check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Ginny or Norm

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

Oceanfront Cottage, Stunning Views, Beach, Private, No Service Fee!

94 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Little River House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2 Maximum)

Thanks to our wonderful guests, we have the highest review score in all of the Mendocino listings with 94 five-star reviews!.

NO "service fee" to pay because you will book with us through our secure visa or mastercard merchant processing account. We have been a licensed vacation rental since 2009 and have hosted over 450 guests. To book with us, click the "send email" button and we'll get back to you..

For the correct rates and terms and other details, please read this description to the very end and all your questions may be answered. Read about OFF-SEASON DISCOUNTS.

To SEE OUR VIDEO TOUR, click on the video tab above the photo on this page and be sure to read our reviews (the sofa has changed since this video).

DESCRIPTION: This adorable cottage has an amazing location on a bluff above a magnificent cove, lovely beach and island. A short private path on the property leads you down to the peaceful cove. The cottage is just 3 miles from Mendocino Village and close to restaurants, markets, activities, golf and hiking.

The cottage is light and airy, nicely decorated, and very clean! Vaulted ceilings give an open feel to this romantic little house. It is well-equipped with electronics, including 2 Cable TV’s, WIFI, DVD player, stereo IPOD docking station, and CD player. The cottage is a separate and private building on the owner's 3-acre property.

It's a perfect romantic place for 2 and a great place to celebrate a honeymoon, anniversary, birthday, or just get away from it all.

Our single guests have found the cottage and the setting to be an inspiring retreat. Come and write the first chapter of your novel. Meditate to the sound of the waves.

PLEASE NOTE: NOT SUITABLE for divers, kayaks, or any wet sporting gear, RV's or motorcycles, no portable BBQ's, or outdoor fires because of fire danger. 2 guests only, no additional sleeping space.

RATES AND TERMS:

High Season until October 30, 2016: $245/night

Off Season SPECIAL DISCOUNT; starting October 30 to April 2, 2017

$195 Weeknights, $245 Weekends, 3rd and 4th and 5th weeknights @ $175/night

NOTE: Thursday and Sunday are charged as weekend nights if it breaks a weekend - example: 2 nights Thursday and Friday, or 2 nights Saturday and Sunday.

No Service Fee!

*COUNTY TAX of 11% and exit cleaning fee of $50 are charged when the guest arrives.

We require $100 advance rent payment to confirm the booking and the balance of the rent portion to be paid 30 days prior to arrival. The tax and cleaning fee are charged after you arrive. These payments are non-refundable unless we are able to re-rent.

Minimum Stay: 2 nights, except some holidays.

THANK YOU for taking the time to read it all. If this suits you, we will be happy to welcome you for a very special oceanfront getaway. Send us a request and we will send you an agreement.

BTW: Please tell your friends to find our property by sorting by "review count".

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Ginny or Norm (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

About Ginny or Norm

We fell in love with Mendocino in the late 80’s while staying at an oceanfront vacation rental. In 1989, we got the wild idea to buy an oceanfront property and left our home in Sausalito to become “Mendonesians”. Since we both had jobs in the wine business which allowed us to work out of our home, we have managed quite well over the years thanks to the FAX-era of the 80’s, the dial-up era of the 90’s, and finally the high-speed era of today.

The cottage was almost totally rebuilt in the 90’s and was used as our offices for several years. We also lived there while we built our new house and have very fond memories of our years in the cottage. On sunny days, we liked to sit on the porch steps for our evening glass of wine.

We have only been renting the cottage since February, 2010 and so far it's been a 100% positive experience for us, as well as our guests. We give our guests the key and we usually don't see them again until they leave, totally relaxed and happy. Most people report that the cottage is like a decompression chamber and a great escape from work, home, and city life. This is always music to our ears!

Ginny or Norm purchased this house in 1989

Reviews

5
based on 94 traveler reviews

Oceanfront Cottage, Stunning Views, Beach, Private, No Service Fee!
average rating of 4.989362 based on 94 reviews
London UK
5

Expectations Exceeded!

  • 5 of 5

We spent 6 nights at this wonderful hideaway and it wasn't enough! The accommodation is first-rate: thoughtfully furnished and equipped, beautifully clean and with incredible views over the cove below and out into the Pacific. Ginny and Norm are welcoming hosts who provided so much help and info before and during our trip. The town of Mendocino is close by and we felt privileged to experience all that it (and the area) had to offer, with this memorable cottage to return to. Relaxation is guaranteed. We travelled many, many miles to stay here and would do it all again!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Memorable

  • 5 of 5

Classic Northern California cliffside cottage. Has it all - easy beach access, stunning view from every room, privacy, gracious hosts, and a convenient nearby market. You won't be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing cottage!!

  • 5 of 5

We had the pleasure of renting this lovely cottage for our anniversary. Everything was wonderful! Ginny made sure we had plenty of information prior to our arrival to make everything just wonderful. She gave us lots of informatio on the area and tips of where to eat and things to do. Once we arrived Norm made sure we knew all about the place and where things were. The cottage was very comfortable and has the most amazing views. The location is great and was close to plenty of areas to explore. We really enjoyed our selves and had the most restful and relaxing vacation ever. Hope we can go back again soon!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Dreamy!

  • 5 of 5

Sometimes you just need to submit to the call of the ocean. Beautifully appointed cottage at the cliff's edge with a perfect white water cove below. Beach access. Ginny and Norm have thought this through.The result is delightful, whether for a romantic hideaway or a cozy retreat for one.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Our place

  • 5 of 5

I'm not going to tell you how wonderful Norm and Ginny's oceanfront cottage really is. If I did you would want to stay there. Then you would tell all your friends and family about it. Then we wouldn't be able to get a reservation. This is OUR place!

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
California
5

Perfect, Beautiful, A must !!!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at Norm and Ginny's for the past 5 years now!!! And we are never disappointed. They couldn't be any more accommodating and wonderful to work with. They are always going above and beyond to make sure to make our stay is perfect. The house is always clean and ready when we arrive. Coffee, bread, are available to us upon arrival in case we want to stay in the next morning. Ginny has made a wonderful book of local places to eat and things to see and a map of the tide schedule is waiting for us as well. Then there are the views. They are truly spectacular. To wake up to the ocean right out your window and right out your family room is so wonderful. The last time we were there we saw Whales right from the porch!!!! We truly can't say enough at how wonderful this place is. It is very private, beautiful, and perfect. We come back to the coast as often as we can and we NEVER look anywhere else. This is our spot. Thank you so much Norm and Ginny!!!!!

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

The cottage is 3 miles from Mendocino Village with many restaurants, galleries, markets, and activities. Our location is only one mile from one of the best oceanfront walking trails in the areas and within only one mile of the Little River market, 3 restaurants, and a beautiful ocean view golf course.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Little River House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring, Summer, Fall
May 26 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$245
 
 
Winter Rates
Nov 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$195
From
$245
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Exit Cleaning Fee $50
Tax Rate 11.0%

All bookings are done through secure credit card processing or paypal.

We quote the weekend rate of $245 for Thursday and Sunday if the booking breaks the weekend.

Holidays 3-night minimum, $245/nt.

WINTER RATES: $245 Weekends, $195 Weekdays (except when combined with Saturday)

EASTER WEEKEND, $245/night - 3 night minimum
MEMORIAL WEEKEND, $245/night - 3 night minimum
4TH OF JULY WEEKEND: $245/night - 3 night minimum
LABOR DAY WEEKEND: $245/night - 3 night minimum
COLUMBUS DAY WEEKEND: $245/night - 3 night minimum

MOST HOLIDAYS - 3-NIGHT MINIMUM, $245/night
*COUNTY TAX of 11% and exit cleaning fee of $75 are charged when the guest arrives.

*We require $200 advance rent payment to confirm the booking and the balance of the rent portion to be paid 30 days prior to arrival. These deposits are non-refundable unless we are able to re-rent.

CANCELLATION POLICY: If cancelled more than 30 days prior, the $200 deposit is non-refundable and there is a $25.00 cancellation fee. WITHIN 30 DAYS prior, unless we are able to re-rent, all funds paid are non-refundable. If we can re-rent, we then refund the rented days minus 6% to cover the cost of credit card charges. WE TRY OUR BEST to re-rent and return funds.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Little River House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Golf ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties