Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Campfire Lodge- Privacy Pigeon Forge Attractions and Park

Bedrooms 4
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights


About the property

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

NOTE: Campfire Lodge is several miles from the areas scorched by recent wildfires. Also, 7th night is always free. If the system does not give you that discount please let me know and I will adjust the billing.

Secluded cabin yet near everything! Cabin situated on 5 acres on Little Roundtop Way. 10 to 30 minutes to Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg, Sevierville, DollyWood, and Townsend entry to Great Smoky Mountains National Park and Cades Cove. Cabin was listed past several years on luxury cabin site by rental company. Rented very well but was poorly treated by some guests. This is our home away from home we simply ask you treat it with respect.

Real log cabin; no fake logs here! If you choose to hang out for a day plenty of room to roam with short walking trails. Large kitchen, dining area and laundry room make it easy to 'stay home'. Can stock up on supplies in Wears Valley or Townsend 5 to 8 minutes away or travel 15-20 minutes to more elaborate shopping in Pigeon Forge.

If you like a 'busy' vacation every day filled with different attractions or if you prefer to 'chill out' and relax in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains this is your place.

2 bedrooms on main floor; 3rd bedroom in loft area with lots of space and it's own bathroom and a 4th bedroom downstairs off the game room. Satellite TV on main floor in great room and one bedroom and in downstairs game room and loft bedroom. Hot tub on gorgeous deck off main floor.

Rent 6 nights get 7th night free!!!

**Update Fall 2014 - new downstairs outside access doors. New seating for firepit. (And cabin is now completely batproof!)

Keywords: Wears Valley Cabin on 5 private acres, less than 10 minutes from Smoky Mountain National Park Townsend entry to Cades Cove; 20 minutes to Pigeon Forge, 25 minutes Gatlinburg, 25 minutes to Sevierville; within 30 minutes of most major attractions in Great Smoky Mountains! Cabin is 3,000 square feet no cramped accomodations!

More Details

Member since: 2011
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 19, 2018

About Tina

My wife and I are small business owners. We are involved in a financial planning business, rental property and even a sewing/monogramming business. We are both CPA's and I also am a CFP. We have four children ages 7 to 15. Life revolves around family for us. Our children are home schooled, we enjoy outdoor activities, sports and are active in our church. Primary hobbies are hunting, fishing, sewing and watching football.

Tina purchased this cabin in 2008

Why Tina chose Townsend

Our family has vacationed in this area for over 20 years and extensively for the past 5 years. Our children love the area and the attractions. We frequent Cades Cove, DollyWood, Sevierville Knife Works, just to mention a few. However, we also enjoy the privacy and seclusion of the property. We love staying 'at home' playing ping pong, pool and just enjoying outdoors in this beautiful area. My wife and I began visiting in the Wears Valley region in the early 80's and discussed buying property for years. We finally took the plunge in 2008 and purchased our own property after years of renting other cabins. We vacation at least one full week here every year.

What makes this cabin unique

Location is a major benefit. You can reach most major attractions in the Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg, Sevierville, Wears Valley area in less than 30 minutes depending on traffic. You are close enough to be convenient but also enjoy privacy from traffic and other distractions. We love to visit in the 'off season' between November and January. The whole area is decorated for Christmas. There are fewer people, great shopping, and attractions are not as crowded. An added bonus is occassional snow makes the entire area look like a giant postcard. We are from further south so this is a real treat. However, summer is also great with many water park attractions. Sevierville has an indoor water park so you can have fun in the water with snow on the ground outside. This cabin is large. Often living areas are small even though a cabin may sleep 8 to 10. Our cabin has larger bedrooms and living areas and is about 3,000 square feet versus 1,300 to 1,500 square feet often found in other cabins that sleep 8 to 10 people.


Townsend Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2)
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
Short walking trails on five acre lot. Hot tub on deck.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
30% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Campfire Lodge- Privacy Pigeon Forge Attractions and Park
average rating of 4.404762 based on 42 reviews

Very spacious and beautiful

  • 5 of 5

We had 8 family members in our group consisting of 4 couples. Plenty of room and beautiful views. We had a great time

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Get Away

  • 4 of 5

We had a great stay. Nice and quite. Nice view.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Stacy MN

This place would be a 5 star with a little TLC

  • 3 of 5

This place would be a 5 star with a little TLC. There were a number of relatively minor issues that I believe fall on the management company more than the owner.

Upon arrival only a partial roll of TP in one bathroom, none in the other bathroom. Small remainder of a paper towel roll on arrival. Website says both are provided, we would have brought our own if it was not provided.

Not vacuumed, many dead bugs. Tina said she sprayed for bugs aprox 10 days before, it was obvious nobody vacuumed along the baseboards or behind furniture after it was sprayed. Carpet in the loft & bedroom needs a serious cleaning. No detergent/tablets for dishwasher. Kitchen sprayer was stuck on, we replaced that or no sprayer for the week.

At least 3 (possibly more) light bulbs that need to be replaced. Upstairs sink & shower drains very slow, neither probably have been cleaned in a long while.

Shower on main level needs a serious cleaning including grout lines and the shower door drops into the track when closed and is difficult to get back open. A little soft scrub goes a long way….

Windows also showed some areas that were lacking attention without having to do an entire spring cleaning scrub down this could be remedied.

Dresser drawer downstairs was wedged in so tight I did not know if I would get it out but after working with it for a while I was able to remove it without damage. Probably kids from a previous stay hanging on the drawer and bending the track.

Outside, the wood rail fence could use some attention, hot tub was probably ok but none of the wives would go into it since it seemed a little stale and looking around the rest of the place they simply did not feel comfortable climbing in.

Two weeks after our stay I still had not received a refund of the damage deposit so I contacted the owner and then she promptly returned it the next day.

We are a group of bikers so we are looking for far less than perfection but these are all items that should be relatively easy to remedy. With a little TLC this place would be fabulous!"

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. What we don't know we can't fix. The paper and cleaning supplies are provided. We order supplies to have on hand and the cleaning service did not tell me supplies were low in time. My apologies that this happened right with your stay. This and the other cleaning issues were reviewed with her after your stay. The hot tub is emptied, cleaned and refilled after every stay. However, we are on well water with high iron content and have to constantly battle cloudy water even when freshly filled due to the minerals in the water. The drawer has been repaired and other small repairs were made after your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
SW Louisiana

Great size cabin - good location - but house improvements needed

  • 3 of 5

The cabin had a good amount of square footage. Location of house is great - just 15 min into the NP (Metcalf Bottoms), and just 30 min to Cades Cove). Fridge made lots of ice, WiFi worked (Satellite - not super fast, but worked the whole time), the laundry room is large, bedroom furniture looks great - nice cedar beds, dressers, bedside tables etc. Couches a little dated, but in reasonable condition. Kitchen/living room tables etc. very nice. Deposit came back in timely manner. Cost ok for what you get.

Overall, the house needs quite a bit of attention! Previous comments are pretty much accurate - hot tub stinky/slimy, fire pit seating needs work, fencing around back yard broken (Not like picture), the main level shower door needs to be lifted when closed otherwise water puddles on the floor. The cleaning service needs to be fired and a new housekeeper brought in - there is excessive dust on the beams, fans and other surfaces. The cobwebs on the windows throughout are many, and from/between the rungs of the deck rails. Also, lots of bird or bat feces on the window sills on the deck. Both feces and cobwebs need to be addressed once and for all - seeing several comments about it from other customers - so this should be dealt with permanently. I texted Tina about it, but nothing done during our stay. The house decor is generally dated or in some state of disrepair - several lamps needed new bulbs - none found to replace - again cleaning services should be making sure this is done between renters. Kitchen appliances functional, but somewhat outdated (Dishwasher extremely noisy for example - had to turn TV volume all the way up to compensate). Downstairs lamp still has cellophane wrapper on it. No dustpan/brush - texted Tina, but no response. DVD player had NO remote, and other remotes missing batteries - didn't tell Tina, but housekeeping should be checking this. Thermostat set to 80 upon arrival - should be kept at lower temp when new renter coming in same day. Took all night to get to 75. Laundry room closet housing AC unit was flooded from AC overflow, causing LOTS of mold in closet - house smelled 'catty'. Texted Tina - was told repair would be done. It dried out eventually, but no repair man, and mold problem wasn't dealt with. Table Tennis room door glass all 'crazed' from mower throwing rock before our arrival. Tina told us repair man would come but never did.

There's great potential for this home, but root issues need to be addressed!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, right before your visit it was discovered the a/c unit had overflowed and flooded a utility closet downstairs. We repaired the a/c and removed the water. I think that was the smell and we are finishing the cleanup from that. We are replacing the remotes, lightbulbs have been replaced. Busted window had to be custom ordered - twice so could not be replaced during your stay. Thank you for calling our attention to these items.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Ecplise

  • 4 of 5

My family and I had a great time at the cabin. My grandson loved the pool table. We had a great view of the total Ecplise. I wish we could have stayed longer but the grandkids had to get back home for school.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great cabin. Spacious. Our family could spread out. The porch was a favorite hang out place.

  • 5 of 5

This was a great vacation. Plenty of room for our big family. Games downstairs, hammocking on the back porch, reading in and outside, traveling to the towns and the park. We enjoyed it all. The owners were so helpful and made the whole process easy. So thankful we found this cabin!!

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $165
Damage Deposit $350

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.