check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Zora Martinez

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Stunning Custom Retreat in the Trees

26 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Julian Cabin Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Enjoy our spacious, beautifully-crafted open cabin with stunning views across our valley through two-story windows: an instant feeling of retreat! You can also feel good about your retreat knowing that 100% of the energy used during your stay will be powered by the sun using our solar water and solar electric systems.

The spacious kitchen, outfitted with new stainless steel appliances and plenty of cooking tools, lets you enjoy meal preparations without missing out on any of what's going on. The generously-sized island makes both a great work area and a good place to hang out. The kitchen includes a microwave, two full-size ovens and plenty of gadgets for your culinary adventures.

Curl up on the loft couch or downstairs in front of the fire for a restful getaway. Get a group together to play board games or put together puzzle from our collection. Gather in our front room to watch a favorite movie on our 47' flat screen t.v. with Blu-Ray/DVD player. Spend a morning reading in the teak swing hanging in the oak tree just outside the kitchen window.

The two similar bedrooms feature queen beds, with luxurious and cozy linens (and the same goes for the pull-out sofas downstairs). The cabin is perfect for a family get-away, and includes a pack-and-play crib for the little ones.

Modern rustic tile in the bathrooms and showers compliments reclaimed antique vanities. The downstairs bath includes a spacious shower; the upstairs bath has a shower/tub.

A generously-sized balcony/deck spans the back of the house, accessed through two french doors. Teak patio furniture lets you enjoy this extra outdoor living space--perfect for morning coffee, outdoor dining, and stargazing at night.

The house features stunning custom work, including a rustic and elegant railing made from oak trees that grew on our property; solar water heating continues our commitment to eco-friendly choices. Whether you enjoy being outside hiking and exploring Julian or just want to stay indoors for a weekend of rest and relaxation, this house offers an experience of mountain retreat as soon as you walk inside!

Our home is located about 2 miles south of Julian's town center, and about 5 miles north of Lake Cuyamaca. On a beautiful hillside, it is a gorgeous vantage point for watching the seasons in Julian, and has easy access to town and to outdoor adventures.

Keywords: cabin, family, retreat, rustic, elegant, quilting, sewing, knitting, crocheting

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Zora Martinez (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Zora Martinez

We're a family of three generations. Grandpa and Grandma moved to San Diego with the Navy, and have enjoyed it ever since. Mom and Dad are retired now, too, and the kids try to fit weekends in Julian in between their other commitments!

Zora Martinez purchased this cabin in 2003

Why Zora Martinez chose San Diego County

This cabin is a beloved part of our family, since our grandparents built here in the 70s; after the original house burned in the Cedar Fire of 2003, we've rebuilt it ourselves as a place to enjoy the mountains and each other!

What makes this cabin unique

We love using the house as a place to relax and hang out, as a place to work on projects, and as a setting for family meals and cooking together. The back deck is a fabulous place to sit and stargaze at night or soak in sunlight during the day. Plus, it's a great base for exploring the fun things in the area. We like hiking, GeoCaching, and shopping in town, and love the pie at the Julian Pie Shop. (If you go there, tell Tim the Littlehales say hi.) :)

Guestbook comments from the owner

My husband and I came up for a few days of relaxation and our daughter and her family joined us a few days later. What a beautiful home you have and what a blessing that you share it with lucky folks like us! We had a great time exploring Julian; downtown, geocaching, museum, Lake “C” a gold mine and train ride-but it brought us great joy to come back everyday to your beautiful home! My oldest grandson slept in the loft and I would find him every morning staring out the windows at the amazing view! The whole family enjoyed the deck every morning and evening! I loved reading your family/house story and the pics, so we could put a “face with the name.” It is evident, this is a “house that LOVE built!” Thank you again for sharing your your beautiful home. We have created many great family memories. May God richly bless your family for blessing ours!
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 9

Reviews

4.6
based on 26 traveler reviews

Stunning Custom Retreat in the Trees
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 35 reviews
5

The perfect cabin in the woods!

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful stay we had in our cabin in the woods! Julian is fairly local to us (we live an hour away down the mountain.) We always enjoy a day trip to Julian, so decided to stay over a couple of days this week to celebrate our anniversary. We chose this property online (VRBO) based on pictures and reviews. Everything from the wood finishings to the lovely quilts and other furnishings and decorations called to me. It did not disappoint! The cabin is big and airy, with a stunning wall of windows and a large balcony looking out to the mountains. The kitchen is fully stocked with high end appliances, dishes/pots/utensils and every spice you can imagine! We honestly didn't make use of most of it, but I can imagine cooking a big family meal in that wonderful kitchen! The living areas are thoughtfully appointed, with board games, books, DVDs and toys. The beds are comfy and the bathrooms are well appointed and clean. Honestly, we packed way more than we needed. We could have showed up with just a change of clothes and would have been fine. The cabin was built by the family. There is a book with pics in the cabin that they put together describing that.

In Julian, we explored the Eagle mine, ate pizza and local apple pie and wandered through shops. Some things are only open Thu-Sun, so plan accordingly. We spent a day fishing at Lake Cuaymaca, a 15 minute drive from the cabin. We enjoyed the view of the Borrego desert from the overlook on 79. And we stopped in at Julian station for wine and chocolate tasting. Then we hit Dudleys bakery in Santa Isabel for fresh baked bread on our way home.

We would happily recommend this property to our friends and family. Reserving through VRBO was simple and everything we read online was accurate.

Read the description carefully. There is no wifi, no satellite or cable, and I had virtually no cell reception while we were there (hubby has Verizon and he was able to get cell reception.) I was mostly happy to disconnect for a few days (and finally finished a couple of books I had been reading this summer!) There is a blu-ray player with an HDTV and a selection of DVDs for viewing.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1

DISAPPOINTING***

  • 1 of 5

My family and I stayed and the home itself was beautiful - the family a delight or so they seemed seeing all the photos on the walls and reading the story of how the home was built. However the manager over this property is terrible - Zora Martinez. Our family spent most of our time in San Diego with other family members and had someone either back in or attend to turn around in the steep driveway in front of the garage - when this took place somehow they (unknown individual) caused damage to the garage door as they hit it. Zora after going over all details completely lied to my family stating someone with a license plate from the state we were from hit the garage and there were witness' ALTHOUGH my family flew in and rented cars. To say this too what was a beautiful pleasant stay and turned it into a nightmare was an understatement. We are still fighting with Zora over returning our deposit although we documented and took photos of the cabin itself being left in perfect/exact condition. I would recommend never staying here strictly due to the management.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I too am disappointed. Our home was damaged to the tune of $850.00 during this travelers stay. In the 5 years we have been renting our home on VRBO we have occasionally had minor damage occur and it usually comes with profuse apologies and an offer to pay for the fix. In this case the traveler caused a great deal of damage and then denied that they were responsible despite evidence to the contrary. We kept this travelers deposit in order to offset some of the cost of the damages that they caused to our home. Lastly, if you are concerned about accidentally causing extensive damage to our home or any other home you might rent on VRBO you have the option of purchasing damage protection for very reasonable rates. If you choose to purchase this protection we will waive our refundable damage deposit for you. Enjoy Your Stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Costa Mesa, CA
5

Awesome beautiful cabin near Julian

  • 5 of 5

Our family spent Memorial weekend relaxing in this beautiful cabin. It was a clean, comfortable and fully equipped spacious home. We enjoyed the tranquility of the area, the large deck and scenic views. The pellet stove was a nice treat in the evenings. The star gazing is amazing from the deck. The manager Zora was very attentive when we had an issue with the smoke alarm that needed to be reset. We would highly recommend staying here and would definitely come back!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You so much for your comments. We look forward to having you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A very relaxing and comfortable time.

  • 5 of 5

If you like your morning coffee out on the deck watching the sun move slowly over the lush mountain side in front of you and listening to the blue jays and woodpeckers...this is your place. A beautifully built, comfortably furnished and well equipped "cabin" awaits you in Julian. You can come prepared to breakfast in and eat all other meals out exploring the quaint little town of Julian, the beautiful Cuyamaca forest and Borrego desert scene; or bring in the groceries and fix anything in the well furnished and outfitted kitchen. As your slowing down from your normal routine, take time to look through the photo journal book of the building of this beautiful cabin retreat. It was a labor of love and you will love your stay. The cabin was very clean and comfortably appointed with furnishings and linens. Bring some DVDs and get caught up on your movie watching with wide screen and surround sound.

Add to your list of things to see and do, an evening at the Observers Inn and Observatory. It is educational, entertaining and awesome...you won't believe the number of stars in the mountain sky and the wealth of knowledge your professional astronomer host has. Look them up online and call to make your reservation.

  • Submitted: May 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spiritual Retreat

  • 5 of 5

My companion and I had an amazing time in this beautiful cabin. There was no internet, no cable/satellite service and hardly any cellular reception...EXACTLY what we were looking for! Being "unplugged" for the entire weekend allowed for us to focus on our reading, our journaling and the beautiful star gazing from the deck. The kitchen was huge - to include two ovens - and was fully stocked with all amenities needed to cook up a feast (I love to cook). The small city of Julian was only a mile and a half away, making it an easy trip to collect a slice of their reputable apple pie! Hoping to stay here again soon!

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you in our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Pre-Wedding Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

STUNNING is an understatement. This house was wonderful in so many ways: Beds extremely comfortable. Kitchen big enough for 3 people to gather and share cooking alongside each other using both ovens. Hot water at a touch of button! Comfy seats throughout! It was too cold to be on the balcony but we could see stars and birds from the huge windows. The place was beautiful; it became my son and future daughter in law's backdrop for their pre-wedding pictures. We hung her wedding dress from the upstairs unique wooden balcony. She and the bridesmaids took their pictures in the large family room while my son had his pictures out on the porch. They both saw each other for the 1st look down in the tall grasses below the house. And sat on the fun tree swing on the side of the house. Thank you.

I recommend this place to anyone who doesn't have difficulty walking. My 83 y.o. mother in law stayed here one night and loved the rocking chair so much I think she actually spent the night in it. She said she couldn't safely walk up and down the wooden stairs, she thought she might slip.

Three things I would add if possible: high bar stools facing the kitchen so people can sit and talk to those cooking. Make the 1 parking spot bigger to fit 2 cars. Bigger mirrors in the bathrooms. :)

A big thank you to Carre St. Andre for providing helpful answers.

We are ready to come visit again. So peaceful and joyful there. * On a special note, if you are looking for a gluten free apple pie, try Apple Alley Bakery. Only gluten free pie in town and very yummy.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
San Diego International
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Bailey's BBQ
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Julian Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$160
From
$199
Fri,Sat
$1,000
$3,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $100
Tax Rate 8.0%

Photo ID required at the time of booking.
Check in time is 4:00 PM
Check out time is 12:00 PM

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Julian Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Convertible bed - 1 double
  • Queen size Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
Notes:
Our house is 100% powered by the sun and your stay will not cause any greenhouse emissions. On the garage roof you will see our solar water heater which is an evacuated tube collector. On the house roof you will see our solar electric generating system. The solar electric system offsets 100% of our use on an annual basis. The solar electric system was installed by Sungevity and we have been very pleased with them and the system. If you like our system copy and paste this link and save $500 on solar! http://www.sungevity.com/get-your-iquote?referral-code=1060140&oursun=forall-tw

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties