check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Carrie Conner

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Peaceful Retreat, Minutes to Downtown

29 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Garden Home Bungalow Rental Photos and Description

Farmhouse, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Feel like you're getting away to the country in this early 1900's-era farmhouse, just 10 minutes to downtown Portland, and 30 minutes to world-class Willamette Valley wineries.

Here, you'll enjoy solitude and room to breathe before heading out to explore the city. You'll be centrally located to make easy day trips to wine country. Sip your complimentary Peet's coffee on the porch swing overlooking the native Northwest front garden. Or stroll around the 3/4-acre, fenced, back yard teeming with birds, frogs, butterflies and sometimes deer.

Inside, you'll feel the warmth and charm maintained in this home, complete with a bay window and oversize original windows, arched doorways, fir floors and a wood-burning fireplace.

Retreat to the master suite, located away from the main living spaces. Here, floor-to-ceiling windows offer a private view to the back garden. The two other bedrooms, each with full-size beds, share a jack and jill bath.

From here, it's a short two-block walk to the grocery store, Starbucks, and neighborhood pub specializing in handcrafted microbrews. Check out the eclectic mix of independently-owned shops and restaurants in Multnomah Village, less than a mile away.

Freeway access is a breeze from this central location: I-5, Hwy 217 and Hwy 26. Close to the Oregon Zoo, OMSI, Lewis and Clark College, OHSU . . . and all that is funky Portland.

The house is on a bus line and bike lane. Downtown Portland is only a 20-minute bike ride away.

Keywords: Southwest Portland, Cottage, House, Bungalow, Farmhouse, Garden, Vacation House, Executive Housing, Portland Vacation House, Vacation Homes in Portland

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Carrie Conner (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

What makes this bungalow unique

This house is truly the best of both worlds. You'll enjoy the privacy, solitude and relaxation of being in the country . . . while all the city has to offer is only minutes away.

Reviews

4.8
based on 29 traveler reviews

Peaceful Retreat, Minutes to Downtown
average rating of 4.7586207 based on 29 reviews
san diego
5

The property was so quentistial Portland

  • 5 of 5

Carrie was very responsive with email. "The little red farmhouse" was just that. Not new and modern. Portland funk, cool and very clean. It was perfect for us. Great location. Grocery store 3 min drive. You could walk ti neighborhood pub. Yard was huge for our dog. We loved our stay. Enjoy

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Salisbury, NC
5

Great get-away near downtown

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed the Little Red Farmhouse. We weren't there very much, as there is so much to see and do in Portland, but it was wonderful to come back to after a busy day. The backyard is a great size, with beautiful flowers. Carrie had a vase of fresh cut flowers waiting for our arrival. One of the beds was very squeaky, and the pillows could have used more fluff, but overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt we picked a perfect place. The grocery was so close and a brewery was in walking distance. I would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming house and crown jewel is the garden

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay in Portland and loved the house and garden of this charming old house. The house had everything for our stay and the garden is the crown jewel. Our dog loved the yard as much as we did and he was very safe in the fenced in yard. So much nicer than a hotel. The house was centrally located to my daughters graduation at Lewis and Clark college and down town. We will definitely be staying again.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent .... Little bit of the old with a little bit on new

  • 5 of 5

Great spot for a family. Huge yard! great for kids,warm and cozy home. Close to all conviences. Easy access to fwy and cross town. Would we stay there again In a heart beat !!!

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Nice locale, but disappointed with the house and the amenities

  • 2 of 5

We came over the Holidays to celebrate New Year in a relaxing home near Portland with our 2 kids. Here were some of our concerns:

- The house is old and not well maintained. Doors were all tight and difficult to close/open. We were surprised that the master bedroom did not have a lock on the door for us to keep the kids out and give us any privacy.

- It was the winter with a lovely fireplace (albeit next to the dining room table), but no firewood. We were told, when asked, that there iss a stack of firewood outside and uncovered. With Portland's weather, the firewood was obviously all soaked and unusable. We had to buy firewood. Also, it snowed, and there was no shovel.

- Heat was set to 64 degrees and would automatically pop to that temperature at various times throughout the day and night. My wife and kids were usually cold.

- Showers are very small where it's impossible to pick up the soap, if you drop it, without knocking the door open. The toilet in the second bathroom is so tight against the wall that you can't fit your left leg on the left side of the toilet.

- The TV only had local stations although we were told there was cable. I had hoped to watch football games over the New Year's weekend. I emailed the day we got there about the cable TV (with other concerns) and got no response back on the cable. When we talked toward the end of the stay (because we needed a shovel for the snow in the driveway) and I brought up cable, I was told there's a local package. At that point, she called and got the standard minimum cable package for our last night (after all games and New Year's Eve was over). Never had seen cable before without CNN, ESPN and TBS.

- There was very little lighting from the driveway to the front door. With ice and snow on our trip, it became treacherous and dangerous with a number of us falling or running into things. When the light went out on the front porch, I was told I could change it. My wife didn't want me climbing on a ladder in the snow on a wet wood porch, and we thought that the owner should take care of this. It wasn't done during our stay.

I'd not rented on VRBO before, but was disappointed and my wife now doesn't want to risk it again. We were surprised how few amenities were considered or taken care of. Maybe this is the norm for VRBO, but was surprising to us. There wasn't even any kleenex in the house.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The Little Red Farmhouse is a bungalow-style home built in the early 1900's. We offer our guests everything we can think of to feel at home during their visit: towels, linens, a porch swing under the covered front porch, fully-stocked kitchen, condiments, spices, paper towels, napkins, shower soap, hand soap, laundry soap, coffee, tea, DVD player, board games, books, music, WIFI, basic cable TV, nearly an acre of fenced back yard, and an entire city filled with fun things to explore. For the comfort of our guests, we are continually making upgrades to the house as availability allows. Recently, we finished renovations on the master bedroom and second bathroom. Unfortunately, we had to be out of town for a portion of this guest's stay, and our handy man was away for the holiday as well. Normally, we would have immediately replaced the burned out porch light. We keep extra bulbs at the house and told the guest where he could find them, or that we would take care of it as soon as we returned. Also, we had a rare inch of snow that fell on the last day of his stay. As soon as the guest emailed his concerns about the snow, we called a neighbor who walked his snow shovel over for the guest to borrow. We understand there are some differences from hotel living if you're renting a vacation home for the first time. We have one home and we take pride in creating a fun and comfortable stay for our guests. Communicating with your host before arrival, especially if there's something you need during your stay, can help make sure everyone's expectations are met.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Another great stay

  • 5 of 5

This is our family's 2nd stay at the Farm House and we, again, enjoyed our stay. The house itself was clean with nice bedding and details (good knives!, for one). The backyard is very big so our boys really loved playing ball with ample space to throw. The grounds are also nicely attended which made the house very comfortable considering the heat that week. The location was perfect for us as we tended to do activities on the NW/SW side. It's also great to be walking distance to Fanno Creek for my morning runs.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

Wineries, golf, tennis, parks, skateboard park, Multnomah Village, Hillsdale & Beaverton Farmer's Markets.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Garden Home Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Season
Jun 1 2016 - Sep 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$200
$1,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$190
From
$200
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,330
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $50
Cleaning Fee $180

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Garden Home Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1850 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties