check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

June 4th-11th open-Steps to the Beach, Pool Table, Kayak, Bikes

Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Florida Panhandle Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Welcome to our place at the beach: Double Chillin'. Located 2 1/2 shady blocks from the ocean on a peaceful little street called Georgia Ave. We are situated at the end of Mexico Beach off 3rd street which has private dedicated beaches. No homes or condos on the beach here, just wide open sand, surf and the occasional seagull. Many times you will be the only one on the beach. So if you are looking for a peaceful, quiet getaway, YOU FOUND IT!

Double Chillin' is our 1700 sq feet,three bedroom, two bath modular home/beach getaway. With its 3 large bedrooms, enormous eat-in kitchen and oversized great room, Double Chillin' can accomodate up to eight people comfortably. Enjoy the use of a double Sea kayak, bikes, pool table or extensive reading library during your stay. From the tropical decor to the well appointed accomodations, Double Chillin' is the PERFECT rental for your beach vacation!

Situated on the Gulf of Mexico within the Florida Panhandle is the quaint, seaside town of Mexico Beach. A three mile stretch of uncrowded, sugar-white sands and clear, tropical waters, this laid-back community is a great place to escape from your busy schedule. You'll not find any high-rises, traffic lights or fast food chains here. Mexico Beach is the perfect backdrop for relaxing, sunning, fishing, or just hangin' out with loved ones making memories that last a lifetime

Click on the link below to our has many more pictures of Double Chillin' and great ideas about how to get the most out of your visit to Mexico Beach.

Keywords: Beach Cottage, Rental, Vacation, Beach, Ocean, Travel

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Cindy Wilson (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Cindy Wilson

After a vacation in 2005 Chris and I knew we wanted to return to the laid-back life of Mexico Beach. So in 2007, we decided to make Double-Chillin' our beach get-away.

Having vacationed in many beach towns, we fell in-love with the white sandy beaches, tropical blue waters and unhurried, uncrowded 3 mile stretch of paradise. Whether we were sunning, swimming, exploring, fishing or dining, we knew there was nowhere like Mexico Beach!

Cindy Wilson purchased this cottage in 2007

Why Cindy Wilson chose Florida Panhandle

Best Beaches, Best Fishing, Best Seafood, Quiet and Tropical, Nightlife available.....There is nowhere like Mexico Beach!

What makes this cottage unique

Our favorite fishing captain is Mitch Coleman with FloriDaze fishing charters, he is knowledgeable, fun and we always score a ton of fish.

Kayak to crooked island.

Bike ride the3+ miles of new concrete bike paths along the beach perfect transporation for dining and shopping.

Most of all we love the sunsets at Mexico Beach and the quiet gentle ocean breeze on our screened front porch.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)
June 4th-11th open-Steps to the Beach, Pool Table, Kayak, Bikes
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 36 reviews

What a great place!

  • 5 of 5

The house was nice and roomy, had everything we needed. Mexico beach is just beautiful! We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you loved it! You guys were great and left Double Chillin better than you found it-Can't wait for you to come back and vaca with us! Chris and Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newport, TN

Not what we expected

  • 2 of 5

We recently stayed here June 11-18 2016. When we arrived after a 10 hour trip, our bladders were ready to explode!! To my surprise , the first bathroom I went in was dirty. The toilet looked like it hadn't been cleaned. Thankfully, the second bathroom was clean. The covered parking was not available. It had a Jeep under it and kayaks on a trailer. The TV in the living room did not work. We actually spoke to the maintenance man,who called the owner, but we never got a response back from either. The pictures on the website definitely need to be updated! Most definitely not like the pictures in the description. The shed has a rusted nail for the lock. The tub in the master bathroom took over a hour to fill up. The other tub wouldn't drain good. Outside, beside the grill layed a hacksaw. Luckily the kids didn't go around there to play. This was most definitely not what we had expected. We will not stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Renters, I am so sorry our little cottage was not up to your liking. This is the first "not so great" review we have received at Double Chllin' since renting with VRBO since 2009 and are surprised you have posted negative review after we spent time emailing answers to your multiple questions about the closest walmart, the wi-fi, the closest church and resending the rental agreement. I will speak with my housekeeper about the bathroom, I am sorry you felt it wasn't clean. Hacksaw by the grill, we don't own one, landscapers? The Tub took an hour to fill up? hmmmm, we are here now, no problems. Covered parking? the kayak trailer is super easy to move to create parking Updated pictures? you are right we should update pictures to show the new furniture, new carpet, new roof, new light fixtures, new sinks, new plantation blinds, etc. We will consider all your comments and make any reasonable adjustments.Thank you again for renting with us, we apologize it was not up to your expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great cottage with the comforts of home and close to the beach!

  • 5 of 5

We visited Double Chillin during spring break, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage is beautifully decorated, clean, fully stocked with kitchen items needed for cooking or grilling, and provides a relaxing atmosphere with plenty of entertainment from the billiards table, video games, beach toys, bikes and more! The owners were wonderful to work with and very accommodating. We will definitely be back the next time we visit!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great place.

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was well stocked with what you will need. the master bed is quite comfy. There is plenty of towels,even beach towels.The pool table is a fun way to pass the time on rainy days but there are not to many of those in Florida.I would say this a wonderful place for a family vacation. Cindy was always prompt in her replies and easy to work with.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A Great House for Families

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a week at Double Chillin and loved it! It's such a comfortable and welcoming place at the beach. There was plenty of room for our family of 6. My husband and I loved hanging out on the screened porch in the mornings and the evenings. The house was clean and well-stocked with all the essentials. The beds were comfortable, there were plenty of towels, and we enjoyed having a tv in each room. It was great having 4 adult bikes (we rented two kids' bikes from a local place down the road), and we enjoyed riding around the peaceful neighborhood streets most nights. The bike ride to the pier around 37th Avenue was a bit long for the 7 year olds, but doable (we only did it once). We loved being able to walk or drive to the beach. It was really convenient to be able to park right next to the walkover. The beaches are so beautiful and remarkably uncrowded. We tried several restaurants and enjoyed them all, including Mango Marley's, Killer Seafood, 40th Street Pizza, Indian Pass Raw bar, and Mr. G's food truck. The kids' favorite was Toucan's, with its playground on the beach and excellent grilled cheese sandwiches and chicken fingers. :) It was convenient to be able to walk there from beach.We also made a nightly stop at Tommy T's for air hockey and ice cream. Finally, Dewana was extremely helpful whenever we had any questions. She was very prompt and responsive with the wifi password and helped us with a question about the shed key on the day of our arrival. Great customer service! We loved Mexico Beach and will definitely come back to Double Chillin.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Loved Double Chillin'!

  • 5 of 5

We felt right at home as soon as we arrived! It has everything - we literally wanted for nothing in the kitchen or whole house! The kids loved the pool table, and we loved the beaches! My teenager had his own room, as did my 11/year-old. Very comfy beds; great to have laundry available; used the grill, stove (electric), oven and microwave all week! Loved Gulf Foods! Owners are very nice and easy to reach with questions...a wonderful place to stay!

  • Submitted: May 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Mexico Beach
Killer Seafood
Mango Marley's
Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Toucans, Lookout Lounge
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Public, Airforce
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Mexico Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Mexico Beach Fishing Pier
Nearest Point of Interest
Crooked Island
Nearest Point of Interest
Toucans Beachside Restaurant
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Mexico Beach Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Fall and Winter
Oct 1 - Mar 30
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Internet $20
Cleaning $85

Rentals are from Saturday to Saturday only, except in Fall and Winter.
$25 per person one-time fee for parties over 6.
Maximum occupancy 8.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Florida Panhandle Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Master bath has garden tub and enclosed shower, double vanity.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1) Affectionally referred to as the 'Buddah Bed', extra large pillow top King with ceiling fan is a perfect way to relax. Large masterbath with Garden Tub., Queen size Beds (1) Pillow Top, Double Beds (2) Tommy Hillfiger Surf Room, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Water Sports Gear
  • 1 bicycles
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Double Kayak, Bikes, Large lightweight beach buggy perfect for pulling fishing gear and beach stuff, Beach toys/floats/towels, Large Gas Grill, Fire pit, Covered parking, Pool table, Garden tub in masterbath, 400 sq foot screened porch/lanai, beautiful tropical decorations throughout.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties