Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Viscaya Chalet House

Bedrooms 3
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

apartment 3 bedroom with huge outside veranda plenty of outside space.

12-7-12 Brand new third bathroom completed. each bedroom has there own bathroom.

1/15/17 Price reduced to $80/USD a night for this price makes it one of the best cheapest 3 bedrooms available in Poblado. 4 Flat screens bar outside space wifi washer dryer. Hot water.

This is a brand new looking house apartment. Only one neighbor up the hill. It was renovated to include a beautiful kitchen, open and airy in the Viscaya Poblado area. For those not fimiliar, it's basically further up calle 10 and Parque Lleras area. 2 minutes by cab. Yet once you step through your outside gate you feel worlds away. Sleeps 6, 3 couples or 3 single people.

Flat Screen TV's through out, BBQ, second full Fridge out at Bar, Washer and dryer. Excellent wifi.

More Details

Property Manager
Barry Brachfeld
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, manager here is bilingual
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

About Barry Brachfeld

Colombian investor and proud.

Barry Brachfeld purchased this apartment in 2012

Why Barry Brachfeld chose El Poblado

Outside space is a big wow factor. Medellin is better on the terrace. Sitting at night with friends around the bar or bbq listening to music and realizing that maybe the Colombia on the US news really isn't as they say.

What makes this apartment unique

Well dealing with us, we try to do things with more then whats the most profitable. We just do short term renting. But if something goes wrong inside the apartment manager is available, holiday, saturday, sunday. We care, right now still means something to me. I was instilled in it, my previous jobs demanded accountability and I move from apartment to apartment kicking the tires, and making a list of maintence, I own to make sure of it.



El Tesoro Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • limited accessibility
  • wheelchair accessible
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • tennis


4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Viscaya Chalet House
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews

Very nice place in Medellin

  • 5 of 5

The house had pretty much everything we could need. The location was a bit difficult for taxi drivers to figure out, but we also used Uber which was a bit more successful. Large place with plenty of space. Wifi was good; hot showers.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome first experience

  • 5 of 5

I never written a review, but here we go. This is a great rental and the service was awesome. The owner gave clear directions on everything that needed to be done. He was very helpful with any inquiries that we had. As written in previous reviews, the pics don't give this place justice. I was there for a guys trip and it had everything that we wanted. Ruben and Barry were great hosts. Thank you again!

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 1 of 5

This property was misrepresented and the owner and caretaker were never present or available at any time except before we got there.

I see that VRBO owners may erase any bad reviews they get and I'm sure this one will be too. For this reason, I will never use VRBO or "home away" ever again. Not only was the apartment a mess, with everything broken, and no BBQ as promised, and only suicide showers and broken toilet seats and fixtures,

WE GOT SICK FROM THE MOLD AND DANK AIR THROUGHOUT THE WHOLE PLACE. There is no ventilation. There are these fans in each room and tons of air fresheners to try to mask the problem. Both of us are still sick. The health dept. of Medellin will be notified of this EXTREME health risk.

MINUS 5 STARS - STAY AWAY, and vrbo, please remove this owner from your listings.

The gate at the front is not secure, and taxis can not find the place.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a complete hatchet job, all because I told him he couldn't party and play the music that loud we have neighbors. He then tried to shake me down a week after he returned for a full refund, to which I said no. The only question he asked before booking here was if he needed a jacket. The place is awesome especially for the price. They had 3 guys here at less then $40 a night a man. I copied and pasted my last few reviews for the property, to let you be the judge. Reviews From Guests Bryan Bryan Perfect stay , everything in place . Super clean and the host extremely nice and really helpful . The house has everything you need and want From Elizabeth, NJ · January 2016 Viscaya Chalet House Owner response : Recommended for : Jair Jair I did only stay for a night, but I Have to say that this property is very niceZ. Big, well maintained and well located Viscaya Chalet House Owner response : Recommended for : Josef Josef P What a great place to stay, highly recommend! Barry is exceptional to have as a host and hope to be lucky enough to visit with him again soon. Owner response : Recommended for : barry, I wanted to say thanks for everything....your property was great and your manager was awesome too. I hope everything was good as before I arrived.... Owner response : You were a absolute pleasure Recommended for : Apreciado Rubén: En nombre propio y de las personas que estuvimos alojados en su casa #8 de Padua, El Poblado, Medellín agradezco la atención y buen servicio prestado. Sus instalaciones son muy confortables, privadas y muy bien ubicadas por lo que pudimos descansar y disfrutar de esa hermosa ciudad durante estos dias. Esperando volver pronto y que ustedes nos reciban, les presento mis mas cordial saludo. Atentamente, José Leopoldo Larrota Gutierrez Owner response : Recommended for : Rental are rentals anywhere you go except for Medellin. Barry's apartments are not only nice but we, as Americans, expect a certain degree of service. Barry's and Ruben's attention to detail and their willingness to go the extra mile for you sets them apart from anyone or any other company. Don't settle for less.. Book early as Barry's rooms are limited. Owner response : Recommended for : Franco Franco S great place. quiet. and located at central area of Medellin. is close to park lleras, but is an uphill hike if you decide to walk back from there. Leave Response Owner response : Recommended for : 2014-01-28 Manolo, Manizales (CO)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful! And Reasonably Priced!

  • 4 of 5

This location was wonderful. Very clean and spacious. There were three bedroooms and three bathrooms which gave everyone there own space. I would definitely recommmend this spot for anyone wishing to visit Medellin. Owner was spectacular in helping to make sure our first time in Colombia was a memorable experience. He was very thorough in answering questions and making sure we were taken care of. Definitely went beyond the call of duty.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pembroke Pines, Florida

Private Retreat

  • 5 of 5

My stay at the Viscaya house was exceptional. The pics don't give the place justice. Very comfortable home with everything that you possibly need. Modern kitchen and bathrooms. I was there a week ago with my family and enjoyed our stay tremendously. My 2 year old grandson was able to play in the yard without any problems. We had privacy and security. Very close to everything. Great outside space to barbque and socialize with family. I highly recommend the chalet. Ruben and Barry are awesome!!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. You and your wonderful family are welcome anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Final Cleaning fee $24

driveway. 6 blocks from tesoro Mall. min taxi ride to Park Lleras

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.