Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful 4/3 Azalea Ridge Chalet Just Above a Rushing Stream and rafting nearby

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights


About the property

Chalet, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Sliding glass doors lead from the spacious Great Room to the wrap-around deck, an ideal spot for reading, picnicking, or just whiling away the hoursIn our therma spa jacuzzi. The Great Room features a native stone fireplace - just the place for warming up on those cool mountain nights. Gather 'round for a cup of steaming cocoa, an Irish Coffee, or whatever suits your taste.

Snuggle with that special someone to the crackling of the fire, while outside, the crickets chirp a serenade. Twenty-seven inch TV with VCR and DVD players are provided for family evenings, with a healthy library of movies for your enjoyment.

Upstairs, overlooking the Great Room, the roomy Master Suite offers sweeping views of the mountains and nearby stream. The Master Suite has its own bath. Linens are included, and for your convenience, a washer and dryer are provided. Our three bedroom chalet is perfect for large families, friendly get-togethers, or group outings.

For smaller families or groups, consider one of our cabins. With two roomy bedrooms, they offer all the comfort of our Chalet, at a lower price. Well-mannered pets will be considered on a case-by-case basis. An additional security deposit of $150 will be required, and will be refunded provided no traces of Fido remain after your departure.

If your perfect vacation includes fishing, hiking, boating, rock climbing, skiing, rafting, sightseeing, or personal enrichment, this is the place for you. There’s lots to do in North Carolina. Check out North Carolina Attractions!

Keywords: Chalet

More Details

Greg or Donna
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english, spanish, limited amount of spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 27, 2017

Why Greg or Donna chose Lake Nantahala

secluded and the sound of the river is very relaxing


Topton Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 double
  • Queen size Beds (4), Double Futon Bed (1), Sleep Sofa (1)
  • Air Hockey
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Cooking Utensils, Gas BBQ, Full-size Pool Table & Electronic Dart Board, Therma spa jacuzzi


4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Beautiful 4/3 Azalea Ridge Chalet Just Above a Rushing Stream and rafting nearby
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews

Nice little gem in the mountains!!

  • 5 of 5

Whenever booking online you always wonder about if the cabin will be what the pictures show, when we arrived at this cabin for our vacation we discovered a little gem of a cabin that is even nicer than in the pictures! Nice and clean, and very very peaceful! Even though the dam at the bottom was undergoing restoration, even the heavy equipment was not really heard and was completely unseen at the bottom of the drive across the road!! In the evenings, there was the occasional car you would hear heading up the main road but that was all. The drive and parking area are well maintained so that in all but very inclement weather it is accessible by most any vehicle. Here is where I must add one note (and this is not uncommon in mountain cabins) *** THIS IS NOT A MOTORCYCLE FRIENDLY DRIVEWAY!! UNLESS YOU ARE AN EXPERIENCED RIDER, AVOID THIS ONE!!*** While we were able to get up and down the drive on our bike, for inexperienced riders it would probably be more than they could handle, as it is a steep (albeit well maintained) gravel driveway. Other than that this is a very nice cabin that is close to Nantahala and some very nice fishing holes, including several within walking distance on Oak Creek!

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your nice comments about our Chalet. We are glad you enjoyed your stay there. We strive to make your vacation a pleasant one and hope to see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Melville, LA

3 Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

I rented the cabin for my parents. We have been traveling to North Carolina for about 39 yeears now. We vacation all over but this is by for my Dads favorite state! This was our first stay at this cabin. It was reasonably priced, very large, and super clean. The sound of the stream and creek from the balcony was very relaxing. There is not one thing that we did not enjoy about the cabin or the area we were staying. Very good people to deal with. More than willing to help and answer questions. There were also plenty of games and activities for the kids and teenagers when we weren't sightseeing. Thanks for a wonderful vacation. The Chalet offered your moneys worth of comfort.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make your vacation one that you will remember for years to come. We hope to see you back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1
Van Vleck, Texas

What a wonderful place!

  • 4 of 5

Let me start with the home was GREAT. We had a great stay, wish we could have stayed longer. The only reason for not giving an Excellent rating is the drieway to the house. It has not been paved in a very long time. We were on motorcycles (road bikes) if you are not really careful you could lay your bike down. The view into the woods from the porches and hot tub is beautiful! Setting up the rental and deposit was very easy and my deposit was refunded very quickley. Hope to stay there again soon!

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments and input about our Chalet and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make your vacation a pleasant one and hope to see you again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2
Middle Island, NY 11953

Nicer than the photos!

  • 5 of 5

The photos do not accurately show just how pretty the place is. We were quite pleased. It was also neat & clean. We stayed for Thanksgiving week family reunion. The washer and dryer are great. The hot tub was wonderful, although it did need repair which was handled promptly. The sound of the river and waterfall over the dam was heard even with the windows closed. You will want 4 wheel drive in rain or snow. The downstairs bedroom has only a full size futon bed, and a portable heater. There is no cell phone reception for miles. A real nice get-away.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate your comments and input about our cabin and are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make your vacation one that will be remembered by you for years to come...
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2
Kingsland, GA USA

Very Dangerous!

  • 1 of 5

The parking is very very dangerous! We got our truck stuck at the bottom of the cabin and broke our emergency brake. We were not warned to not park there. There was no place for the kids to swim in the lake and we were specificaly told there was. We ran out of water for an entire day before they got it working again. If we would have been warned of these things before hand we probably wouldn't have stayed here. Next time we will stay some where else, wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This renter parked vehicles on the lawn on the side of the house which was clearly not a parking area for any vehicles. We have ample parking in the designated parking area in front of the house. They also had about 21 people staying there as per maintenance man who went to the house 2 separate days, which they told us at the time of reserving the house they had a total of 12 people which is the maximum allowed for this house. The septic, well, etc. is equiped for up to 12 people, not 21 and because of that, they ran the reservoir tank completely out of water and it took awhile to fill back up. Lake Nantahala has several pull off areas and a public access area to go swimming at which they were told that. These renters clearly did not abide by the rules & regulations and because of that they ruined their vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
28 5


Nantahala River
"great family river"
Nantahala River
"great family river"
deep creek park
"great day trip"
Bryant Bait & Tackle
"great stop before going out on the lake for the day"
Cozy Cabin Minutes from Lake Nantahala and Nantahala Rafting
Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Nearest Train
30 Miles
appalachian railway
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
hwy 64
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
lakes end
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Car: necessary

Downhill Snowskiing, ATV Adventures


Rates & Availability

Topton Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
4th of July
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 8 2017
5 night minimum stay
Dec 23 2017 - Dec 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $225

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing


Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties