check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Guy and Karen

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german, spanish, italian

Spacious new three-bedroom condo, gorgeous Pacific views, pool, white sand beach

52 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Puntarenas Condo Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 6 adults maximum .

Explore the Central Pacific coast of Costa Rica. Make this spacious condo, nestled in the rain-forest with spectacular Pacific views, your home

base. The condo provides all the modern

amenities for a comfortable visit including a kitchen with granite counters and stainless steel appliances, central air conditioning, a washer/dryer, cable TV and Internet. A large balcony runs the entire length of the condo and provides outdoor seating for dining and lounging. Listen to the calming sound of the waves as you watch Scarlet Macaws fly overhead. The 30-unit Golden Reef complex has its own infinity edge pool located directly below our balcony. A five-minute walk brings you to Playa Blanca, a beautiful, white sand beach perfect for swimming, sunbathing, kayaking and watching the sunset.

About Punta Leona: The Golden Reef condo is located within the Costa Rican resort of Punta Leona, a 75 minute drive from the International Airport in San Jose. Punta Leona is a private 750 acre reserve with abundant wildlife. Punta Leona provides excellent security, as well as many amenities including several restaurants, a convenience store, spa, several beaches, two community pools, tennis courts, mini-golf, a zip-line canopy tour, hiking trails, kayak rentals and a butterfly farm.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Guy and Karen (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german, spanish, italian

Reviews

4.9
based on 52 traveler reviews

Spacious new three-bedroom condo, gorgeous Pacific views, pool, white sand beach
average rating of 4.923077 based on 52 reviews
San Diego
5

Nice Condo with amazing views.

  • 5 of 5

Very nice and clean condo. Well equipped with towels, blankets, movies, books, games etc.

Internet was intermittent, so using whatsapp was a problem (mostly out in the morning), asked condo office downstairs they said it was the entire building out, so not owners fault.

Getting to condo from main road (hwy 34) takes about 15 mins but we'll paved road.

Beach was only 3 min walk.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

Excellent experience. We enjoyed our stay (4 adults). Overall the property was great and exceeded our expectations. Would like to return in the future.

Great for a family vacation and would highly recommend!! Owner provided good customer service. Onsite Johan was available to provide assistance. However, I speak Spanish and was able to communicate as needed.

Looking forward to a future stay, in which I would bring other members of my family.

Ed L.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful property. Awesome views of Playa Blanca.

  • 4 of 5

It's a beautiful property. The condo is well appointed and clean. There are a couple of things to be aware of before renting anywhere in Golden Reef Condominium property: 1) It is a gated community. That means you are not allowed more than six people and NO additional guests even just to share a meal. Regardless of whether friends or family are staying within the resort they will not be allowed into the condo property. You will need to meet somewhere else; and 2) The unit across the hall is owned by the building owner. Expect that if their son stays there you will have to deal with the loud music until 10pm. Security apparently can't do anything about it prior to 10pm. Know the policies of any vacation rental before you make a reservation to minimize unpleasant surprises.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Cristian and Sheri . Thanks for the kind words and I do apologies for not making the policy on visitors more clear. The property is advertised as being located within a gated community and reservations are limited to 6 adults plus 2 children under the ages of 10-12. I am required to register all entering the resort and the condo , this is extremely important. If you are either a frequent visitor or a new traveler to Costa Rica , staying at a place where strangers are freely entering the grounds or building should be avoided , it can be very dangerous. The Punta Leona resort and the Golden Reef property are very secure , the condo is safe and the resort grounds and beach are secure and totally restricted to members and their guest. The Golden Reef Condo complex is great for families with small children or teenage children, or elderly individuals. It is HC accessible . Additionally , family gatherings are very welcome , just last week I got together with two other owners and we were able to accommodate 18 people within 3 units for a wedding party . If you read my reviews many people will describe how peaceful this place is but on occasion things can get lively , but it is rare that anyone’s tranquility is disturbed. Now if you tire of hanging around the pool , just walk or take a golf cart ride down to Playa Blanca located just 150 yards away. This pristine white sand beach is like no other on the Central Pacific Coast, better then Manuel Antonio’s State Park beach. Since it is restricted to members and guest it is one of the cleanest in all Costa Rica. Google , (Punta Leona, Blue Flag award). This is not a small Playa . It’s a long half-moon shaped beach surrounded by rainforest and Palm trees . You can swim , snorkel and even surf . You will find a Life guards station , equipment rentals and a great beach front restaurant, just steps away. At certain times of the year the monkeys are out and there are always scarlet Macaws flying from tree to tree right on the beach. Anyone considering traveling to Costa Rica will discover that the Golden Reef within the Punta Leona Resort offers you access to an abundance of activities in and around the surrounding areas. Just contact me , I ‘ve been coming here with my family for 8 years . I can steer you in the right direction , from rental Cars to Transport, from restaurants to grocery stores , from waterfalls to zip lines and from wedding parties to FAMILY gatherings.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent experience!!!

  • 5 of 5

Love this place, this is our second time here and could come back every year!

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Un Condominio con todas las comodidades y con excelente acceso para personas con discapacidad.

  • 5 of 5

Unas excelentes vacaciones, nos sentimos como en casa. Pasamos un exquisito tiempo en familia. En un lugar, tranquilo, seguro, limpio, acogedor, bien equipado, cocina en excelente estado dormitorios muy confortables. Y el personal que está a cargo de la administración muy amable, colaborador y respetuoso.

Muy recomendado para pasar momentos en familia agradables.

Fue una excelente estancia, un tiempo rico que pasamos mi familia y yo. Un lugar que recomendamos 100%.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Awesome!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful experience in Punta Leona, Costa Rica. Guy was informative from the very start and alway quick to respond to emails. When we arrived, the condo was just as we had hoped. Very clean, had all the necessary amenities and an amazing view. The reception desk was accomodating and helpful in both finding and booking our excursions. We did not have a car and I would suggest either renting a car or renting the gulf carts that are available at the resort. We used the golf carts and were able to travel all over the resort with ease. If needed, we just booked a taxi for any trips outside the resort.

We had a great time and will definitely be back. Not only to the resort but hopefully even to Guy's condo!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Beach
150 Metres
Playa Blanca
Car: recommended

Within close proximity of Punta Leona are The Carara National Park (a transitional forest between the dry tropical forests of the northwest and the wet rainforests of the south), the Tarcoles River (where crocodiles bask on its banks), and Playa Jaco and Playa Hermosa (world-renowned surfing beaches). The town of Jaco has many restaurants and shops. The beautiful Manual Antonio National Park is a 60 minute drive to the south. Day trips can be arranged at the Punta Leona reception area for horse-back riding, a jungle river cruise, white water rafting, sailing and fishing expeditions, and an excursion to Arenal Volcano.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Puntarenas Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
The Best Season
Mar 28 2016 - Oct 2 2016
2 night minimum stay
$235
From
$250
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,550
 
 
Green & Tranquilo
Oct 3 2016 - Dec 11 2016
2 night minimum stay
$225
$1,400
 
 
Christmas
Dec 12 2016 - Jan 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$300
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,900
 
 
High season '17
Jan 2 2017 - Apr 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$285
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,750
 
 
Easter
Apr 10 2017 - Apr 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
From
$300
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,900
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
 

Additional information about rental rates

accepts Paypal / Note: No Sunday check-in , Monday through Saturdays only

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Puntarenas Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 Twin - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 Queen - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Patio
  • Tennis ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • forests
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers