Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Surf & Sunsets The Palms Resort ONE bedroom

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Exotic One Bedroom 2 Bath Oceanfront HUGE Balcony

The Palms is a contemporary resort on the wide, sandy , quieter north end of Jaco Our Beach.is 2.5 mile long with lush green mountains behind . The Palms is a great location, just north of town center, and walking distance to restaurants , bars, shopping and everything you desire.

Our beach in front is wide and sandy and great for both swimming and surfing, depending on the tides. From our oversized and totally private balcony you can de-stress and watch for whales, scarlet macaws, world class surfers, and spectacular sunsets. Our balcony is a second living/ dining room with comfy lounging furniture , a dining table with a view, and a swinging hammock. Pure heaven set to crashing waves.

When you are feeling social, we have either a small pool oceanfront, or enjoy the 5 Star resort amenities of Crocs Resort next door. Landscaped pool w bridges, slides and jacuzzis, Live Crocodile Habitat , 4 restaurants, Pool Bar, Night Club, Day Spa, Casino, Coffee Shop, ATM, shops ...all within steps of the condo.

When you are ready for adventure and nature, our Concierge will help you select your Costa Rican experience. Zip Lining, Canopy Tours, ATV Waterfall Tours, Horseback riding on the beach, Rappelling, White Water Rafting, Kayaking, Snorkeling, Catamaran Cruises, Monkey Mangrove Tours, Volcanos, Coffee Plantations, Manuel Antonio and Carrara National Parks, Sport fishing, Golf and Tennis are all available from Jaco Beach. Or take a yoga class, have a Spa Day or get a soothing couples massage... Relax, renew....and reimagine life without stress. Whatever you desire... It's your vacation!

This newly redecorated, spacious , contemporary oceanfront one bedroom condo is a fully furnished private residence with FREE WIRELESS, FREE LOCAL PHONE, 24 hr Security, Concierge Service, in unit washer dryer, parking and full resort amenities .

90 minutes from the SJO airport, one hour from Manuel Antonio . Walking distance to town, restaurants, shopping, groceries, nightlife, movie cinema, theatre, art galleries and a micro brewery .

We can help you arrange your airport pickup 24/7 , pre stock groceries and recommend housekeepers, drivers or any additional service you may need to make your trip relaxing from the minute you arrive. I send all my guests a full list of recommendations , where to eat, where to rent surf boards, take a yoga class, get a massage...so you arrive with no hassles and settle in like a local.

More Details

Property Manager
Faith
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 14, 2017

About Faith

I fell in love with Costa Rica 10 years ago, and found Jaco Beach, which was a sleepy little surf town back then. Jaco was close to the airport and one of the only beachfront municipalities with TITLED land for purchase. I have watched Jaco grow as a tourist town, and have become active in the community, sharing and learning from the pura vida culture. It's a great place to vacation, and a great place to live. I love the pure air, the fresh produce, the active and adventurous lifestyle of like minded people who are living their dream of a healthier, simpler and ultimately happier life. Try it, you make decide to stay.

Faith purchased this condo in 2006

Why Faith chose Jaco

Great Location, quiet side of town, walk to everything, nothing between you and the Pacific Ocean except sand...The Palms is a unique condo in that we have total seclusion or total resort immersion when we choose. Best of both worlds.

What makes this condo unique

Use of Crocs Resort amenities next door .

Guestbook comments from the manager

Really terrific roof top deck made this condo unique. This is a front building, that is ON THE SAND. Cant get any better than that if you love the beach and surfing. We didn't rent a car, and ended up happy we saved the money. From Bahia Azul, you can walk or take a taxi to anywhere in town for $2. Easy to get around, people were very friendly, and with Faith's list of recommended restaurants we had some good meals at reasonable prices, Don't miss Tsunami Sushi half price sushi on Wednesday night! Good deal!

Very casual, relaxed vacation. This was our first trip to Costa Rica, but we will return now that we know how chill it is.
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Barrio Los Faroles Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Full Baths w Showers
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , One Comfy KIng Bed
  • King size bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We will make every effort to provide you with a hassle free , totally relaxing escape . Let us know any special requests and we will try to make your dreams of paradise come true!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Surf & Sunsets The Palms Resort ONE bedroom
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 19 reviews
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

If you like waking up to the sound of the ocean and stunning views, this is the place for you! The condo was beautiful and had all of the comforts of home. Faith was wonderful to deal with and what could have been stressful was made easy. A great big thank you to Faith, Dan, Gustave and Gabriel for making our stay memorable. Will definitely be making a return trip to Jaco.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am delighted to hear you loved our Palms 302 as much as we do. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and please come back !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fantastic View of the Ocean

  • 4 of 5

Factors to the rating:

We stayed in Room #302. The ocean view and balcony were as described. The balcony was huge with a wide direct view of the ocean and side views of the mountains. I spent a lot of time lounging on the hammock and enjoying the sounds of the waves.

The bed was comfortable and we particularly appreciated the very soft sheets. We loved the towels and even noted the brand, so we can purchase some for our home. As far as our general stay, overall it was as expected. It was decent for the price and location. We had a hard time accessing the internet the first day, but apparently that happens when it's rainy. It's their rain season and the building loses power intermittently during storms, it explains why there are tons of candles in the place.

Since Jaco is a popular place for surfing and body boarding, I was disappointed there were no body boards or other water gear available on sight either to use or to rent. I didn't find the concierge/reception manager to be very helpful or she was not there at all. However, you have the option to go over to the Croc's concierge desk for help on excursions. Although the pool at the Croc's was nice, we preferred to used the one at the Palms, since we were usually the only ones there.

The security staff was very nice and was always available when you need to call a taxi. There is street parking right outside the gate, so I would recommend renting a car to make it easy to get to and from town if you don't want walk or keep paying for a taxi. It's about a 15 minute walk into the main town where all the shops and restaurants are.

Some of the other reviews mentioned a 360 degrees view on a top deck. We could not find an easy access to the top deck, so not sure if it's only accessible from the penthouse rooms. We did take the elevator to the top floor and admired the beautiful view of the mountains from the outside balcony.

I would recommend this property for anyone that enjoys ocean views visiting Jaco. Faith was responsive to all of our questions.

Other notes not having to do with the stay:

If you plan to exchange currency, do it in the states or your home country. I was subject to a fraudulent experience by a bank employee there in Jaco.

We also found that the food and shops were quite expensive, definitely not cheaper than the states. In talking to people there, the prices have gone up due to the increase in Westerners.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Covington, LA
5

Nice stay at The Palms

  • 5 of 5

The condo is very nice, spacious, comfortable, outfitted with everything you need and has an amazing view from the large balcony.

I liked it's location as it is kinda outta the way and not alot of people around. Being next to Croc's casino, you have access to all it offers.

of note: if you are a coffee drinker, bring your own kuerig supply of coffee or you will have to use the French press.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed our condo. Those views are amazing. I am so sorry you didn't know that the Keurig coffee maker is a refillable model, that you can fill the basket with any ground coffee! But, as a fellow coffee enthusiast, I will purchase a standard coffee maker. Please come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Michigan
5

Great Penthouse

  • 5 of 5

Sorry it has taken me so long to review. Now we are booking again for next year to make sure we get our favorite condo at Bahia Azul. We love this penthouse because we have full unobstructed ocean views and breezes that sweep through the condo, right off the ocean. The roof top deck is a huge bonus as we travel with teenagers. The condo is very well kept with full kitchen, laundry room and comfy beds in both bedrooms. Sheets, towels, beach towels all provided. We like it because we can walk to town and restaurants and its in a residential area that is quiet and friendly. The farmer's market is just behind the property , great for fresh organics, cheeses, baked goods and all kind of local crafts. As an amateur photographer, the local vendors were fantastic to capture . I wish there was a gas grill on property as we like our fresh catch , but Faith did lend us a small charcoal grill that worked ok.

We are booked for 2017 , cant wait.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Jay . It will be a pleasure to see you and the family again, and I am working on getting you a better grill for next year. You are smart to book ahead, 2017 is already filling up. Looking forward to some of the red snapper under the stars again. Pura Vida Faith in Jaco Beach
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Toronto
5

Surfer's Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at 2 of Faith's properties in Jaco Beach, and loved both. Bahia Azul is a surfer's dream. This penthouse has a roof top deck that makes every care in my world disappear. Unlike several of the other's we looked at on VRBO , this one is the FRONT building, nothing between you and the sand... I read the review before and wonder if the woman actually stayed in this condo? We thought it was cute, clean, nicely furnished and no problems with anything being worn out. Linens, towels, bedding all in good condition and a fully equipped kitchen for our family of 4. My wife and kids loved the huge pool and kiddie pool. I surfed right out front when we had the waves. Other times, the surf was perfect for family swimming. Definitely recommend this condo for our family and friends. We rented a car, but realized it was not necessary in Jaco. Faith is really on the ball, and was there in 10 minutes when my daughter needed floaties and was a huge source of info for what we wanted to see and do on our vacation.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jack, thanks for your great surfer vibes, come surf with us anytime. I hope baby Ella is now swimming like a mermaid without her floaties. Pura Vida
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
2

Great View but....

  • 2 of 5

The view is wonderful from the balconies and upstairs patio but unfortunately inside the condo was less than great. It was very much in need of updating! The appliances and linens were very used! The photos we saw did not show this condo! There was also no grille as advertised. We did enjoy the pool, grounds, location and security staff. The management staff were helpful. We did have fun in Jaco!

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Laura I am so upset to read your review! Your 2 star rating really hurts and is very confusing to us as the last guests gave us 5 stars and have re-booked for next year. When I heard from you over the weekend, and offered to come to the condo and bring over ANYTHING AT ALL that you felt lacking, your reply was that everything was fine, and you had discovered it was user error in trying to operate the ceiling fan . I responded quickly, asked our on site manager to look at the fan you had trouble operating, and was more than willing to address any other issues in person on Saturday, immediately. I will take it to heart that some of the linens need to be replaced and take a look for more specific wear and tear that can be addressed. (??) We did have a Barbecue Grill that was irreparably damaged by guests, and I will remove that amenity from the listing. I wish your complaints could have been addressed during your stay, but I am happy you still enjoyed the fabulous balconies, private roof top deck with 360 views and the great walk-able location on the Pacific Ocean in Jaco Beach. I am very sorry you expected a more luxurious experience. We really do describe Bahia Azul and Jaco as a casual surf town with friendly, relaxed oceanfront accommodations at extremely reasonable prices . Perhaps a 4 or 5 star hotel would have better suited your needs. Thanks for your comments, albeit late, as we really do care what our guests find both enchanting and in need of improvement. We want you to have the best vacation ever!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
sjo
Car: not necessary

Every possible adventure awaits you in Jaco Beach, Costa Rica , from Zip Line to Monkey Tours. Jaco is the perfect spot to base yourself for day trips and The Palms is the perfect full amenity resort to come home to for peace and tranquility, yet walking distance to all restaurants, bars, shopping, art galleries, cinema and nightlife.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Barrio Los Faroles Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Green Season
Jul 14 2017 - Dec 20 2017
4 night minimum stay
$180
 
 
Peak ( Christmas & Easter)
Dec 21 2017 - Jan 1 2018
5 night minimum stay
$335
 
 
High Season
Jan 2 2018 - Mar 28 2018
4 night minimum stay
$225
$4,500
 
 
EASTER WEEK 2018
Mar 29 2018 - Apr 2 2018
4 night minimum stay
$335
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$225
 

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable