Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Honey Dew Log Lodge at Egg Harbor Door County Wisconsin

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 16)

Experience the warmth of a Hand-hewn Door county Log Home. The silence beckons you. Long peaceful afternoons in the county. Deer grazing just outside your window, crickets chirping in the twilight. Eighty acres of woods to explore.

The main floor includes a king in the master with a full bath (including jetted tub). A queen off a half bath, a queen and two twins in the loft. The main floor also offers full laundry facilities, a fully equipped kitchen, field-stone fireplace in the living room, and satellite TV. In the heated carpeted garage there is a pool table, a foosball table,air hockey, folding tables and chairs. The unit has hardwood floors on the main floor, and is carpeted in the loft. The house has a wrap-around deck with furniture.

The grounds include a fire pit with firewood, benches, picnic table, volleyball equipment , a charcoal grill and a gas grill. The driveway is paved with ample parking. The home is situated on a beautifully wooded landscaped parcel. It’s very peaceful.

The home has been featured in several magazines and newspapers (Log Home Living,Home and Away, Country, Log Home Illustrated, Chicago Tribune, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel travel section.

Keywords: custom hand crafted log vacation home

More Details

Property Manager
Kim Bell
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2017

About Kim Bell

The Lautenbach family has farmed and harvested the forests of Door County for generations. The Honey Dew Lodge was originally build to display their families expertise in design and construction of log homes.

Why Kim Bell chose Door County

The Family build a Scandinavian Scribe Construction, where each log is carved into the next. As time goes on the fit gets tighter. The home is warm and cozy any time of the year.

What makes this cabin unique

The Lautenbach family invites you to join them at the Log Den, Their families restaurant.

Guestbook comments from the manager

I stayed there late in September of this year. It was absolutely wonderful. The location, setting the building, grounds and interior were all far beyond what I expected. The log structure is stunning! No expense or corners cut with the house. It's very spacious and has a wonderful feel and ties the country setting and all the conveniences of home into one. It has large open concept living room, kitchen and dining are that didn't feel alienating to me and would be very comfortable to accommodate multiple families with plenty of space for everyone. There's a loft with beds and the bedrooms are private and the bed was extremely comfortable. The owners were very friendly and accomodating to my needs and requests.



It has a great kitchen with high end appliances and is laid out well to be conducive for preparing a gourmet meal or the simplest of meals or snacks. A small game room with a pool table. Play area outside for children. Several decks to enjoy the setting and lots of windows throughout. The ground are surrounded by beautiful mature trees.



It was exactly what I needed to recharge my batteries and refresh my spirit. I would highly recommend it to anyone whether solo, couples, families or multiple families. The location is ideal being almost in the center of the county. 12 miles to Sturgeon Bay and convenient to enjoy the tourist attractions, hiking, biking and Lake Michigan.



I'm going to suggest it to my company for a corporate team building retreat. It will work perfectly.



I highly recommend it and well definitely go back!

Scott S.



Stayed September 2014, traveled solo



https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g59850-d619381-r241856017-Honey_Dew_Log_Lodge-Egg_Harbor_Wisconsin.html#
Nov 2016
  • 1 of 1

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Cherryland Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The log Den
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Washington Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Alpine Golf Cours
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
hwy 42
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
The Log den Restaurant
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Murphy Park, Egg Harbor Beach, Jacksonport Beac

Amenities

Egg Harbor Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Loft - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
    alcove room without door - 1 queen , next to half bath
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Walk out basement / studio apartment
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (6), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
The Honey Dew Log Lodge at Egg Harbor Door County Wisconsin
average rating of 4.4666667 based on 16 reviews
5

What a fantastic stay!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for a family wedding being held in Door County. Wow, just an awesome home. There were so many rooms and places to spread out. My boys loved the heated garage and playing pool while also enjoying the 80 acres outside and playing catch. The adults enjoyed the firepit in the evenings and the sprawling kitchen and dining areas as well. Thank you for letting us enjoy this beautiful log home.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed you stay! Thanks for the feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Log Home

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at his beautiful log home. There was plenty of room for the eight of us. We had a fire in the nice campfire area on one of the evenings. We loved the frogs that came out at night and attached themselves to the screens/windows. We also loved the privacy away from the downtown area. I would recommend this wonderful place to everybody.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

amazing cabin

  • 5 of 5

Annual book club retreat. Lovely home, very comfortable for a group of 12 with different sleep habits. Property well maintained and outfitted with everything we needed for a 3 night stay. Easy access to lots of activities but very private. The rain prevented us from using the fire pit at night but we have plans to come back next year.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Roomy and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5

We took my parents and extended family here for a long weekend. The place was bright, cozy, and *big*. We also used the kitchen and grill to cook a birthday meal for my mother-in-law and it had all the equipment and dishes that we needed. The location was also perfect -- 15 minutes from Egg Harbor on a quiet country road, with big trees and a fire pit. Thanks to Kim and Diane for their responsiveness and for keeping a beautiful vacation rental.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy you enjoyed you stay! Hope to see you again sometime. Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great cabin close to everything!

  • 5 of 5

My girlfriend and I were at this cabin for a couple nights at the end of April, and it was wonderful. The owners were very nice and easy to contact with any questions or issues. The cabin is a beautiful place and perfect for a quick or extended trip - it is near a number of wineries, restaurants, and centrally located to most destinations in Door County. I'd highly recommend.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy to hear you had a good time. Thank you for your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Madison, WI
2

Be careful!

  • 2 of 5

Our family stayed at the Honey Dew Lodge in April 2017 and while the place is large and the space can comfortably accommodate 16, there are some things to consider about renting this home; no toilet paper when we arrived, wall oven did not work correctly making it hard to prepare meals, stairs broken on deck, rails broken on the deck, sliding glass door broken and very difficult to open and close, a door to the outside broken causing it to continually fly open, hot tub was not working, no hot water for dishes or bathing the first day, The upstairs shower fixture was broken when we arrived and we fixed it, and several very awkward untimely "pop-in" visits by the owners throughout our stay and several work crews cutting wood and working on the broken staircases, very poor communication on behalf of the owners when trying to rent the place- no return phone calls. I realize this place is the owners "second home" but when you decide to be a rental property you need to give the renters their space and privacy- it was very uncomfortable and unnecessary to be dropped in on continuously by the owners and work crews. The worse part of the experience was after our stay when the owners accused us of not cleaning the place upon our departure and cashed our security deposit due to damages that we were never informed of (they were not our damages). We were accused of breaking a door lock downstairs and an outdoor statue by the fire pit. Both were issues when we arrived. We absolutely left the place spotless, and in fact made repairs, stacked firewood and cleaned up the yard. We vacuumed the entire home, did all the dishes, cleaned the kitchen, scrubbed out the refrigerator, emptied the trash and recycling, made the beds and folded the towels. It was very disappointing to be accused of something we simply did not do! All in all, the place was clean and spacious but in need of several repairs and the management really put a damper on the visit. After reviewing some of the reviews we realized it wasn't just us, some of these same issues have come up for other renters. Be careful! They are funding needed repairs by keeping security deposits regardless of whom may have done the damages.

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry to hear of your discrepancies. An owner will contact you immediately to discuss your concerns.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night
Damage Deposit $250

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties