check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Oceanfront, Hidden Treasure in Starboard Cove, Machiasport

20 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Machiasport Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 8-10)

Seacliff is a charming three-bedroom, one level, shabby-chic summer cottage. It is privately situated in the quiet village of Starboard Cove on Maine’s pristine Downeast coastline. The large porch just feet from the water awaits your early (or late) morning coffee, and another deck with steps leading down to the rock covered beach allows direct access to the water’s edge. Seacliff’s front yard is the Atlantic Ocean and dramatic open ocean and coastal island views await you. If the fog comes in, sit back with a good book and enjoy the warmth and crackle of the expansive coastal rock fireplace. Although you can’t see it, you’ll also hear the plaintive sound of Libby Lighthouse . . . life is good.

Just a few steps from the main cottage is Downeast, a cozy and charming one room guest cottage, fully equipped with a kitchenette, queen size bed and a three-quarter bath. Downeast can be rented along with Seacliff for an additional fee if you have lots of family/guests.

Part of the allure of Machias is its obstinate resistance to giving up its local charm. Although you’ll find a large well-equipped grocery store, you won’t find a Wal-Mart. And while you’ll find a McDonald’s and a Dunkin Donuts, you won’t find a Chucky Cheese. There is a Rite-Aid, bank, several gas stations, and some great local family restaurants that you won’t want to miss!

From Seacliff, you can follow a winding dirt road that starts right after Seacliff and leads to idyllic views and a natural gravel bar that leads to Starboard Island. Although Starboard Island is privately owned, the walk on the bar is well worth the time. Also, located just a mile from Seacliff is one of the most unusual beaches anywhere, Jasper Beach. The multicolored pebbles of Jasper Beach paint an exquisite and rare coastline.

In addition, there are many day trip options in the area including: West Quoddy Head in Lubec Maine (45 minute drive from Seacliff) which is home to West Quoddy Head Light -- the only candy-striped lighthouse in the U.S.A., Campabello Island, Canada and East Quoddy Head (less than an hour from Seacliff) where you can take the International Bridge to Campabello Island, Canada and visit Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s summer “cottage.” And then there’s the world famous Acadia National Park and Mt Desert Island (two hours from Seacliff).

In order to make this a pleasant rental for all smoking is not allowed inside the cottage.

Keywords: Cottage, Ocean view, Private, Beach, water front, fishing, boating

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Owner
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 20 traveler reviews

Oceanfront, Hidden Treasure in Starboard Cove, Machiasport
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
5

Beyond words

  • 5 of 5

We hesitate to enumerate the many attributes of Seacliff because we will nudge ourselves out of a slot for coming seasons.

Life at Seacliff is absolute perfection to the extent it's possible here on earth. To quote the 79-years-old clam digger, "If God had made a prettier place he would have kept it for himself."

That about sums it up: Simple, breathtakingly gorgeous, relaxing, life as it was meant to be lived.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful waterfront cottage on Starboard Cove!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at Seacliff! When we arrived we were welcomed and felt immediately comfortable at the cottage. We enjoyed our days at the cottage with morning coffee on the porch and evening fires by the water. The accommodations are well appointed and every need has been thought of. We explored Jasper Beach, Acadia, Schoodic Peninsula, and took a boat ride out of Lubec. We saw seals, Harbor porpoises, Eagles, and a Minke Whale. Awesome! We took many Harley rides and enjoyed several amazing seafood dinners each night at local restaurants.Thank you Bill and Mary for sharing your place with us, we loved our vacation!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

PERFECT spot!

  • 5 of 5

I'm afraid to say anything too kind for fear of the secret getting out! Seacliff and Downeast have everything you might need or want for your stay. Both were spotless upon arrival. The views are great, and the location is fantastic for adventures during the day (Jasper Beach, Roques Bluff, Cutler trails, Machias, Eastport, Lubec, etc.). Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
Annapolis, MD
5

Perfect Maine Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week at Seacliff this year -- our first time in this part of Maine, and further north and east than we'd ever been in the state -- and this was a perfect get-away. The cottage is perfectly situated right on the coast, and we spent two gorgeous days kayaking from the cottage, took day trips to Eastport (for whale watching and hiking) and Lubec ... also down to Ellsworth and Blue Hill (for the last day of the Blue Hill Fair.) We had everything we needed at the cottage ... the kitchen was really well-equipped, and we spent plenty of evenings just relaxing in the house. Bill and Mary were wonderful hosts, even providing the BEST homemade blueberry pie for us upon arrival.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
5

Kim M - Michigan

  • 5 of 5

What a way to spend our 30th anniversary! Seacliff! I am glad that I found it! Beautiful views, excellent accommodations (very clean and supplied with everything you would need and more). And upon arrival to our surprise was a homemade fresh baked strawberry/rhubarb pie waiting for us! This is the perfect place to relax and unwind! Seacliff exceeded our expectations! We left with many memories and pictures! Thank you Bill and Mary for sharing Seacliff!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
Batavia,IL
5

So Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Seacliff is a very relaxing, scenic property. The cottage has cute decorating, an incredible view, an awesome porch, and a great deck for stargazing. Mary greets guests with a tasty blueberry pie and lots of warmth and friendliness. My wife and I tended to spend our days wandering around to places such as Bar Harbor (very crowded and touristy), Eastport (cute town about an hour north), and the Quoddy Head lighthouse (great lighthouse and incredibly scenic hiking trails). It was great to come back to Seacliff at the end of the day for the utmost in relaxation.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Machiasport Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
September, October
Sep 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,050
 
 
September, October
Sep 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,050
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Machiasport Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Loft - 2 twin/ single
    Downeast Guest Cottage - 1 queen , Additional cost for Guest cottage
  • Seacliff has three bedrooms--each with a queen size bed. There is also a small sleeping loft with two twin size mattresses. For an additional cost, a separate Guest Cottage, Downeast, is also available--it also has a queen size bed and bath. The Guest cottage cannot be rented separately. It can only be rented by those who are also renting Seacliff for overflow puposes.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers