check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

3 Level, Cozy, Rustic Cabin Close to Sierra at Tahoe

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights

Description

Echo Lake Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms (Sleeps 10-12) , 3 Baths + Other (See Description/Rate Notes)

The winter paradise of the Sierras is here! This large rustic three level cabin is ready for you to enjoy while you experience the winter wonderland of the Sierras. The lower level is set up as a game room with a pool table, 42 inch flat screen T.V.with Direct T.V receiver., DVD/VHS which can be used for games. There is a bathroom off of the room which includes a jet tub for two. There are three full size leather Euro lounger sleepers in the game room. The room also has a table with bar stools, setting bench and pool table. The game room can be considered a 4th private bedroom that can sleep up to 6.

The middle level has a bistro setting area, wood burning stove, living room with leather recliner sectional couch with Television/ Direct T.V.receiver/ entertainment area, dining table and full kitchen. Off from the kitchen is a private bedroom with a queen size bed and electric fireplace stove. This level has a bathroom/shower and laundry room with washer/dryer.

The top level has two bedrooms available for use, first bedroom has a full size bed and twin bed. The second bedroom has a bunk bed with a twin on top and queen size on bottom. It also has a single futon. This level has a bathroom with a shower. The third room is typically not available for renters and is locked off. You can request to include this master bed room for an additional fee. The cabin is perfect for 2 families, a family gathering or an intimate get away for two.

Spend time exploring the Sierras and enjoy all the amenities that Tahoe has to offer. Sierra-At-Tahoe is less than one mile away and State Line is a twenty minute drive. Groceries, fuel and eating out are a 7 minute drive to the town of Meyers. There are many attractions and events offered in South Lake Tahoe year round.

After a long day of exploring, activities and even skiing, spend time getting comfy by the fireplace relaxing to music, favorite T.V. shows, watching a DVD. or enjoying a family game. Our kitchen is fully stocked with all the utensils needed to cook your favorite meal.

The cabin is high in the Sierras near Echo Summit, at 7000 feet elevation, and is conveniently located off Highway 50. During the winter season, the driveway is plowed once per day during snow fall 6' or greater usually in the A.M., making access available. However, during snow/ winter season and during a storm event, you will need a 4-wheel drive with appropriate tires for winter conditions due to the ice and steep driveway.

Built on 5 acres, wilderness adventures are right outside the door! During the winter, snowshoe or cross country ski through the woods, Sierra at Tahoe or at Echo Lakes. You can sled the mountain on the property or at the Echo Summit Snow Park 2 miles away. We have several snow tubes for guests.

In the summer there are many wonderful areas to hike and you may want to hike to the top of the property and savor the scenic view of the Sierras. Spend the night hours on the deck, BarbQ your favorite meal while enjoying the sunset and viewing the array of stars you will never forget. .

We invite you to come up to Echo Summit for an adventure in the Sierras and create lifetime memories..

Keywords: Located right off of Hwy 50 within a mile of Sierra at Tahoe Ski resort, this large, 3 level cabin is great for weekend getaways or week long vacations. Located on 5 acres of beautiful terrain with lodge pole pines and seasonal shrubs, this property boarders the National Forrest. Many accommodations and amenities are provided to make your stay enjoyable and memorable.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Dana McKnight Flentroy
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 22, 2016
Call Owner

About Dana McKnight Flentroy

We both love nature and enjoy the beauty around our cabin. We have 2 dogs, Amber and Ecko that travel with us. Dana works as a medical social worker and is an instructor at several colleges. She also is Director of a training program at Lake Tahoe Community College part time and Reggie is an Insurance Agent and Entrepreneur.

Dana McKnight Flentroy purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Dana McKnight Flentroy chose California

The location and beauty surrounding the cabin along with the eclectic design and size of the cabin. The cabin has a peacefulness and serenity yet is close enough to town to enjoy all the activities that South Lake Tahoe has to offer.

What makes this cabin unique

There is a seasonal creek that sounds beautiful in the Spring and you can hike to the top of the property where a beautiful meadow awaits. The property borders National Forrest and the location is great for skiers in the snow season. You get the nature and wildlife feel, yet you are close to skiing, Echo Lake and other activities.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our group really enjoyed the cabin and all the fun in the snow. It was perfect for snow activities.
Jan 2016
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

3 Level, Cozy, Rustic Cabin Close to Sierra at Tahoe
average rating of 3.8333333 based on 9 reviews
5

Happy Campers!!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was just as we expected and more! The location was perfect, conveniently close to highway and not to far from town. We enjoyed cooking our own meals in spacious kitchen, roasting marshmallows, bbqing, and star gazing on upper deck patio. The pool table and jacuzzi in game room were such a bonus at this cabin getaway. Over the duration of our stay we did everything from hike, fish, and even ventured to a couple of amazing beaches near by. At the end of the day one of the most important things was that we all slept and rested well and I would highly recommend this cabin to friends and family of all ages!!

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great time, this home was even more beautiful then in the pictures.

  • 5 of 5

I was very happy with my stay. Getting up the driveway without chains in a 2 wheel drive car was an adventure in its own. I highly recommend not doing that. Lol. When we finally got in the cabin we were impressed with how clean, and nice everything was inside of it. The game room downstairs was awesome and fully equipped with a pool table. Upstairs was very roomy and open. And there were plenty of beds and foutons for everyone. We only had about 6 guys but it could have fit 13 comfortably. The owner was also very nice and responsive whenever anything came up. Not like a typical landlord who just wants to take your money and deposit. She was willing to work with me and was very helpful! Thank you. We will definitely be booking again next time we are in south Lake Tahoe.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Stay away! Dirty and front door is unreachable.

  • 1 of 5

Property was dirty and we're charged an additional 190 dollars for using the heater for our 3 day stay. Electronics are ancient and driveway is so steep it's almost impossible to reach front door. Stay away is an understatement.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize that you were unhappy with your stay and felt the place did not meet your needs satisfactorily. We did provide options and contact support information to reach out for any issues or concerns you may have had during your stay. We did not hear about these issues until now. If any issues had been brought to our attention we would have addressed them immediately. Again we are sorry that our vacation home did not meet your vacation needs satisfactorily.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

perfect for family fun, IF you're prepared

  • 4 of 5

We stayed the weekend before Christmas to take the kids sledding. Although the property is close to the snow park, travel was not necessary, and not advised with the amount of snow (feet not inches). We were able to sled and play on the property.

I can't say this enough, if there is more than a few inches of snow, you'll need 4x4 to get up the driveway here, it's steep. My Jeep had no problem, but the CRV, even with chains, struggled. Granted we had over 3 feet of snow while we stayed, so your mileage may vary.

The fireplace is cozy and the kitchen is well prepared for a vacation rental. Kids loved the game room, but the star of the show was the several feet of snow outside.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Review of Twin Bridges Cabin.

  • 4 of 5

The house was very suitable for our needs. Our group went skiing for two days so did not spend much time at the house. Amenities were fairly basic but adequate. We found that the water pressure was low, but all other utilities worked well. We did not use the washer/dryer.

I liked the combo lock on the front door, this really saves time as compared to getting a key elsewhere. I would stay there again and recommend it to friends.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Hawaii family

  • 4 of 5

This was the first time renting a house with vrbo so we were kinda nervous when our money order took a long time to get to the owner. Next time we'll Fed ex and have a signature. The owner was easy to email and replied back within a reasonable time. It was hard for us to find the place at night and day cause the sign is little. Once we found it, opened the house with directions and turned On the heat. The

house had a cozy rustic cabin feeling. Heat worked and place was nice and roomy for our family. Only thing that was a bummer was the dryer didn't work so our things never dried. The kids loved the game room, but complained that the shower temperature kept changing while showering. Other than that, great communication with the owner and enjoyed our stay. So close to Sierra it was awesome we'll be back!

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate becoming aware through this review about the dryer not working. This has been addressed and fixed. We had replaced the hot water heater to address any temperature fluctuations while showering. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you return!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

In winter the property is great for snow activities and we are less than a mile from Sierra at Tahoe. In the Spring and Summer we are 1.5 miles from Echo Lake and great hiking trails. Across the highway is the American River and on the property is a seasonal creek.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Echo Lake Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter Holiday 2016
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
$1,750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 2017
Jan 2 2017 - Apr 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$260
Fri,Sat
$1,450
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
July 4
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,100
Flat fee
 
 
Standard pricing
2 night minimum stay
$230
$1,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $35
Cleaning $135

Rates are based on 8 guests; add $50.00 per stay, per additional guest

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Echo Lake Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Off of Middle level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Full Size bed and Twin Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen/Twin Bunk bed and single futon
    Other (See Description) - 3 sleep sofa /futon , 3 leather full Euro loungers in Game room
    Master Bedroom (Additional Fee) - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , For Additional fee of $75 a night Master can be included
  • Queen size Beds (1) Queen bed is in one of the bedrooms, Full/double Bed (1) and (1)Twin Bed are in one of the bedrooms and Bunk bed with Queen (1) bed on bottom and (1) twin bed on top with (1) single futon sleeper. The game room has (3) full leather Euro lounger , which can be considered a 4th private bedroom. The Master bedroom is not included in the fees but can be included for additional fee of $75 a night,
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties