check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag


10 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay


New Shoreham House Rental Photos and Description

Country House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, six beds , maximum 8 persons

AUGUST 26- SEPT 2 $3850



AVAILABLE: High Season :weekly rental only late June through Labor Day

AVAILABLE: Shoulder Seasons: four night minimum

Middle of South Coast, walking distance to Vaill Beach. Five minutes to town.

Ten rooms: Upstairs are two bedrooms, large dressing room and bathroom

Downstairs: Two bedrooms, kitchen, dining room , living room, den and full bathroom.

Stone patio with lounge chairs on ocean side, wood deck with picnic table, grills on other side of house which is less windy late in the day when there are onshore breezes.

Four acres with paths, stone walls, large enclosing walls from a barn, a laundry yard.

Kitchen has all the expected large and small appliances and dinnerware as well as washer /dryer

Hot and cold outside shower

Parking for two vehicles

Wildlife comes through


  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Catharine Kolb
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 8, 2016

About Catharine Kolb

Retired financier with a passion for sports, a penchant for travel and pleasure taken in cultural activities.

Catharine Kolb purchased this house in 1983

Why Catharine Kolb chose Rhode Island

It's beautiful and unspoiled, easy to get to, stress free, modern conveniences but a place to chill out

What makes this house unique

marvelous bird watching, star spotting, rambling on beaches or trails, biking the challenging hills, enjoying the local music scene, taking great photos and being at the beach.

I jog, bike and meander from the front door. I sling a towel around my neck, a beach chair over my shoulder and stuff a book or my watercolors in the chair , walk down the grassy path over the back of the property and am on the beach in less than 12 minutes.


based on 10 traveler reviews

average rating of 4.3 based on 10 reviews
West Stockbridge, MA

Serene setting, superbly equipped.

  • 5 of 5

The house fully lived up to its description/ photos. The owner provided us with tons of useful info especially the fun map with places to explore, and helped us understand the island's weather patterns. Our group of 7, including 5 young adults, had plenty of space for togetherness outdoors and in, and alone time in the quiet den. The lay out of rooms is great. The good-sized dining room has nice serving platters and casserole dishes. The kitchen is big enough for a group to sit on the benches while the cook, both when grilling outdoors and working in the kitchen, has company. Sitting on the comfy chaise longues and admiring the views was heaven, (we appreciated the 4 traffic noise and a very private feel.) so was bird watching each morning. We sure hope to go back next year!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

We Loved It

  • 5 of 5

My family LOVED staying here. My sister came from Illinois, my brother from Sweden, and my 91 year old dad, and myself from Massachusetts. The house was well equipped with plates, utensils, and appliances. The beds were comfortable, and the grounds well maintained. We even saw deer a couple of times. The homeowner was exceptionally pleasant to deal with. Whenever we had questions about where things were or how they worked she got right back to us. (not that we had that many questions) There are detailed instructions for the use of the major appliances, and TV. Most mornings we sat out back with coffee and listened to all the various birds. We would highly recommend this home for anyone looking to get away from the every day.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Look out

  • 2 of 5

Quaint house is in a really nice location and the yard is lovely (loved the blackberries in August). House has a nice open feeling but the decor and furnishings are quite dated. The house is also dirty and has bugs, which may or may not be an issue for you if you are looking that rustic island feeling. We stayed at the house for two consecutive years but will not be staying there this year. Note that the owner is trying to sell the house so there is a lot of deferred maintenance. We had to deal with a leaking sink that made a total mess. You must also look out for the owner; as soon as we had an issue she turned mean and nasty. Blamed us for broken furniture because we did not alert to it right then we arrived. Bathroom situation is bad. Overall, we liked staying there but due to the lack of maintenance and odd owner we will only have our fond memories of friends and family at the house as we move on to a more a suitable place this year and in the future.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: for my Prospective Tenants My home which is listed by Sothebys real estate group, at just under $1million and valued even higher by Zillow at $1, 215, 000 has rented successfully for 33 years. It is only shown during turnovers and off season. The agent who is very personable and broadly liked always defers to my request to leave tenants in peace. My plumber is known for quick response. My head cleaner would be out of business if she left a house less than spotless. My lawn crew has been in business for 30 years . .People like my house. They appreciate the art, the design, the Shaker idiom and the comfort . And they particularly like its setting: four acres, expansive lawns, long views, near a south coast Atlantic beach. . This tenant liked it too, so much he came back the next year for a longer stay. But he broke one of a pair of living room chairs, tried to hide it, lied , had only half of the repair bill held back from his damage deposit . And then trashes, out of embarrassment perhaps, a million dollar house and me. You will see one other , belated, bashing from a tenant. This one reduced my cleaner to tears when she found chairs, lamps, bedding were all destroyed. Some tenants, thankfully very very few , are abusive, of property and then of someone's good name. If any of this review were really true, this guy would not have booked a second year and a longer stay, Sotheby's would never accept my listing, Zillow would never value it so high and seven other kind renters would never have enjoyed it and praised it so highly in their unsolicited reviews. These unpleasant things happen in life . Please come to stay and if you rent my property i will buy you a gift certificate for something you want during your stay .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Andover, MA USA

Great vacation rental!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed a wonderful week at this lovely home. We had a party of eight and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is great. The house is very comfortable and fully equipped. The sleeping arrangements are more than adequate for a group of eight. There is a nice view of the ocean from the back patio where we spent much time relaxing and enjoying the sunset. The property is secluded and very quiet. It is a short walk to a nice beach, and the South light house is a short drive away. A perect vacation spot!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Could be charming - but dirty and poorly maintained

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at this house for 2 weeks in August. It's an older house that could be charming. There is a large flat yard space, limited views, and lots of outdoor seating. As others have noted, the bedrooms are spaced out in a way that made it comfortable for our party of six. Unfortunately, the house is poorly maintained and the owner is difficult. Just to name a few things, there was broken furniture with signs on it from early June that had not been repaired, the bedroom screen had to be retrieved from behind the dumpster, the window shades were lying on the floor because they were the wrong size, there was grime and dirt on top of the fridge and microwave, the cabinets were so terribly organized that we did very little cooking (for example 5 sets of measuring spoons but not one complete set? 3 old dirty mops but no dust pan, every pot, pan, lid, muffin tin, steamer etc. just thrown into a giant cabinet, many of them still dirty), the slip covers were old and sandy, and there was just STUFF everywhere - lamps, vases, candles, figurines, etc. The clothesline was so over grown that it was inaccessible. We were also disappointed that the owner came to the property for a few hours during our stay despite our polite request that she not interrupt our rare family time. She denied our request and was even rude about it. A realtor with whom we have worked for years advised us against working with this particular property owner. In hindsight, I wish I had listened. Block Island is such an amazing, peaceful and beautiful spot. We have been going for years and have always had really positive experiences. There are many better places to rent.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Prospective Tenants, I have rented my Block Island home successfully for three decades and the reviews suggest people really like the location, the space, the layout , the furnishings, the decor and the way it is equipped. Moreover my cleaning crew is always willing to come back if they missed something. A handyman can fix things like window shades. And the mower men can return sooner if the laundry yard begs for better weed whacking. I have no incentive to be lax about the state of my house. I want it as perfect as it can be for your vacation. But, as you might imagine, a tenant needs to tell me if something needs attention rather than wait three months after departure to voice complaints which can’t even be verified let alone redressed so belatedly. This review shocked me because the tenant called me twice in the first 24 hours once to say they were very happy and once to ask a few questions. They saw me briefly when I brought a roofer by to measure for an end of season project but never mentioned any problem nor showed me anything mentioned in the review above. There are misstatements such as that there is a dumpster on my property, heaven forbid ! There are, of course, lamps for each room but all personal belongings are packed away during rentals. The pots and pans cupboard does get disorganized because I provide the cooking equipment you all have requested over time including lobster pots, cake pans and everything in between that a diverse group of eight people might find they want or need during a vacation far from stores. So as someone who reads the bad reviews first when I am in the consumer seat , I can imagine how offput you might be by this review; that makes two of us. I spoke with VRBO , the online listing service, about redress and they said smart people will weigh the totality of reviews and decide whether one person carries more weight than all the others. Please do write or call if my property looks like what you want and you are on the fence or have questions about anything which concerns you. Thanks so much for your interest. Catharine
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Stowe, VT

Great family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

The house and property had everything a family with 3 kids needs for a wonderful stay on Block Island--a selection of bedrooms upstairs and downstairs so that the kids could either have their own room or share, a fully equipped kitchen, big dining room table, TV/DVD player for watching a family movie in the evening, two big decks equipped with picnic tables and comfortable chairs for reading and enjoying the view and sunshine, and plenty of yard space. We walked every day to a nearby beach which was never crowded and was perfect for playing in the waves and sand. We were also within walking distance of the famous Painted Rock (and took our turn at decorating it on our last day on the island). Other beautiful beaches and fun activities are close by, and we enjoyed biking, paddle boarding, kayaking, horseback riding, and hiking on the Clay Head Trail as well as the Manisses animal farm, and ice cream and beanbag toss at The Oar. Bring a car if you have a young family. Thanks so much for the welcoming and comfortable accommodations, Catharine! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
1.2 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2.5 Miles
Nearest Ferry
2.5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2.5 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.4 Miles
Car: recommended

Stargazing :join weekly guided outing , bird banding station and Audubon guide, a lot to paint and photograph, paved road near house flat enough and safe enough to roller blade/skike , also a good spot for a kid's lemonade stand.


Rates & Availability

New Shoreham House Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning $175
Refundable damage deposit $350

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


New Shoreham House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1875 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Ocean View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Upstairs with tub and shower, downstairs with shower. Outside shower near kitchen door is enclosed and has hot and cold water
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , views to ocean, main floor off living room
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Main floor in an ell off the den, private
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2nd flr, ocean views, large master br w/ dressing area
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double , views, play closet, desk, cozy and bright
  • Queen size Beds (2) one upstairs bedroom, one downstairs bedroom, Double Beds (2) both in second upstairs bedroom, Twin or Single Beds (2) both in downstairs bedroom, Baby Cribs (1) can be rented from an island service and there is space off upstairs master bedroom where it could be put
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • 8 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Outside Shower with hot and cold water and a view :-), lawn and board games ,bird and astronomy books, emergency rain gear Original outbuildings include a shed, paddock stone walls, a large quiet wind protected barn foundation

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties