check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Shelly St.Hilaire

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish

Casa Del Caribe for Rent in Cocles, 300 meters from beach

18 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights

Overview

Limón Province House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Forget your alarm clock; awaken to the sounds of conga/howler monkeys and tropical birds in this Caribbean style home just 300 meters from Cocles Beach for surfing, swimming and sun bathing.

Made of Costa Rican hardwoods and ceramic tiles, this nearly 2000 square feet, 2 BR/2&1/2 Baths home has an open floor plan downstairs, where the hummingbirds like to visit, and a wrap around balcony upstairs with 2 spacious bedrooms. The home is surrounded by forests and beautiful fruit trees affording a lot of privacy (with luck you might see toucans eating the papaya); and yet you will not be isolated as there are neighbors close by. The next door neighbor has a guide and taxi service. And another neighbor, Johanna, (just a 2 minute walk away) has a very nice family run restaurant (called a soda in Costa Rica). You must try her Caribbean style corvina (sea bass). A car is not necessary as you will be only minutes walking or biking for anything you may want to see: beautiful beaches, jaguar refuge, horseback riding, restaurants, night life, grocery stores, internet cafe, etc. As an option, 4 banana bikes are at the home available for your use for an extra fee of $4 day/bike, with 2 boogie/body boards included for playing in the ocean. The banana bikes are a popular way to see the sights (if you need more,others are available in town for $4-6/day/bike).

The home is located in Miss Winnie Town, a small community within the city of Cocles, less than 2 miles south of Puerto Viejo. The neighborhood is named in honor of Winnie who is the mother of the property manager, Oscar. They will take good care of you during your holiday. In the neighborhood there are vacation and permanent Tico homes(Tico is a friendly nickname for a Costa Rican). Here you will enjoy a lot of privacy and at the same time you will have friends and neighbors close to you. Thanks for your interest in this wonderful home we call Casa del Caribe in Costa Rica's most beautiful and most unspoiled tropical paradise!

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Shelly St.Hilaire (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish

About Shelly St.Hilaire

Originally from California, and later from New Jersey, I began visiting Costa Rica in 2005. I traveled most of the country and fell in love with the Southern Caribbean. Over time, my visits became more frequent and lasted longer until I decided to make my move to Costa Rica. After some time, I met my Tico husband and our son was born in Costa Rica. Now, we share time between countries, raising our son. We have seen most of this spectacular and friendly little country. Without a doubt the Caribbean coast is the most beautiful, most natural, and most unspoiled part of Costa Rica. Open minds, amazing fusion of foods, magnificent beaches, tropical forests, monkeys, birds and other wildlife are but a few of the wonders this area has to offer. Casa del Caribe is a great place to stay, where you can relax in open-air living surrounded by breathtaking nature.

Shelly St.Hilaire purchased this house in 2010

Guestbook comments from the owner

Beautiful home, we had a great time. Our baby boy enjoyed the hammock. See Mateo's hand print, 3 years old. We will be back another time, lovely place. From Costa Rica and Australia.
Dec 2010
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

4.9
based on 18 traveler reviews

Casa Del Caribe for Rent in Cocles, 300 meters from beach
average rating of 4.888889 based on 23 reviews
5

Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you so much! The house is beautiful, location has just enough privacy yet close enough to everything you need. The housekeeper, Fred, lives next door and made our trip the best it could be. He knows all the ins and outs of the area, took us on tours that he provides and pointed us in the direction of other attractions and activities we needed. Our week in Costa Rica was a huge success!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review our house. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and yes, Fred is a gem! Pura Vida , Shelly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The house was just as described! Everything was working preety well. The best of all: Feed Mines!

  • 5 of 5

The house was in good shape and all appliances working well. A supermarket 200 meters away is very convenient, and the beach 300 meters away is really beautiful! Bikes need a bit of mainteinance! The best of our stay was our neighbor and property manager and Tour operator Fred Mines. He made sure every day that we were confortable and with all we needed. He brought us coconuts, bananas, and everything we needed. We highly recomend his tours to Cahuita, the waterfalls, canopy, and more! We will for sure repeat our experience in the same house! A beautiful paradise!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Angelo, Texas
5

The perfect vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

We spent almost two weeks at Casa Del Caribe the first of this month (June 2015). It was an awesome place that was exactly what we were looking for. The owner was extremely helpful while we were booking the house and answered all of our questions very quickly. He went above and beyond with helpful information. Once we got there we met the next door neighbor, Freddy. He was also very helpful. We actually hired him to take us on a few guided tours. There are a lot of great tours, just talk to Freddy. It was after dark when we arrived by taxi. It was a little difficult to find even following Roberts instructions. His instructions were great, it is just a little hard to find. But, if you follow his instructions you will get there. Just go right past Johanna's Soda and take a right in the little lane off of the alley and keep walking. Her soda is not on the main road. You have to turn right off of the main road and keep going until you see her soda. Then turn right in the alley right behind it. We enjoyed the openness of the house, but also felt safe since we were able to lock the stairway gate behind us when going to bed. It is also very nice that the Super Cocles grocery store is right there within walking distance. It was also nice to have the bicycles to use as well. We used them most days. The house is exactly what we were looking for...very nice and clean and one with nature. It is a very open floor plan. It was also nice having the safe to lock up our valuables when we weren't there. We walked or biked to the beach several times per day. One of the last days we were there we saw a whole group of howler monkeys on our way to the beach. They were just hanging out in the trees doing their thing. We watched them for 30 minutes.

This is a great place to stay and if we ever make it back to Costa Rica we will definitely try to stay at Casa Del Caribe again.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wat a great house in a great location!

  • 5 of 5

We Stayed at Casa Del Caribe in May 2015 and had a wonderful time. It is a charming place with lots of personality. It was close to everything (beach, town, etc.) but far enough away to get some peace and relaxation. It was clean and exceeded our expectations. The owner, and property manager were helpful and let us know everything we needed to know. Hope to get back soon!

  • Submitted: May 26, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Turrialba
5

Feels like home.... Only so much better!

  • 5 of 5

The puerto Viejo area has been a long time love of mine, a passion; and, the Cocles area is my absolute favorite place to stay. Close enough to town and just far enough out to really feel nature. For years I have lived in and vacationed in the area. I have stayed several times at casa del caribe, always adoring its location and charm. In January I stayed at the house with my new addition, a baby boy. It was perfect! He loved relaxing in the swing, watching the humming birds, squealed with delight at the monkeys and stared in awe at the sloth slowly moving in the tree just off the upstairs balcony. What a pleasure to have a safe, beautiful home to share my favorite spot with the love of my life, my child. Thank you Robert for maintaing and sharing you home with us!

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Keystone, Colorado
5

Fabulous Experience!

  • 5 of 5

We were 3 adults, a 7 year old and a 9 month old. We stayed at Casa del Caribe for 4 nights in June. What an amazing experience! The house is rustic and charming. The lot is surrounded by flowers, fruit, birds, bugs, howler monkeys and vegetation. The neighbors are very close and nice, but they didn't feel close because of the vegetation. The hot water was never used for showers, but it was nice to have to clean the kitchen, etc. The kitchen is well stocked, but we didn't cook. Just used the fridge and coffee pot. I actually slept on the air mattress outside on the upper deck, it was amazing (I had my own mosquito net, recommended if you do this). We felt very safe, the gate to the house locks, the kitchen locks and there is a lockable gate up to the bedrooms. Plenty of lighting throughout the house, including outside. We used the washing machine and spin dryer. Nothing ever really dries in June it's so humid but it was necessary to clean out your swim suits, PJ's and other items. It was a nice perk to have. The water was turned off one night when we got back from our outings and we easily found the breaker box and it was all good. The neighbors were nice. Oscar responded to our questions, however he isn't in town a lot. The cell phone was a nice touch. Our rental car gave us one too so we essentially could have used both to communicate with each other, but we didn't. We couldn't get the Wifi to work, we found the modem and the lights were on. That is all I did to try to get it working, I didn't want internet anyway! The bikes were AWESOME and the stereo was a really nice touch! We were hot, sticky, happy, relaxed and utterly in paradise! Johanna's Soda was very close, we ate there twice. The beach was beautiful and close. Puerto Viejo (2 miles away) proved to be an awesome little town also with a nice beach and plenty of restaurants, shops, etc. We walked to Punta Uva and enjoyed that beach as well. The little store down the road was actually a good size. There is also a place to dump your garbage in between the house and the store. All so convenient. I definitely recommend this experience to anyone!

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Beach
0.18 Miles
Cocles Beach
Car: not necessary

Tortuguero Natl Park 90 Mins (Green & Leatherback Turtles Egg Laying Sites), Manzanillo Natl Reserve 20 Mins (Sandy Beaches Bordered by Coral Reefs), Sloth Refuge 30 Mins

Photos

Rates & Availability

Limón Province House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Low Season
May 31 2016 - Nov 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$90
$575
$1,895
 
 
Christmas
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 3 2017
5 night minimum stay
$140
$825
 
 
High Season 2017
Jan 4 2017 - May 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$115
$650
$1,975
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$90
$575
$1,895
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Refundable damage deposit $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Limón Province House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2), Air mattress for 2 more persons
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear
  • 5 bicycles
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
5 Banana Bicycles on Site ($4/Bike/Day--optional), Hotel Style Safe, Hammock, Security Lighting, Outdoor Shower for when You Return from Beach, English & Spanish speaking Property Mgr Lives at Rear of Home (50 Meters), 2 Doctors Live & Practice Nearby--150 Meters

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties