Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Derek & Alison Dailey

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Hunter/Windham Comtemporary Ski/Lake House, CredCard Accepted

33 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee

Learn more

Overview

Hunter Mountain House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 12

A MUST STAY! Beautifully renovated and updated 3,000 sq ft 4 bedroom, 3 full bath contemporary chalet on private 3 acre property exactly halfway between Hunter and Windham (approx 2.5 miles from each) Great for access to both mountains! Breathtaking views of Hunter Mountain, on a private lake. Newly installed flat screen tv's in EVERY bedroom! Luxurious new Beauty rest mattresses in EVERY bedroom!! New dining room furniture, new sofa and loveseat! Huge wrap around decks to enjoy barbecuing on the third floor deck, or some quiet time on the second floor outside the master bedroom.

About the house: fully furnished. Flat screen TV's in every bedroom! Newly carpeted bedrooms. Hand crafted wood headboards.New living room furniture, area rug and dining room furniture! Kitchen has a new dishwasher and refrigerator . Every bedroom is wired with digital cable. The house has a wireless network that can be accessed from all points of the house, and is even capable of getting internet access on the dock. In the living room is a 58' HDTV DLP television with DVD player.

Hunter Mountain activities including Skiing, Festivals, golfing, etc. Visit the Hunter Mountain homepage for more information and a calendar of events.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Derek & Alison Dailey (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Derek & Alison Dailey

We are a family with three young children that try to take them to this house as often as we can in both the summer and ski seasons. We reside in NJ and and have been sucessfully renting this house out for about 7 years now. We enjoy running the business of renting it out to guests to enjoy the gorgeous views, serenity and convenient location to both mountains in the Catskills!

Derek & Alison Dailey purchased this house in 2000

Why Derek & Alison Dailey chose Hunter Mountain

We bought this house because of it's location. We think the Catskills are gorgeous and that Hunter and Windam Mountains have a lot going on. The house itself seemed special to us because of the gorgeous views of mountains staring at you from all three levels of the house which sits on a small private lake. The lake is shared by two other familes, none of which you can see from the house and everyone seems to really love the time they spend on this property.

Reviews

4.7
based on 33 traveler reviews

Hunter/Windham Comtemporary Ski/Lake House, CredCard Accepted
average rating of 4.6969695 based on 33 reviews
Brooklyn, NY
5

Great Ski House, Great Location, Great Value

  • 5 of 5

Liked everything about the house for our ski weekend. We've rented a few houses over the years and this one was by far the nicest in it's price range. Plenty of space for our group to feel comfortable in. Woodburning stove/fireplace was nice and the big open feel from each of the three floors to the outside views of the mountain were EXCELLENT. Also, close to everything yet very private. I'd recommend this to any group that wants to ski Hunter Mountain.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 3
4

A relaxing weekend getaway!

  • 4 of 5

We recently stayed at this property for 2 nights with 8 friends and our 1 year old son. The location is perfect- directly in between hunter mountain and windham. The view from the house is incredible and definitely the biggest appeal. The bedrooms are very nice and comfortable. The kitchen and den area could use some updating but was very clean and functioning. Allison was a pleasure to work with from the beginning. It is a perfect house if you want to just relax, getaway from every day hustle, and unwind. Thanks for a memorable trip.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

House Rental a Great Experience!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this house out for President's Day weekend and couldn't have asked for more. The house was even nicer than the pictures online- there were a few renovations you could see were just completed. Really beautiful house on an even more gorgeous location. The beds were really comfortable and all set up hotel like, everything felt really clean in the house. It fit our group very comfortably and the views are stunning! We saw the review posted about someone not getting their security deposit back and were a bit concerned about that before our stay. Without even asking for it, it was returned in about 5 days after we checked out! We want to book this house again for some time during the summer to enjoy the lake. Allison has already gotten back to us with info on availability and was always quick to respond and helpful. We would recommend this to any family or group that wants a reasonably priced house that exceeds your expectations both inside and out.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Stunning View & Great Location!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at this place! It was less than a 10 minute drive to Hunter Mountain and close to so many cute towns nearby. We also drove about 20 minutes to Katterskill falls for a beautiful hike! My friends and I were looking for a nice relaxing weekend to get out of the hustle and bustle of New York City for my birthday weekend. The house fit 10 of us comfortably with 2 people in each bed, 3 in the master and 1 on the couch. The group would certainly have to be comfortable with each other to make this work but it helped that the beds were very comfortable! I also appreciated that the kitchen, dining room and living room were all on the top floor making it easy for those who were sleepy and didn't want to continue playing our rambunctious game of Uno, Taboo and Charades to go downstairs, shut the door and hear nothing, haha. The kitchen size was also great making it easy for everyone to commune upstairs and cook. We had several large meals together. We also made use of the grill outdoors, the fire place for our post-hike warmth and the lake view with the fall foliage was absolutely stunning. My only complaint would be that the water and bathrooms had a strong sulfur smell making it almost impossible to drink the tap water but we immediately bought a case of water and used that to drink and brush our teeth instead. Overall the property was clean, conveniently located, well-stocked and Allison was very communicative... even considering my countless annoying questions as I was a homeaway novice. Regardless, it was a wonderful first time homeaway experience and I would do it again in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a great review Aisha! I wish we had known about the sulfur smell as we have a VERY expensive system that takes care of it! From time to time and in the event of an outage from storms or what not in the area (and there were during October) it may need to be reset. It really is such a simple fix. Glad to hear everything else was perfect and we hope you return again soon! Alison
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The property was beautiful, with a beautiful view, and there was plenty of fun stuff to do in the area. We would definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sarasota, Florida
5

Beautiful Property, Enjoyable Stay

  • 5 of 5

Hello, we stayed at this house for almost a full week. The house did not disappoint! Most of us were coming from Florida and by the time we arrived we were at ease with how pleasant everything was. The views were incredible and especially this time of year with the foliage and all. I even sent a picture to the owner if they wanted to use on their website it was that incredible. As far as the house itself- REALLY nice :) My mother and family all loved it and we had a really great time. There were a few things that felt like a bonus as they didn't show in the pictures such as new flooring and dining room table and what seemed to be all new carpeting in the bedrooms as well (smelled brand new and nicer and different from the pictures). Only thing when we first got there was we couldn't figure out how to get the cable part of the TV on. I called the owner that night, she picked up right away and then directed me to her husband who was patient and quite pleasant. It wound up being a really simple setting or something like that. Overall, as you can tell- our family would definitely recommend this property for many reasons!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Nicole for taking the time to give your positive feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! To update you on the pic you sent us, it has since been used as a Lakeview pic from the house, thank you again so much for sending during such a beautiful time of year! We are so glad you enjoyed and we hope that you return again soon as we do offer a discount to repeat renters. We are also in the process of updating our pictures both inside and out to reflect the beautiful and higher end upgrades your group was of the first to enjoy. Thank you again for renting with us and we hope that you return again soon! Alison
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

There is a great babbling brook on the property that runs into the lake. During warmer months, the lake is great for fishing; it's stocked with Catfish, Trout, Bass, Bluegills, Sunnies, and more! It's also a great lake for swimming and afternoon fun! Approximately 2 hours from NYC, off exit 20 on the NYS Thruway coming from the South, or Exit 21 coming from the North.

Other Activities: Snowboarding,

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hunter House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off Peak Spring
Mar 18 2016 - May 26 2016
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$375
Fri,Sat
 
 
Summer
May 27 2016 - Sep 5 2016
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$625
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$350
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

From $200 per night, holiday and festival rates will apply.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hunter Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Lowest level bathroom newly renovated
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , new luxury Beautyrest mattresses
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , New luxury Beautyrest mattresses!
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Luxurious new Beautyrest mattresses!
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Luxurious new Beautyrest mattresses!
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , New queen sized pull out sofa
  • Master bedroom has California King size bed, a 32' Sony tv, and private sitting area, with own private deck looking out onto the mountains. Second Bedroom has a Queen size bed, 24' television, and direct access to first floor deck down to lake. Third bedroom has a king size bed which can be converted into two twin beds. Fourth bedroom has a full size bed.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
- The house has a heated 2-car garage that has electric garage door openers (great for those frigid winter months) and direct access into the house from the garage. Swimmable Lake and Superior Mountain Views -Large Screen TV with Cable -Wireless Internet -Fully stocked kitchen

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote