Bathroom 3rd floor - toilet , shower , single sink
    Bathroom 3rd floor - toilet , combination tub/shower , off loft area on 3rd floor, single sink
    Half Bathroom - toilet , single sink
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower , near beach access
  • There are two vessel sinks and granite counter tops in the master suite 1.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Master Bedroom 2nd floor - 1 queen , on suite bath
    Master Bedroom 3rd floor - 1 queen , on suite bath
    Loft - 1 king , not fold out or trundle,platform slides out forming king
    Kids Bedroom - 5 twin/ single , Two Bunk Beds plus single twin bed
  • The Master bedroom1 is on the main floor with a private ocean facing porch and a private master bathroom. The Master bathroom 1 has two sinks a jacuzzi tub and separate shower. The master bedroom 2 is on the top floor and has a private ocean facing balcony and an on suite bathroom. The studio/loft is two twin mattress day bed that converts to a king when pulled out. (not a fold out sofa type mattress).
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
The community has a beach clubhouse, multiple community beach access, swimming pool, tennis court and a boat launch on the sound side of the community. The house is ocean front and the closest community beach access entrance is to the left of the house. With ocean front views and a newly renovated house your family will enjoy this beach house and many neighborhood amenities. Loft game area with XboxOne & Netflix. Stereo with multi-room built in speakers. High speed internet Wi-Fi. The house has a NetFix account with over 9,000 movies and shows on demand thorough the xBox. It has bamboo floors on the main level.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
14% Complete
3% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
Immaculate Oceanfront Home; Fireplace ,Keurig, 2Masters, Xbox1 ,Netflix, Wifi
average rating of 4.4074073 based on 31 reviews

A relaxing stay on Topsail for our family!

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed the location of the home which is just a couple of miles from the main Surf City shops/restaurants. The kids really liked the bunk bed arrangement. The upper loft area is so beautiful with the ocean view. It's a great area for the kids to hang out and play cards or games. Everyone had adequate seating and space to spread out in the house. The back deck is nice with two screen porches connecting them. We prepared meals in the kitchen and found everything to be well stocked in the way of utensils, bowls and pots. Having a warm outside shower was ideal for keeping sand out of the house and knocking out only one shower for the kids after beach activities. We thought the beds were comfortable and everyone said that they slept really well each night. When we were leaving the kids expressed how much they "would miss this place!" Looking forward to coming back again.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for noticing some of the things I think are so important about the house. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! Jennifer
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful place nice area would come again!

  • 5 of 5

Peaceful you can hear the ocean love it!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5

The location and house were awesome. The house is close to everything you may need to stock the house -food, shampoo/soap, paper products, etc. We brought our own towels and linens. The house was very clean and the kitchen was stocked with everything needed to cook. The owners were attentive and fixed the dishwasher problem within 30 minutes. You can't beat the access to the beach and pool! We had a big group of kids who loved the room with multiple bunk beds. Great family vacation place that we hope to return to one day.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! I am so glad the guests had a great time. I pride myself on fixing and responding to problems quickly.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

If you like cockroaches, mold, pesticides & a nasty owner--this place is for you!

  • 1 of 5

I brought 3 complaints to the owner throughout the week because she states in her contract that she would NOT give back the security deposit if anyone gives her a bad review. EXCEPT she is still not giving back our damage deposit because I complained about these MAJOR issues to her while she claims it's because we moved a sofa pillow, a cable box and a tiny piece of sucker was found on her stained couch...Not an entire sucker—just a tiny piece (then she had the audacity to question my parenting in a text message because I was concerned about my baby crawling through pesticides but not artificial sugar by letting my daughter have a sucker).

As a responsible owner, I would think she would want to know there was leaking from the upstairs roof that was coming into the living room. She said she knew about the leakage. Due to the leakage from the roof, there was mold growing from behind the outlet and light switches in the dining room/kitchen. The only solution she offered was to leave by 3pm (it was 11AM) at the time in the middle of our vacation. This was not a real solution.

We found several cockroaches, both alive and dead, throughout the house. When I contacted the owner, she stated that she already knew about the infestation and she had sprayed pesticides in the house on the day that we came. The issue I have with this is that we have 2 small children that we take great precaution with around pesticides. She claimed she didn’t tell me because I “didn’t ask”… this is not something I would think I needed to ask. She offered no solutions for this other than pack up and leave if I didn’t like it. I asked for a discount on what we paid and she said that a “refund wouldn’t make you safe”. Money hungry.

This house is nothing like advertised. The furnishings were old and stained. The deck needs replaced as it is falling apart and rusted on the inside of all the screened porches. There was absolutely nothing provided as far as helping a renter get started for the week (hand soap, paper towels, a roll of toilet paper, scissors!). If I knew what we were getting into with both the house and the owner, I would have certainly chosen another place.

Because she is vindictive, she is not returning my damage deposit. She even claims in her official reasoning for not giving back my money is that I had "so many complaints" (3 major issues), but she left out what exactly those complaints are.

Save your $$ and find a nicer place in Topsail!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I knew this guest was going to be difficult before check-in. I think everyone reading this review will know someone in there own lives that is always dissatisfied and difficult on an extreme scale. Prior to check-in she emailed multiple times with questions and requesting favors, all of which I answered and granted, informing me she 'booked this house so long ago she had no idea where her contract was'. I did offer multiple solutions and responses to all of her complaints during her stay, what she writes are lies, half truths, misrepresentations of my statements or, inaccuracies. In addition, her statements about the damage she did to the home are lies, half-truths, misrepresentations and, inaccuracies. I'm just not going to address the crazy that is written above. The Site doesn't require either party to tell the truth about events. If I respond to each accusation above it will appear like a 'she said- she said' situation. Just know she refused every offer for a solution or information, just ramping up her obvious anger in her texts to me. I quickly realized she was not going to ever be made happy, I offered her a complete refund if she felt unsafe and wanted to vacate. She informed me she wanted a discount and wanted to stay. If all the things were that bad, why would she stay? I explained no amount of discount could make her feel safe and happy at this point. She refused the refund offer also. I state in my contract that I want the opportunity to correct problems because, no matter how perfect we try to make everything we all know, things can crop up. I did promptly offer to address the barrage of daily new complaints. She refused each offer. The guest went though the Site's vetting process to get her deposit returned, they determined she did violate the contract, and I was allowed to keep her deposit to mitigate my damages. I believe she is even more angry now and wrote the tirade you see above. I feel sad for her soul.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Allison Park, PA

starting legal proceedings

  • 2 of 5

house is fine and have stayed in +50 vbro locations with no issues - the owner concocted reasons for damage and withheld entire damage amount based her "cleaning thoughts". I would avoid this location if she insists on charging an upfront damage amount.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guest ruined the bamboo floor, that isn't a 'housekeeping issue'. I'm sure it was an accident by a child but, there was $3200 worth of damage to the bamboo floor. As near a my housekeeper and I could piece together, a child might have pushed a sand toy in the house along the dining and family room area. The toy wagon likely was heavy with sand and had sand all over the wheels. We think this was how it happened because we found a toy wagon loaded with sand and seized wheels (we imagined the heavily loaded toy with wheels that wouldn't turn being pulled back and forth over the same area) at the bottom of the utility stairs and large amounts of sand in the master bath tub (then an adult found the child, put the toy downstairs, then rinsed the child off in the tub on the same floor). The scratches and pit marks were deep and covering about 500sqft. There is about 1700sqft of bamboo on that floor of the house. The contractor said the whole area would need to be refinished not just the affected area or the finish would not blend, furniture moved and moved back, and it would take 10 days to complete. The contractor also said the guest likely tried to cover up the damage by putting some product like 'NuFinish' on the damaged area. That produced a film on the floor and dirtied the area rugs in the area. The rugs needed to be steam cleaned, a milky colored liquid formed in the machine, I'm guessing the substance they tried to put on the floors, usually the water looks brown and dirty when they are cleaned. I never got any information from this guest as to what actually happened. She did not give us the courtesy of letting us know. Her deposit will not come close to covering the actual damages to the house. This damage left me not sleeping for days, and I'm still not sure how we will pay the total amount to repair the home. Please guests, communicate with the owners prior to and after arrival and checkout. The site has made that communication more difficult in the past year and my problems have definitely gone up also. Things go more smoothly when the communication is great between the guest and the owner. We owners want you to have a great trip and good communication can go a long way toward making that happen.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The house was clean and very comfortable. Adequately equipped kitchen & an almost private beach!

  • 4 of 5

This was our first vacation home rental and I was quite apprehensive but it all worked out really well! My adult children loved the house and location and it turned out to be a wonderful weekend! We made memories that will stay with us forever. It was a celebration for our son's graduation and it was perfect!

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $145
Refundable damage deposit $350
MultiFamilyExtraCleanFee $30
Tax Rate 10.0%

Check in time is 3:00 pm and check out time is 10:00 am.
If the rental cost is $1250 or lower the minimum deposit is $250.
Sheets and towels are not included and can be rented from many local providers. I include a list of providers in the contract.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund