Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Butte Creek Perfect Getaway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Chateau / Country House on Butte Creek, 2500 Sq Ft, 4 Bedrooms (Sleeps 8-10)

Chico Creekfront Perfect Getaway in beautiful Butte Creek Canyon. Special discounts apply if call directly at 530-354-5353. 2500 sq ft home GREAT for family reunions, getaways or as a romantic retreat or stay. Swim with the salmon all summer in the deep hole off the back deck where 40-100 salmon stay from April to October when they spawn. Largest wild run of Chinook Salmon in California and therefore protected from fishing. Fishing is allowed mid November and anglers have pulled dozens of steelhead when fly fishing at my place. (Catch and release at that time but very fun!) Watch the salmon jump as you enjoy dinner on the deck or use the mask & snorkle to see them up close as they flutter by you. Take the sturdy stairs that lead down to some great diving rocks. There are kayaks to rent if you wish to adventure down to the historical cover bridge. It is an easy go of it but exciting and beautiful all the same. Enjoy bird watching or get lucky to see deer, quail, turkey vultures, otters or a variety of waterfowl. Listen to the creek as you soak in the tub or enjoy the hot tub on the back deck. This is truly a perfect getaway just minutes from Chico. If you love to bike, it is a perfect 7 mile ride downhill to the 6 hole golf course or bike up for a great scenic workout. This is also a historical sight and you can learn about the diamondville area in the gold rush days at the museum just 2 miles further up. There is even a mining cave on site. You may book directly and save VRBO service fee as well by calling 530-354-5353.

Keywords: Home, Getaway, piano, fishing, beach

More Details

Owner
Nancy Jensen
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 15, 2017

About Nancy Jensen

I work full time at the local community college but this getaway I bought is my true dream and renting it helps for me to afford it while continuing to work on making it even better year after year. It feeds my soul and my love of nature just minutes out of town. I go here to unwind, play with my friends and family. We ride dirt bikes on the local trails and swim with the fish. My dream is to share it with others, improve it each year and have others appreciate it as much as I do and hopefully return year after year or tell their friends.

Nancy Jensen purchased this chateau / country house in 2009

Why Nancy Jensen chose Chico

You have to come stay and you will know instantly why. It is truly natures fun world!

What makes this chateau / country house unique

Dirt biking on the local trails, swimming with the salmon, tubing, hot tubbing, kayaking, mountain bike riding, gold panning, skipping rocks, soaking up the sun, watching the wildlife, playing pool, watching a movie, playing ping pong, foosball, video games, basketball, laying in the hammock. Eating, drinking and enjoying nature, friends and family.

Guestbook comments from the owner

My first renter since offering my home in early March helped point out what could make my home a better stay. I appreciate the feedback and I believe I have made many improvements since then which I list below. My goal is to continually improve this property so you can have the best stay possible. Hope you come and enjoy this beautiful setting.

IMPROVEMENTS

* All broken deck boards replaced

* New deck supports added

* Deck newly stained

* Outbuildings Reroofed

* Garbage serviced weekly

* Pest control added

* Hammock added

* Facebook added with more pictures
Mar 2011
  • 1 of 1

Map

Sierra Nevada Brewing Company
Upper Crust Bakery
Bidwell park
Shuberts Ice Cream and Candy
Franky's
"Sausage bread...Yum!"
Italian Cottage
"Seafood lasagna a must"
Christian Michaels Ristorante
Panighetti's Eatery
Tres Hombres
Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Sacramento
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Tackle Box
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Skyway Golf
Nearest Train
15 Miles
amtrack
Nearest Motorway
11 Miles
Hwy 99
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Italian Cottage
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
On site
Car: recommended

A local historian who runs the Centerville museum is also master sportsman who can set up raft, hiking or kayaking excursions. Just call for details or I will provide contact information at the home.

Amenities

Chico Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Events Allowed
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Master bathroom has tub with creek view
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , California King, large walk in closet, adjoining bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bunk bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , trundle
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 sleep sofa /futon , 2 sleeper sofas
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 1 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
Grand Piano and guitar. Please only use if know how to play.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
31% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Butte Creek Perfect Getaway
average rating of 4.4390244 based on 42 reviews
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

my family really enjoyed swimming in the creek with salmon, trout and minnows as the dragonflies and butterflies danced overhead. 3 huge birds flew overhead all day and we saw two huge swarms of hummingbirds come through the yard. I was even fortunate enough to see a deer cross the creek. It was hot inside without AC but it's super easy to cool off in the creek and who wants to be I side with nature like that anyway. However, if you prefer the indoors there are also more amenities than one could possibly use. The creek is also perfect for rafting and the beautiful honey run bridge is so close it's a must see during your stay. I recommend you wear shoes down to the creek as the ladder was a bit hard on my bare feet. I highly recommend this place to even though I'd prefer to keep this secret amazing spot all to myself. We can't wait to come back and hope that we will be able to soon. It truly was what Nancy calls the perfect getaway

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Stay!

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I stayed here for a quick weekend getaway and loved the secluded location. There were beautiful views all around the house. There was only AC in one room so the house did get very hot, but a precarious trek down to the creek is the best way to beat the heat.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing my Getaway for your stay. You and other travelers will be happy to hear I have investing in central heat/air and it will be installed by early December. I also just purchased unlimited WIFI which was another request of travelers. Hopefully, it will be a Perfect Getaway for all who stay here on out. Please return book and enjoy an extra day free on the house. We certainly had some hot weather this year. Thanks for making the best of it!! Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

BOOK WITH CAUTION...

  • 1 of 5

The only good thing I have to say about this property is what mother nature created, not the home owner! The creek running behind the house is absolutely stunning and that is about it. When I booked the house with the homeowner no where it stated that the house had no central Air conditioning. Nothing was said until we where 10 mins away from arriving. She offered us a refund at that time but not knowing the severity of the heat in the home we declined the refund. (not to mention it would have been impossible to find something else at such short notice) After arriving to the home we only stayed one night and had to leave due to the extreme heat conditions (at night) not to mention the neighbor. She offered us a refund as long as we left the house in the condition we accepted it in. So we did! Its been over a month now and no refund at all... Not to mention she charged us $200 for the security deposit because of fabricated lies. She accused us of things we couldn't even possibly do???? Beware of the Neighbor if you want to hang out in the creek or the porch. He will video tape you the entire time just to file a complaint with the owner. Seems they already have issues with each other because she rents out the house. We have already filed a formal complaint with Home-away and in the process of disputing the charges with our credit card. I would recommend looking elsewhere.....

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I've been lucky to have respectful guests but these were not the case from the get go. 6 guests arrived when they only reserved the place for 3 people. I had them check the heat in the house and offered a refund but they said it was nice and actually cool. However, when I asked them to leave 2 1/2 days into their stay when the neighbor sent me video of them throwing beer bottles in the creek of which my neighbor pulled out 8 bottles from the bottom of the creek. They demanded a refund since it was too hot there. They used 6 beds when they said the other 3 guests were not staying. They broke the garbage can, the BBQ lid, and left dishes and food messes along with bags and bags of garbage. I sent pictures of to VRBO who almost always sides with guests. In this case they did not. I love my home and neighbors and when guests are respectful it all works out great. Sorry this one didn't.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Jose, CA
3

Most peaceful and beautiful

  • 3 of 5

Well I really loved the spot, the house is very nice, but we went during number high temperature for summer, so we were miserable in the house since there is no air conditioning, the masterroom has a widow air but we still needed to sleep with ice packs and lots of fans we didn't enjoy any other spot in the house but the kitchen patio and the swimming hole day in and out , no complains it was so beautiful we loved it out there all day, there were 5 of us . We all slept in the master during our stay. Also there is really no wifi our got turned off on our second day, because we out used our limit so we couldn't enjoy our music from our Pandora wifi very limited, cost was already up there so we decided to make the best of it.i give 5 stars to the swimming hole and 3 stars for the no air conditioned home or wifi... And want to make real clear its not easy climbing down to the water we all did okay but you got to have good knees and balance

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing my Getaway for your stay. I appreciate your feedback. I did have the ability to bring some extra units if I had known. So sorry it has been so hot with record temperatures this year. You will be happy to know I have invested in Central heating and air and it will be installed in December. I hope it will now be a Perfect Getaway and I hope you return and enjoy an extra day on the house. I also just added unlimited WIFI. Thank you again for your feedback and choosing my Getaway for your stay. Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great getaway

  • 4 of 5

Very nice house. Loved the creek. Only complain is it was Too Hot. Even with the fans running and the portable AC . Wish it had central AC. Love to go back there after AC installed. Thanks Nancy

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

It really is the "Perfect Getaway!"

  • 5 of 5

So many things to do, swim in the creek, hike, horse shoes, volleyball, basketball,   hot tub, Ping pong, movies, fuseball, play pool. The Beautiful views are breath taking!! The sound of the water and nature is so peaceful. It's the Perfect place to spend time with family and make ever lasting memories. Lots of room for everyone. There were 8 of us, 4 adults and 4 kids. Great kitchen, has everything you need to make meals, just bring food. There is even a very nice washer and dryer. This was the best place I've ever stayed for a family vacation. We can't wait to go back next year!!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $100

Owner prefers echeck payments to avoid the 2% CC charge that could increase costs and it is safer in many ways.

Basic Cleaning Requirements: Property must be left as found other than towel and linen cleaning which is included with your stay. Please leave used beds unmade and towels in tub or laundry room. Full refunds only available if reservation cancelled 30 days in advance and re-booked. Otherwise a $50 processing fee applies. Small Weddings or Events ($20 per person for additional guests not staying) 3 GB Wifi during stay for surfing and email (online gaming & streaming video will be charged at $15.00 per GB.) For additional guests, please contact owner at 530-354-5353. Pets are no longer allowed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties