check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

James

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

Luminous Oasis Tucked Betw Private courtyards atop 11th C Village

29 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Les Arcs House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

The house is situated in the medieval quarter perched above the town of Les Arcs-sur-Argens. This quartier médiéval has a labyrinth of stepped alleys and stone houses overlooking the main village and the Côtes de Provence vineyards. The house sleeps 6 persons in 3 bedrooms with 2 full bathrooms and 2 enclosed courtyard gardens.

The entire ground floor is filled with natural light looking onto both front and back courtyards. The living room has 2 arched doorways that open to out onto the front courtyard. The front courtyard has chaise-lounges and large dining table shaded by olive and cypress trees. The fully equipped kitchen opens onto the rear courtyard with a palm tree and fountain . The house has been completely renovated by local artisans in a clean, whitewashed Mediterranean style, and is fully equipped with modern appliances. One level up are two bedrooms and two bathrooms. At the very top level is the third bedroom. The light-filled bedrooms have views directly on the old chateau and tower.

private website:

Les Arcs-sur-Argens is located in the south of France, just 45 minutes by car from the Nice International Airport (NCE). It is a very convenient base location for exploring Provence and the Mediterranean with easy access to the A-8 autoroute and N-7 route des vacances, as well as the TGV train station in town (les Arcs-Draguignan). The house is situated atop the town in the village médiéval on a quiet square.

Travel by car is often more convenient, especially to access hilltop villages. Les Arcs is a very convenient base location for exploring Provence and the Mediterranean with easy access to the A-8 autoroute and N-7 route des vacances, as well as the TGV train station in town (les Arcs-Draguignan).

Be sure to check out our private website (scroll down for link) where we talk more about the house, the village and things to see and do in the area.

With its naturally hard surfaces, the house is not suitable for small children.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
James (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

Reviews

4.9
based on 29 traveler reviews

Luminous Oasis Tucked Betw Private courtyards atop 11th C Village
average rating of 4.862069 based on 29 reviews
5

Chic and comfortable respite in Provence

  • 5 of 5

We had a delightful 3 week sojourn in this wonderful home, using it as a base to explore Provence and the Cote d'Azur. There is no end of treasures to be found in the region, from the Gorges du Verdon and nearby Lac St. Croix to the towns of Tourtours and St. Paul de Vence. So much is within reach, from vineyards to fields of lavender to beaches. Les Arcs is low key and friendly, crowned by its medieval heart, where this home discreetly sits at the top of the village's small hill. If you object to walking from where your car is parked or can't manage hills, this may not be the home for you. We didn't mind. We loved its rustic chic decor, comfortable beds, stylish (and well-equipped) kitchen and inviting courtyards. There is appealing art on the walls; everything speaks of taste and quality. We also found James and his local caretakers to be responsive, kind and friendly when any small question arose.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply the best!

  • 5 of 5

We did a lot of research to find the perfect home base for a two week stay in the south of France and we definitely found it. The home has been creatively and comfortably restored, carefully and thoughtfully equipped. We lacked for nothing the entire stay. The peacefulness of the hilltop location was the ultimate in relaxation. A walk each morning through the cobbled walkways for fresh croissants, enjoyed every sunny morning on the front walled terrace, was the best way to start a day! Most evening meals, after full days of touring and markets, were enjoyed on the terrace off the kitchen with it's lovely fountain. Great location for visiting the Côte d'Azur's beautiful coastal towns as well as medieval hilltop villages. We even travelled as far as Avignon for a day trip. The owners were great to deal with and their home is as described,a "Luminous Oasis". Hope to visit again and again.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Gatineau, Québec, Canada
5

Dream house in marvelous small medieval village

  • 5 of 5

This spotless house becomes a home as soon as you open the door. It is the perfect balance between modern American style and romantic European flair.

The white subtil decor is simply beautiful. Every detail is refined and charming: the lovely French textiles that adorn windows, the comfortable pillows, the lush towels and the "old school" revolving soaps, all add a special touch. After buying fresh produce at local producers' markets, we enjoyed cooking in the well equiped kitchen and eating "al fresco". Walking the narrow medieval streets is fabulous. We also had the chance to experience medieval times during the village's festival in July. Located close to mediterrean beaches and wineries. Fabulous experience. Contact with owners is a joy. I highly recommend this rental.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

At the top of a medieval stone village

  • 5 of 5

This is a delightful, well designed and equipped attached house right on a small square at the very top of a restored village above the town of Les Arcs. The commercial section of the town is a short walk (but back is all uphill) through captivating alleys and winding stairs. The house has both an interior court and front, private garden patio; both are delightful, and sitting there is very enjoyable. The owners are extremely helpful and cordial, and the property was very well maintained. Couple that with an outstanding location to explore the western Var, and I would gladly stay again.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The perfect French holiday

  • 5 of 5

The property surpassed all our expectations and we had a magical holiday in Les Arcs. What better way to enjoy this charming location than staying in the heart of the medieval village in this beautiful home. We fell in love with the village during a previous holiday and this property, beautifully equipped and with a wonderful layout that perfectly suited the needs of our family, enabled us to enjoy the delights of the perfect French holiday - great food and wine, French markets, fantastic weather, beautiful beaches and the spectacular and varied surrounding countryside. To pretend it was ours even just for two weeks was fantastic! We would recommend it without hesitation and hope to return one day.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet retreat in medieval town

  • 5 of 5

The property exceeded its description. The photos were spot on and truly reflected the house and its surroundings. We had a very enjoyable stay. The house was very spacious and well suited for our family of 5. It was clean and very well equipped. The location was ideal for day trips as it was close to the main highways and easily accessible. The walk to the center of town was very short and the town was lovely. We really enjoyed the farmers market in town and the local market had most everything we needed - if not, the main supermarket was a short drive. Our only complaint was that parking spaces were often in short supply, and getting in and out of the square in front of the house could be challenging. Ideally, there would be one parking spot reserved for this address at all times. Otherwise, the home was perfect for our family. Our trip was made all the more enjoyable knowing that we had this wonderful place to stay each night. The local caretaker only speaks French, but when we had a problem with the hot water, he came out right away and took care of it immediately. The owners were very helpful and accommodating and provided many helpful tips about the town and its surrounding. We can recommend this property without reservation.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
80 Kilometres
Nice (NCE)
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Café de la Tour
Nearest Golf
13 Kilometres
Saint Endréol
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
TGV station les Arcs-Draguignan
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
N7, A8
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
Logis Du Guetteur
Nearest Beach
28 Kilometres
Saint Maxime, Saint Tropez
Car: recommended

Wine tasting, numerous Côtes de Provence vineyards within minutes by bike or car.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Les Arcs House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season-Autumn
Sep 1 2016 - Dec 31 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
 
Low Season-Spring
Jan 1 2017 - May 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
 
High Season
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee 1X / rental $100
Refundable damage deposit $400

You will be booking this house directly with the owner of this property. You will be required to sign a contract with the owner before owner will forward the keys.
House keys, directions and house instructions will be sent to you by postal mail 30 days prior to your arrival date.
House keys must be returned to owner in USA. There is NO local-France key pick-up/drop-off available.
Security/key deposit with be refunded upon receipt of house keys by owner in USA.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Les Arcs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 160 m²
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , access through private door in bedroom nr.2; hair dryer
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , WC/Toilet in a separate room; hair dryer
  • Both bathrooms have semi-enclosed custom showers with Moroccan cement tiled walls and pebble embedded cement floors. Large sit-on-top sinks and plush towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , master bedroom,located separately from shared WC and shower.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , open stairway from second level
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , open stairway to top level
  • One queen-two person bed in two rooms with two adult size single beds located in 3rd bedroom. Each bedroom has a portable fan.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties