check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Danny and Jan Kleinsmith

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Last minute availability for LABOR DAY. Your last chance for a summer getaway!!

10 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

Avila Beach Condo Rental Photos and Description

Townhome, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Avila Beach is the place to be on the central coast! Don't miss out on staying in this amazing 2 bedroom full size condo. A hotel room just won't be enough when you want to relax and stretch out after some fun in the sun.

There is no need to drive around Avila when you can stay in a wonderful 2 bedroom condo that is fully furnished to meet your needs. You can stay at Avila Beach Vacation Rentals at the top of San Luis Street. No need to stress about driving or parking, just stay with us. Once you stay in our vacation rental, you will wonder why you ever stayed in a hotel because there is just no comparison.

Our townhouse style rental sits on top of the hill as you come into Avila beach. It is spacious and has 2 bedrooms and 1 1/2 baths. The rentals have a deck in front with a gorgeous ocean view where you can sit and listen to the sound of the waves crash on the beach. The 2 story units have a 2 car garage with automatic opener. Inside, they are fully furnished and can be rented for a few days or a few weeks. We also have an on-site coin operated laundry facility for your convenience. It is an easy 2 block walk down to the ocean. The beach is perfect for swimming, surfing, laying in the sun or people watching. Lifegaurds are on duty during weekends, summer months and holidays.

We have rental units available year round and you can stay for a couple of nights to a few months in the Fall/ Winter season. The rentals are the same size (1250 sq. feet) so there is room to stretch out. No more crowding into a small hotel room! Imagine the comfort of your very own full sized condo with your own deck to enjoy the ocean. Each condo has 2 bedrooms and there is a queen bed in each bedroom. The bedrooms are all downstairs. In the living room upstairs, there is a sofa sleeper. Bedding for all beds, including the sofa sleeper, is provided.

The entire downtown area of Avila Beach has recently been rebuilt. It includes a fun new childrens park, a small grocery store and deli as well as new restaurants and stores. It is no longer a rundown little town. It is beautiful, upscale and the place to be. The weather is warm year round and it is consistently much warmer and less foggy than Pismo Beach. The California Central Coast is waiting for you.

Avila Beach Apartments & Vacation Rentals

Keywords: Townhouse, beach rental, ocean view, condo, fireplace, deck, gas grill, garage, short term, long term in winter, child friendly

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Danny and Jan Kleinsmith (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Danny and Jan Kleinsmith

We have had ties to Avila Beach since we were very young. Jan's family has owned property in the town since the mid 1950's. Once Danny met Jan, he also began spending a great deal of time in Avila and he loved it also. For many years, there was no building allowed in town because of a lack of water but once that changed, we built our beautiful apartments. We wanted to share the beauty and tranquility of the area with others. The warm summer days, balmy winter days, calm evenings and beautiful views are too good not to share. Avila Beach has a very special place in our heart. We are sure it will hold special memories for you also. We built our rental (completed in November 2005) with you in mind- comfortable, open, bright and welcoming. We hope you enjoy the area as much as we do. We will do our best to see to it that you do!

Danny and Jan Kleinsmith and Family

Danny and Jan Kleinsmith purchased this condo in 2005

Why Danny and Jan Kleinsmith chose Central Coast California

We built our property to provide a nice place for people to enjoy the area.

What makes this condo unique

Not only do you have a gorgeous ocean view from the outside deck but it is within walking distance to the beach or anyplace else in Avila Beach. This unique village is only 13 blocks in size. You can walk to the grocery store or the children's park or to any of the local restaurants.

We are not a property management agency. We are the property owners and we will give you the attention you deserve. We care about our property and we care about our guests. Many of our guests return year after year. We watch their families grow, their children get older and their lives change. Our vacation rentals have become a second home to many guests who have truly become our friends over the last few years. We offer a home to you that we would want to have offered to us.

Reviews

4.6
based on 10 traveler reviews

Last minute availability for LABOR DAY. Your last chance for a summer getaway!!
average rating of 4.6 based on 10 reviews
5

An Amazing Property That Fit Our Needs Perfectly

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I have stayed in numerous VRBO properties and this one has become one of our favorites. We wanted to stay on the Central Coast in California and more specifically in Avila Beach and we took a chance with this location. First, the owners are gracious, wonderful to work with and made securing the dates we wanted an easy task. The "apartment' is a large two bedroom, two story spacious place to spend some time. Our favorite spot in the home was the front balcony which has a spectacular view of the bay in Avila Beach. An additional advantage is how close it is to everything in the small town. Once we parked our car in the garage, we did not take it out again for the five days we were there. A quick walk down to the town and everything we needed was there.

Besides the comfortable design of the home and the many amenities that our there, we particularly enjoyed the large kitchen. We tend to start the day cooking a nice breakfast and then enjoy a leisurely morning. Of course, we ate breakfast on the balcony every morning enjoying the view.

We will definitely be back for another stay. This was a wonderful find and experience for us.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We certainly appreciate this review but, most importantly, appreciated this guest and his wife. They were outstanding guests who asked questions when they had them and made themselves at home which is exactly what we hope for. Thank you, Mark. We can't wait for a return visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Beach Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here over a weekend with my son, daughter-in-law and 5 month old baby. It was a stopping point from a trip to Santa Barbara. We all wished that we had longer to stay. We had a wonderful, relaxing time for the short time we were there. We bought fresh fish on the pier and BBQ'd it on the patio. We took the stroller into town easily and had a wonderful time exploring Avila Beach. We all said we will be coming back to your lovely condo. It was perfect for us. Thank you Jan for all your info and for being so accommodating. You were so easy to work with.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Julie! It was so nice to work with you and we eagerly anticipate another visit. Avila Beach is such a relaxing place and is perfect for a family to enjoy time together. We hope to meet that beautiful baby next visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
Fresno, California
5

Best Vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely LOVED this beach apt. It was clean, perfectly sized and great proximity to the beach. We have 5 year old twins (and 2 older children) and the walk was very easy for them. We have stayed in beach rentals before that are run by management companies and you can definitely tell the difference in dealing directly with the owners. There is a lot of pride taken in making these rentals appealing. The owners were a dream to deal with. Always available and very easy to get a hold of. They cared about our stay and wanted it to be perfect. That was very apparent. I highly recommend this rental to everyone looking for a beautiful and affordable place to stay. You won't regret it! Thank you Jan and Danny!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is easy to be a responsive vacation rental owner when such a nice family is staying in your rental! We appreciate the kind words of this wonderful family. We work very hard to provide a home that we would want to stay in and it is so nice when our guests notice it. It makes all the hard work worthwhile. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Fantastical Girl's Beach Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We so enjoyed our Avila Beach Girl's Getaway. The townhouse was perfect for our stay. The unit was very clean and comfortable. The kitchen was fully equiped with good quality cookware. The location can't be beat. I can't say enough positive things about it. The owners even bought us a Scrabble game to use, since we are such Scrabble buffs. We got emails while we were there from the owners to check if everything was ok. Can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Deborah for the review. As we have mentioned before, we appreciate the wonderful people we meet through our vacation rentals and we enjoy doing whatever we can to make their stay more enjoyable. We look forward to having Deborah and her group back for a return stay. As an owner operated vacation rental (as opposed to being handled by a management agency), we can give personal, caring and immediate service. Our goal is not only to share our beautiful little town with you but to have you leave satisfied and ready to return!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
So Cal
5

Another great vacation at Avila Beach!!

  • 5 of 5

Just back from another great time in Avila Beach. What started as a weekend getaway 6 "stays" ago, went to 1 week then 2 weeks and lengthened to a whole month for the last 2 years. It began with only 2 grandkids with their mommy and daddy, Now there are 2 more. Even a month now is never enough! The townhouse is in a quiet residential neighborhood with friendly neighbors and a view of the beach. You hear and see the waves when you open the slider to go out to sit on the balcony with your morning coffee or a glass of wine in the evening to watch the sunset. And try the SLO Farmers Market on Thursday nights with the Avila Beach Farmers Market on Friday nights. Jan and Danny are "The Best" hosts ever. If there is ever an issue they are right on top of it. I'm "remote challenged" so, of course, the first thing I do is get the tv "off line". They offered to drive up and fix it for me but at my request they walked me through it on the phone. When I had a problem with the screen slider coming of the track, they fixed it the same day. They are A+ #1 in my book! I think 6 years staying with the same "hosts" says it all. I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!

As far as the "guest" with the poor review, keep in mind this is an area with citizens who live and work here year round. I feel safe here by myself when my son and his family have to go back home early from time to time. I've always found that people who get "grief" about their poor behavior, usually earned it...just sayin

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Linda, thank you so much for the wonderful review. We love having you and your beautiful family stay with us frequently. It has been so much fun watching the family grow. Meeting people like you and your family is the reason we have the vacation rentals. We appreciate your thoughtfulness throughout your stay. Avila is such a great little place and we love having the opportunity to share it with people like you! We can't wait until next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Central Valley
1

Nice but not worth it

  • 1 of 5

Let me first start off by saying what an amazing residence this turned out to be. It was a great find, in a great neighborhood with an awesome view. Having grown up on the coast and returning to visit my friends and family its always nice to see the ocean and all that is offered in Avila Beach.

It was even nicer to know that the individuals whom I planned my event for were happy with accommodations that I found. This goes without mentioning the great locality of good food and drinking establishments and a golf course that is located just up the road.

I was able to appreciate the informational binder located in the home that discussed all that Avila had to offer even the passion and hard work that was put into the construction of this apartment community. The completion of this project definitely reflects the American Dream.

On Saturday after a challenging round of golf I received an extremely disappointing call from the apartment owner scolding my party and me for eating and drinking at the local pub. Which was none of her business. Like any beach community the tourist factor is what drives the business climate in Avila. The owner continued to badger me of some alleged “problems” at the pub the night before. Did we eat and spend a fare amount of money on alcohol … yes. In fact, the bachelor bought two rounds of drinks on the house for the bar patrons.

After feeding to the local economy we walked to our weekend residence where we were safely in bed by 12:30 am. Mind you we were not operating a vehicle, nor being anymore of a nuisance then the other regular bar patrons. We later confirmed this with the bar manager Saturday night who assured us if there was an issues he would have been made aware of it that night if not the next day.

Continuing with the conversation with the owner she advised me that photographs were taken of the property prior to our arrival and the items mentioned in a finalization e-mail authored by the owner. In the finalization e-mail after the property was rented she goes on to advise that a cop lives in a neighboring building and will watch us. We were then threatened that he would not hesitate to call under any suspicion of wrongdoing. The owner continued to repeat herself that Avila was a small community and that there were numerous problems at the pub, Mr. Rick’s. When I ask her to give specifics of the problems it was met with the only response that people talk and there were problems. To no avail she nev

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: To begin, I was completely mislead about the reason for the weekend stay. The contact person throughout the booking process was the wife of this gentleman. Only after the rental was booked and paid for was it learned it was for a bachelor party. I immediately explained that we cater to families and are in no way a "party" rental as we are located in a residential neighborhood. The wife informed me that the guys were not kids and only wanted a quiet weekend. The day following their arrival, I received contact from residents who were shouted at when walking by the rental. I also received numerous complaints from bar patrons who informed me they left the bar early because of the rude and obnoxious behavior of these gentlemen. I contacted one of the men occupying my rental and told him of the complaints I had received. He was never threatened but was informed that the neighbors would not hesitate to contact the authorities if the problems continued. He mentioned to me as he noted above that the group fed the local economy but the local economy does not need to deal with poor behavior that drives the regular patrons away. In over 6 years, we have never had to deal with a situation like this. We have never had neighbors call to complain. We have never been contacted by "locals" who had their peace and quiet disturbed. Avila Beach is a fabulous little town and is full of great people who like to walk to the bar on a Friday evening and listen to the band while they relax with old and new friends. It is very "kick back" and typically everyone gets along. Problems seldom occur in Avila so one disruptive group makes a big impression. We offer a beautiful vacation rental that is perfect for a family stay or a family reunion or a quick getaway or for a multitude of other reasons. Avila is a very peaceful and quiet town- especially in the winter season. More than half or our renters are return renters who visit our rentals numerous times per year and return year after year. We appreciate the renters that respect the town and the people around them.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 7

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
San Luis Obispo International Airport
Nearest Barpub
Mr. Rick's
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Avila Beach Golf Resort
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Grover Beach
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
101 Freeway
Nearest Restaurant
Ocean Grill
Nearest Beach
Avila Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
San Luis Obispo International Airport
Nearest Point of Interest
Pismo State Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Cal Poly State University
Nearest Point of Interest
Fishermen's Wharf, Morro Bay
Nearest Point of Interest
Hearst Castle, San Simeon
Nearest Point of Interest
Wine Tasting, Numerous in Paso Robles
Nearest Point of Interest
Hartford Pier
Nearest Point of Interest
Wine Tasting, Numerous in Avila Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Avila Beach Golf Resort- home to many concerts other events
Car: recommended

AVILA BEACH, Sunday artist exhibits at pier entrance, Farmers Market on Friday, BBQ pits & picnic benches on the beach, new childrens park, PORT SAN LUIS (2 miles), deep sea fishing, fire rings for fires at night, pier with restaurant & fish market, Many- see our web site, Closest- 3 minute drive, PISMO BEACH (3 miles), outlets, rental of kayaks, bicycles, surfboards, Pier, excellent restaurants & small shops, OCEANO DUNES (5 miles), Famous offroad riding on hardpack sand or rolling dunes, dune tours by Hummer, ATV rentals, LOPEZ LAKE (12 miles), water sports, boat rentals, wind surfing, ARROYO GRANDE (8 miles), Regal Cinemas, major grocery stores & restaurants, SAN LUIS OBISPO (8 miles), Home of Cal Poly State University, Town is full of college fun with nationally known bars, Thursday Farmers Market is a must-see with the downtown streets blocked off & human powered bicycle taxi's as transportation, Full of excellant restaurants & pubs.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Avila Beach Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2016
Jun 28 2016 - Sep 1 2016
3 night minimum stay
$325
From
$340
Fri,Sat
$2,065
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 5 2016
3 night minimum stay
$365
 
 
Fall 2016
Sep 6 2016 - Nov 17 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$275
Fri,Sat
$1,650
 
 
Holiday 2016
Nov 18 2016 - Nov 28 2016
3 night minimum stay
$325
From
$340
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,065
 
 
Winter 2016
Nov 29 2016 - Dec 18 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$275
Fri,Sat
$1,650
 
 
Christmas Holiday
Dec 19 2016 - Jan 5 2017
5 night minimum stay
$340
 
 
Winter/Spring 2017
Jan 6 2017 - Apr 6 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$275
Fri,Sat
$1,650
 
 
Spring Break 2017
Apr 7 2017 - Apr 24 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
From
$340
Fri,Sat
$2,065
 
 
Spring 2017
Apr 25 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$275
Fri,Sat
$1,650
 
 
Summer 2017
May 26 2017 - Jun 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
From
$340
Fri,Sat
$2,065
 
 
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$380
 
 
Summer 2017
Jul 6 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
From
$340
Fri,Sat
$2,065
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$275
Fri,Sat
$1,650
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $400
Tax Rate 12.0%

WE DO NOT ALLOW PARTIES as we are located in a residential neighborhood.

There is a max capacity of 6 guests including children. Please call or email for detailed prices. To assist people with allergies and asthma, we do not allow pets or smoking on our properties.

HOLIDAYS AND SPRING BREAK AS WELL AS SPECIAL EVENTS IN THE LOCAL AREA ARE AT SUMMER PRICES OR HIGHER RATES.

We offer a substantial off season discount of 30 nights or longer. Holiday rates are at summer prices during off season.

The $500 Reservation Fee is sent with the Rental Application. This amount applies to rent. Thirty days prior to arrival, balance of rent, cleaning fee, refundable Security Deposit & 12% County Taxes are due. VISA, MasterCard, Discover Card or checks are accepted for the Reservation Fee. The balance is payable by personal check. Other arrangements may be made with international guests.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Avila Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (2) Queen bed in each bedroom, Sofa sleeper located upstairs next to the fireplace
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Complimentary basket with snacks. Also, in the kitchen you will find coffee packets, creamer and sugar, filters for the coffee maker and a binder loaded with places to go and things to do.

Partner Offers