check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Ocean-front Cottage Retreat on Penobscot Bay Camden

15 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Camden Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)

Enjoy the sunrises every morning at this ocean-side - “Down East' cottage with its own private beach area!

An unique ocean front location on the Midcoast region.

This cottage is situated 100 feet from beautiful Penobscot Bay taking in stunning ocean views from every room of the cottage -- schooners, lobster boats, nature & more. It’s conveniently located minutes from Camden village and Camden Hills State Park.

This is a charming vintage style two-bedroom cottage rental. Master bedroom has a queen size bed. Second bedroom has 2 twin beds. Other features include a fully furnished open space living space arrangement; tongue -n- groove interior walls, hardwood floors, heat, kitchen facilities, dining room and full bathroom suite with walk-in shower/dressing area with unique shower porthole ocean view window. This is an ideal getaway to relax in privacy or explore the beautiful surrounding area.

Rental dates from May to October.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Owner (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Owner chose Camden

This property has an unique ocean front location on Penobscot Bay close to the town of Camden. I have enjoy many walks into town from the cottage. This cottage also boasts awesome ocean views from every room!!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi, Evelyn !



We had a wonderful time ! We've never been to Maine before and we just feel in love with it. Camden is spectacular !



We really liked your cottage. We spent hours on the deck watching the sunrises and the salt water loons. The views from your place are priceless ! And, you're right...the weather was perfect.



I'm so glad we left the place the way you like it...we're jealous you were there a week after us...we would have loved another week !!!



Thank you for sharing your cottage with us. It was wonderful !



Sincerely,

Carolyn
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 6

Reviews

4.4
based on 15 traveler reviews

Ocean-front Cottage Retreat on Penobscot Bay Camden
average rating of 4.4 based on 21 reviews
5

Just what the Doctor ordered!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your lovely cottage, our only regret was that we couldn't stay another week! The view is outstanding, second to none! We just loved the beach, watching the tide ebb and flow, the lobster boats checking their traps, the loons disappearing under water, the islands dotting the horizon and the peaceful solitude of sitting still and taking it all in.

This charming cottage was perfectly equipped for our needs, very comfortable clean and cozy and love that porthole in the shower! The seclusion it offers, yet close proximity to the quaint Town of Camden was very covenant. There was so much to see and do, we literally hiked and ate at a different locations every day and were never disappointed.

Thank you for being so helpful accommodating Evelyn!

We look forward to our next visit and rest assured I will definitely recommend Penobscot Cottage to my friends!

Thank you and until next year!

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Fuquay-Varina, NC
4

Amazing views, great location, and very charming, but be prepared for open floor plan

  • 4 of 5

We LOVED this cottage, and look forward to staying here again someday. The location is a great jumping-off point for exploring the Maine coast, convenient to Camden but totally secluded (great stargazing). The views just can't be beat and we enjoyed walking right down to the beach. If we had more time, we would have done lots of hiking right down the street at Camden Hills State Park. We LOVE the hand-tiled and stone shower with the porthole looking out to the ocean!The open floor plan didn't detract from our enjoyment, but we thought should have been made clearer what that meant. Even though it has two bedrooms, the ceilings are all open to each other and the living area, which means that there is no privacy at all for conversation, watching tv, listening to the radio, etc. - you need to really get along (which we do). The bathroom has a separate ceiling but with no wall insulation that doesn't really add any privacy either. Again, this didn't detract from our stay, just think it shouldn't be a surprise for anyone.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
11 0
1

This was a nightmare.

  • 1 of 5

We booked in February and were paid in full in advance. I had spoken via email directly with the owner and received an email the morning of our week wishing us safe travel. We arrived and the owner's sister had let someone else in even though she knew my name and that we were expected. Saturday night in Maine at the height of summer tourist season with no place to stay is a terrible position to be put into. Homeaway offered no help when we called the customer service line and kept putting us on hold and not returning. No one cared and the last response from the owner was"Thank you for your business" to add insult to injury. The only reason I have any stars for this is because it was required.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Minneapolis
5

Relaxing Coastal Retreat

  • 5 of 5

We loved our week at the cottage. Close (<2 miles) to the lovely town of Camden but felt a million miles away from everything.

So much to do in Camden and the area. Also, great food of all types. If we come back to Maine, this is the only place we'll look to book.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cozy bay cottage

  • 5 of 5

If you love the sound of the tides, and the feel of the breezes and peace and quiet, you will love this cottage! It is adorable and has everything you need, including a comfortable deck and screened porch to enjoy the sights and sounds. Plus, there are views of the bay from every room in the home, including the shower. The owner was very nice and provided helpful directions and suggestions. Lots to do in and around Camden/Rockland/Rockport and only an hour's drive to take a ferry to Monhegan Island or see the puffins (at the right time of the year). We also loved Pig & Poet, a nearby restaurant. We will definitely return!

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A delightful escape!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed in this cabin for 8 marvelous nights. The pictures don't do it justice…you are literally right above the water at high tide, and there is a path to the water's edge. Watching the birds, chipmunks, and red squirrels scamper among the fall foliage was a treat. The cottage was awesome; I felt I was getting a true "Maine camp" experience, and it was very, very CLEAN. It also looked loved, and taken care of….interesting things abounded in the cabin, and you had all the creature comforts of home. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you might need. The shower was huge, with 2 shower heads, very hot water, AND, a porthole that gives you a view of Penobscot Bay as you shower! The best thing I can say is that it was just so "comfortable" that it was hard to leave to take day trips.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Other Activities: shopping, kayaking, boating, shelling, snowboarding, snowmobiling, wildlife viewing, rock climbing, spa, mini golf

Photos

Rates & Availability

Camden Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
October 2016
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 29 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$795
 
 
June 2017
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 30 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,195
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
2017 Summer-Peak ends Aug 27th
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
Sept 1017
Sep 2 2017 - Sep 30 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$995
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$185
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 9.0%

2 payments plans available. 100% due at booking - Default setting
OR
make arrangements for 2 payments-50% due at time of booking-50% due 1 month before rental-Please inquire if this plan is preferred.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Camden Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 950 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Town ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Secure Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Shower Bath includes separate dressing area
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Master Bedroom Queen size matress 2nd Bedroom - 2 twins
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties