Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Retreat in the Woods & Seattle, Too!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 2-6)

Our home sits on top of one of the 3 mountains that make up the Issaquah Alps and is very private and serene yet we’re only 10 minutes from the town of Issaquah with everything you’d want and only 30 minutes from the heart of Seattle with its array of “life”. Sitting on the edge of the Pacific/Puget Sound, trips to the islands via ferry, Skiing (both downhill and x-country) only 30 minutes away, hiking everywhere and right on our hill, biking, boating…it’s endless as to outdoor pursuits in the Seattle area. Nightlife and culture abound in Seattle, Bellevue, and even Issaquah.

If you haven’t been to the Pacific Northwest to enjoy the beauty we offer, you should come visit.

Our home is 2500 sq. ft., our family home since we built it new so obviously we love it! We have large decks for seating, landscaped yards, we're on the edge of the forest and our resident raccoon may even pay you a visit on his way back and forth to “work”. Deer often bed down out back or stop by for a visit. The configuration of our home is: Master bedroom, with private bath, Guest Bedroom (Queen Bed), Sleeping Loft with pull out double bed, newly remodeled bathroom is shared between loft & guest room, & a soaking tub with view into woods is perfect for after your hike. ½ bath for the downstairs. Our kitchen is set to COOK…both Chuck and I love to cook and we think it’s the best. It opens into our family room with gas fireplace and our dining room opens into our large living room with fireplace as well. Our home is 2 levels with sleeping upstairs. French doors lead from dining room to deck and from family room to deck. Enjoy 3 eating locations outside or walk across our bridge to the path in the woods.

Keywords: Home on mountaintop, Retreat in the woods

More Details

Owner
Jill Landback
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
October 9, 2017

About Jill Landback

Chuck and I have elected to travel widely during our retirement years and realized we're 'never' home. We wanted to share our home and space with folks looking to come to the Pacific Northwest. A day trip to Mount Rainier that you see from our hill or a quick run to Leavenworth that we do to ski or golf made us think that we are 'in the perfect location'. We live in a safe and secure area called HIGH VALLEY yet we can't see any homes & we feel like we live in the national park.

Jill Landback purchased this house in 1979

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Seattle Tacoma International
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Multiple
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
WA State Ferry System
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Multiple
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Light Rail to Seattle
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Highway 90
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Multiple
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Snoqualmie Pass
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
Lake Sammamish State Park
Car: necessary

Saturday Farmer's Market May-Oct., Burke-Gilman Bike Trail, 30 miles long. Wine Tasting in over 90 WA. shops

Amenities

Issaquah House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • Half bath on main floor, full en suite in Master with shower and guest bath with soaking tub and shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa in Loft.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
9% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Retreat in the Woods & Seattle, Too!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 21 reviews
Montreal, Canada
5

Beautiful and quiet house

  • 5 of 5

This is a roomy house with all the modern comforts, very tastefully furnished and decorated. The neighborhood is very quiet; in fact, you are hardly aware of any neighbors at all, as the properties are separated by tall, lush evergreens. Beautiful patio and garden. This house has got a relaxing, countryside feel, yet it's only 10 minutes by car to major groceries (Safeway, QFC) and pharmacies, and about a half-hour (traffic permitting) to downtown Seattle. It truly made our stay in the Seattle area extra-special. The owners have gone out of their way to make sure that their guests have everything they need. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We couldn't have asked for better folks to enjoy our home than you all. The house was left in spectacular condition...hardly knew you'd been here. Sure wish Montreal wasn't so far away...we'd love to entice you back for a return visit. Our best to all of you, Jill and Chuck
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

We paids for the rooms and got shorted on some details

  • 3 of 5

Overall the house was nice. But, no AC, it was over 90 degrees every night we stayed. I don't remember that info in the description. I rented the house because I needed the rooms for my brides maids. It said it had 3 bedrooms, what we got was 2 rooms plus a pull out bed in the open, no privacy. The 3rd bedroom was locked for storage reasons. My friend was handicapped, she couldn't walk up the stairs she had to sleep in the den. Also only 2.5 bath rooms and we could only use the 1 shower for 4+ people for a wedding! I feel I over paid. Also family heirlooms and breakables everywhere, on a staircase NOT little kids friendly.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Megan, I'm sorry that the house experience didn't work out to be positive for you and sometimes staying in a hotel it's just a better option for some folks. I ask you to go back and reread the listing information as I have not misrepresented anything other than we had no problem in the one shower that I explained. Yes,in the Pacific Northwest people frequently do not have AC and I didn't say we did and I certainly have no direct line to the weather gods. We hope you had a lovely wedding. Jill
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sierra Madre, CA
5

Lovely home and garden, very comfortable stay!

  • 5 of 5

Communication with Jill was easy and very friendly from the beginning, and she continued to be very responsive to any questions I had during the stay. The area is beautiful, quiet and woodsy, yet conveniently located just over 30 minutes away from downtown Seattle and the airport. The house is comfortable and spacious, and the kitchen stocked with everything we needed and more. The garden and huge backyard is lovely and we were fortunate to have gorgeous weather so we could sit outside and enjoy it.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You were perfect house guests & now heel that ankle so you can come back next year. Thanks to all of you! Jill & Chuck
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

!

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay. Jill is a great host to work with. Very comfortable and roomy. Great front and backyard. Kitchen was stocked well and home ready for us.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Keith & just to let you know, the green spatula has been replaced & all's super. Best wishes, Jill
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very beautiful house!!! Nice quiet retreat..immaculate garden

  • 5 of 5

A great place to relax

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Reno/Sparks Nevafa
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Jill was very quick to communicate. The home was just what we needed: a peaceful retreat. The house has everything you'd want. We were disappointed that we all had to use the same shower, but things happen, we get it.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Vickie, Thanks for the nice review and again, we apologize that the shower problem happened...and we're a long way from resolution on it. Plumber appeared...no help; Installer backed up and going on vacation; contractor: send me photos and I'll tell you if I want to help. Sigh.... Jill and Chuck
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.