Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

4 Star Modern Lakefront Cottage 1 hour from Halifax

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 9

There is nothing quite like Mill Lake Getaway! Relax and enjoy the beauty and charm of life in the country. You are just over an hour’s drive from Halifax for day trips but far enough away to enjoy the serenity of the lake! With Mill Lake at your doorstep, you are sure to enjoy yourself!

The cottage is perfect for two families, accommodating up to 9 people with 4 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms and a living room both upstairs and down.. Enjoy special touches, like the master bedroom Jacuzzi and a convenient washer and dryer. Outside there is an oversized deck where you can grill on the BBQ or sit and enjoy your morning coffee watching fish jump in the lake. You are sure to enjoy our fire pit area just inches away from the water.

**Please visit our Mill Lake Getaway website for additional information and availability**

More Details

Owner
Rebecca Bezanson
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 29, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just wanted to say thank you so much for a great 3 days. What a beautiful place you have. I did not want to leave and I will want to rent it again. I was just blown away. There wasn't one thing I was disappointed about. I've stayed in many cottages and your lake house is on a whole different level, Everything was amazing! Thanks again for renting it to me. Take care
Jul 2011
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Upper Musquodoboit House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 9
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Binoculars
  • Canoe
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

4 Star Modern Lakefront Cottage 1 hour from Halifax
average rating of 4.6 based on 18 reviews
5

Perfect Group or Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Our stay here was perfect, it was more than I expected. There was more than enough towels, facecloths, pillows, blankets, dishes, and so on. It's very open, with lots of space. We will definitely be renting again in the future. Thanks for such a great stay!

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

cozy,a lot of space, friendly owner

  • 5 of 5

The place is by the lake, and it is a community there. You can see a lot of house near by. It's took me a while to figure out the entries, the houses keeper helped us. Over all, this is a good place for your short period get away.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful family retreat!

  • 4 of 5

Our family's third Thanksgiving retreat at MLG was amazing. The fall colors were at their peak. Sunrises on the lake off the deck and moonlit stargazing on the wharf. A true getaway in comfort!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Decent but not what we expected from reading reviews here

  • 2 of 5

The location, by the water was perfect for us. We enjoyed the lake a lot. After reading the reviews we were very excited to stay at this cottage. While there are no major complaints, it was not as nice as we were expecting. We've rented cottages in Nova Scotia before that were much more maintained and yet cost significantly less.

Some things we were not impressed by:

Swing set broke during use - it was apparent that it was not the first time it broke yet was not repaired properly or replaced.

Dirty knives in kitchen

Dirty high chair

Garbage not emptied

Dirty kettle - calcium build up?

Lots of Cigarette butts on deck

Broken towel rack in bathroom

Cheerios on floor

No phone card on fridge as indicated

Musty - humidifier off and full

Broken glass table on deck

Broken patio chairs

Deck lights burnt out

The Lawn was cut at 9:30am and almost woke my baby - maintenance shouldn't be happening when guests are paying for the property

The photos shown on this website are not recent.

Excessive personal items - the house is very cluttered.

The fridge & freezer had food in them. Leaving no room for the food we brought for the week.

I was told there was a Kurig Coffee machine - there is not. There is a Tassimo. We had brought Kurig pods so this was disappointing.

We would not recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry our home didn't live up to your expectations. We truly try to offer a great accommodation. I would have been happy to try to revolve any issues, had you contacted me at any point during your stay. Alot of these issues I was not a wear of. The coffee pods is my mistake. The updated photos are on Facebook and as there are improvements ie new kitchen I didn't feel I needed to urgently update the website. I'm unaware of the "personal items" you are talking about however it is our personal vacation home. The maintenance gets done at various times as we are fully booked almost everyday from late May till the end of November. There is no phone card as the phone is now free for Canada and the US. I will update my info on the book, but if you had of mentioned I would have easily informed you. Again I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Thank you for the information so we can improve for next time.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Addison, Ontario
5

Mill lake

  • 5 of 5

The place was very clean and nice. Everyone had a great time.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place to stay!

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our week at the lake. The place was very clean and comfortable for our group. Swimming was excellent as the lake is clean and pretty quiet. The fire pit area was perfect and we enjoyed a couple nights there. The deck is a great size with a nice large table and plenty of chairs. The BBQ could be replaced but with a little bit of a tune up it worked great. Wish there was a second full sized fridge or an apartment sized freezer as food storage for a week was a bit tough at the start. We also play a lot of games so the large dinner table was great just wish it had the full 8 chairs to go with it. Overall I believe we will be back next year when we an all decide on a date.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Upper Musquodoboit House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 23 2017 - Jul 16 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,235
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jul 17 2017 - Jul 21 2017
4 night minimum stay
$176
$1,235
 
 
Summer
Jul 22 2017 - Sep 8 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,235
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$150
$748
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $37
Refundable damage deposit $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Halifax Stanfield International Airport
Nearest Ferry
55 Miles
Prince Edward Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
27 Miles
Brookfield Golf Course
Nearest Train
35 Miles
Truro
Nearest Motorway
26 Miles
Brookfield
Nearest Restaurant
23 Miles
Henley House Pub and Restaurant
Nearest Ski
66 Miles
Ski Wentworth
Nearest Beach
29 Miles
Dollar Lake Provincial Park

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties