check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Open Thanksgiving 2016 Beautiful Views Surrounded by Vineyards & Horses 6 Bedrms

71 Reviews
Bedrooms 6
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights


Far West House Rental Photos and Description

6 Bdrm 4.5 bath 3 night minimum

Bella Vista is located on five-acres of equestrian property across from boutique vineyards yet close enough to the city to enjoy the best of both worlds. Nestled amongst large estate homes, you will find serenity in this 4000 sq ft vacation home with 6-bedrooms 4.5-baths, with two full kitchens and living areas located near the top of Parrett Mountain. It is a perfect place to call home away from home.

The Location: This vacation home has amazing views and a private location yet it is conveniently located 30 minutes south of downtown Portland and 15 minutes north of the heart of the Willamette Valley Wine Country, Dundee. This private estate home is situated in an exclusive area with magnificent views but only 10 minutes from a large grocery store and Costco. This up-scale vacation home is ideal for attending equestrian events and wine country events or for exploring other area attractions including Mount Hood, the Beautiful Oregon Coast, and the famous Multnomah Falls.

The Property: This equestrian property is recently updated with beautiful amenities including slab granite and custom furnishings. The home is perfect for family and multi-family vacations, corporate retreats, small weddings, family reunions, and other special occasions. Upon arriving you are welcomed by the stunning views, in which to enjoy the fresh clean air and serenity of the area.

The Home: Bella Vista boasts in comfort. The main area is central for gathering the group or super relaxing to dive into a good book. The main attraction is the deck which over looks the riding arena and serene views including two vineyards and a pond. Every room has a view! Up a short flight of stairs you will find the master with a memory foam King bed with a large tile shower, the second bedroom is also a memory foam Queen bed, and the third bedroom upstairs has two twin beds. Also located on this level is another beautifully remodeled full bathroom with a nice tub for soaking. At the far end of the home is yet another memory foam Queen bedroom and full bathroom overlooking the garden area.


Guest Quarters: Very chic and fully furnished attached 2 bedroom guest unit. A true delight only available to Bella Vista main house guests. This space has big picture windows, a fully equipped kitchen and with a comfy living area. Both beds are memory foam; one king size and one queen. This space makes the entire house a 6 bedroom and 4.5 bathroom with two kitchens and two living spaces, simply a great addition for a large group.

The Amenities: Hiking trails out the back door, more hiking nearby and bring your bikes for your touring pleasure. We can arrange for private wine tours, a chef to cook your meals and make all your restaurant reservations. We have beautiful stables for you to view the horses.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner/Manager Barbara Livingston
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 27, 2016
Call Owner

About Owner/Manager Barbara Livingston

This place has heart! In fact, our heart and Bella Vista is alive with the beauty of horses, gardens and peace. We have enjoyed traveling to other VRBO homes and are excited to welcome you to ours.

Owner/Manager Barbara Livingston purchased this house in 2003

Why Owner/Manager Barbara Livingston chose Oregon

The location of Bella Vista suits so many different experiences, from wine tasting, to family reunions, to graduation events, equestrian events and accommodations for both owners and horses, to simple a place to come and get away from it all.

What makes this house unique

Walking amongst the fresh air of the Oregon country side along with the access to all the wonderful site seeing this gorgeous state offers. You can take in wine tasting, hiking, biking and shopping tax free!


based on 71 traveler reviews

Open Thanksgiving 2016 Beautiful Views Surrounded by Vineyards & Horses 6 Bedrms
average rating of 4.887324 based on 71 reviews

Second Visit Surpasses First

  • 5 of 5

The first visit to this wonderfully comfortable home in 2014 was great but this second visit was even better. The spotless, well laid out house, the views, the deck and general ambience make the visit so comfortable and welcoming. We had several home and group cooked meals which kept us together and actually, probably saved money. Then we got to watch the Olympics in the accommodating TV area. New tile and different carpeting were a thoughtful and no doubt costly change. I highly recommend this location.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Amazing, beautiful, comfortable, spacious retreat!

  • 5 of 5

We loved this property, the amenities and the great service. It was so comfortable for our large family. We would go back in a heartbeat! If you appreciate a clean upscale environment with beautiful gardens and decks you will love this home! Thank you Barbara! The Bailey family

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

management style unsuitable for rental property

  • 2 of 5

Although the house and property are beautiful and extremely accommodating, we unfortunately had an unwarranted response from the owner about having 5 extra family members over to the house for a glass of wine. There was a family of 12 adults and two children staying at the house celebrating the wedding of a 34 year old son. ALL of the wedding festivities took place away from the accommodations. The evening before the wedding, we returned to the house with 5 extra adult family members after the rehearsal dinner away from the property. Having a glass of wine on the patio and cooking s'mores on the campfire, we received a phone call from the owner stating that she was trying to breathe through the fact that we had too many people there, she was libel for any driving when people left, her septic was being stressed, and could we break it up?? Seriously. She couldn't have had better or more respectful tenants in the house. If this was to stress her out, she should consider the business in which she has found herself. Beautiful home, poor managing style. You should consider this before renting.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: These guests were very lovely and respectful. However, it is apparent we were not in agreement with the outside guest policy. This brings a great opportunity for us to clarify Bella Vista's guest policy. Any extra guests or gatherings need to be cleared in advance. It is stated clearly in our reservation form that prior arrangements need to be made. In addition, when I was giving the welcome tour we actually spoke face to face about this exact type of “extra” event which is a common request of wedding group families. It is a huge concern for us to have anyone leaving Bella Vista after consuming alcohol. You may live it up on the property, enjoy the fire pit, have as late and as loud of a good time as you want, however no drinking and driving PLEASE! We love the vacation rental business and our guests have never had any complaints as you can see from the many other glowing reviews. Welcoming you to this beautiful part of the world and showing you all that there is to see here is a passion for us. We strive to offer you everything and more than we have promised and ask for the same from our guests. If you intend to have a gathering with people other than guests staying on the property, please let us know in advance. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful site, beautiful home.

  • 4 of 5

The property is absolutely gorgeous and pristine. The home is very beautiful and very comfortable. The owner is accommodating, responsible, forthright and kind. My guests were very pleased with their stay and comfortable in the well appointed home. Bella Vista was a wonderful place and a needed retreat from the busy wedding events surrounding the long, and at times, stressful, weekend. Thank you Barbara.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Houston, TX

Great Property - Check on Appliances

  • 4 of 5

This is a wonderful property with really fantastic amenities. The view from the back deck is lovely, looking out over the horse-farm operation, and neighboring fields, vineyards & forests. Plenty of bedrooms & bathrooms, all nicely appointed. Location is convenient to the entire area, yet isolated enough for privacy and quiet. House & grounds were very clean and well maintained. Barbara, the owner, was helpful with recommendations and can assist with setting up winery visits if interested. We had a party of 9 adults & 4 children and all were accommodated comfortably. I would certainly recommend - especially for larger groups.

Now the downside (which is fixable). The clothes dryer broke on Wednesday of our Sat-Sat stay - broken belt which evidently could not be replaced during our stay. The washing machine broke the next day & wasn't fixed while there. Both machines were (to all appearances) relatively new, so I can't blame Barbara for the unexpected breakdowns - but it was a bummer for our large group with kids, traveling from out of state, not to be able to wash and dry during the latter part of the trip. There was also an issue with the WiFi (weak signal in the main house and no signal in the guest house) which we finally got resolved late in the stay.

None of this would dissuade us from booking here again - but check on the status of the appliances and Wifi before making your reservation.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, Thank you for the lovely review. I so wish I would have had a better understanding of your laundry needs as I have another set of laundry on the property that I would have been happy to give you access to. And yes, sometimes issues arise. The Samsung front loading machines were less than 5 years old. The repair company came the day I was notified of the failure of the dryer. It required a part which was ordered (no one carries parts anymore). In the meantime, they turned the water off which also went to the washer so in fact the washer was not broken the water was turned off by the repair company :/. Before I knew that I did not need to fix the washer I already had purchase the top of the line Speed Queen Commercial front loading machines. I've never spent so much on laundry machines however Bella Vista aims to please the guests and the last thing is to have "dirty laundry" aired in a review which I hope never happens again!!! Secondly to the wifi, as you can see no other guest has ever written about internet service and that is because I only want the best. Comcast took 2 months to pull wire from the pole as we have installed a new security gate. All finished, the wifi is the highest speed with the biggest cable and the fastest service. There is no doubt that great internet access and speed is a high priority for all Bella Vista Guests. Please future guests if you have any issues that arise and have needs that we can accommodate I'd love to know of them so we can take care of them immediately. This is part of the business I love to provide a full 5 star experience to guests including sharing my passion for Oregon with all her beauty including some major highlights from amazing wine tasting, to beautiful scenic drives to one of the most magnificent ocean beaches I've ever seen. Wishing you happy travels and we look forward to seeing you again in the lovely Oregon Wine Country. All the best, Barbara
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Portland, OR

Stunning property, nearby wineries & tranquil vibe.

  • 5 of 5

I very much enjoyed my stay at this beautiful, remote property. The grounds were well manacured and the views of the rolling hills surrounding the property were a pleasure to view. The owner of the estate was very hospitable and ensured our stay was as comfortable as possible. Very spacious home with many rooms and sleeping options and a lovely kitchen for all your cooking and entertaining needs. The deck area out back was so relaxing and I couldn't get enough of the views of the surrounding grassy hills. None of us wanted to leave this oasis! Nearby were many wineries that only required a short car ride to get to and plenty of beautiful scenery surrounding it. There was a great driving service we utilized to get from winery to winery - a good option for large groups. I recommend this to anyone for a weekend getaway to relax, groups that want to indulge in local wine tastings, and/or any group that enjoys vast landscapes and appreciates nature to escape from the hustle and bustle. Highly recommended and well worth the experience!

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Alloro Vineyard
Fuji's In Sherwood
Quailhurst Vineyard Estate
Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Portland International Airport (PDX)
Nearest Barpub
2.5 Miles
Sports Bar and many others
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Langdon Farm Golf Club, Canby Oregon
Nearest Train
6 Miles
Wilsonville Commuter Train to Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
I-5, exit 286
Nearest Restaurant
2.5 Miles
Nearest Ski
75 Miles
Timberline Lodge, Mt Hood
Nearest Beach
76 Miles
Lincoln City
Car: recommended

Newberg, Willamette Valley, Oregon, USA (30 Mins-Downtown Pdx, Surrounded by Vineyards)

Other Activities: shopping, boating, health/beauty spa

Golf: Portland Area boosts some world class golf courses and a driving range within 3 miles! Tualatin Greens, Lake Oswego Public Course, and many many more!

Ski: Skiing is an easy day trip to Timberline Ski Area, Mount Hood Meadows, and Ski Bowl. Snow shoeing, and cross country is all though out the national forest lands on Mount Hood.


Rates & Availability

Far West House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Apr 13 2016 - Dec 1 2016
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
Dec 2 2016 - Apr 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Insurance $79 + Tax
Pet Fee $75
Cleaning Fee $325
Tax Rate 7.0%

2 Living areas available under the same roof. Available only the same Guests.
#1 Main House and Guest Suite*:
6 bedroom 4.5 bathroom, 4000 sq ft -3 night minimum $570/nt Dec 1st to April 15th, $590/nt Regular Rate
Holidays 4 night minimum $650/nt plus fees.
#2 Main House only:
4 bedroom 3.5 bathroom, 3000 sq ft - 3 night minimum $370/nt Dec 1st to April 15th, $390/nt Regular Rate,
Holidays 4 night minimum $450/nt plus fees.
Minimum Stays: Winter 2 nights, Summer 3 nights, Holidays 4 nights.
*Guest Suite attached to main house: 2 bedrooms, full bathroom, full kitchen & living room
Cleaning Fee, tax, insurance vary.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Far West House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , ensuite, walk-in tile shower and gorgeous granite vanity
    Garden Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Private for Garden Bedroom Guests
    Powder Bathroom - toilet , powder room located off kitchen
    Guest Suite Bathroom - toilet , shower , All tile and Granite, walk in shower
    Hall Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , All tiled and granite shares with two rooms
  • All very newly remodeled by custom home builder, very comfortable.
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Leaf Queen Room - 1 queen , Memory Foam Queen shares bath with Twin room
    Ex Long Twin Room - 2 twin/ single , Pillow Tops shares bath with Queen Room
    Garden Queen Room with Daybed - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Memory Foam and a Daybed with private bathroom
    Bella Vista Master Bedroom - 1 king , Memory Foam, en-suite deluxe bathroom
    Guest Suite Queen Bedroom - 1 queen , Memory Foam art deco furnishings
    Guest Suite King Bedroom - 1 king , Memory Foam with Art Deco Furnishings
  • Each room has its own lovely charm and magnificent decor. Three rooms are at at the east end of the house and the other queen room is at the west end of the home over looking the garden. We have two Play n Pak's available for infants.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • 12 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Beautifully well appointed gourmet kitchen with many extra's, you can cook any holiday meal with ease. Gas grill for cooking out on the deck. Bathrooms have many amenities. Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer. Handicapped Accessible (may have limitations).

Partner Offers