check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Patty Shepherd

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Sproat Lake Vacation House & Cottage - CAUTION RE PRICING-see description!!!

16 Reviews
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

British Columbia House Rental Photos and Description

*****VRBO WILL ONLY DISPLAY PRICES IN USD, EVEN CANADIAN PROPERTIES THAT DO BUSINESS IN CANADIAN CURRENCY. FOR OUR CORRECT NIGHTLY RATE - PLEASE CHANGE CURRENCY TO CND. (Canadian). THE DROP DOWN LIST IS AT TOP RIGHT OF THE RATES PAGE******

Private, south facing lakefront 2 bedroom home and 1 bedroom cottage on one acre of property on beautiful Sproat Lake in Port Alberni.

The entire property will accommodate up to 9 people maximum. The house sleeps 5 people - with one king, one queen pullout and one bunk with single bed on top, double on the bottom. The cottage accommodates up to 4 people with one queen, one double pullout and one futon convertible couch.

We have just renovated our dock, and as you can see from the photos, it is our centre attraction! Wonderfully large and comfortable, you can sit with the whole family without bumping elbows. Have young children? Easy entry into the warm lake with the built in stairs. Any size boat will moor comfortably in the boat slip under the new boat cover for the duration of your stay. Stay cool under the shade sails, or work on your tan on another part of the dock.

These two dwellings are situated on a level acreage of property, with 110 ft. of pebble beach. You are about 30 steps from the house to the water's edge - dip your feet into the warmest, cleanest lake on Vancouver Island. You will enjoy summer sunshine on the dock from 8 in the morning until 9 at night while the house stays cool nestled in the shade of the giant fir trees.

If boating is your thing, enjoy the skiing, tubing, and wake boarding - the large lake (93,000 hectares) offers so much room for enjoying water sports. Or just cruise around the lake and stop to see the hieroglyphics.

Take advantage of the double kayak, single kayak and canoe provided with your rental, and paddle across the lake to visit Fossli Provincial Park - a beautiful short hike up to a suspension bridge and water falls.

You are situated among some of the most spectacular sightseeing destinations in the world: Vancouver Island's west coast, with Tofino, Ucluelet and Pacific Rim National Park just 1.5 hours drive away. Or visit the world famous Cathedral Grove in MacMillan Park - only 1/2 an hour from your home.

At the end of the day, take advantage of the fully stocked kitchens, mix up some margaritas in the blenders and cook up a storm on the barbecues provided with each unit. The house is one level - walk out the lake door and enjoy dinner on the patio right at the lake front. Stroll down to the dock and watch the sunset.

Please note that pets cannot be accommodated at this property - no exceptions.

Before making any payments, please contact owner at 250.478.7117 or 250.812.8436 Pacific Time.

Keywords: house, cottage, lakefront, Vancouver island, Port Alberni, Tofino, Ucluelet, British Columbia, lake, Sproat Lake, Sproat, holiday rental, for rent.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Patty Shepherd (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Patty Shepherd

My husband and I bought this property as an investment in 2004, but soon fell in love with it, and abandoned all plans to resell. We spend our yearly vacation at the lake, and as such, have made it as comfortable as our own home. We love the family oriented look and feel, and fit right in with the neighbouring families who live full time on the lake.

Patty Shepherd purchased this house in 2004

Why Patty Shepherd chose British Columbia

This lake is the secret gem of Vancouver Island. While other lakes are being overdeveloped, and becoming extremely crowed for water sports, Sproat Lake's size makes it fantastic for the water enthusiast. The beautiful country roads and lovely trails across the street make morning walks a must.

What makes this house unique

The water is warm and crystal clear. The property is flanked by trees on either side, making your stay private. You are away from the noisy campgrounds, and tucked into a bay that creates a feeling of security. Your neighbours are full time residents that have great respect for the lake and all it has to offer.

Reviews

4.8
based on 16 traveler reviews

Sproat Lake Vacation House & Cottage - CAUTION RE PRICING-see description!!!
average rating of 4.75 based on 16 reviews
victoria
5

Harmony

  • 5 of 5

There is such a peace and tranquility that sweeps over the lake on a warm summer's morning. That feeling consumes the body and soul as one sits with a cup of tea in hand and looks out at a mirrored reflection of them self. The eyes feast upon a view of the lake second to none. The fabulous dock provides the foundation for all the wonderful day's activities.... swimming, boating, settling in with a good book, building a glorious golden tan and enjoying a cool cocktail on a hot day. House and cottage provide for all your needs and added entertainment options. So much to do, so little time....extended stay a definite must....next year, and year after, and year after. Yes, this is a definite do over :)

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What beautiful words! You've captured it perfectly. Please visit us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Victoria
4

Lake Days

  • 4 of 5

This was my second time staying at the cabin and both times have been absolutely perfect. The owners are incredibly friendly and accommodating. Stayed here with a group of girlfriends and we had such a wonderful quiet and relaxing weekend. Hung out on the dock for breakfast and in the evenings with a glass of wine. The neighbors are also extremely friendly and offered to take us out on a boat ride to the water bombers.

Only wish is that the weather had been a bit nicer so we could have gone out and enjoyed the water a bit more, but even an overcast day at the lake is better than a day away from it! Definitely going back again!

  • Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jessie, we love our repeat visitors! Next time I will personally order up the sun for you!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointing

  • 2 of 5

While the cottage was clean and tidy, the furniture was very dated. The bed had a new mattress but the living area was dark and the furniture uncomfortable. The BBQ was unusable as it was moldy inside and out and the deck was covered in a winter grime that was unappealing. We preferred not to stay and was refunded less than half of our money. Their new dock was lovely and the cabin may have been appropriate for overflow teens. But is wasn't for us.

  • Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We find it remarkable that a person who has not inquired, booked or paid through VRBO is able to access this site to leave a review. ​That said, of course we were sorry that you didn't find the cottage to your liking. A cottage on the lake will invariably have its quirks, but as you stated, it is absolutely clean, and the photos provided in our website represent exactly what the traveler will see upon arrival. Yes, the patio, because of wind, often has some of the debris from ​the old growth forest in which our cottage is nestled, and unfortunately the timing of your stay was also in high pollen season. Athough the BBQ is part of our summer season rental, we do not guarantee its availability in spring and fortunately our fully equipped kitchen provides ample opportunity to prepare all your meals. ​​It's unfortunate that you didn't get to enjoy the beach and dock and all the boats we provide during your reservation of unseasonably warm temperatures... perfect for lake vacations. ​Having signed an agreement that no refunds are given on the day of check-in, we nevert he less provided a 50% refund in good faith for the guests that "preferred not to stay". ​ We pride ourselves on never having had to apply this cancellation policy in the 12 years we have owned this lovely lake vacation home. And our guest reviews attest to that. ​
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lake Holiday

  • 5 of 5

Our get away to the lake was a ton of fun. The kids especially enjoyed the lake, us parents enjoyed spending time relaxing on the dock, watching the children play, go for a quick dip into the lake.

The cabin offers everything you need, including lots of games, movies etc. The children even "learned" how to play the "pool" game!

We would definitely recommend this cabin to our European friends and all our family and friends here on the Island. Hopefully we can come back soon again!

The owners are very helpful and respond to emails right away! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so happy your family was able to plan this last minute get-away! We love showing off our place to new guests, and really appreciate the wonderful feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vancouver
5

Lovely family vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely time in these well equipped cottages in a beautiful, serene area of Sproat Lake. Our time here was thoroughly enjoyed by kids and adults alike. Swimming, canoeing, kayaking and lovely BBQ dinners - it was all wonderfully relaxing. We definitely hope to return soon!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Susan! Thanks for your kind words, and your patience while we went through the "great appliance replacement" week. Please come back and enjoy the new kitchen appliances again next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Victoria, BC
5

Highly Recommend!

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful location! Peaceful beautiful property with all the amenities you need for a wonderful get away. We used both the cottage and the house, were both fully stocked and just ready to enjoy. Sitting on that dock during sunset was breath taking. Highly recommend this rental property and we will surely be back next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It's really nice to share the property with such appreciative guests. Do come back next year, the lake is waiting!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Martin Mars Water Bombers
Nearest Point of Interest
Petroglyphs

Geocaching sites nearby.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Port Alberni House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2016
Jun 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
$287
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$287
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $378
Cleaning $189 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.0%

PLEASE BE SURE TO CHANGE THE CURRENCY TO CANADIAN BEFORE GETTING AN INSTANT QUOTE
Refundable Damage deposit of $500 required.
Cleaning fee: $250 (includes both units and property)
Full payment for summer bookings due April 15.
Cancellation policy available upon request.
Bookings are subject to taxes.

Travelers pay directly to owner by certified cheque or email money transfer. Summer rental fees due by April 15, 2016

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

British Columbia House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Cottage Bathroom - toilet , shower
    House bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Cottage Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 double
    House Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    House bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Cottage Living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    House Living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen size sofa bed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
kayak, canoe, all boating safety equipment. Large orchard in back with fruit trees- perfect for bocce ball. Long gentle sloping driveway.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties