check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mikealan OKeefe

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Walk Downtown & Waterfront Harbor. Charming Cottage! 50% off Rates

19 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Laurel Park House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Rates:

$129.00 per night during off season

$210.00 per night during Peak Season

Peak Season runs from 1 week before Christmas to 1 week after Easter

7 night minimum during Peak Season (Saturday to Saturday)

Cleaning fee & 12% taxes additional

The Coral Cottage Front is 2/2, an adorable restored historic cottage located in the most desirable area of Downtown Sarasota. Close to all beaches. Walk to the heart of the restaurant and theater districts. Walk to the waterfront resturants, parks and marina/ fishing pier. Enjoy the peace and quiet of the cottage while staying close to everything. Meticulously restored, the cottage is charming and whimsical. Superior decor, exceptional mattresses, fresh linens and beyond clean! Our reviews are excellent and we have a high number of repeat guests.

There is another cottage in the rear- The Coral Cottage, Rear 1/1 that can be added for larger parties. See VRBO listing 332880.

Mikealan and Jeff OKeefe

(757) 663-2025

Website:

www . SarasotaCottage . com

Voted Sarasota''s #1 Neighborhood! The Best Location! The ABSOLUTE best!

Downtown Sarasota. Walk a few blocks to downtown restaurants, shopping, cafes, theaters, art galleries and chic boutiques. Walk to Marina Jack at the Harbor for sunset happy hour or enjoy the Bay Waterfront Park. Rent bikes and go over the City Causeway to St. Armand Circle or Lido beach, even explore Longboat Key. Our famous Siesta Beach is a 10 minute car ride. You will be in the middle of everything, while enjoying the peace and quiet at your cozy Cottage!

It's what we all move to Florida and fantasize about living in- a tropical Caribbean style bungalow with tons historic of charm!

Recently renovated with many modern updates, yet leaving the original historic charm in tact makes this the perfect romantic cottage for honeymooners or snowbirds alike! The main room has a 50' TV with 100's of channels provided by Verizon FIOS. Larger groups, you can expand by adding the rear rental Cottage that has 1 bedroom, 1 bath.

The cottage is adorable. Decorated by collecting whimsical pieces of art and furniture from local Artisans, you will surely get a kick out of the place!

Some guests have commented the best part of their stay was the location, while others said it was the fresh, luxurious linens and lavender scented towels that were the best. We hope to entice you to come back by adding special little luxurious touches. Let us welcome you with a bottle of wine, bottled water, coffee and tea. It's our goal to make you comfortable. That's what we like when we travel- that's what we want to give you!

Don't settle for worn-out tired rentals filled with gritty sand and moldy smelling sheets- let us pamper you with our special efforts. We can offer you a range of special services. Prior to your arrival, let us fill your grocery list so you're all set when you get here. We can even stock the bar with your favorite spirits and mixers! Imagine how nice that would be!!!!!

We can arrange tons of activities for all age groups. Let us help you plan tennis games, golf rounds and tee times, as well as lessons.

Get the hottest tickets to the Ballet, Opera, Spring Baseball Training, International Film Festival (in April), Comedy Club, or Concerts. WALK TO IT ALL!

Want to keep the kids busy? How about the local Aquarium, Zoo, Big Cat Habitat, Mini Golf, Deep Sea Fishing? Tickets to theme parks, like Disney World (2 hours drive), Busch Gardens, Tampa (1 hour drive).. ...so much to do here is Sarasota and beyond.....-The Cultural Coast!

Your comfort and happiness is our success!

Call For Monthly Rates (not available during Peak Season)

Keywords: Sarasota, bungalow, apartment, condo, flat, vacation, house, home, rental, hotel, motel, Beach, romantic, whimsical, retreat, florida, cottage

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Mikealan OKeefe (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Mikealan OKeefe

My name is Mikelan. I own and manage all 6 cottages with my ex-husband, Jeff

(I know....Right?) We are a younger retired couple in our early fifties who retired from Virginia to Sarasota 5 years ago. We enjoy our vibrant city with all the culture activities and festivals here. We also enjoy the warm Caribbean turquoise Gulf Coast water with our boat and fishing rods. We stay actively involved in the community by volunteering at the Ringling Asolo Theater and High School Library. We are season ticket holders for the Symphony, Ballet and members of many local attractions. This year we are adding to our efforts to give back to the community by volunteering at the International Film Festival in March.

Mikealan OKeefe purchased this house in 2009

Why Mikealan OKeefe chose Sarasota

Charming urban Laurel Park was voted #1 place to live in Sarasota by Sarasota Magazine! The location is convenient for walking to the most vibrant parts of the city. I love having breakfast at one of the outdoor cafes, while striking up a stimulating conversation with a few new friends! Just walking my dogs makes me feel like I'm are part of the the city! Most of our days are sunny and warm, which are perfect for biking to the park or Lido Beach or St. Armand Circle. The historic neighborhood is friendly with a sense of community and has a 'live and let live' attitude ...very quiet and very safe. The eclectic mix of high end homes & condos, mingle with historic bungalows, next to shops, cafes, restaurants and art galleries,makes this cottage have a funky, urban, chic 'feel'.

What makes this house unique

If you need more rooms, there is an attached rear apt. with 1 bedroom (queen bed), 1 bathroom with shower and very large fenced in backyard for additional rent.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This cottage would not disappoint the most discriminating guests. We could not believe how affordable and conveniently located this group of cottages are. There are five altogether which we hope to come back for a family reunion and rent them all .

We walked all over town and road bikes to the beach. I would highly recommend and can't wait to come back
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.9
based on 19 traveler reviews

Walk Downtown & Waterfront Harbor. Charming Cottage! 50% off Rates
average rating of 4.894737 based on 22 reviews
5

Cute, clean, well maintained.

  • 5 of 5

We are return guests that love walking. This cottage allows us to wander about with little need for the automobile. The owners are close by and very helpful.

Thanks Jeff!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love all the new friends we have made, who return year after year to our cottages, and look forward to all the new ones we will make in the years ahead. We live in the same neighborhood, only a few blocks away, and take great pride in making sure our guests have the most relaxing vacation they can. We love Sarasota and enjoy introducing everyone to “paradise”. Your wish is our command!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location in the middle of everything. Great value for money.

  • 5 of 5

Excellent location so close to everything downtown in a quiet residential neighborhood. We love this area of Sarasota and the historic feel of the homes in this neighborhood. Wish we could have spent more time at the cottage but we have family that has pool access and we spent lots of time there every day arriving back later every night at the cottage. Enjoyed having access to all the beach equipment at the cottage. That saved us a lot. The bed was really comfortable and while the bathroom was smaller it was fine for the two of us. The kitchen was great, had everything we needed.

Still haven't received my security deposit back yet but not sure if that is something that takes a month to recoup with VRBO?, need to ask Mikealan about this soon.

Our only complaint was basic cable was really basic and didn't even include standard channels like AMC, Bravo, etc. I know...we are on vacation, but later at night we wanted to catch up on our shows and that didn't work.:)

  • Submitted: May 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Amarillo
5

Best of Sarasota

  • 5 of 5

Part of my family stayed in this absolutely beautifully decorated, updated little cottage. All we needed to bring was food. We found beach umbrellas, boogie boards, and beach chairs outside by the washer and dryer. Within walking distance were shops and food, coffee houses and night clubs. Many white sand public beaches full of seashells were just a short drive away. We also found jet skis, boat rentals and para sailing. We enjoyed this well kept cottage Soo much, it was well kept and very homey. Thank you so much Mrs. O'Keefe, your property was so much more than a stuffy cold old motel room or even some other rentals that have been just the basics

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Perfect get away

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time to visit Sarasota and it was one of the most relaxing trips. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the cottages are perfectly located in the heart of Sarasota, with easy access to everything. We rented out all five cottages for a family vacation. All the cottages where within walking distance of each other, which made it easy to visit with one another. We just adored the cottages decor. Each cottage was decorated with a different theme and had an out side sitting area to enjoy the amazing weather. We came in the middle of July and the weather was a perfect 80 the entire time. Coming from Texas where we stay in the 100 during these months, it was a refreshing change. The cottages come fully equipped and we took advantage of the kitchen quit a bit, having theme nights where each family prepaired a dish for the theme. The owners have definitely taken the time to make sure that every amenity is provided. To our suprise they even provided beach equipment, chairs,umbrella,coolers, boogie boards and beach towels. We took advantage of the great location and ventured out each day to check out one of the many beaches. I would highly recommend renting a boat for the day and beaching at one of the sand bars during high tide. The kids really enjoyed finding crabs, sandollars, starfish and other sea animals on the sandbars. However, the best part was coming back to a place that felt much like home at the end of the day. It sure beats being cooped up in a hotel room for the night. I would highly recommend anyone of the cottages to stay at for an enjoyable relaxing vacation. We will definitely be back! Thank you for everything we had a fabulous vacation.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

We were pleasantly surprised! Great value, location

  • 5 of 5

I was surprised the minute I walked in. The place was very special. I could tell the rental was restored by someone who knew what they were doing. Charming wood floors and ceiling, authentic beaded board mill work, quaint moldings. I spent the first hour just checking out the details of the place.

Other notable differences; extra thick mattresses, fresh, soft vintage linens, finer art work, better than average furniture, very clean, movie channels and many little extra touches. I had a friend that rented the back and he too loved his place.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind remarks. We enjoyed having you stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
-New England
5

We liked it very much. Highly recommend.

  • 5 of 5

We rented both cottages. They we well managed, clean and very comfortable. I would recommend to family and friends. I would definitely stay here again. Good value. Higher end.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind remarks. We enjoyed having you stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Towles Court Artist Community
Nearest Point of Interest
Regal Hollywood Movie Theaters 20
Nearest Point of Interest
Main St. Circle, Downtown Center Hub
Nearest Point of Interest
HARBOR, Fishing Charter Boats
Nearest Point of Interest
Selby Botanical Gardens
Nearest Point of Interest
Burns Court, Chic Area
Nearest Point of Interest
Historic Galleria Walk
Nearest Point of Interest
Payne Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Florida Studio Theaters
Nearest Point of Interest
Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall
Nearest Point of Interest
Bay Front Park, OLeary's Tiki BAR
Nearest Point of Interest
St. Armand Circle
Nearest Point of Interest
Lido Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Entrance to Longboat Key
Nearest Point of Interest
Siesta Beach and Village
Nearest Point of Interest
Southside Village, Hospital
Nearest Point of Interest
Ringling Museum
Nearest Point of Interest
SRQ Sarasota Airport
Nearest Point of Interest
Longboat Key Beaches
Nearest Point of Interest
Bradenton Beach
Car: not necessary

Opera House, Ballet, Comedy Clubs, Night Clubs, Library, Downtown Harbor with Deep Sea Fishing Charter Boats, Sunset Cruise Charters, gourmet cooking school and classes, Annual International Film Festival, Orioles Baseball Spring

Training, Ringling Museum, Van Wezel, Stained Glass making school, Art Classes, Craft Making Classes, Dog Park, Waterfront Park,

Photos

Rates & Availability

Laurel Park House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Season
Dec 17 2016 - Apr 29 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,100
 
 
SALE! Nat'l Rowing Event
Sep 20 2017 - Oct 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,700
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$128
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 12.0%

All pets need prior approval. Please call 941 342-1639
Additional Pet Fee required. Cost is based on length of stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Laurel Park House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1) Pillow top, premium mattresses. Additional Queen bed available in rear rental unit for addiltional costs., Twin or Single Beds (2) new 2011. Deluxe extra-long twin beds with pillow-top mattresses.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
in addition to this front cottage, you can rent the Coral Cottage, Rear for more space. 1 bed/1bath Attached, but totally separate rear apt. available for larger groups or additional guests.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties