check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Captain's Landing-Beach Front Property on Over 1 Acre of Land

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

Description

Pescadero House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6 adults)

If you like falling asleep to the sound of waves breaking on the shore, you have found the perfect retreat. Captain's Landing is a spacious 3 bedroom 2 bath house, with 2 fireplaces, which sits on over an acre of land with panoramic ocean views from every room. Explore down the private stairs leading to 300 plus yards of sandy beach. Enjoy the Spectacular Sunsets from the wrap around upper and lower decks or stroll along the beach while admiring the tide pools.

Keywords: Beach House, Half Moon Bay, San Francisco, Ano Nuevo State Park

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Katelyn McManus
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 6, 2016
Call Owner

About Katelyn McManus

A Family who loves the beach is now ready to share this great house with new families so that they can make memories.

Katelyn McManus purchased this house in 2008

Why Katelyn McManus chose The Bay Area

Captain's Landing has been in the family for many years and we have enjoyed the location and the privacy of this wonderful home. Many fond memories with family and friends have been spent here in Pescadero.

What makes this house unique

Captain's Landing overlooks the Pacific Coast with private steps leading down to the sandy beach. Pescadero is centrally located between Santa Cruz and Half Moon Bay. San Francisco being about 1 hour 15 min north. Monterey and Carmel (17 Mile Drive) are approximately 1 hour 30 minutes south. Just south of the house is Ano Neuvo, home to the Sea Elephants and wonderful hikes. Plan to visit historical Pescadero with the famous Duarte's Restaurant, Harley's Goat Farm and wonderful Antiques. Enjoy many areas to hike or pick berries at Swantons farms. A visit at the Pie Ranch for homemade pies is a must. Half Moon Bay is 20 minutes north with wonderful restaurants, shopping, nurseries, wine tasting and home to the famous Pumpkin Festival. Enjoy golf, fine dining or treat yourself to a spa treatment at the Ritz Carlton in Half Moon. Bay. If surf fishing is your thing, don't forget your fishing pole. Our children have always enjoyed kite flying on the beach as well.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

Captain's Landing-Beach Front Property on Over 1 Acre of Land
average rating of 4.8157897 based on 38 reviews
2

Captains Landing owner

  • 2 of 5

The house had a great view. The beach at the house is nice and secluded, but rocks all across the front of the water, so there is no playing in the water there. I was very surprised my deposit check was cashed 27 days earlier than stated in the contract, which could have ended up costing me several hundred dollars in returned check fees. And my cleaning deposit was not returned to me until 30 days after check out date. I feel that if the owners want people to follow the contract when renting the house, that they should follow the rules of the contract also. I was reminded that I would be charged for over usage of the internet, which should be stated in the original advertisement. I would not recommend this property because of the breaking the contract by the owner.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, thanks for the review. I wanted to clear a few things up about our contract and deposit policies. 1. I wanted to clarify about the contract process and how we do them. You rented the house a few months before your date of arrival. When sending out our email with contact it clearly stated full payment with one check and we received 2 checks which was not needed per the contract. So we deposited the second check one month in advance. This was also clarified when you reached out to see what the issue was and was explained again at that time with no repsonse. We only ask for partial payment when you rent the house months in advance. 2. The security deposit was returned late as there was a family emergency/death in the family and was unable to send out checks, this was also explained and communicated to all parties via text and email stating it would be sent out a week late. In our contract it states approximately 2weeks to return deposit and is done on time. 3. Overage fees are a new add on to our welcome email and will be added to our contract as cost of having internet at the house had gone up, you were not charged for any overages as you received your deposit returned in full. If you have any other questions please feel free to reach out!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful Secluded Beach Spot!

  • 4 of 5

I LOVE the location of this property!!! The location itself deserves 5/5 stars The views from both living/family rooms, decks & master bedroom were magnificent! We were grateful for its private stair rail to the beach. The beach was closed off by large rocks to the left of the property so the kids could play without any interruption or wander off. It was the perfect secluded location we were looking for!!

Other positives: plenty of space for a family of 6, comfortable master bed, plenty of linen, well stocked kitchen, easy 25 minute drive north to Safeway (Half Moon Bay), 5 minute drive to local Pescadero small shops and yummy restaurants.

My reasons for 4/5 stars: (Had I known or inquired beforehand, we could've been better prepared).

*When we first entered the house, it smelled old, like it had been empty for awhile. Fortunately, I had packed a favorite Bath & Body candle. After a few hours or burning and having all the windows open, the smell went away.

*No washer and dryer. That's a little difficult with little ones. I couldn't find a laundromat nearby either.

*The house Mifi had limited data and didn't allow for much streaming of kids' movies. The beach was wonderful all day but in the evening, we would've preferred to stream our own movies and we couldn't. The kids did watch 2 DVDs that the owner provided.

*The first bedroom on the bottom floor had large cobwebs in the top corner. The blanket in the upstairs bedroom was dirty.

*A few windows were missing screens.

It would've been nice to have beach chairs or beach toys. I made the mistake of assuming there would be. Again, had I asked more questions, I would've been better informed and packed accordingly.

Overall, we are grateful for our time here and would probably rent here again!

Cheers!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our beach front property. The views are truly majestic. We take pride in providing a well stocked and comfortable home. As per our VRBO page, it states we do not have a washer and dryer. Our MIFI is limited due to our location on the coast and we do provide a TV (cable) and DVD player for our renters. Beach chairs and toys are available to all renters in the garage which can be accessed by the front door key. Thank you for letting us know about the blanket and we have informed our cleaners regarding this matter. The house can get musty when not rented (nature of the location) and is easily remedy by opening the windows. Some screens intentionally are not on the windows as they get wet and dirty by the ocean, which can obstruct our beautiful views. Our cleaners wash all Windows the morning of the renters arrival. We hope that you will return soon to enjoy this special property!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect place to be away from everything by the ocean

  • 5 of 5

My mom and two sisters returned here after visiting two years ago because it was such a perfect place for us to connect, talk, watch the ocean and birds, walk on the beach, etc., etc. Both times we just ended up staying there the whole time--it is a perfect place to sit and marvel at the world and the tidepools and beach is quiet, secluded and stunning. The house has everything you can think of for cooking, sleeping and outside activities. It's an easy drive from SFO and there are places nearby for groceries. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A wonderful place to stay

  • 5 of 5

What a location! Quiet, private, stunning 180 degree ocean views. Watch how the beach changes as the tide goes in and out. Great tidepools right below the house. Looking out the many large windows was a constant delight.

I've stayed at many vacation rentals and this one was very well equipped - the kitchen has what you need if you really want to cook, or just enjoy a cocktail looking out at the ocean.

The town of Pescadero is nearby - get some artichoke garlic bread at Arcangeli grocery; visit the goat dairy for amazing cheese and to watch baby goats in the spring.

As great as it is, this rental is not for you if you have issues with stairs or want large luxurious bathrooms. For us, these weren't issues and we had a fabulous time.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

STAY Here!

  • 5 of 5

Truly lovely. This house is exactly as described and is exactly as the pictures portray it to be. We enjoyed the house for 4 nights but wished for more. There were 4 adults and 4 younger children in our group. While the house is set up to sleep 6, they included an inflatable air bed which was more than adequate to sleep our group.

The location could not be more perfect - set atop a small cliff, a few steps off the back porch to a very private, secluded beach. The views over the ocean are incredible and there are wrap around decks on both levels to take in all in. The kids spent every moment on the beach. The home owners provided a ton of sand toys, beach chairs, boogie boards, etc. Hours were spent walking along the shore, collecting shells/stones, creating habitats for the hermit crabs we found (and then releasing them), reading books, building sand castles, etc. The water is cold but they kids didn't seem to mind wading, splashing and very fast swims.

The house itself is very well appointed - we found everything we needed to prepare meals and used the grill several times. Each morning and evening were spent in the upper living room just taking in the views, listening to the surf and watching the sunset. It was gorgeous and so peaceful.

We are already planning to return as aside from enjoying the house, this area of the coast offers many activities. We did go down to the boardwalk in Santa Cruz one afternoon which was a fun change of pace and also LOVED Big Basin Redwoods State Park (though it was a bit of a drive). The town of Pescadero is about 10 minutes away and has a restaurant, small grocery store and coffee shop. We also liked the coffee/pastries offered in Davenport a few miles south. Less than a half mile from the house is a state beach called Bean Hollow which was perfect for a morning run along the ocean and they also have a sandy beach.

The owners are kind and easy to work with. THIS place is a true gem!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Superb location, very private

  • 5 of 5

Being from the cold Midwest, we loved the experience of staying for a few days right on the Pacific Ocean during our spring break. The house has direct access to a secluded beach, and the owner has made sand toys and beach chairs available. The sounds of the surf and incredible views from any place in the house were wonderful. There are 2 kitchens and were well-stocked with all the equipment we needed. Our entire family (2 adults and 4 kids, ages 14-7) thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Beach

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pescadero House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
New Years
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Easter
Apr 14 2017 - Apr 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$500
Fri,Sat
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
Refundable damage deposit $350

Please include your post dated check along with your initial payment, signed contract (all pages need to be initialed) and mailing address.

CHECKS ONLY. 2 night min. Half the rent plus refundable security deposit of $350 and cleaning charge of $200 is due to confirm reservation. The balance (second half of rent) is due 30 days prior to arrival.

ALL HOLIDAYS have 3 night mininum at $500/n. For non holiday weekends $500/n, stay a third night and that night will be $350. Midweek pricing includes *Sun-Thurs* 2night min. at $350/n

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pescadero House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • surfing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties