check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

Yurt in the Sky - great views

38 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Ocean View Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

The “Yurt in the Sky” is above and away from the bustle of civilization. Here you have wide open spaces – ocean, sun, sky and the contrast of the rich lava rock with the delicate red Ohia flowers. ( (We've never seen a mosquito or a bee) Here you can live simply but very comfortably -- off the grid but with almost all the conveniences of home. Stock up on your favorite foods and enjoy meals on the deck gazing out at sky and sea, feeling the cool breezes from across a thousand miles of unobstructed ocean. Then, you can descend from your 4500 ft. retreat to Big Island’s beaches, botanical gardens, volcanoes (30 beautiful miles away) snorkeling, adventure attractions or entertainment spots. South Big Island Beaches are about 30 minutes away, greatest snorkeling in the state is about 45 minutes and Kona with all its beaches and activities is about one hour.

When you come back, sip some wine or some freshly brewed tea as the sun sets, cook up your favorite meal on the propane stove or microwave oven and get ready for the best show on the Island: the stars! You can lie on the deck or view them all night inside through the circular skylight. If the air is chill, just turn on the romantic fireplace. You will be warm in minutes. Curl up with a book, or stay in touch with the distant world with high speed internet.

Why stay in one more conventional resort room, when you can experience first-hand a whole new way of life – off the grid? Why not give it a try?

Keywords: Yurt

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

About The Owner

Hi future guests! I’m a retired community college teacher from Wisconsin in partnership with my son David, who fell in love with these islands as a student at the University of Hawaii. Designing and building our “Yurt in the Sky” has been a fun joint project. This year David is going back to school in Hilo, so we’re happy to share our retreat with you. About me? I keep busy here in Wisconsin with outdoor sports, movies and playing music. I'm always here on my cell in Wisconsin to answer questions or our very capable local cleaning person is very nearby.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2007

Why The Owner chose Ka'u District

We looked at many lovely lots on the Big Island and at first were drawn to the lush jungle atmospheres of the lowlands. But when we visited the exhilarating height of this little-known area, with its spacious views and friendly, laid-back people, we decided within a day.

What makes this cottage unique

This “Yurt in the Sky” is very different from other rentals. First, we can offer you a low price because we have little overhead. This frees up your vacation budget for more fun. Second, in contrast to other yurt rentals, we offer total privacy and independence. There is no sharing of any facilities. Third, we have NO bugs or other pesky creatures. Just leave the door open all day! Fourth, although we are 'away from it all,' it’s easy to get around. The paved roads to the yurt are excellent and from down in the nearby village of Ocean View there are free busses around the entire island! Finally, our 150 degree view of the distant ocean below is spectacular.

Guestbook comments from the owner

http://www.jeffsetter.com/hawaii-yurt-in-the-sky-review/
Jun 2015
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.3
based on 38 traveler reviews

Yurt in the Sky - great views
average rating of 4.2894735 based on 39 reviews
5

Wonderful retreat!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay in the yurt was exactly as expected. We loved staying in a round 'home' for a few days. All amenities as provided in the website. Having a large fridge was a lifesaver. We prepared our meals easily, everything we needed in the kitchen was provided. We did have some concern about the low 'reading' on the solar gage, however this proved to be unfounded, as we had plenty of electricity. I would suggest bringing your own beach towels, cooler and beach chairs.

This is a charming getaway and makes for a nice change of pace.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Yurt!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at the yurt. It had pros and cons like anything else, but we knew what to expect and we had a great time. Things to think about.

-The power was never an issue. We left it on most of the time because I needed it for my cpap. It was between 17-21 the entire time. Never higher, never lower.

-There isn't a whole lot to do on this portion of the island without a considerable drive, but the scenery makes the time go fast.

-The local towns had really good food and friendly people.

-The bathroom needs some TLC. There is a mold issue in there that could be easily cleared up.

-The king sized bed was very comfortable.

-We were there during a tropical storm, 6 inches of rain in one night, the yurt was rock solid.

I found the yurt to be really cozy. We had 6 people there and all slept fine and had plenty of room. We even had my 3 year old daughter with. The owner went above and beyond to take care of us and meet our needs. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond, VA
4

Yurt in the Sky is the perfect name for this unique vacation rental

  • 4 of 5

I always wanted to stay in a yurt and it did not disappoint. Unique location up high. You definitely have to be adventurous to stay at this property. Great proximity to the Green Sand Beach and South Point.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Unique lodging

  • 5 of 5

Very satisfied with our stay at Yurt in the Sky. We weren't sure exactly what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised at how roomy and comfortable it was. Plenty of space for our family of 6. A great place to stay while exploring the southern part of the island. Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very relaxing

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed at the yurt for a week. At first I thought it would be too long without a tv or radio. I was wrong. It forced us to actually talk to each other. By the end of our stay we were sad to leave. Everything was very comfy and spacious. The only suggestion I would make is to add a couple of luggage racks for convenience. This is a different type of property and in a location that is not extremely convenient. You feel like you are on the moon. This is part of the experience we appreciated as it was so quiet and peaceful. We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

A New Experience....

  • 5 of 5

This was something very different for us, it was very quiet and comfortable... Reminded us of Alaska being that you needed to be so careful with your resources, the place was clean with a primitive view of Hawaii, yet close enough to the stores and restaurants... A bit of a drive to beaches, but hey, you're on an island so we could have driven a bit. I'm not complaining because it was a time for us both to relax and read and sleep in comfort. The owner was very helpful and easy to contact.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Ocean View, Ka'u District, Big Island, Hawaii, USA (One Hour 15 Min South from Kailua/Kona Airport - Big Island)

The recent Lava Flow near Pahoa is a safe 40 minute drive away, so don't worry.

Other Activities: Exploring lava tunnels. Being away from it all! Exploring back roads. Fishing, shopping, kayaking

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ocean View Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$50
$300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
cleaning fee $60
Tax Rate 13.41%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ocean View Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • PC
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • The bathroom is directly attached to the yurt and has a hot shower, flush toilet and mirror. It is lighted by a skylight or you can take in one of our solar powered lamps at night. For our special system, toilet paper needs to be put into a closed can next to the toilet.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1) This is a double foam mattress with linens which can be moved in and out of the living area., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) There are two very comfortable sofas that do not convert to beds, but you can use our sheet sleeping bags, covers and pillows.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Cell phone access is excellent. The attached bathroom with skylight has a flush toilet with paper disposal can, and a hot shower.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties