check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

John Bollinger - Owner

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Sunshine Luxury Suite with 2 Free Bikes & Garage

46 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Key West Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)

My Sunshine Luxury Suite is an upscale property located in Key West, an island paradise. Sunshine Suite provides the luxury and convenience of your own condo home just 90 miles from Havana. Surrounding the resort, you will enjoy lush tropical foliage and amenities such as our tennis court, gym facilities, and heated swimming pool and spa. Smathers Beach, Key West's largest, is moments away. There you will find such activities as windsurfing, sail boarding, snorkeling and kayak or jet ski tours. Of course, you might also just choose to relax. My elegantly appointed condominium brings the tropical flavor of Key West indoors, and offers you the privilege of truly having a “home away from home.”

Sunshine Suite features two bedrooms, with a king bed in the master bedroom and a queen bed in the second bedroom, two full baths, hairdryers, washer / dryer, a flat screen television in the living room, televisions in the bedrooms, 2 free bicycles, a garage and free wifi. There is a leather couch with a queen sleeper in the living room. The fully outfitted kitchen opens onto the living room, with bar counter seating. From your balcony, you may observe the daily goings on of the many species of birds that inhabit the Salt Ponds Nature Preserve. Whether you are in the suite or on the beach, relaxing is an important aspect of the Key West lifestyle. Two free bicycles are available for your use and additional rental bicycles are available.

As our island is relatively small, approximately 2 by 4 miles, many guests find biking to be their preferred mode of transportation. There is also conveniently scheduled bus transportation available to lively Duval Street and the surrounding historic district. There is much to see and do while in Key West and I am certain that you will enjoy it all the more when you stay at my Sunshine Luxury Suite.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
John Bollinger - Owner (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About John Bollinger - Owner

I am retired and 'living the dream'. My wife and I live in Key West and are quite active. I am a Charter Sailboat Captain in Key West and available worldwide, a USCG Captain for NOAA, volunteer at the Eco-Discovery Center, the Tropic Independant Cinema, and the Key West Botanical Gardens. I have been a property manager for my Key West rental units since 1993. My wife is the personal assistant for one of our most famous Key West authors and is a ballet dancer. Do come visit us.

John Bollinger - Owner purchased this condo in 2003

Reviews

4.9
based on 46 traveler reviews

Sunshine Luxury Suite with 2 Free Bikes & Garage
average rating of 4.869565 based on 46 reviews
5

Convenient Access & Inviting Atmosphere

  • 5 of 5

Convenient acces to main roads & Very welcoming atmosphere- we appreciated the extra comforts that this condo allotted. Would stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many Thanks Do return. John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everything we needed for a great week in key west

  • 5 of 5

Great

  • Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many Thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great overall experience!

  • 4 of 5

Loved the property, We had a great time!

  • Submitted: May 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many Thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hertford U.K
4

Restful and Comfortable week on Key West

  • 4 of 5

A nice suite with everything needed for a week on the Key. Clean and comfortable with great rooms and baths. Pool great and usually very quiet . Daily visits by the iguana family were a definite treat. Would certainly recommend and visit again.

Things to watch out for are vicinity to the airport. Flights are noisy but stop overnight. Views over the reserve for bird and animal watching are limited by trees from this first floor apartment. The condos are nicely designed so that on each floor only 2 condos have joining walls. There were issues for us with noise from units above. Many of these are let by a local agency and just have tiled floors so every movement of furniture can be heard. the agency does not appear to have a policy restricting lettings to mixed couples only so on our last weekend there we had the Friday influx of party goers which I understand is common for Key West with a large group of guys in one unit near us and a party of gals also nearby. If you need sleep get to bed early and be prepared for a 3 am rise.

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: All I thank my guests very much for staying with me. My condo is outstanding in layout, furnishings, amenities and many extra additions. It has a private, high speed, secure Wi-Fi network exclusive for my condo. The bicycles I provide are an extra bonus and are located in my garage for my quests use. The city of Key West is an island that is 2 miles by 4 miles. There is a small airport that serves the town. One can hear airplanes approach from all over the island. No matter where you stay, there is some airplane noise. There are few flights because it is a small airport and there are no late night flights at all. The condo is in a 4 story building with 48 units total. Condos are rented to adults only. This is the first noise complaint I have ever received. I am very sorry that my very proper British guests experienced any problems. They never notified me. I could have had taken action the next day regarding the noise late at night. I am so sorry they were disturbed. Again this has never happened before. John
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Ann from Sweden

  • 5 of 5

We travel two couples and this condo was marvelous for us. The bedroom with each bathroom we really like. We also like to look at all birds and other animals around the condo.

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My Swedish friends are very welcome back. John
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
North Carolina
5

Key West Fun!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I had an absolute blast in Key West on our Honeymoon!

The condo was perfect! We had all the amenities of home, and easy access to everything we wanted to explore on the island.

We went during Fantasy Fest, so if you want to get away from Duval for awhile, the condo is perfectly situated on the edge of town, and it is easy to find.

We enjoyed the bikes and just lounging around whilst we cooked (usually hangover food) and washed clothes. ;-)

Thank you John for all your recommendations on the fun spots and great food.

We truly felt at home away from home. We hope to visit again someday!

Best,

A+H

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many Thanks and do return. John
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
1 Miles
Key West
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
DoubleTree Grand Resort
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Ft Meyers / Key West
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
US 1 / US A1A
Nearest Restaurant
1 Metres
DoubleTree Grand Resort
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Smathers Beach
Car: recommended

Other Activities: Shopping, Kayaking, Boating, Parasailing, Shelling, Wildlife Viewing, Stand Up Paddle Board.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Key West Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Value Season 2016
Apr 9 2016 - Oct 21 2016
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,200
$5,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $36 per night, per additional guest
 
Fantasy Fest
Oct 22 2016 - Oct 30 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $36 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter Season 2017
Dec 17 2016 - Apr 28 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,000
$7,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $36 per night, per additional guest
 
Value Season 2017
Apr 29 2017 - Dec 15 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
$5,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $36 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
$5,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $36 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $75
Pet Fee $200
Tax Rate 12.5%

Rental Policy
John Bollinger
OCCUPANCY: Rental rates quoted are based on two couples or four people using the two bedrooms. Use of the sleeper sofa or for five/six people in unit, will incur an additional charge.
DEPOSIT: Rentals require a $500 deposit to confirm the reservation. Also a security / damage deposit will be credit card reserved, but will not be billed if no damage has occurred and the unit is left in a reasonably clean condition. This is a non smoking condo and this must be respected or there will be an additional cleaning fee of $100 assessed no exceptions. Personal items left may, upon request, be returned for a handling fee.
SALES TAX: Rates subject to 7.5% state and 5% local sales taxes, total of 12.5% tax. TAXES AND PRICES SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITHOUT NOTICE.
TERMS: Total rent & tax to be received 60 days prior to arrival. A check is preferred.
REFUND POLICY: There is a 50% service charge on the deposit if cancellation is prior to 90 days of arrival date. If the reservation is canceled within 90 days of arrival date, the deposit is forfeited. If canceled within 30 days of arrival or after arriving, there is no refund. Do consider Trip Insurance if you feel you might have a problem, see website: www.travelguard.com. Terms are subject to change without notice.
BICYCLE USE POLICY. Using the available bicycles is the renter’s personal responsibility. Anything stolen or broken must be paid by renter. Owner does not accept any responsibility or liability of any kind and is authorized to charge renter’s credit card for repairs, stolen or damaged bikes or parts.
CHECK-IN / CHECK-OUT POLICY:
Check-in on arrival is: 3:00 PM. Check-out on departure day is: 10:00 AM.
If you remain in the unit after the 10 AM check-out time, without prior approval from owner, you will be billed $100 for day use of the unit. Subletting prohibited.
HURRICANE or other CLOSING EVENT In the event tenant must vacate, unused days will be compensated.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Key West Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 980 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Resort
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis
  • Tennis Court
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Covered Parking, Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer, Elevator

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties