check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kay or Morris Haynes

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Adorable, Cozy Isle Of Palms Beach Home W/Pool & Screened Porch!

22 Reviews
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Isle of Palms House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

Need A Break? Head to The Beach! This adorable, well-stocked Beach Rental sits just a short walk to the beach (3/16th of a mile) and sleeps 9 people! It is located close to Charleston in the exclusive island community of Isle Of Palms, SC. You'll be close to the beach and a short drive from fantastic area restaurants, art galleries, and all of the Charleston area attractions- like the Battery, Fort Moultrie, and the SC Aquarium! Check out the secrets of the Hunley, tour the old time cotton plantations, walk through the open air piazza’s in the garden district, visit the myriads of one-of-a kind, eclectic area shops, or walk through the open-air flea markets at Meeting and Market streets! Or, if you want to simply relax and get away from it all, just pull your beach chair onto the quiet, sugar-sand beach and feel your cares drift away!

This cozy beach home is approximately 1700 square feet, with 3 Bedrooms and 2 Baths, Plus a 4th room that is used as a bedroom with a Queen Murphy (pull-down) bed. This is a very comfy, laid back, well-equipped, 'family-friendly, easy entertaining, friends-having-a-great-time' beach house that is comfortably equipped with 'all of the essentials of home': including a convection microwave, a coffee maker and a blender, all kitchen / baking utensils, cookie sheets and lots of pots and pans and very comfy furniture and beds. It's a few blocks to the beach, straight up 30th Avenue to the 30th Avenue beach access path on Palm Blvd.

It's close to great restaurants and funky shops here on the island, and it's only a 20 minute drive into Charleston, SC- plus it's only 10 minutes to Sullivan's Island. Isle of Palms has a GREAT, wide beach, with lots of white, sugar-spun sand and shelling (look for sand dollars, tulip shells, horseshoe crabs and the occasional starfish and conch shells). Many people para-sail or windsurf here also. This is a very popular home with many renters returning year after year, some for months at a time. Isle of Palms, nearby Sullivan's Island and Charleston all have STELLAR restaurants, lots of super shopping, a state-of-the-art Aquarium, and many museums and neat shops. Enjoy re-discovering history by strolling along the Charleston Battery, take a horse driven carriage ride and learn all about the area's history, visit the raised Hunley submarine, or explore Fort Moultrie... the choices are endless!

On Isle of Palms, you will have an uncrowded, peaceful place to unwind- and when you are ready to 'kick up your heels', you can drive into Charleston and get as busy or as crazy as you'd like! There are lots of great seafood and steak restaurants, and a few really stellar oyster and sushi houses (if you're into that sort of thing)! Here, you'll have the best of both worlds- peace when you really need it, a pool downstairs for the kids when you don't feel like dealing with the sand and pitching tents / carrying stuff back from the beach, and at your disposal, all of the accoutrements of a big, large city for some fun and excitement when you are done with the laid back 'R&R' feel of Isle of Palms.

We, as owners, try to think of every little thing that would make our guests feel right at home. We care deeply about your having an incredible time here, like we do with our own friends and family. We have tried to stock the home with the things we would want on our own family vacation- board games, books, cards, a comfortably equipped kitchen, TV's with DVD's and phones in every room, comfortable furniture (and SUPER comfy beds), extra blankets and pillows, and all of the creature comforts of 'a home away from home'. We partner with a local property management company just in case y'all need anything during your stay (you are welcome to book through them if that makes you more comfortable) but if you book directly with us, you will not have to pay their 20% management fee on top of the booking rate. We allow pets-we have them, too; but we do require a pet deposit (per pet), similar to the other rentals in this area. All rental rates include cleaning at the end of your stay and linens (towels and sheets for the bed). Please pack extra beach towels.

Please feel free to call us or to email us any time with any additional questions that you may have. We thank you for your interest in our well-loved home! We hope you enjoy this home and your stay as much as we do when we come down ourselves- and we hope you'll be coming back for years to come. Enjoy your stay- and y'all come back now, ya' heah?!?

More Details
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Kay or Morris Haynes (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

About Kay or Morris Haynes

We are a happily married couple (50 years strong) with a lovely family (two daughters and three grandchildren, plus one 'grand-bird')! We come to Isle of Palms to get away from the stress of daily life and to spend quality time with our family when the home is not rented. We are committed to making our guests feel like this is their 'home away from home' and we are happy to share our very loving home with others who need a fun, relaxing vacation, too! PS- recent owners and tenants have recently been hacked on rental property management websites, including VRBO and Home Away! NEVER send money by Western Union for your reservation! If you are asked by any owner to wire money via Western Union, it is most likely that the owner's account has been compromised and hacked, and the hackers 'act like' they are the owners to re-direct money to their personal accounts. We don't want to scare anyone, but want our tenants to be aware that this is happening! If asked to wire money via Western Union, please contact the site administrator (like VRBO) immediately, who will then contact the owner for you. If you have any questions and need to contact us directly via telephone rather than email, please contact VRBO and they will give you a legitimate contact number.

Kay or Morris Haynes purchased this house in 1997

Why Kay or Morris Haynes chose Charleston Area

We have been coming to Isle of Palms for over 30 years. When we retired, we decided that it was time for us to enjoy a 'new phase' in our lives. We like this place so much more than the commercialism of Myrtle Beach, or even Hilton Head- you have the ability to golf, fish, boat, swim in the ocean, or to entertain friends- but you will also have all of the amenities of a 'big' city very close by when you want it. The restaurants here in Charleston are FIRST RATE, having been the recipient of Johnson and Wales, a celebrated culinary arts school. You can get anything you want here- fresh seafood abounds, as do great steakhouses, sushi, ethnic food- you name it, and Charleston has it! There are great shops all over the island, on nearby Sullivan's Island, and of course, all throughout downtown Charleston. The old market at the corner of Meeting and Market streets is not to be missed. Take a carriage ride or walking tour & learn about the city's rich history, visit the old forts, the incredible museums and even the state of the art Aquarium. There is so much to see and do- we are still discovering new places and things to do on every trip. But- we LOVE coming home to a peaceful, restful place that is comfy at the end of the day. Most of our guests return year after year, and have become 'like family' to us, too. We hope that you will love and care for our little 'slice of heaven' like we do and will love your time so much here that you will also put it on your calendar every year! We call it 'Starfish By The Sea'... because my daughter loves starfish and she also the Realtor who helped us find this place. A couple of important notes- this home is one of the very few that is on city water & sewer (most are on septic systems or wells)- so the water quality is superb... we didn't want 'funky tasting water'! We installed a new pool with a salt water chlorination system & a Mosquito control system so you can sit outside and swim at night without being 'bugged'! Enjoy!

What makes this house unique

We have a pool to cool off in and sunbathe around when we just don't feel like getting the kids home all gritty from the beach, and we just want to stay in and swim, relax and grill dogs and burgers by the pool. The pool has a unique 'salt water chlorination system', which is easier on kids and adults eyes and skin. We also have a mosquito control system in the yard and pool perimeter, so you could swim at night withough getting eaten alive by the coastal 'no-see-um's'. We've been told that that our home is very comfortable and we love entertaining our friends and family here... everyone has a really great time and they love joining us for a 'break' from normal life at the beach! Please do come and join us- we're glad to have y'all stay with us and relax at our littel slice of heaven, aka: 'Starfish By The Sea!

Reviews

4.8
based on 22 traveler reviews

Adorable, Cozy Isle Of Palms Beach Home W/Pool & Screened Porch!
average rating of 4.7727275 based on 22 reviews
3

Needs a bit of TLC

  • 3 of 5

While the location was great for us and the house met our needs, we were a bit disappointed in the fact that the pool was always full of leaves, a few dead spiders and small debris from the trees. We had no way other than trying to scoop them out with a skimmer to clean it. The pool guy came once and cleaned it but it was full of leaves and tiny particles from the trees again within an hour. These often settled to the bottom where the skimmer could not really work to remove them. It would have been nice to have had access to the pool vacuum. I realize why the owners would not want that as if you do not have a pool, you might damage it, but this could be covered via a damage deposit. There are several repairs that need to be done as well - some of the refrigerator bins were broken and the couch was ripping. I don't want to be all negative, however, as the owners were great to work with and we did enjoy our stay. There is a nice yard where the kids could play or we could play some outdoor games.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gurnee, IL
5

Very nice home great location.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great family vacation. We were looking for a

place where our family could all stay. This house fit the bill. Conveniently located to the beach and on days we didn't want to go to the ocean, we enjoyed the pool. Close to Charleston as well. Truly a very relaxing week!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We love it too! Please come again. Kay
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Greenwood, IN
4

Summer Vacation

  • 4 of 5

The house was roomy and perfect for our family of 4. We really enjoyed having the pool right out the back of the home. There were tons of games and puzzles available, and we had a couple of fun family game nights. The house is well equipped with regard to kitchen items as well. The furniture in the living room could use a good cleaning, but I know it's tough with white/light colored furniture. The pool was dirty when we arrived but there had been some storms blowing through and a quick note to the owner got the pool company out the very next day. . The garage area with access to the pool was also quite dirty, but we only had to go in and out of that door, so not a deal breaker by any means. I would not recommend this house for 4 adult couples, maybe 3, but the Murphy bed in the master bedroom closet does not to me qualify as an extra bedroom. We did thoroughly enjoy our stay, and we would choose this home again, as long as Kay & Morris would have us!

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you taking the time to write a review! We are sorry about the dirty garage, when you have a lot of storms, the sand and the water come thru the slats. The housekeeping does not clean this area, we do. When it's rented so much, we do not have a chance to come down and blow it out. Please come again. K
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and a wonderful home away from home.

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful get away loved the location and between the pool and the beautiful beach our family definitely got our water time in. Will definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! Please come again! K
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic !!!Great house and kitchen. Excellent location. Had everything we needed. Will rent again.

  • 5 of 5

Excelent!

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kristin; Thank you so much for your kind words. We really try to equip our house so that our guests can just come in and relax and have a great vacation. We're so glad that you had such a fantastic stay here! Hope to have you visit with us again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good

  • 4 of 5

The property is very nice. Great for about 5 people.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We're so glad that you had a nice stay at our home. Please join us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Charleston
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Morgan's Creek
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Wild Dunes
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Highway 17
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Morgan's Creek Grill and Marina
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Isle of Palms
Nearest Point of Interest
Our home at # 30 30th Avenue
Nearest Point of Interest
Beach
Car: recommended

Located 3/16th of a mile from world famous Isle of Palms beach, and 20 minutes to the heart of downtown Charleston, SC!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Isle of Palms House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 10 2016 - Oct 21 2016
7 night minimum stay
$2,000
 
 
Winter
Oct 22 2016 - Mar 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,695
 
 
Christmas Week
Dec 24 2016 - Dec 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,795
Flat fee
 
 
Spring
Mar 4 2017 - May 12 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,950
 
 
Beach
May 13 2017 - Jun 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,550
 
 
Summer
Jun 10 2017 - Aug 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
 
July 4 Week
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,695
Flat fee
 
 
Sport
Aug 5 2017 - Sep 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,800
 
 
Fall
Sep 9 2017 - Oct 13 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,000
 
 
Winter
Oct 14 2017 - Mar 2 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,695
 
 
Christmas Week
Dec 23 2017 - Dec 29 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,795
Flat fee
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Pet Fee $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Isle of Palms House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Dialup Access
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1) Murphy Bed, folds into the wall in the 4th room, Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Widow's Walk off of the master Bedroom. City Water and Sewer (no well or septic system). Use of Recreation facilities two blocks away. Close to public golf courses, beach, public boat launch, and tennis.

Partner Offers