check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Pearl by the Sea

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Big Pool, Cabana Bar, GORGEOUS beach and ocean views!

6 Reviews
Bedrooms 8
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


Tidewater & Hampton Roads House Rental Photos and Description

House, 8 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 16-25)

Comfortable Fun Beach Retreat for the Family! Visit Beach Pros Realty online to view the virtual tour!

Stunning ocean views across the wide sandy beach right in front of 'Pearl By The Sea' give you the oceanfront feeling and easy beach access you desire at a semi-oceanfront price! Pearl By The Sea has long been a favorite vacation home because of her seaside cottage charm and all the many fun amenities. The sounds of the Atlantic Ocean reverberate from the multilevel wraparound decks. The well equipped kitchen with ample cookware and utensils, breakfast bar and eat-in kitchen table open up to the large dining area and spacious great room with vaulted two story ceilings and 50' TV. This very design keeps the family together while cooking and watching TV or just taking in the awesome ocean air.

Pearl By The Sea accommodates large family groups comfortably. Extra refrigerator downstairs, plus a convection oven provided to assist in bigger meal preparation. A poolside barbecue is just what the doctor ordered! Rest and relax poolside with the comforts of a poolside shower, hot / cold water and private dressing area. Although, some in the family may decide to enjoy the poolside garage / game room with wet bar, Foosball,and board games!

When it's time to say goodnight to yet another glorious beach day of sun and fun, you will all be comfortably accommodated by the seven spacious bedrooms with breezy ceiling fans and large loft area with three futons. The 1st level has a large bedroom with private attached bath including one queen bed and one twin bed (with a twin trundle bed) and a big HDTV. The second level has: two queen bedrooms, one queen bedroom has a crib, a baby monitor and a new 32' wall mounted HDTV. There is a king bedroom with a new 32' wall mounted HDTV. The kids will love the bunkie room with a twin bunk set and two twin beds. The third level has one king bedroom with a new 32' flat panel TV wall mounted with a private bath. Across the the loft is another bunkie room with two more sets of twin bunk beds. One of the bunks has a twin trundle bed as well. The main area of the loft there are two queen futons and one double futon with a 32' wall mounted HDTV.

Saturday to Saturday seven night stays only from Memorial Day through Labor Day, three night minimum stays available in the off season except for holidays.

Check in is no earlier than 3 pm

Check out is no later than 10 am. We can't make exceptions and appreciate your understanding.

Our office hours are Mon - Sat 9 am to 5 pm. After hours check-in is available if you will be arriving after 5 pm on the day of check-in. PLEASE contact our office in advance so that we can arrange that for you!

Swimming pool availability is based on weather and ranges from May - September.


DOGS ARE ALLOWED IN THIS PROPERTY! $100 non-refundable pet deposit per dog with a two dog maximum. Adult house trained dogs only.

Homes are furnished and decorated to the individual Owner's taste. Beds come with bed spreads or quilts, and pillows, King, Queen, and Full size beds, come with two pillows, twins and trundles come with one. (Bring your extra pillows and blankets if you need them!) Kitchen is stocked with cookware, dinnerware, coffee cups, glasses, utensils, small appliances including coffee pot, toaster, and blender. Properties with gas grills come with propane tanks, if you run out, just give our office a call! For properties with charcoal grills, don't forget to grab a bag of charcoal from the store!

If you need rental baby items from cribs to high chairs, sheets and toys, visit:

call 800-518-8068

***************Helpful list of things to bring, or buy when you arrive**************

Toilet paper (if you arrive late, Beach Pros does supply a complimentary, small amount of toilet paper..just in case you need it!)

Paper towels (properties do not come with kitchen towels, bring some if you prefer them!)




Coffee Filters

Trash bags

Dish soap

Dish washing detergent

Laundry detergent

Fabric softener

Personal products




Hair products

Hair dryer


Sun Screen

Insect repellent

Beach Towels

Beach Chairs

Beach Toys and items

If you find you need something additional or left something at home The Sandbridge Market is right around the corner! There is also a Food Lion grocery store on Sandbridge Road, and a Super Walmart on Nimmo Pkwy near the Beach Pros office.

For a full list of local restaurants, shops, markets, and all the fun things to do in Sandbridge and around Hampton Roads, visit our Local Area and Attractions page on our website!

Seven bedrooms plus loft area w/ three futon beds!

King master bedroom & bath - top floor

Bed Types: two king, three queen, two queen futons, one double futon, 11 twin

Pool - Open from May - September (Varies depending upon weather)

Complimentary Rental Linen Package Provided: Memorial Day through Labor Day

This home is DOG FRIENDLY!

Foosball Table


Wireless Internet Access

Washer / Dryer on first floor

Non Smoking

Gas Grill

New Trex Decking


Crib *please remember to bring crib sheets or arrange for rental*

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pearl by the Sea (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

The whole family met in Sandbridge this year and stayed in two house, one of them being Pearl By The Sea. We arrived and found it even better than the photos on the website. The bathrooms and kitchen have been renovated since the original pictures were taken. the location is AWESOME! The home is very large and everyone loved it!

We plan on reserving this house again in the future and would recommend it to anyone!
Sep 2015
  • 1 of 3


based on 6 traveler reviews

Big Pool, Cabana Bar, GORGEOUS beach and ocean views!
average rating of 3.8333333 based on 9 reviews

Great fun! Another wonderful experience!

  • 5 of 5

We had a couples retreat with our Church group and can't say enough great things about our experience. The home is beautiful and the views and closeness to the beach are the best. Beach Pros Realty is fantastic. This is our second stay with them and we wouldn't go anywhere else! Thank you for the wonderful experience.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Va. Beach

Freaking nightmare

  • 1 of 5

This had to be the worst beach house rental experience I have ever had. From the very beginning of our stay it was bad, the kitchen and living room were infested with ants the air conditioning did not work the gas grill was broken and unusable and all though they replaced it fairly quickly they left the old one right where it sat and told me I could wheel it around for bulk pickup Tuesday. We were scheduled to check out today May 31,2014 at 10 am but chose to leave a day early. The condition of the house was truly disappointing. The dishwasher which never worked was complained about daily, the washing machine was full of water and wouldn't make it thru the rinse cycle it was eventually fixed but the dryer if you had 4 hours to waste waiting for a small load to dry worked if that is what you want to call it. All the rooms were filthy, not vacuumed or dusted and the cabana bar area was horrible. Game room area was full of broken ceiling fans I suppose from throughout the house, dirty sticky countertops, beer caps and plastic cups laying everywhere. The beds with the exception of 2 were like sleeping on concrete, the master shower did not work and as of the day we left not been completely repaired. We paid extra for the linen to be put on the beds to find they hadn't and they left bags of linen and towels on the floor at the main enterance. Not enough linens for all the beds. Calls were repeatedly made sometimes several times a day to beach pros office to be told the the GM would be notified and would contact us when she was available, Kelly told us that Christi "Bucker" Rhodes would be in touch but that never happened. A call to one of the owners Gail Bucker was a fruitless effort, she told me that she shouldn't be troubled with these problems that she had a GM who I gather is her daughter Christi. I was told by Gail that I should focus on the good things such as the ocean the new decks and counter tops. Sorry but you can't sleep on the countertops or the decks although they would probably been more comfortable than the beds. She also said that the beginning of the season the first renters will experience the problems and beach pros would address them as they learn of them. I am sorry but wouldn't you think that the house would be in tip top shape at the beginning of the season and have problems towards the end of the season.

Oh, don't let me forget to mention the comforters that had to be washed before they could be used, stained and smelly.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pearl by the Sea was remodeled beautifully over this past winter. The kitchen and baths and even the exterior were given a beautiful overhaul. It was completed only weeks prior to these guest's arrival. They were the second set of guests to stay in the newly redone Pearl by the Sea since all the work that was done, which included two brand new hvac units last fall, was completed. The first guests raved over their wonderful experience and the beauty of the home with its gorgeous views. The home was inspected thoroughly 2 hours prior to the unhappy newly wed's arrival by two people including the Manager. It was very clean and looking just beautiful. The problem is that they brought an unauthorized dog with them and when approached professionally about it, to obtain the deposit outlined as required in their rental agreement that they signed, they became hostile (cursing yelling) tenants and then the false complaints, even some sabotage to the outdoor hvac unit ensued. Yet we responded to every complaint and very promptly. The washing machine did at one point stop draining suddenly. Within the hour the clogged drain line was repaired and it was working again. The "ants" were never found by anyone, not even the Owner of the Exterminating Company who was called out over a holiday weekend. What he found was that these guests left all the lights on after dark and the doors and/or windows open. He sent pictures of the non living bugs he found around any light source (including the stove top with light above) and although they look a little like ants with wings, they are not. He left a full inspection with his photos about this complaint. We all endured the nasty phone calls and harassment while these guests were in Sandbridge and we did it professionally and with kindness and a lot of tolerance due to their language and generally hostile overly aggressive demeanor. The Owner of our company, even took another angry call on Memorial Day when the office was closed, not to respond to any emergency but to try, yet again, to help these guests focus on the wonderful sunny day, the good things around them, and in the hopes that they would stop the harassment. Since their departure, it has not stopped sadly. The newly wed couple continues now with defamation and slander because we do require payment for the unauthorized pet and the money paid for all the false complaints and bills due to contractors who responded to them. Pearl is beautiful and in fantastic condition!
Did you find this review helpful?
16 0
Pittsburgh, PA

A Pearl by the Sea

  • 5 of 5

We are a family of 5 (including 3 adult children) and we were also joined during our week-long stay by 2 other adult friends, a brother and his adult daughter as well, for a maximum total of nine (9) staying at this property. We had more than enough room with more than adequate sleeping quarters. We also were able to entertain guests (2 adult sisters who live locally in VA Beach area) for a Dinner / Cookout on Wednesday evening and we had a great time ! It was great to have a newer, working Grill for this event. This was a clean, well-maintained property with a large living room area and a spacious dining and kitchen area. We especially appreciated the large dining room table and open kitchen layout. The swimming pool is one of the best features of this house and with a very short walk across the path to the beach, it was great to have a working outdoor shower and swimming pool on-site to begin or end our days. It was great to have a working washer & dryer and we used these appliances daily. It was also very helpful to have 2 operational refrigerators, one downstairs which we used primarily for beverages and one upstairs in the kitchen for food and dairy products. Multiple baths & showers were great to have with our mixed male - female group. There was ample parking which really came in handy during our mid-week barbecue. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Sandbridge and recommend this property in particular to any large family or group. We would definitely stay here again !

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
West Virginia

We loved Pearl by the Sea!

  • 5 of 5

We got in late, after hours and were all really tired with antsy kids and just ready to relax and start our vacation. It was such a great experience getting to Pearl by the Sea and seeiing what a lovely home it was. It's BIG too! We didn't expect it to be as large as it was. We chose to stay in a bedroom with a view of the beach so we could sleep with the windows open and hear the surf. We slept SO good that first night. The kids loved the third story loft, the pool, and the grown ups loved the pool and the bar/ lounge area right beside it. Of course, the beach was RIGHT THERE too and that was wonderful. The house had everything we needed for convenience and fun. A couple of the kids cried when it was time to go. I almst did too! We will be rebooking this house for next year. We had a truly wonderful, memorable, vacation this year. Thank you to Beach Pros for being great and providing a great experience for us.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 2
Washington DC

Nobody wanted to go home.

  • 5 of 5

We had 20 family members vacationing together this year and staying at this house couldn't have been better. The big open are on the second floor with the huge pit group, big dining area and kitchen was big enough for all of us. The pool was great, especially for evenings and early mornings keeping the kids busy. The views are fantastic and the loft on the third story was a lot of fun. Overall, I give the house an A+, the Beach Pros an A+. It made our vacation terrific for everyone. I highly recommend this home. Its great for big families with kids.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
Pittsburgh, PA

Big Let Down

  • 2 of 5

There were 26 staying at Pearl By the Sea, and what a let down. Upon arrival I was asked to sign a waiver that they had closed off the game room due to flooding, I refused to sign the waiver because we were not notified prior to that so that we could look for some place else to stay. I also was not happy that the room was closed because with 12 kids in the house they needed something to do and a place to call their own. I spoke to the owners daughter asking for compensation and she was nothing but rude and said,"I don't care about your disappointment." The house was definitely pictured correctly, but the details were far from true. The bed spread were stained and filthy. There were not many serving utensils and it was stated as a well equipped kitchen. NO BODY could sit around the pool because the pool ground wire had something wrong with it and you would get shocked if you touched the water. There were not enough sheets, the pin ball machine did not work and they said they were not fixing it. The dryer did not dry without going through 3 cycles. One of the 2 refrigerators did not work. The freezer leaked and didn't make ice. The outdoor shower didn't work. The pool was never cleaned. I had called Beach Pros about all of the problems and they sent us an iron, toaster and grill.....thanks, but it didn't fix the problems!!!! Very disappointed in the house and highly UNsatisified with Beach Pros, they were not the least bit concerned about our stay or compensating us for the closure of the room. I am disputing the charges with our credit card company for a full refund, since they didn't bother to give any at all.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was a very unique situation at our property management firm. It has never occurred before that a guest, upon check-in, would exclaim in our office that they have more people staying than allowed, placing them in breach of contract, and to ask for money back before even checking in. The day before check in we had a storm which affected an area of the garage, which is separate from the home and contains no sleeping space. It was not flooded, as she states, it was a leak that had damaged wallboard and insulation which would need to be removed and replaced. For her family's safety, as there would be construction, we informed her in writing that this garage area would be worked on and would be finished Tuesday. She flew into a rage and screamed that she had 28 (not 26) people coming to stay. The limit, as you can see, in the listing, says limit 23 people. Our General Manager, Christi, said she would have to go place a call and temporarily hold her package until she spoke with the owners. According to our agreement that she signed, to exceed the number of people allowed is grounds for termination of the vacation. When our GM went back to place a call, in full view of our office, this guest jumped over the desk and grabbed her package and ran out. Once in possession of the home she developed these complaints and became a very hostile tenant. We responded to each and every complaint and found that most of these complaints were unfounded. The dryer does work but she had it stuffed to the max with towels and big baggy type jeans. No dryer could work with that load. The fridge does work. The pinball machine is decorative and says so in the listing on our site. The outdoor shower does work. Their family was in the pool all week and it is cleaned twice weekly. We have the receipts. The bedspreads were not filthy but we washed them anyway and had them back in 2 hours on a Saturday night. We delivered "extra" linens check in day. In fact, Tom, the owner of our firm, went by on Saturday afternoon after check in and sat with her family to discuss her issue. He did not know, at that time, that they had violated their agreement. He had just heard there was an issue and made a personal visit because he DOES care. We addressed every issue immediately. It is obvious that her concern from the time of check in was obtaining money, all the while violating her agreement. Please take the time to read our other great reviews. Everybody LOVES "Pearl By The Sea!"
Did you find this review helpful?
25 3


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Pungo Ferry
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Hells Point
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Sandbridge Island Restaurant
Nearest Beach
Sandbridge Beach
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Sandbridge Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Peak Summer
Jul 2 2016 - Aug 12 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Aug 13 2016 - Aug 19 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Aug 20 2016 - Aug 26 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Late Summer
Aug 27 2016 - Sep 2 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Labor Day Week
Sep 3 2016 - Sep 9 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Late Summer
Sep 10 2016 - Sep 23 2016
3 night minimum stay
Off Season
Sep 24 2016 - Dec 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
Off Season
Jan 1 2017 - Apr 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
Early Spring
Apr 29 2017 - May 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
May 20 2017 - Jun 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Early Summer
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 9 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Early Summer
Jun 10 2017 - Jun 16 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Jun 17 2017 - Jun 23 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Jun 24 2017 - Jun 30 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Peak Season
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 11 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 25 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Late Summer
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Labor Day Week
Sep 2 2017 - Sep 8 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Late Summer
Sep 9 2017 - Sep 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
Off Season
Sep 23 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Fee Bundle $289
Tax Rate 15.5%

Fee bundle includes Damage Waiver Fee. Dog friendly home allows a max of 2 adult house trained dogs. Pet fee is $200 for one dog. $100 for an additional dog.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Tidewater & Hampton Roads House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Dining Area
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 25
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (3), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (9) Actually 11 with various bunk beds and twin bed arrangement. Plenty of room!, Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3) Three futons, two queen, one full, Bunk Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties