Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

LONE STAR: Fire pit, Ping Pong, fun, Lake Hartwell 10 mins drive!

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

**AUGUST 2017--DUE TO A DROUGHT IN GA, OUR CABIN NO LONGER HAS DIRECT ACCESS TO THE LAKE. SO GUESTS MUST ACCESS THE LAKE AT THE NEARBY POPLAR SPRINGS BOAT RAMP, OR TUGALOO STATE PARK.**The cabin itself is still cozy and serene with a great fire pit and an away-from-it-all feel.

The nearby Lake Hartwell is perfect for kids big and small, who want to go boating, fishing, swimming, and exploring. There is room in our driveway to park your boat, if you want to bring a boat and trailer it at the end of your day on the lake. The wood cabin with 3 decks and wood stove surrounded by natural vegetation allow you to get back to nature the old fashioned way. Some other favorite activities we enjoy at the cabin are roasting marshmallows by the fire at night, catching fireflies or baby frogs (which come out by the dozens in springtime), or picking blackberries by the road if in season. If you want a break from your kids saying they are bored, then you have found the right place!

This newer vacation home has 4 bedrooms, and 2.5 baths and boasts many deck areas, indoor and outdoor living areas, granite in all bathrooms, fire pit, and lots of games and activities for adults and little ones.

It has a master on main off the kitchen, with a king bed, and adjoining master bath. Upstairs are 3 bedrooms, and one full bath. The upstairs bedrooms are: one queen bdrm, one bunk bed (twin over full) bdrm., and one bdrm. w/futon/TV/playroom. The house itself if fully equipped with wifi and satellite TV so your vacation stay will be as enjoyable as possible. Some of the extras our home offers are: a ping pong table and dart board (bring your own darts) in the unfinished basement; a game and craft armoire; Little Tykes kitchen & toys; an outside living area on the covered porch, where smoking is welcome; as well as a large fire pit for roasting s'mores outside. Bring your movies and books for a relaxing getaway from everyday life.

Eastanolee Creek, around the bend from our cove, is known for some of the best fishing in the Southeast. Within a 5-10 minute drive, you will find 3 boat launches and Tugaloo State Park on Lake Hartwell. Within a 20 minute drive you will find great antiquing, hiking, waterfalls, shops, restaurants and golf.

Dogs are welcome with prior approval and a pet fee.

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Megan Atherton
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish, Se habla Espanol.
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 15, 2018

About Megan Atherton

Megan Atherton is the property manager at Lone Star.

Why Megan Atherton chose Martin

Martin, GA is just far enough away, that one can drive it easily in under 2 hrs. from Atlanta, but feel like you are really getting away from the city. The house gives people the mountain feel, with the bonus of a nearby lake to enjoy.

What makes this house unique

Fall is a fun time to spend at the cabin with cooler weather, bonfires, and the leaves changing colors. Access to Lake Hartwell can be through Tugaloo State Park about 10 mins away, or Poplar Springs boat launch. There is room to trailer a boat in our driveway.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Megan,

We LOVED your cabin! The location was absolutely perfect for my 30th birthday weekend-getaway. The back porch was great for drinking coffee and catching up with friends and family. The firepit was just what I was looking for - some warmth on a chilly October night, and a great setting for playing some guitar and singing songs. We played a few good games of ping pong, and had an absolute blast taking the pedal boat out on the water. I don't think we could stop laughing on that pedal boat :) THANK YOU SO MUCH!
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 1


Martin House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake ...
  • Rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , + adjacent laundry closet with stack washer/dryer
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Bathroom 1 inside master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upstairs bathroom in hallway, shared by all upstairs bdrms
  • 2.5 baths
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master on main
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Upstairs Queen bedroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , The upstairs bunk bedroom has a twin bed over a full bunkbed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Den with TV and double futon
  • King size beds (1) Master, Queen size Beds (1) Upstairs bedroom, Baby Cribs (1) Pack n play, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Futon in upstairs den bedroom, Bunk Beds (1) Twin over full bunk bed
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Pedal Boat
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
We are located on the upper quiet end of the Eastanolee Creek, which feeds into Lake Hartwell. Within a short 5-8 minutes drive, you will find 3 separate public access and boat launch areas on Lake Hartwell--Poplar Springs, Holcolm Access, and Bruce Creek. Harbor Light Marina is nearby if you would like to rent a boat for the day. Tugaloo State Park is also within a 10 minute drive of the house, and it has sandy beaches, picnic areas, and swimming areas. Sometimes the water level drops very low, to where you may not be able to get a boat to our dock. Lake Hartwell is not a constant level lake and we cannot guarantee that our dock will have water under it at all times. There have been times that we have little or no water under our dock. Please verify water levels on the Lake Harwell website, if water depth is critical to your vacation, you may want to consider another cabin. Even without water, the cabin is still a quiet, tranquil place to relax.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
19% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
LONE STAR: Fire pit, Ping Pong, fun, Lake Hartwell 10 mins drive!
average rating of 4.483871 based on 32 reviews

Warning-Do Not Stay Here

  • 1 of 5

Worst stay and host ever! I booked this lake house for my wife and kids to enjoy a nice and relaxing long Labor Day weekend. We arrived on Friday and ended up leaving the next day. Here are the reasons why: 1. The house had a horrible pet waste odor. So bad that my child's allergies flared up. The smell was so bothersome and made the stay uncomfortable for all of us. You could tell how bad the smell was once we left the house because it was all over our clothes. 2. There was animal waste on the rug in the master bedroom along with beetles on the bed and floor. We didn't sleep on the bed due to that. 3. There were dirty bowls in the kitchen. Pots and pans need to be replaced as they were pretty old and banged up. 4. Unmanicured grounds- Cobb webs, spiders and leaves covered the deck. Lawn care was needed as the grass looked as though it wasn't mowed in forever. We couldn't even use the fire pit outback. We messaged Megan in regards to the issues but didn't hear back from her until days later. Her response was basically that there was nothing wrong with the house except that she'll have the housekeeper address the Cobb webs. She discredited our concerns and did not acknowledged them. I messaged her again and asked for a reimbursement but she never responded. What a disappointment is was especially for my kids. I can't believe the money I paid for a busted vacation! Never again!!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tim, I did respond promptly to your complaints. Here is my cut/pasted response to you: Hi Tim, I'm sorry to hear that. I rent frequently and I've never had anyone complain about pet waste odor. I spoke with housekeeping and they said the house was cleaned as always prior to your arrival. The only problem they had was that it was pouring with rain prior to your arrival, so they couldn't blow the deck off. They send me pictures after each cleaning, and the only dishes in the island were the large bowls that we store there. We also have regular pest control, so you should see only dead bugs if they make it inside. They said there was something fuzzy stuck to the bedroom doormat, but it was not poop. I will have her address the cobwebs; those crop up quickly. Thank you, Megan Sep 4, 2017 You agreed to the rental agreement, which states, if you encounter something that does not meet your satisfaction at the cabin, you must take pictures and text them to me, and give me the opportunity to see & fix the issue. Leaving, canceling, shortening your stay without giving us the opportunity to see or fix the issues shall have no refund. I could have easily have sent the housekeeper back over, to address your concerns; or have had the yard guy go as soon as the rain stopped, but you never gave me the opportunity. Also, you are the first ever to complain about a pet waste odor. I have 2 nice reviews from August, that make no mention of this smell. Furthermore, the home has all hardwood floors and 2 of the area rugs, in great room and in upstairs den, were recently replaced, so are fairly new. The "poop" that you mention on the exterior door mat outside the master sliding door was not poop. It was a piece of long shag from the former shag rug that was in the great room. The pans are professional grade Calphalon. They may not be pretty, but they are excellent pans. There are some other, more beaten up odds and end pans that we leave for cooking outside on the fire, or for on the grill, but you don't have to use these. Lastly, you canceled your original reservation just days before you were to arrive, due to a death in the family. To be nice, I offered for you to move your reservation to any open dates within one year's time. Per policy, I did not have to do this and you should've forfeited the whole amount at that time. But, I was trying to be accommodating, & in the end, you complain bitterly and still request a refund. I'm very sorry.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect for what we needed, minus the water

  • 4 of 5

We has a small group of friends wanting to get out of town for the weekend. The house was very clean and cozy. Plenty of space and plenty of comfortable areas for our group to spend time together and eat. We very much enjoyed our stay. The only expectation we had that did not come true was actually getting to be on the water. There was no water and had not been water at this location for quite some time it appears. That is certainly not the owners fault. We really did enjoy our stay. If there is water here in the future, we could imagine returning. Thanks to the owners for great communication about the place and the security deposit return. You have a nice home here.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

nice and peaceful place for family vacation

  • 5 of 5

we enjoyed our stay. The house is nice and has a beautiful porch that my family enjoyed, so peaceful and quiet. Megan, the owner is really nice. She made our stay more comfortable. i would definitely recommend this place.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Maria, Thank you for your lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit! We'd love to have you return for another visit! Best of luck to you in the meantime, Megan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good stay

  • 4 of 5

This cabin is so cute and I love the back porch. My only complaint was it was not cleaned when we arrived. The shower had globs of hair in it, there were smudges on the fridg, and the big back porch was filthy and had not been touched by cleaning staff. So, I spent quite a bit of time doing the cleaning lady's job, while she got the cleaning fee. We were allowed to checkout late, and that was much appreciated.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great setup to bad the lake was down would have loved to fish, but the cabin was beautiful!

  • 4 of 5

Would definitely stay again or recommend to friends and family.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Paul for your review! We welcome you back anytime! Many thanks, Megan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

Property has not been very well kept as the current pictures show. The "well stocked" kitchen is not very well stocked as the pots and pans are very weathered from abuse and need replacing. The housekeeping was terrible! My wife and I had to take a whole day of our vacation to clean old food out of the refrigerator and clean it. The cabinets had old, opened foods that had to be separated from our foods we brought. The bed sheets did not look as if they had been washed. There were clumps of hair on them upon inspection.The outside "screened Porch" is not screened and the shades were not operable. Bore bees and wasps were taking over the porch area. The grills were inoperable, dirty, and weren't kept covered. I had to take time to fix one of the grills in order to attempt to salvage our stay with an operable grill. The overall area on the grounds has much poison ivy and needs to be sprayed asap! Even the smoker next to the firepit has poison ivy growing up the side of it! This house is not very well maintained by the owners. We left early and when unpacking at home, noticed roaches in our bags! We called to get reimbursements on the property which helped, but I still can't believe I spent this amount of money for a busted vacation!! Never again at this property!!!

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow John! Thank you for the rudest review ever! Interesting that I have 2 lovely reviews at the end of April, but you claim my house went off the rails 14 days later. My home does not have a screened porch, nor do I advertise it as such. It has a covered front porch and covered back porch, but no screens. It is a challenge to keep carpenter bees off porches during carpenter bee season, but we do try. As we discussed when you called to complain about the fridge, pans (and spatula), my home has a complete set of Calphalon professional grade aluminum pans that any chef would be happy to cook on. My housekeeper did forget to clean out the few things left behind in the fridge from the previous weekend's guests, prior to your arrival, but she is adamant that she cleaned the sheets and the whole house prior to your arrival. I have used her for more than a year and not changing the sheets/not cleaning would be very uncharacteristic of her. She now sends me thorough photos of each room after each make ready to have no room for dispute. I sincerely apologized that you were so dissatisfied the day after check in, & thus, you were given a choice to leave for a full refund. I also told you that if you stayed, I would refund your cleaning fee for the inconvenience, and that I would reimburse you for any items that you felt you needed to make your stay more comfortable like new spatula, a few new pans, etc. You guys then decided to stay if I also refunded one night. You chose to stay, & got your refund, and now I'm not sure why you did if everything was so very bad. We treat the house regularly with pest control and you are the first to complain of roaches. I, myself, certainly would not have chosen to stay in a place that was so overrun with roaches, that they poured out of my bag when I got home.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Car: necessary

Martin, Hartwell Lake, Northeast Mountains, Georgia, USA (1.5 Hrs. from Atlanta; 3 Hrs. to Charlotte & Asheville, NC) -- Lone Star Cabin is located at the end of a private gravel street on the upper end of the Eastanolee Creek which feeds into Lake Hartwell in North Georgia. The Eastanolee Creek is known for some of the best fishing in the Southeast. Within a 15 minute drive you will find great antiquing, hiking, waterfalls and golf.




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
2nd pet fee incl. tax $80.25 + Tax
CleanFee(up to 8 guests) $125 + Tax
Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

Wkends in spring/summer have 2 night min. Holiday wkends have 3 nt. min.

Tax is charged on all rates, pet fees, clean fees, & extra person fees. Groups >8 require an extra $50 added to the cleaning fee and may require additional damage deposit. There is an extra charge per extra guest above 8 guests. Minimum age to rent is 25 years old.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.