Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Romantic Modern Eco Cabin Near Heavenly

Bedrooms 1
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Den, 1 Bath, (2 adults) 2 small children OK

The BLUELEAF cabin is named after the handmade artisan tiles that decorate the kitchen area. Cook on the very cool induction cooktop: or start a stew in an original 50's CROCK-POT. Roast a herb chicken breast for two in the microwave/convection oven or make a panini or pancakes on the griddle. Sit by the wood fire in a sunken living room decorated with modern and mid-century furniture. Warm colors , lighting, plenty of indoor space for lounging or cuddling up to watch a Netflix movie, or listen to your favorite tunes over the BOSE sound system. Retire to a five star king size bed, with custom beddings, an electric fireplace will keep you toasty thru the coldest of winter nights. Enjoy a book and a bath by candlelight in your tile accented, pine wood wrapped bathroom. Plenty of room for two adults: a premium queen sleeper folds out in the sunken living room in addition to the king bedroom master suite.Up to two children under the ages of ten years old may stay free (non-holiday). There is one bathroom within the king suite. A door separates the sunken living room from the master bedroom. There is a private patio, gated grounds, and fully landscaped yard. Your very well behaved four legged may join you, but may not be left unattended in the cabin.

Blueleaf cabin sits next to Rainforest cabin: they are separated by a common wall and locked door.

If you wish absolute privacy and perfect silence during your stay, please do communicate this desire. Holidays book both cabins, and a shared festive atmosphere prevails.

Dogs are welcome, though we ask their humans to respect the right of the plants to survive...dogs are not allowed to run off leash in either of the gated yards. A giant dog park off-leash and thousands of hiking trails are abundant and all around the neighborhood.

Retire restfully and rise to grinding Sumatra and French Roast: happily supplied, along with lots of goodies, by your hosts. Short drives or walks to the best of South Lake Tahoe attractions and the finest restaurants.

Affordable luxury in a green, healthy house. Fairly priced for the incredible 600 square feet ! Why stay anywhere else ?

Keywords: COOL, luxurious, clean, modern, designer beddings and decor, burl wood kitchen counters with state of the art induction cooking equipment, and combi oven,fully fenced, gated,private,pet,friendly, 1 bedroom, KING,LARGE cedar, cabin, artistic,romantic,LED,LCD internet TV, streaming,bose, Blue Ray DVD, fireplace, mid-century,Heavenly,Tahoe

More Details

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 21, 2017

About Sande

Owner lives in Bolinas, CA: an ECO conscious nature loving community north of San Francisco. Owner is a former Executive Chef with expertise and interest in Active Aging and Senior Fitness. The owner designed the renovation of this mid-60's Gamble House to incorporate the principles of green renovation; introduce sustainable energy systems; utilize renewable, and fair-trade products, and to incorporate handmade artisan tiles, and lighting fixtures from some of her favorite artisans.

The owner's goal was also to create an accessible, affordable, vacation residence that is friendly to all, including people with mobility challenges; people with pets, and all interested peoples of the world. Repeat guests are offered substantial pricing discounts. South Lake Tahoe is a fabulous year round resort area, for all ages, north of Sacramento, California.

Sande purchased this cabin in 2010

Why Sande chose South Lake Tahoe

BLUELEAF is just plain COOL. I find it very romantic, even without the 'romantic' original art on the walls.

What makes this cabin unique

Treats and suprises for you and yours

We believe in making hospitality sustainable too........

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi, Sande. Thanks for your lovely note yesterday, and your explanation of our TV difficulties! We loved the Blue Leaf cabin, and we had a wonderful time at Lake Tahoe. My friend Alicia was wishing for a thunderstorm from the day of our arrival, and we were so grateful that you arranged a surprise thunder-and-lightning-and-hail show for us on our last evening there!.... It was truly magnificent!
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 29


Bijou 2 Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub.Shower. Pine wrapped. Small but quaint. Ample tub for bath. Good water pressure. Toiletries supplied. The cabin is meant for two adults ( a couple or two single persons). We do allow children. But due to one bathroom, two adults is our max occupancy.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), (1) Premium QUEEN SOFABED.
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • limited accessibility ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Massage
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Internet streaming on State of the Art TV: BOSE sound system, private gated fenced in yard for privacy. ADJACENT THREE BEDROOM CAN BE RENTED to CREATE a FOUR BEDROOM, THREE BATH, 1800 sq ft home with a one bedroom, one bath right next to a 3 bedroom, 2 bath cabin. Perfect arrangement for two couples; one with kids or senior parent.


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

Romantic Modern Eco Cabin Near Heavenly
average rating of 4.125 based on 45 reviews
Castro Valley

Cute cozy cabin dublex

  • 4 of 5

The place was cute and cozy. It is a duplex and you can hear everything on the other side. We couldnt figure out the tvs, the cable didn't work or something, So we rented movies instead and the WiFi is horrible fyi. But we spent most of our time in the snow. Great location close to everything. We would stay again.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We spent 30 minutes on the phone with this guest, walking them thru the TV/DVD steps. There is a cabin guide. But the guest texted they were having trouble. The guest decided to go out and texted "we are going to dinner and we don't really watch TV". We never heard back from the guest. The housekeeper, who is VERY familiar with the set up and steps, was asked to check out the TV/DVD when this guest checked out. The housekeeper reported that "everything is working correctly". So I am not sure if the guest had the wrong input or what happened. As far as WI-FI: we don't get this report ( "horrible") from other guests. But I do know that when there are storms in SLT, WI-FI can be effected and communication systems ( Internet TV, phone, internet) are notorious for connectivity issues. If you want a foolproof Wi-Fi, please consider using/bringing an air card or a phone from which you may tether to a 4G network. The network is NOT 4G or 5G in SLT. And the house is located in the pines.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Fremont, CA

Great property - but some problems

  • 3 of 5

Great property - but some problems. Our pros/cons are:


- great location

- park/golf field close buy to walk the dog

- short drive to Heavenly

- nice and small, you can say cozy property

- lots of instructions from the owner on how to use different items [sadly, not always sufficient]

- well equipped kitchen


- BIG CON!!!! no emergency contact info AT ALL from the owner; if you have problems [and we did!] you are totally on your own. I suspect if there are electrical or gas problems, you will have to solve them on your own or die trying :-(

- also, just a note - this is a shared property

- not really a con, but a note to dog owners: the yard IS fully enclosed, however the same yard is shared with the other connected property [this is a listing for a smaller half of the house]

Overall, we are not staying there again, primarily due to the last item - no private enclosed yard for our snow dog.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please do read our description of the property first and weigh this guests comments. Here is our position: all "issues" were caused by his failure to READ...ANYTHING! This individual arrived at 10 pm at night. He went to the wrong cabin, because he failed to read any of the materials: yet he acknowledged he did, before he was allowed to book thru VRBO. At 10:30 pm they called and texted that they could not get in ( hmmm. funny that he claims to not have had a number to call). We do not answer our phone after 9 pm and the guest should have read that too in the guide sent to him upon booking. He did not communicate late arrival. In addition, this person tried to BREAK IN to the WRONG lockbox. Damaged it. Failed to report ANYTHING about doing so! Completely dishonest. We of course did not realize this until we checked out the adjacent cabin for an upcoming guest and found the damage. This guest of course said nothing about what they had done. Our response to this ridiculous twists of truth is this: if you do not show up until 10:30 pm at anyone's rental, and you have never been there before, you better know where you are going and be prepared. This person texted ( which of course we did not get until morning) about how they were freezing( this is Tahoe and it was snowing.They "could not get in"- ALL BECAUSE THEY WERE AT THE WRONG CABIN!) and then they texted about how they had no pillows in pillow cases! The pillows were inside shams, which they would have known had they read any of the materials sent to them. Instead of using the pillows on the king bed, they pulled extra unmade up pillows out of a cabinet to use! We sent the housekeeper over first thing in the morning, and this guest was all fine and happy. When this guest checked out and failed to inform of the damage to the lock box; they were asked to pay $35 for the lock box. They have not done so, nor do I foresee them doing so. What can I say? Hundreds of happy guests with no problems. Glowing comments. And then there is this guy. Irresponsible,unprepared, and dishonest. And he tried to spin the tale as if he was sent incorrect information; even when the original email sent to him was re-sent to him! Add to that, allowing his dog on the bed: which we never allow......... Fact of life- some people think that paying for an accommodation, gives them the right to express disrespectful behavior. Happily only 3 guests out of 560 guests have fallen into this category.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Vacaville, CA

Great place in a great location!

  • 4 of 5

My daughter, my small dog and I stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it! We x-country ski so being near the Bijou Golf Course was perfect!

It was tricky that there were a lot of rules about nice rugs and no surfaces for dogs yet it was pet friendly?? But we fogured it out and our dog had a blast!!!! I recommend this lovely place!

Great owners!

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We see our accommodations as premium for people. And because we have pets, we allow pets. Rules insure that the quality of the accommodations remains high. There is a large hand loomed Aztec rug in this accommodation, and it sits near a wood burning fireplace in one corner. We supply other carpets in this area to cover and protect the rug when the fireplace is being used. Visitors to Tahoe are aware that we have all sorts of wildlife here year-round. What that means is that your pet must be leashed in Tahoe and you must be aware of your surroundings at all times. Off leash pets, even in a yard, can attract un-invited animals. We have a dog park and dog beach within minutes from our property. This is the appropriate place for dog play. Our accommodations are for well behaved people and if we had no rules regarding pets, the quality would quickly look like most of the shabby rentals in the area. In closing, I will say that I try to be a respectful pet owner, and when I travel I realize that others who stayed or will stay in the rental that I have chosen, do not like pets and often cannot tolerate any kind of pet hair around. I try not to trample on their rights to a pet hair free environment. We all have rights. Rules protect everyone's rights.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice place, nice location, beware of fees upon exit

  • 1 of 5

This place was in a nice location and comfortable interior; there is a garbage problem that attracts bears and racoons so be careful of disposing your garbage in the containers which aren't secure...

Also, upon exit, remove all garbage and follow the cleaning instructions to the 'T', otherwise the owner will charge you extra...a stickler she is...

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We ask that guests dispose of their self generated trash and do their own dishes prior to check out. This guest confirmed their acceptance of these rental conditions, which we believe are standard for most vacation rentals. They were charged for the extra housekeeping time.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

cute cabin in Lake Tahoe

  • 4 of 5

Cosy and beautifully decorated!

We couldn't figure out the bedroom TV but we are not very technical!

we missed more light but the spirit of the place was light :)

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Mateo , CA

Favorite South Lake Tahoe Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Our 2nd stay here at the Blue Leaf cabin! Never disappoints! Our favorite place to stay in South Shore when ever we make it up to Thaoe! Absolutely Love this location and property! Hope to stay again soon! :) Thank you for an amazing place to make memories!


  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Lake Tahoe Bl.
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Nearest Ski
2 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
El Dorado

Can snowshoe right out the front door. Golf course for cross country is one block walk.


Rates & Availability

Bijou 2 Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $125
Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $60
Tax Rate 10.0%

Two adults MAX in Blueleaf. Up to two children stay free (under 10 yrs of age)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties