check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Tina

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Campfire Lodge- Privacy Pigeon Forge Attractions and Park

22 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Townsend Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Secluded cabin yet near everything! Cabin situated on 5 acres on Little Roundtop Way. 10 to 30 minutes to Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg, Sevierville, DollyWood, and Townsend entry to Great Smoky Mountains National Park and Cades Cove. Cabin was listed past several years on luxury cabin site by rental company. Rented very well but was poorly treated by some guests. This is our home away from home we simply ask you treat it with respect.

Real log cabin; no fake logs here! If you choose to hang out for a day plenty of room to roam with short walking trails. Large kitchen, dining area and laundry room make it easy to 'stay home'. Can stock up on supplies in Wears Valley or Townsend 5 to 8 minutes away or travel 15-20 minutes to more elaborate shopping in Pigeon Forge.

If you like a 'busy' vacation every day filled with different attractions or if you prefer to 'chill out' and relax in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains this is your place.

2 bedrooms on main floor; 3rd bedroom in loft area with lots of space and it's own bathroom and a 4th bedroom downstairs off the game room. Satellite TV on main floor in great room and one bedroom and in downstairs game room and loft bedroom. Hot tub on gorgeous deck off main floor.

Rent 6 nights get 7th night free!!!

**Update Fall 2014 - new downstairs outside access doors. New seating for firepit. (And cabin is now completely batproof!)

Keywords: Wears Valley Cabin on 5 private acres, less than 10 minutes from Smoky Mountain National Park Townsend entry to Cades Cove; 20 minutes to Pigeon Forge, 25 minutes Gatlinburg, 25 minutes to Sevierville; within 30 minutes of most major attractions in Great Smoky Mountains! Cabin is 3,000 square feet no cramped accomodations!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Tina (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

About Tina

My wife and I are small business owners. We are involved in a financial planning business, rental property and even a sewing/monogramming business. We are both CPA's and I also am a CFP. We have four children ages 7 to 15. Life revolves around family for us. Our children are home schooled, we enjoy outdoor activities, sports and are active in our church. Primary hobbies are hunting, fishing, sewing and watching football.

Tina purchased this cabin in 2008

Why Tina chose Tennessee

Our family has vacationed in this area for over 20 years and extensively for the past 5 years. Our children love the area and the attractions. We frequent Cades Cove, DollyWood, Sevierville Knife Works, just to mention a few. However, we also enjoy the privacy and seclusion of the property. We love staying 'at home' playing ping pong, pool and just enjoying outdoors in this beautiful area. My wife and I began visiting in the Wears Valley region in the early 80's and discussed buying property for years. We finally took the plunge in 2008 and purchased our own property after years of renting other cabins. We vacation at least one full week here every year.

What makes this cabin unique

Location is a major benefit. You can reach most major attractions in the Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg, Sevierville, Wears Valley area in less than 30 minutes depending on traffic. You are close enough to be convenient but also enjoy privacy from traffic and other distractions. We love to visit in the 'off season' between November and January. The whole area is decorated for Christmas. There are fewer people, great shopping, and attractions are not as crowded. An added bonus is occassional snow makes the entire area look like a giant postcard. We are from further south so this is a real treat. However, summer is also great with many water park attractions. Sevierville has an indoor water park so you can have fun in the water with snow on the ground outside. This cabin is large. Often living areas are small even though a cabin may sleep 8 to 10. Our cabin has larger bedrooms and living areas and is about 3,000 square feet versus 1,300 to 1,500 square feet often found in other cabins that sleep 8 to 10 people.

Reviews

4.5
based on 22 traveler reviews

Campfire Lodge- Privacy Pigeon Forge Attractions and Park
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 22 reviews
5

Great home; Great location; Responsive owners

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed staying at Campfire Lodge this summer. Four generations, age 6 months to 83 yrs use this home in the Smokies for a family reunion. Lots of space, indoors and out.The beds are very comfortable. Location is very convenient to both the National Park and other attractions. At one point the air conditioning started having issues, and within a couple hours, repair men were there to fix it! Based on previous reviews, owners have been very quick to respond to other concerns as well.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice private cabin near the Smoky Mountains

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at Campfire Lodge. It is in a good location - in between the attractions at Pigeon Forge and the Smoky Mountains parks and hiking. It is very private and has paved roads leading up to it (although they are extremely narrow). It has a nice yard with a campfire pit and seating. We even saw a black bear walking around the yard the last day we were there, which was exciting. The hot tub is nice and the deck is very large. Inside there is plenty of room for dining and cooking. It could use some TLC - wall paper is peeling off of many walls, the main shower door doesn't close, and the pool table and ping pong table were both in pretty bad shape. The pest control comes once a month (we saw the receipts), but we still got some bad spider bites at night, which is par for the course when you are so close to the woods. Overall we had a good stay and would recommend this cabin to families or anyone else looking for a peaceful get away.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Propert is great and very quiet

  • 5 of 5

I loved the cabin and its amenities. The owners are very courteous and very nice to work with if a problem shall arise. Very clean and comfortable. Thank you for your generosity and opening up your cabin for our stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Property has awesome architecture design in a beautiful setting, but interior can be improved.

  • 3 of 5

The home is well designed and in a beautiful setting, has a very beautiful deck and outdoor fire pit. Very roomy with many entertainment equipment like table tennis and pool table, but interior is outdated. Linen and towels are old. Clean bath towel is placed under the sink along with toilet bush. Lot of pots and pans, but most of them are in a bad shape.

This property is well suited for a large family re-union with lots of young kids.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Points well noted. Ordered all new sheets and towels and new pots and pans. Also ordered a slow cooker. Asked Amy to keep toilet brush away from towels. We are doing some painting and updating on the cabin.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

We all had a wonderful stay. The cabin is easy to get to and the roads are very good. The privacy and location are great. Views of the mountain are good. Owners are very nice and accommodating. We will try and book this cabin again.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Family Retreat

  • 4 of 5

We have rented several vrbo cabins in Gatlinburg. Every few years, we try to have a family get away, so we need a cabin that is comfortable for 6-8 adults. This cabin met the criteria and was affordable. So, here's my review and hope it helps someone.

Good - The cabin is secluded and no neighbors too close by but yet close enough to the local attractions. As stated, we had a comfortable stay. The beds were comfortable. There are two bedrooms on the main floor with one large bathroom, a loft master bedroom and small bathroom, and the basement has a bedroom but NO bathroom. The diningroom was very large, and the kitchen had plenty of dishes. The view of the mountains is minimal but still nice. And we saw a bear in the yard really close to the cabin! That was awesome! The hot tub was my personal favorite and the deck was our usual gathering spot. This cabin allowed us to relax.

Bad - As usual, every place we stay has some problems and this cabin did need improvements. It definitely needs some maintenance. The refrigerator kept leaking a huge puddle of water until we turned off the ice maker. The loft bathroom has a bad drip and peeling wallpaper. The pots and pans were rusted, so we were only able to use one that we felt was safe. One of our family members has limited mobility so we look for handicap access cabins. Please be aware that the path leading into the cabin was much steeper than we thought per the pictures online. Once inside, the rooms and bathroom on the main floor are appropriate for handicapped persons. Parking is certainly limited to 3 cars max. Luckily we had 3 small cars. Internet is spotty and slow but that has been our experience with Hughs net and mountains. Seating in the livingroom was one couch and two chairs so for our group we felt pretty limited on comfy seating to sit and watch a movie or even talk. We left the kitchen and diningroom much cleaner than we found it. The cleaning crew did not do a good job before we arrived. The stove was covered in grease. But my real complaint is in trying to get our deposit back. It took several phone calls and finally getting very stern with the owner of this cabin. Apparently, they "forgot" to return our $350 deposit and had several other reasons for not getting in touch with us. But our deposit was returned and the owner did follow up with me to make sure we did receive it.

All in all, I did like this cabin. Would I rent again? No.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. The pots and pans have been replaced. The wallpaper removed and walls painted in many of the rooms. Drip fixed both on refrigerator and faucet. I apologize for the delay in returning the deposit.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Townsend Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall
Aug 15 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$150
$900
 
 
October
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
5 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2016 - Nov 21 2016
3 night minimum stay
$150
$900
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2016 - Nov 26 2016
5 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Winter 2
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 18 2016
3 night minimum stay
$150
$900
 
 
Pre-Christmas
Dec 19 2016 - Dec 21 2016
3 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 27 2016
5 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Post Christmas
Dec 28 2016 - Dec 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
New Years
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95
Refundable damage deposit $350
Tax Rate 12.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Townsend Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
Notes:
Short walking trails on five acre lot. Hot tub on deck.

Partner Offers