Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

Exclusive Beachfront Home in Sayulita

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Air Conditioning
  • Private Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

Beach Front House, 4 Bedrooms + Attached Unit, 4.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 9),

Casa Ilusion undertook a complete remodel in the summer of 2013. Having a swimming pool was the impetus for the project, but as we considered the possibilities it quickly became apparent that achieving the level of quality we aspired to meant undertaking a complete remodel of the house; new kitchen, all new bathrooms, redesigned floor plans in the bedrooms, new acid-washed stone tile floors throughout (non-slip surface), an expanded master bedroom suite with Jacuzzi and private sun deck. There is a Whole-House Clean Water Filtration System. The living room is flanked with new built-in couches. A new beach palapa features the same layout, also with built-in couches. The grounds have been professionally landscaped with beautiful plantings of rare tropical plants. We think you will find Casa Ilusion a unique experience in Sayulita that will entice you to visit us again and again.

Casa Ilusion in Sayulita is a unique, beachfront private home located on one acre of land with 74 palm trees, and 120 feet of beachfront. It is the ONLY beachfront home, not condo, ideally located on the north side, and is perfectly accessible to all the town without having to climb any mountains. No car is necessary either. As soon as you enter Casa Ilusion, you will see through the house to the beautifully landscaped grounds, lush with magnificent palms, and to the ocean beyond. Relax under a palapa, umbrella, or on a hammock by the ocean, take a swim in the new swimming pool with the sounds of the waves and the ocean breeze. Carry your board 200 yards up the beach to surf the left or right, or walk up the beach to dinner. This house is ideal for 4 adult couples or 2 families.

In addition to the Main house comfortably sleeping 6 itself, there is a beautiful Casita, just steps from the ocean, which comfortably sleeps 3. The Casaita is completely enclosed, A/C, a real 'Honeymoon Casita' with a Full Bath, and a beautiful palapa-style ceiling. In all, there is 4,000 square feet of living space.

Each spacious, air conditioned bedroom suite offers the highest level of comfort with high end luxury bedding, King beds, and are complete with their own private bathrooms. The master bedroom has a sunken bathtub that opens it's windows to an enchanting view of the palms framing the ocean like a perfect picture in paradise.

The main living space comes equipped with all of the amenities you need. A new large-screen HD TV, DVD & satellite cable. High speed Wi-Fi connection is accessible throughout the house and the grounds.

 

Casa Ilusion has its own private beach with palm trees which sits atop a five foot seawall, so you can either lie in the sun at water's edge on the wide public beach, or find some shade to take a nap on our own private beach.  This feature is also unique to Casa Ilusion.

Maid Service is included (no Sunday maid service). Chef, Masseuse, yoga instruction, etc., are available upon request.

The Main house (3,400 sq. ft.) has three bedrooms with three King beds and full baths; a separate Casita (600 sq.ft.) has a King bed and full bath. There is also a single bed in the Casita.

Keywords: Beachfront, Sayulita, Palm Tree Grove, Walk to Surf, Enchanting Views, Luxury, Ideally Located, Easily Accessible to Restaurants, Shops and Town.

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
March 22, 2017

What makes this house unique

Surfing in Sayulita and it's surrounding areas is the main attraction. Casa Ilusion is located just steps from the left break right in Sayulita. It also has it's own private beach. In addition to the world renowned golf courses by Jack Nicklaus and Greg Norman that are just a 20 minute drive away.

Amenities

Sayulita House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 10
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Casita - 1 king
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom - 1 king
  • 4 bedroom suites with luxury bedding and towels. All of the bedrooms close of completely and have AC. They also all have their own bathrooms.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Concierge service to assist you with arrangements for Airport Transportation, Private Chef, In-House Masseuse, Private Surf Lessons, Private Yoga & Salsa Lessons, Catamaran Tours, Golf Car rentals, Dinning Reservations and anything else you can think of!

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

Exclusive Beachfront Home in Sayulita
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 6 reviews
5

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING PROPERTY AND STAY

  • 5 of 5

we had 4 couples staying here (executive retreat for my company). we were planning on only staying 4 days and transfer to the Four Seasons at Punta Mita. After the first day we canceled the Punta Mita stay and paid the cancelation fee. The house is unique in that it has 4 king size beds. It's the best property IN Sayulita. It's on the north side so quiet... AND RIGHT NEXT TO WEAR THEY RELEASE THE BABY TURTLES... which is beautiful. It's only a short walk away from downtown, although we rented 2 carts and cruised everywhere. the beach out back is EXCELLENT! the pool is perfect. the yard is great for throwing a football. the maid is wonderful and makes the best guac I've ever had every morning. Carlos the local manager is absolutely off the charts... we were trying to get to Hidden Beach last second, he hooked us up. he was an excellent surf coach as well... almost all of us got up on the first try. but mostly he was just an awesome local ally. he knows EVERYONE and got us the best deals on everything (many we had already checked prices on). I loved that it was gated (automatic gate) to keep privacy. AC all worked excellent. And lastly the owner is fantastic to work with. The best thing about Sayulita is that it still has the old Mexico charm and price tag. The food is excellent but not expensive at all. We go to Cabo, Cancun and Punta Mita all the time... Sayulita is about 1/3 the cost for everything.

  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Awful Experience with Management and Owner

  • 1 of 5

The grounds are beautiful and so is the house, no question, but the manager and owner are unprofessional and downright rude. None of the things they describe as state of the art worked. The "high speed wifi that extends to the beach" didn't work except for only one evening during our five night stay, the TV never worked at all! Which was a major inconvenience considering we have small children and needed downtime during the stay. Management was unresponsive and the owner made excuses, saying it was due to the rainy season and that's why we paid "low season" rates. Ha! When we complained about the issues, we were sent aggressive emails from both owner and manager. One terrible night during a storm, the living room and dining room was flooded and had an inch of water, our 6-year-old slipped and fell on his tailbone. We had a few electrical sparks from an outlet and a lamp, needless to say we we were concerned about our safety in the house. I guess a safety hazard is also what we get when paying the "low season" rate. This was all on top of them getting our dates wrong and then placing the blame on us for their mistake. We understand mistakes, and we understand rain, and would've left a nice review if anyone was helpful or understanding, just an apology for nothing working in the house would've sufficed, instead we were met with finger pointing and condescension. The owner advised us to stay at the Four Seasons in Punta Mita next time, and I think we will, because then it might be an actual vacation instead of a stressful, scary experience that we paid thousands of dollars for!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There is an old Spanish proverb: "The tongue goes where the tooth hurts!" We are very sorry that you arrived from Orange County with two Nannies and your two children, and they could not watch TV all week. Since you apparently have never been to Nayarit in the summertime, you didn't understand how heavy the rainstorms can be. It's the tropics! Power outages and Internet outages due to downed lines are common occurrences during the rainy season. As I attempted to explain to you, all Internet service in Mexico is ISDN which comes through the telephone lines. We cannot control TelMex. Your review is factually incorrect in every aspect, and represents little more than an attempt to slander my home and my staff. The party that immediately followed you encountered similar weather related difficulties, but told me they were still able to have "the time of their lives." Maybe that has something to do with them and not with the house or the weather? The other party said out staff was "wonderful," which is what everyone else has said in the reviews to this and other websites. My property manager did tell me that he never saw so many sad faces, as if there had been a death in the family or some other grave event, just because a group of people could not watch TV. The TV and Internet Service may have been interrupted, but the swimming pool was working, the ocean was working, the 74 palm trees on the property were working, the birds in the trees were singing, the blue skies during the daytime were working, the thunder and lightning at night are exciting, and when the storms pass, the stars are brilliant! There were catamaran trips, fishing, surfing, yoga, salsa dancing lessons, massages, golf, expeditions to mountain streams with beautiful swimming holes all available to you, which my staff arranges for guests. No other rental home in Sayulita has a concierge service like Casa Ilusion. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate you, even to the extent of attempting to bribe the TelMex repairman to come and take you out of your misery by restoring the Internet and TV. Yes, the Four Seasons Punta Mita would have been happy to accommodate your large group for $40,000/week (before your first bite of overpriced food). When I first arrived in 1999, there was NO Internet or Cell service in Sayulita. "Connectivity" is not usually why people come to Sayulita. Try Hawaii next time; you're from the OC.
Did you find this review helpful?
27 1
Long Beach, CA
1

Beautiful setting, serious problems

  • 1 of 5

While there is no arguing the beauty of the property, the subpar management and owners behavior will taint your stay. We were treated poorly. Renter, beware.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry to hear this renter was unhappy with our management. Unfortunately the renter broke the contract by holding several large events at our house. While we tried in the past to host events, we are now unable to due to a new delicate and environmentally responsible septic system which we've recently installed. This property is ideal for families, not large groups. We are known by our other guests to go above and beyond for their comfort during their stay at Casa Ilusion.
Did you find this review helpful?
24 0
5

We didn't think it could get better but it did!

  • 5 of 5

I dare anyone to find a better property than this in all of Sayulita. This is our family’s third year in a row staying at this wonderful estate. We always loved the house and the grounds were amazing, but the new remodel is truly a transformation that must be seen to believe. Everything has been updated! The groundskeeper and maid are there everyday meticulously cleaning and care-taking this exotic property. Lori and her staff are so friendly and helpful that my family considers it our home away from home. We will be coming back again very soon.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Outstanding Beach Property

  • 5 of 5

First of all, just wanted to tell you what a terrific time we had in Salyulita. We have really fallen in love with the town, and Casa Ilusion was a big part of it. Not sure what it looked like before the renovations, but it is spectacular now. My wife is a bit of an interior design snob and she has had nothing but great things to say about all of it. In fact, we are already trying to plan our next stay here.

This is the perfect house for one or two families. Close to the town plaza but far enough away to provide some sense of a private beach. We looked at many other properties while we were there, and we never once wished we hadnt selected Casa Ilusion for our Salyulita vacation.

We WILL be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Seattle, WA
5

Wonderful Week

  • 5 of 5

The house and location exceed expectations, even with the beautiful pictures that are provided. The house staff is unobtrusive and extremely helpful. The grounds are large and gorgeous and the house is spotless and very tastefully decorated. It is just the right walking distance from town. The house manager arranged for a private chef to come in for a couple of meals and the food. preparation and service we great. The ability to lounge, eat and hang out outdoors made it tough to leave the place. The household staff (maid and gardener) were unobtrusive, friendly and very helpful. Our kids (6 and 9) loved the place, as they had plenty of room to roam on property and were right on the beach.

Certainly one of the more expensive rental houses in Sayulita, but worth the the money. We would not hesitate to go back and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Puerto Vallarta
Car: not necessary

Casa Ilusion is located just steps from Excellent Surfing. There are also world renowned golf courses by Jack Nicklaus and Greg Norman just a 20 minute drive away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sayulita House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
low season
May 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$7,500
 
 
Holiday
Dec 18 2017 - Jan 2 2018
7 night minimum stay
$17,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$9,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $2,000

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers