check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner Tom & Gail Rutherford

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Quiet, comfortable, well equipped chalet in the midst of nature

47 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Wardensville Chalet Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, well equipped kitchen, outdoor decks, sleeps 6

The Hillside Chalet is a 1,000 sq. ft. building, and is perched on a private 5.5 acre wooded parcel. The location is well off the beaten path. Wildlife frequently seen include deer and an occasional black bear. The chalet has 3 bedrooms, 2 with queen size beds (Master & Loft) & 1 downstairs with 2 twin beds. It has 1 full bath downstairs and 1 full bath in loft. Central air-conditioning & heating and a gas stove are provided for your comfort. The chalet offers a full laundry for your convenience, a well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, local telephone service, high speed Internet, (WIFI), TV & DVD. The Chalet has 2 decks partially screened and 1 off the loft. Outside amenities include small hot tub, charcoal grill (charcoal & lighter not provided) and fire pit. Surrounding areas, including the George Washington National Forrest & the Lost River State Park, provide exceptional opportunities for hiking, biking, canoeing, hunting, fishing.

Fishing on Warden Lake: Trout Stocking Schedule (West Virginia Dept of Natural Resources) Stocked in early March.

February: One Stocking

March-May: One stocking every two weeks

Other fish in lake: largemouth bass, bluegill, channel catfish, northern pike, others

Boating: Electric Motors only

More details at www.wvdnr.gov/fishing/public_access.asp?county=Hardy&point=I114&type=Lakes

visit WVDNR website (www.wvdnr.gov) for more information and Online fishing licenses

FREE ONE WEEK STAY FOR STATE RECORD CATCHES

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
Owner Tom & Gail Rutherford (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Gail and Tom

Just wanted to let you know what a beautiful vacation home you have. We had a great time. You have everything there that anyone could want. Debbie was great. We couldn't get the TV to work and she was right there to help us. Beautiful country. Thank you very much. Janet and Rich. And Daisy too!
Sep 2016
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

4.9
based on 47 traveler reviews

Quiet, comfortable, well equipped chalet in the midst of nature
average rating of 4.93617 based on 51 reviews
5

.

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time. Rental was very relaxing and cozy. The owners were very helpful in regard to my questions before arrival. Very scenic, laid back area in WV. Also had a great meal at the Lost River Brewery.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay at our chalet. We are happy to hear that. The Lost River Brewery is a pretty good place to eat and very easy to locate. Thank you for the nice review. Tom & Gail
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Peaceful location.

  • 4 of 5

Cabin was as expected from description. Everything was clean, wifi reception was spotty. This is a great place to relax. Restful location. Best if you are interested in hiking and outdoor activities. Businesses in the area are on limited hours during the week at this season.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Usually the WIFI isn't too bad, don't know what to say on that one. It is a very restful place to relax. Sorry if you expected more than what we offer, we do our best to make it a great place to visit. Hopefully, this won't deter you from coming back. We would love to have you again. Tom & Gail
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place that feels like home!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a week with our 3 kids (22,19,17) and our dog. It was a great location to all the sites we wanted to visit (Luray Caverns, Seneca Rock, Blackwater Falls, Skyline Drive and Harper's Ferry). The cabin was a perfect size for our clan- not too small and not too big. Tom and Gail clearly thought out all the little things that make a cabin a home. I loved the thorough directions to the property as well as the detailed document upon arrival about setting up and closing down. In addition, we had a bottle of wine to welcome us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely rent again from Tom and Gail!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, that is very nice to hear. Thanks again, Tom & Gail
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?
5

Wonderful place for the family

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at the chalet with our four children and two dogs. The chalet was clean and comfortable. The kitchen was well appointed containing a large variety of pots and pans and even a crockpot. The neighborhood was fairly quiet and peaceful. Our children enjoyed the collection of games and puzzles in the chalet and there were quite a few good titles for easy vacation reading in the small library. The chalet was close to the hiking that we did in the George Washington National Forest, we especially enjoyed our Big Schloss Hike and Long Mountain. A word of warning about Wardensville: most of the shops are only open on the weekends, including the Farmer's Market.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, we are glad you had a nice time. We try to have a little of this and that in the chalet with the puzzles, books and a couple of games for the kids. Wardensville is definitely a one of a kind little town. We never are sure when the stores even restaurants are open. You more or less have to play it by ear. But, we are glad you enjoyed the chalet and hope to hear from you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Virginia
5

Great place to relax and unwind

  • 5 of 5

Hillside Chalet is a great home base to explore the area. The chalet itself was just perfect, clean and comfortable. We especially appreciated have cabinet space to put our groceries! We had everything we needed for home cooked meals and the screened in porch was wonderful during the summer rains. We explored Seneca rocks, Lost river state park, Romney, Blackwater falls state Park and great antique shops. Tom and Gail are very professional and great to work with!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! Thank you, that was very nice of you to say that. We have been to all those places and more. They are very interesting sites to see and to hike. Thank you again, we hope to hear from you again. Tom & Gail
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely cabin in a lovely setting

  • 5 of 5

This is such a wonderful spot to spend some time in nature. The cabin is cozy, comfortable, and well appointed, nestled on a hillside, with a fantastic screened in porch - a great spot to listen to the rain with a glass of wine. The hot tub was a great touch for the cooler mornings and evenings (and it's cozy for 2 people). Really great, and Tom was fantastic to work with leading up to, during and after. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. As always we are happy to hear we have pleased another guest. Thank you again, and we hope you will return. Tom & Gail
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

The chalet is located in scenic southern Hardy County, WV, near the George Washington National Forest and the Lost River State Park. A short walk takes you to the Warden Lake Nature Preserve and the beautiful 44 acre lake. It's an ideal area to enjoy hiking, biking, hunting, canoeing, fishing, skiing or just relaxing amidst nature's beauty. The proximity of the cities of Baltimore, Washington and Richmond (around a 3 hour drive) makes this location an ideal weekend retreat!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Wardensville Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$135
From
$165
Fri,Sat,Sun
$700
$2,160
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 6.0%
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Wardensville Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom 1 is located downstairs and bathroom 2 is located in loft area.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Bedrooms 1 & 2 are located downstairs, bdrm 3 is upstairs.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...
  • smoking allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • library
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • swimming
Notes:
Internet service is high-speed DSL. Outdoor furniture in screened-in porch area includes small dining table with 4 chairs and a small end table with 2 chairs.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers