check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Roberta or Gregory

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Dupont Circle Apt: Convenience, Comfort, and Value

9 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Northwest Washington Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Located in the heart of DC on quiet Riggs Place, just a few blocks from world-class restaurants, outdoor cafes, shops, and the Dupont Circle Metro. Walk to museums, the White House, National Zoo, the Kennedy Center, grocery stores and playgrounds. Rent a bike from Capital Bikeshare and travel the area's many bicycle trails. Buy a ticket on the DC Hop-On-Hop-Off Open-Top Double-Decker Bus that stops only three blocks away.

Enjoy the 600 Sq. Ft. Large English Basement Apartment furnished as an integral part of our modern home and decorated with art from our travels. The living room has an oriental rug, two convertible couches, dining area with seating for four, 32' cable TV and DVD. The bedroom has a pillow-top queen bed, dressers, radio and Berber carpeting. There is a compact, fully equipped kitchen and bathroom with shower and tub. Guests can control the heating/air conditioning and access Wi-Fi. No Washer and dryer but we will do a load of your laundry once a week.

We require your own email address for renting/billing.

Keywords: Dupont Circle Large English Basement of our 105 year old historic house with private front and rear doors and windows throughout.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Roberta or Gregory (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Roberta or Gregory

Our family has traveled the world. We have ridden elephants, camels, ox carts, rickshaws. Tuk Tuks, cog railway and canal boats. Transportation is not as exotic in Washington, but we can provide guidance for walking tours, Metro rides, and bicycle trips.

We can guide you to the many Washington Museums, particularly those you must see. You can also visit our own small collection of world art including: Bedouin Camel Bag, Egyptian Papyrus Painting, Kenyan Batik, Ugandan Wild Life Painting, Peruvian Weaving, African Sculpture, Hindu Ganesha, Indian Great Mandela, Israeli and Mexican Pottery, and Australian Walkabout.

At any time, the Washington area is home to over a hundred live theatrical performances, a number within an easy walk or Metro ride. We subscribe and contribute to the Kennedy Center, the Shakespeare Theater, the Phillips Museum, the Newseum, and the Keegan Theater. We're happy to critique the shows we have seen.

Roberta or Gregory purchased this apartment in 2008

Why Roberta or Gregory chose Washington DC

Our home at 1829 Riggs Place is on a quiet one way street but only three blocks from Dupont Circle and its many restaurants, shops and Metro, and steps to more shops and restaurants on neighboring 18th street, in Adams Morgan, and in the U-Street Corridor. We could not be happier with our safe, quiet and convenient location.

What makes this apartment unique

Our neighborhood is populated with very interesting people, most of whom will be happy to meet and talk with you. There are always crowds at the two local Starbucks, playing chess or music at the Circle, and at the fenced in city dog park at S street and New Hampshire Avenues.

Reviews

4.4
based on 9 traveler reviews

Dupont Circle Apt: Convenience, Comfort, and Value
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews
Cape Coral, Florida
4

Lovely basement apartment in DuPont Circle neighborhood

  • 4 of 5

Lovely basement apartment in the DuPont Circle neighborhood. Mind your head stepping to the door. Perfect location in a quiet neighborhood yet close to many attractions and fun neighborhoods with excellent food options. Parking was easy with the permit owner provided. The apartment is large for a basement apartment and very comfortable. I would have liked having a washer & dryer; but it's not a deal breaker. We will definitely stay here again & highly recommend this home away from home.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent apartment!

  • 5 of 5

The part mentioned was perfect for my family of four. We really enjoyed the location, which was a quick walk to the metro. We walked it everyday. No problem finding street parking. The owners were amazing, and sweet people. They gave us some wonderful recommendations of local restraunts. We especially enjoyed the local Thai food restraunt and the Firehook bakery. The kitchen was well equipped and they were happy to teach us how to use the gas oven. Lol. Last but not least, the bed slept very well and my kids did not complain about the futons. I recommend bringing luggage in the back entrance.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Diego
5

Outstanding experience

  • 5 of 5

A lovely apartment, large, extremely clean, and unbelievably close to numerous fine restaurants; also metro stop is close. Convenience par excellence. And the Milmans are perfect hosts: attentive, conscientious, discrete and honest. We left a muffler behind; they found it and mailed it to us, no muss no fuss. Good people all the way around, and we would stay with them again in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Average with good location

  • 3 of 5

Apartment is basic; photos are accurate. Apartment is down 4-5 steep very narrow stairs with low overhang. Have to stoop to get up and down the stairs without railing. I feel this is important information in case people have trouble with stairs or do not want to stoop to get up and down from the apartment. TV is old/dated and didn't work very well - probably time for a flat screen. Overall, apartment was moderately clean but not spotless. Heard owners upstairs in evening walking/talking. Average not high end place; location is convenient.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your comments are helpful. We will tell people about the stairs in the front of the house and also suggest they use the back entrance which is unobstructed. A new television is on the way; the old one is dead. I will also not use the substitute cleaning service again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Spring Break

  • 4 of 5

Our spring break was near flawless at Riggs Place on Dupont Circle. We felt very comfortable with two adults and two kids and had an incredible time. Roberta and Gregg left a neighbor as contact while the start of our trip overlapped with their being away from the property just in case we needed help. They gave us great tips for traveling in DC and wonderful recommendations for transportation. The location is ideal and the food in the area was outstanding. Plenty of room for breakfast lunch or dinner at the apartment and great choices for eating out. Thanks for a great stay. We would definately return and recommend their rental.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Seattle, WA
5

Perfect Launch Pad for Exploring D.C.

  • 5 of 5

My husband, I and our two sons stayed 11 nights in this homey apartment. The photos in the listing accurately reflect the apt which we found clean and with ammenities in good working order. Besides features mentioned in other reviews, we apprecitated: power strips in the bedroom and living area for recharging gadgets and using a hairdryer, great lighting in each room, full-sized fridge (teen boys= lots of food and milk), less restrictive rear entrance that provided easy access for the three family members over 6', separate controls in bedroom and front room for A/C (which kept the apt cool despite 100+ degree days), and real economy vs. hotel options.There is an iron/board and hairdryer, bin for recycling, reusable shopping bags; owners provide garbage bags, dish and bath soap, paper towels and napkins . A basket in the apt holds lots of brochures and area info. Owner noise through the ceiling is minimal. Sheers cover the windows on front and rear doors but don't offer complete privacy. Unlike most hotels, the exhaust fan in the bathroom works great so you don't exit your shower into a sauna. We found the apt location to be very convenient for the lovely neighborhood walk to the Metro and Safeway, with a CVS, B of A ATM, and Krispy Kreme a little bit farther walk to the south. Roberta and Greg were accessible and responsive to a couple of issues that developed and were resolved promptly. They gave ample notice if they needed to access the apt. Security deposit was refunded promptly. We would not hesitate to recommend this property to others and would likely rent it again when visiting the D.C. Metropolitan area. Thanks Roberta and Greg for a lovely stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Northwest Washington Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$160
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning Fee $60
Tax Rate 14.5%

$200 rental/security deposit is due right away to confirm the reservation. The entire rent, taxes and cleaning fee are due 15 days before scheduled arrival. The deposit is refundable if you do not cancel within 15 days of your scheduled arrival and leave the apartment in good condition. I will send an agreement for you to sign and return

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Northwest Washington Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub with shower and glass door
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties