check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Betsy or Alan Del Mauro

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Log Cabin - Unique and Beautiful

61 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Candor Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths (Sleeps 8), great views, rolling hills, wildlife.

WE ALSO HAVE ANOTHER PROPERTY : Email us ASAP if interested IN RENTING THIS PROPERTY, THE COUNTRY HOME-RANCH STYLE, 3738255ha IS STILL AVAILABLE FOR Cornell Graduation 2017, email owner for info and prices.

Haven't you always wanted to stay in a real log cabin? Now you can when you rent this beautiful log cabin that is situated on 300 acres of spectacular rolling hills. The log cabin is called 'The Pine Lodge' and has all the amenities you will need. Relax and enjoy the peaceful environment yet be close to the excitement of nearby attractions.

There is a large living room and dining room with cathedral ceilings, hardwood floors and ceiling fans. There is a new large 50 inch flat screen HD TV with DirecTV satellite, HBO and many more channels. There is a cozy gas fireplace. The kitchen is fully equipped and has a gas stove in a large island. All towels and linens are provided, iron and ironing board and a hair dryer.

Use the wine glasses as well as all the dishes, pots, pans and silverware.

The 1st floor has a bedroom with a queen bed. There is a full bathroom on the 1st floor. The 2nd floor bedroom has 2 twin beds that can be set up as a king bed (PLEASE LET US KNOW WHICH YOU PREFER) The loft bedroom (a favorite with the kids) has 4 twin beds and a balcony that overlooks the living/dining area. There is also a bathroom located on the second floor.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Betsy or Alan Del Mauro (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Betsy or Alan Del Mauro

My husband Alan and I grew up in a small town in NJ, only 30 minutes from NYC, we both knew we wanted to experience country living and found these beautiful views of the rolling hills to be breathtaking and very relaxing. We have lived in Candor for about 33 years now and are very happy here. I am a retired teacher and my husband is retired from the wholesale florist business.

Betsy or Alan Del Mauro purchased this cabin in 2004

Why Betsy or Alan Del Mauro chose New York

We built the log cabin vacation rental on our 300 acre property because it is secluded in a beautiful country area where guests can relax and watch the whitetail deer and turkey that roam the fields- yet it is close enough to also be able to visit the nearby attractions. It's location really provides the best of both worlds- allowing guests to escape their busy lives and enjoy the peaceful environment while also offering exciting attractions to visit. We know you will enjoy the beauty of the property and the unique feeling of staying in a real log cabin.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The log cabin is beautiful, my 3 sons were just so excited to be staying in a real log cabin and sleeping in the loft bedroom w/balcony was very special. The outdoor campfire area where we made smores was a big hit! Traveling into Ithaca to walk the beautiful waterfalls and gorges was very direct and convenient, the cabin contained all the amenities we needed to make our stay perfect. We will be back in the summer.
Apr 2009
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 61 traveler reviews

Log Cabin - Unique and Beautiful
average rating of 4.9344263 based on 62 reviews
5

Outstanding Property

  • 5 of 5

We loved the location with views of woods, cornfield, open pastures and the frequent visits from Canada Geese, wild turkeys, deer including a visit from fawn and its mom. I enjoyed coffee on the front porch every morning. The owners were very helpful and immediately responsive-they live just down the road. The weather was great! So nice and cool every night and quite moderate in the daytime. Cabin beautifully and comfortably furnished and well equipped. Very comfortable bed!! We enjoyed exploring the area it's such beautiful countryside and had great breakfast at the FireHouse in Candor, lots of fun looking in the shops in Owego. Perfect vacation!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the wonderful review, so happy you found this to be an "outstanding property" and that you enjoyed seeing the wildlife as much as we do. We hope you can stay again soon at the log cabin and experience the beautiful countryside, relax on the front porch and sleep peacefully in the comfortable bed. Thanks, Betsy & Alan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, Comfortable, and Secluded Cabin

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was a perfect choice for six college friends to celebrate 30+ years of friendship. We arrived Friday evening to find the cabin already cooled for our summer weekend getaway. Every room was clean, nicely furnished, and very cozy. The sleeping options are perfect for any combination of family and friends, and having two bathrooms is a real plus. We were centrally located to many attractions in the Finger Lakes region, and found Betsy's suggestions for hiking, wineries, shopping, and restaurants to be very helpful. This is a fantastic cabin to call "home" for a short weekend, or an extended stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the great review, it was nice meeting all of you. How nice that you 6 ladies get together and spend time with each other and celebrate your friendships. We are so pleased you found the log cabin to be clean, nicely furnished and cozy. The "perfect choice" for being centrally located to numerous Finger Lake attractions. Hope you can stay again. Thanks, Betsy & Alan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing log cabin

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I enjoyed this log cabin it was very peaceful and relaxing. When we arrived the log cabin looked just like the pictures shown on this website. We couldn't have asked for a better experience or location. We hauled our motorcycle in an enclosed trailer to explore the Finger Lake region and this log cabin was centrally located to several areas. There was lots of room to park and the roads were blacktop to travel on.

We definitely want to stay at this cabin the next time we go back!

Betsy was perfect to work with and provided us with information in the area!

Thank you so much for renting this log cabin! It's perfect!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you so much for the wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the "amazing log cabin" your a great couple and so happy you had nice motorcycle driving weather, we look forward to your return. Thanks, Betsy & Alan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A fantastic and peaceful place!

  • 5 of 5

We just spent Cornell graduation weekend at the cabin. Betsey and Alan were great, the house spotless, the views and wildlife watching memorable and all so convenient to Ithaca - it was a perfect family and friend retreat. We would love to return!

The Coriells and the Kronenbergs

  • Submitted: May 30, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the log cabin for Cornell Graduation weekend 2016. We are glad you found the cabin to be convenient to Ithaca and also that you enjoyed the wildlife, peace and quiet. You are a wonderful family and we hope you return soon. Thanks, Betsy & Alan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

wonderfull esperience

  • 5 of 5

Great cabin very well equipped > My family had a very nice time .

Owners are great and greeted us very nicely.

Will be returning.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the great review. You have a wonderful family. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the unique and beautiful log cabin and found the kitchen to be well equipped. We look forward to your return. Thanks, Betsy & Alan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great cabin, very unique, great hosts

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had an amazing time at the cabin. We arrived to find the cabin very clean and ready for our stay. Betsey came down to greet us and go over any questions that we had.

In the morning Alan stopped by to place firewood in the fire pit (it rained the first night) that he had been drying in his garage. Everything was exactly as described, the kitchen is well equipped and there is a BBQ grill right out on the porch which we used each night.

My family loved being able to enjoy the peace and quiet and disconnect from the world.

Candor is in very close proximity to Ithaca so hiking the gorges and getting into town is a quick 25-30 minute drive. Also nearby is Owego which has a quaint small town feel with little shops and restaurants off of main street.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the great review, we are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the cabin. As you said It is a wonderful place to enjoy the peace and quiet and yet be in close proximity to all the attractions offered. We hope you and your family will stay at the unique log cabin again soon. Thanks, Betsy & Alan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Candor Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$160
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 12.0%

Remember prices above are for 2 people staying, add $30 each extra person per night plus tax.
DISCOUNTS GIVEN FOR LONGER STAYS, RATES ARE FIGURED BY NUMBER OF PEOPLE STAYING AND LENGTH OF STAY.

CORNELL AND ITHACA COLLEGE GRADUATIONS- Increased rates apply. Additional nights can be added at a discounted price. PLEASE EMAIL OR CALL OWNER ABOUT RENTING AND FOR THE PRICES ASAP.

Homeaway's/VRBO's rate calculations may not be accurate due to our discounts for longer stays, please email owner for an accurate rate quote.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Candor Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 1st floor, toilet, tub/shower, sink, hairdryer, towels
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , 2nd floor-toilet, sink, towels
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1st floor-queen size bed, large closet
    Bedroom 2 - 4 twin/ single , 2nd floor loft- 4 twin beds
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 2nd floor, king can change into 2 twin beds, large closet
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties