check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Cynthia Gillespie-Smith

Member since: 1998
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

Romantic & Private Mexican Hideaway with Salt Water Pool

21 Reviews
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

North End House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom , 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2)

Our romantic, colorful home, Casa Soleada ("Sunny House") with its salt water pool, surrounded by bougainvillea and hanging vines, is the perfect escape for a couple searching for a fun filled vacation.

Casa Soleada is nestled into a hillside above the Pacific Ocean and offers you a modern Mexican design, great comfort, stunning ocean views, and a lush tropical garden with two decks and a dip pool (2.5 meters x 3 meters). Our home is a splendid place to watch migrating humpback whales, vivid jungle birds, and dazzling sunsets.

We built Casa Soleada in 2001, with the help of an imaginative local architect who has now added the pool and decks among the palm trees and bougainvillea. Placed at the north end of Sayulita Bay, among other beautifully designed homes, and facing west, we're about a 15 minute walk to the village of Sayulita. From our home you'll benefit from the serenity, superb views, and easy access (three minute walk) to the north end (quiet end) of the beach.

The same talented architect has recently completed a casita in the garden. The casita is NOT rented, you do not have to share your privacy or the pool with anyone else. And, you may use the deck of the casita to view birds and other gifts of nature. Built up over the jungle it's almost a tree house -- we call it El Nido, The Nest.

Casa Soleada offers outdoor living with security. The living area and palapa (coned shaped palm roof) dining area are open to the ocean breeze, but safely placed high above the garden. Since we began renting Casa Soleada in 2003, no guest has ever lost anything from this house. Not once!

Our large air conditioned bedroom, with a firm queen-size bed and beautiful wooden closets, has screened and barred windows, and unbreakable glass doors and windows.

Other features you will love about Casa Soleada include our mosaic outdoor shower off the main bath, and our bougainvillea surrounded balcony, perfect for margaritas or moon gazing.

The pretty blue tiled kitchen has an island, good cookware, and all major appliances. And Casa Soleada's colorful art and furnishings are of Mexican and South American design, enhanced by photographs of Mexico.

Sayulita is still a charming fishing village, but becoming discovered by tourists; that means we have all the services you'll be searching for. Very good shops, dozens of restaurants, cafes, excellent artists, and a wide variety of activities from Spanish lessons at the bookstore, to surfing lessons on the beach, to zip lines, horse back riding, and eco-tourism in the jungle.

If you reserve Casa Soleada for more than one week (8 nights or longer) we will send a driver to Puerto Vallarta airport to meet your flight. He'll put you and your bags in the van, take you grocery shopping, and delivery you to Casa Soleada, FREE.

Keywords: House, Casa, Casita, private home

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Cynthia Gillespie-Smith (Owner)
Member since: 1998
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

About Cynthia Gillespie-Smith

We are a retired English/American couple who "found" Sayulita in the late 90s when Cynthia ran a photography workshop in Mexico. In the year 2000, we came to Sayulita to spend the winter ~ before we left we'd bought property, contacted a wonderful local architect, and drew up plans for Casa Soleada. We spend much of each winter here ~ otherwise we travel or live in Bandol, France, where this photo was made. We also rent our house near Aix-en-Provence.

Cynthia Gillespie-Smith purchased this house in 2001

Why Cynthia Gillespie-Smith chose Sayulita

In 2000, Sayulita was a quiet and almost unknown fishing village north of the resort town, Puerto Vallarta. While we've seen a lot of changes in Sayulita, most of them are positive, and in our neighborhood, the far north end of town, life remains peaceful. We have the choice of joining in the activity of Sayulita or remaining in the calm, tropical atmosphere of our home.

What makes this house unique

We love walking in the jungle and along the beach, especially the quiet north end. From our balcony we watch humpback whales, exotic birds, and admire the extraordinary sunsets Mother Nature gives us. Then we can walk or drive into town for dinner. Evenings are busy in Sayulita ~ many shops are open and there's a special positive energy not found many places.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks for sharing your beautiful home. The art, gardens and views are all quite special. Lots of wildlife.
Jan 2010
  • 1 of 10

Reviews

5
based on 21 traveler reviews

Romantic & Private Mexican Hideaway with Salt Water Pool
average rating of 5.0 based on 31 reviews
5

What a wonderful, beautiful house in a wonderful, beautiful town

  • 5 of 5

All I can say is "perfection"! We spent 10 days here and loved every hour of every day. When you first walk into the house, the view is overwhelmingly gorgeous! Everyday when we'd come back from the beach or town and open the door, it was like going "Ah....life is good"! Taking a shower outside with a spectacular view, was heavenly. The sound of the waves was so relaxing and the sunsets were beautiful. The food in town was great (I gained 3 pounds, but so well worth it). We walked everywhere. At the bottom of the first hill, just turn to the right and enter the jungle! We will, without a doubt, go back again. Thank you so much Cynthia!

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Una hermosa casa

  • 5 of 5

We recently spent 5 nights at Casa Soleada & loved it. Cynthia was delightful to correspond with & meet, as were Ian & Ernesto. The casa is completely beautiful and the view outstanding. We were comfortable there & felt totally safe. The location away from the centre of Sayulita made for a very relaxing stay.

Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Mt. Shasta, CA
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

I just returned from 10 days at Casa Soleada. Everything was wonderful! We rented a golf cart and it was so fun! The view was our favorite part. The sound of the waves and the sunset are unbelievable. The pool is great for cooling off. Ernesto, was great at getting us everything we needed and so easy to work with. He arranged airport transportation and our golf cart. We would definately stay again. I am now back home in Northern California where it is 15 degrees this morning and planning our next visit :)

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you had fun here, Amy! You were excellent guests and we hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future! Thanks for your review!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

tree top retreat

  • 5 of 5

Casa Soleada is a lovely place to stay. Right at the edge of Sayulita so away from any noise but close enough to walk everywhere. We felt like we were hidden away in a tree top retreat with butterflies and birds popping in.

Charmingly furnished and equipped. We loved to sit and watch the sun set from the lounge area. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the view to wake up to each day was astounding. (Can I suggest some kind of blind or screen for the large patio doors as the bedroom area gets very warm when the full sun is hitting it. The curtains on the bed posts helped somewhat.). This did not in any way detract from our stay. The choice of indoor or outdoor shower was great!

We didn't cook but the kitchen appeared to be well equipped. We had no problems with insects or animals.

Pool and poolside area were lovely for days that we didn't use the beach. Great pool to dip into and cool down. Comfortable sun loungers.

Everything was to our satisfaction and we would return tomorrow if we could.

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Maggie, thanks so much for sharing your comments. Casa Soleada IS a magical little house in a recently designated "Pueblo Magico". I appreciate your comments about blinds and we are looking into this. Well, Casa Soleada is here and waiting for your return!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Surprise Birthday Get Away

  • 5 of 5

I finally got a moment to write this review.

Cynthia was amazing for taking our last minute reservation. Quick to respond to emails/questions. The location was awesome, the best sunset I've seen. We went during the peak summer heat, so we stayed in the room til sunset or leave early in the day for breakfast and lunch outings. 1-4 was siesta time in bed, or lounge in the pool to keep cool. I love how the bedroom has a view of the ocean, sunset and sunrise you can see from the room. Love the airy outdoor living space and kitchen. Everything about this place was amazing, except for the bugs, but you can't avoid the bugs in the open space. Bring your repellant.

Location is at the top of a steep hill. I was 6 months pregnant and was able to walk up and down the hill, but if you're tired get a taxi or rent a golf cart. we were there for a short period so didn't rent a cart. Maybe our next trip we will rent a cart for sure to get into town and back. It's walkable (10-15min) but not in the summer heat. We took a taxi ($5.00), get a business card for the taxi driver you like so they can pick you up to get into town or other tour area. Some taxi drivers drive like a mad man, one had a hard time driving up the steep hill, wheel spinning and slipping down the hill. Will book again!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your kind comments! Yes, the hill at the end is steep, but in our 70s we walk to the beach and back every day. Bravo for you, 6 months pregnant! Some people rent golf carts and that's a good solution because they are easy to park and have no problems on the hills. But, you know, without the hill there would not be the view! This was our consideration when we bought our lot and built Casa Soleada 15 years ago, and we've NEVER regretted it! And yes, in summer it can be a bit buggy -- this is the tropics. Fortunately the bedroom is completely screened in (also has unbreakable glass and bars for security) and is air conditioned. So glad you came. Thanks again for your comments!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco, CA USA
5

honeymoon paradise

  • 5 of 5

My newly minted husband and I stayed here after our San Francisco wedding this fall. It could not have been more relaxing and lovely after the frenzy of wedding planning. We let the property manager arrange an airport pickup for us and a golf cart to be ready for our arrival. We have decided that we really only want to travel via golf cart from now on, as we felt like a million bucks cruising around town. (we also got NO exercise on this trip, haha) The house was great, a lot of nice details, we especially enjoyed the air conditioned, bug free sleeping area (ESSENTIAL). I cannot believe how affordable our vacation ended up being. I thought I would want to cook but instead we just ate fish tacos and drank beers in town for basically every meal. I don't know if we ever spent more than about $30USD in one of our lavish outings. Tacos are $2 and that's all you really need. Highly recommended. We can't wait to come back. The house is excellent, the little pool is excellent, the outdoor shower is excellent. There were some exciting bugs and lizards and stuff but that's par for the course in a tropical area. A gecko did poop on my husband from the ceiling while we were watching a movie on his laptop. That was a highlight.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your fun review, Diana. We're thrilled that your honeymoon was exciting and that you really enjoyed Casa Soleada and Sayulita and the geckos! Yes, golf carts are an excellent option here. Congratulations on your new marriage and for choosing Casa Soleada for your honeymoon!
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

North End House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 1 2016 - Oct 1 2016
3 night minimum stay
$135
$940
$3,000
 
 
Winter
Oct 2 2016 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$145
$1,000
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $50

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

North End House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We have a safe for your valuables, including your laptops and cameras.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties