check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

MaryKaye Small

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Close to Main Street, beach and shopping.

12 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Lake Placid Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Home, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This 3 bedroom home on Hillcrest is 1 block off Main Street. 1 bedroom (Queen Bed) down stairs, 2nd bedroom (Queen Bed) and 3rd bedroom (2 twins) upstairs. 1 bathroom main floor, 2nd bathroom upstairs. Kitchen has stove, fridge, microwave, dishes, pots and pans, all linens supplied. New washer and dryer. Living Room has large flat screen TV.

Walking distance to shopping and many great restaurants. Mirror Lake only 1 block away. Canoe and fisherman dream area.

Great Location for Ironman families and for training weekends. Only 2 blocks from the interchange area.

Perfect for Skaters/Hockey camps. Only 2 blocks from the Olympic Center.

Olympic Ice Skating center is 2 blocks away. Whiteface Ski and Snowboard Mountain only 9 miles. Olympic Ski Jump and Bobsled/Luge area are 5 miles away.

Keywords: Cottage, Home, House, Close to Main Street, In Town,

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
MaryKaye Small (Property Manager)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

About MaryKaye Small

We have made Lake Placid our home since 1979. Raised 3 children and run a successful Main Street business. We are 46ers, (hike 46 peaks that are above 4600 ft) cross country ski, down hill ski, water ski and truly enjoy this beautiful area.

MaryKaye Small purchased this cottage in 2009

Why MaryKaye Small chose Lake Placid

We chose this property to purchase and rent out because we wanted others to be able to visit beautiful Lake Placid and have an affordable place in the center of town. A home is much quieter that a hotel/motel.

What makes this cottage unique

While staying here you can walk to Main Street, where all the gift shops and restaurants are. The Olympic Ice center has skating available to the public.

nature, sparkling clear lakes, high peak mountains, hemlock and pine forests as well resist the temptation to play a few outdoor sports.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Hello MaryKaye,

Thank you for our beautiful staying at Lake Placide.

I hope you found your beautiful house in a great shape. We had a great time and weather at Whieface! Mountain!!!!

Your accommodation met all our expectations, thank you!!!

If you have any questions regarding our staying, do not hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 12

Reviews

4.7
based on 12 traveler reviews

Close to Main Street, beach and shopping.
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 24 reviews
5

Great House for Training Camp

  • 5 of 5

The Hillcrest Property was a wonderful home for us to do some Ironman Training. It was very close and convenient to everything in town as well as the lake for swimming. We enjoyed a great week of training with much convenience for all aspects. The location was great, clean and the detached garage made a great place for storing bikes and so forth. Washer and Dryer was a great asset as well.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The perfect rental!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I rented this house during the Lake Placid Half Marathon weekend and could not have chosen a more perfect house to rent. The location is just two blocks from the Main Street, steps from Starbucks, restaurants, shops and bars. The house itself was very comfortable for six adults and one dog. The kitchen was large enough and fully stocked, for us to cook a big pasta meal in the night before my run. MaryKaye was very accommodating and I have already recommended this house to friends. We will definitely stay here next time were visiting Lake Placid!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Lake Placid Hillcrest Ave was clean and close to all the best bars and restaurants! Would highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely visit!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful girl's weekend in Lake Placid! Hillcrest Ave. house clean and inviting. Plenty of room, very accessible to downtown shops and restaurants, great views all around!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Winston-Salem
4

Great location!

  • 4 of 5

It was a perfect weather week and my sisters and I got to spend alot of time catching up and exploring the area. It was convenient to many things. While the house was nice, there were some things that really needed maintenance that should have been fixed before guests stay again. I left a list when I left. The bedding/pillows were stained and the curtains very sheer for privacy. Faucet wobbly, toilet tank ran, shower was mildewy, light bulbs out and dresser drawers in upstairs queen room couldn't be used as the bottom was falling out of one and the drawer track was broken on another. Street gets much traffic from hotel at top of hill and cars go way to fast. Be careful when walking.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Just ok

  • 2 of 5

First time in Lake Placid and was looking forward to some great family time. We accomplished that. However, this location was only average. All the floors and doors squeaked, there were no blinds on any window. Curtains were shear. No instructions for remotes and if you do not watch over the dryer you can start a fire as it constantly ran and the clothes really heated up. Do not leave this unattended. No one emailed, call or even came by to see if we arrived and if there was any thing we needed. There were no blankets and the bedding covers were stained. Nor has anyone contacted us since we left. In addition no info about the town.

I have rented several properties over various states and if we return to Placid I will look for something else.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. Glad you were able to reconnect and have some family time. Sorry you did not find the white binder with local activities which was located on a shelf under the table in the sun room. Most use their phones to get last minute details. Sorry too that you did not find the blankets in the upstairs closet. Generally in the Summer they are not needed. Thanks for the dryer information, the vent was looked at and is working much better. Since this house has been occupied non stop since early June, sometimes we have to rely on our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Lake Placid
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Zig Zags
Nearest Ferry
45 Miles
Port Kent
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Lake Placid Club
Nearest Train
45 Miles
West Port
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Route 73
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Milano North
Nearest Ski
9 Miles
Whiteface Mountain
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Mirror Lake Beach
Car: recommended

Ice Skating, Hockey, Dogsled Rides, Bobsled, Luge, Ski Jumps, Ice Climbing, disk golf (summer), Mountain bike (summer), Free concerts in Mids Park (Tuesday nights-Summer),

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lake Placid Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Rugby
Jul 28 2016 - Jul 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$269
 
 
August
Aug 15 2016 - Aug 18 2016
3 night minimum stay
$289
 
 
august
Aug 28 2016 - Aug 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$269
 
 
September
Sep 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$189
From
$219
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
 
October
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$189
From
$219
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
November
Nov 1 2016 - Nov 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$179
From
$199
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
 
December
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$209
From
$289
Thu,Fri,Sun
 
 
2017 Ironman
Jul 18 2017 - Jul 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$199
From
$359
Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Cleaning fee $100

Ironman is a 7 night minimum stay. Dates are flexible. July 19,2016 to July 28, 2016 - You select the dates that work for you.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lake Placid Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Small Sun Room

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties