Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Relax, Refresh, Renew...Waterfront Cottage...Near Williamsburg

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-6)

Enjoy the breathtaking views from anywhere in this brand new Waterfront Cottage. You can watch the sunrise from the King Master Suite - Bedroom as well as the sunset!! Great escape from the city as this waterfront cottage is just a short drive from Williamsburg, Richmond and Northern VIrginia. Find tranquility in the country on the Ware River (off the Mobjack Bay). Embrace the peace and quiet as you partake in the beauty of nature all around you. The cottage has been described as a 'Mini Westin'. Upscale and the perfect retreat for those seeking solitude. Enjoy the screened in porch and rock away you cares.... Share the comfy rocking chairs with someone special as you watch the sunrises, sunsets and the wonderful moonlit nights! WE JUST ADDED TWO KAYAKS AND A CANOE!!!!!!!!!

Keywords: Secluded Waterfront Cottage, Near Williamsburg, Near Golf Courses, Boating, Beach, Waterview, Waterfront, Private, Peaceful, Quiet, Beach Home

More Details

Owner
Shannon French
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
June 28, 2017

About Shannon French

When I was 27 years old, I decided to sell real estate. Shortly after at the age of 29, I decided to open my own brokerage, Southern Trade Realty (Oct. 2006 so you do the math to see how old I am now)! I quickly learned to combine my passion for designing, creating and decorating to another level. I started to invest in real estate at a very young age, and I am still very passionate about it. I really enjoy getting to know my guests and proud to say I now have repeat buisness. I concentrate on making sure my guests are happy and I take pride in the comfort of my properties and of course, the decor has to be just right. Feel free to call me Shannon 804-815-1912.

Shannon French purchased this cottage in 2010

Why Shannon French chose Tidewater & Hampton Roads

This area is where I personally grew up. I remember the days on the river at a very young age. I fished, crabbed, learned how to swim, relax, kayak, explore and I am still enjoying all of this today with my family and friends.

What makes this cottage unique

Pictures cannot even describe this property (many of our guests say this once they arrive). It is one of the most serene places to be. Listening to the waves crash up against the rocks at night, taking a nap in the hammock on a warm summer afternoon, to watching the Osprey on the river, there is not a better place to enjoy nature at it's best. It is all at your fingertips.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for the pleasant and memorable stay. We love your cozy cottage. Our second stay is as good experience as the first one. See you next year. Happy New Year!
Dec 2012
  • 1 of 47

Amenities

Williamsburg Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bedroom Bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1) sleeper sofa (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 bicycles
  • 2 beach chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

Relax, Refresh, Renew...Waterfront Cottage...Near Williamsburg
average rating of 4.911111 based on 92 reviews
5

CLEARVIEW is CLEARLY Amazing !!!

  • 5 of 5

I have just returned home after a delightful eight night stay at CLEARVIEW. I invited my parents to join me to celebrate my Father's 73rd birthday and my parents 53rd wedding anniversary. WOW, what a hidden gem of a property. I'm convinced that when you look up relaxation in the dictionary a lovely image of this wonderful little cottage appears. As you approach the cottage the amazing water views immediately set the tone for what will be a fabulous visit. Ever so quaintly decorated and a kitchen well equipped for any dinner party with family and friends. Gosh, the grill, the hot tub, outside waterside dining all made for great moments with my parents. The private pier was amazing. All you need is a chair and an icy "libation" to enjoy the constant breeze from the bay and the view that seems to never end. The screened in porch was perfect for day time lounging and night time chats without the threat of a coastal bug ruining the moment ! AHHH, the daily sounds of the waves crashing against the stone wall only added to the serenity. The small beach is amazing . Pull up a chair, grab a kayak, and enjoy the water !!! Shannon, our host for the week was AWESOME !!! She was always available to answer any questions and shared interesting trivia about the area. We had many wonderful conversations with Shannon as we flagged her down while she was walking around. Great sense of humor....we all loved the candid chats ! Thank you Shannon. Remember, you see the cottage as your little piece of heaven.....and I see it as the entire pie !!! Truly wonderful !! We will definitely return. I have already shared the photos with friends who are ready to experience CLEARVIEW ! Looking at my calendar now !!!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful & relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Just what we wanted - time away in the quiet to rest and relax. Beautiful surroundings and wonderful accommodations! I highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gloucester,VA
5

Outstanding!

  • 5 of 5

I love staying at 'Clearview". It has become one of my families favorite places to rest and relax. The cottage is well appointed with everything thing you need to relax. We have stayed so many times, that we have been able to experience the upgrades and changes over the last few years. New hot tub, dock and SmartTV with Netflix have made this retreat an even better deal! We have already picked out dates for our next stay. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax and renew, this cottage is a must!

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

We loved the waterfront cottage.

  • 5 of 5

It was serene, clean and relaxing. The views were amazing!! The cottage had everything you would need for a great vacation. We definitely will be back.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

We are an active family of four (kids' ages are 14 and 11); this was a fantastic house to come home to after days spent touring Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown, and Busch Gardens. We loved our stay here. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The views are amazing!

  • 3 of 5

Unfortunately the views do not compensate the experience we had with this property. When we first arrived the home had a very over powering bleach smell so you would think everything would be clean... ( we had to open all the windows to air it out) Both bathrooms had hair in them and the toilets needed to be re-wiped down. I tried to use the vacuum and it was so clogged it wouldn't even work... We went to use the oven and the previous renters must have burnt a pizza in the oven as the entire main floor was filled with smoke... (not sure why the smoke detectors didn't go off) the bed on the main floor was broken so they came down and pried wood under the frame to level it off...that evening we tried to watch a show with our kids in the master and the tv didn't work... ( their house is behind the rental )they must have know the tv was broken as they had a new one... however it wasn't till the following evening they dropped it off,and thhe kicker was it was in the box not even put together... I had to tell them to bring a screw driver for me to put it together... then To top it off I had to email them to get my security deposit back almost 2 weeks later...others gave this place a 5 star mine is stretching at a 3 star as we vacation twice a year and this house has potential however the lack of ownership is quite evident.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well, well, well I'm not surprised Mr. Robert P. has left his opinion online! Please remember I don't care how flat you get a pancake, it is always gonna have 2 sides to it!! The home had a renter check-out the day you arrived, so yes I knew about the TV because they broke it. I went out that day and purchased one. I worked all day and by the time I had arrived home, you had already checked in. When you called to tell me about the TV, I had explained to you what happened. I then proceeded to say "My husband will be happy to come down and put it together and your response was "I can do it, since I'm on vacation". I didn't think putting 4 screws and 3 cable wires was such a big deal, since the new TV's only take 5mins to put together. The smoke detector didn't go off because obviously the smoke wasn't that bad. Since there is one in the kitchen area and one near the hallway! The cleaner said she cleaned the oven the best she could with the time she had left. We were unaware of the bed being broken, so again my husband came down within 5mins of you texting me to address the issue and fixed it the best he could at 8:00 pm since we do not keep spare bed frames on hand. Yes you got your security deposit back within 14 days, which is disclosed to you at the time you reserve the property and you are reminded on your check-in/check-out instructions again of when your SD will be refunded! Future renters beware, you will get your security deposit back within the timeframe of 14 days! Mr. Robert P. is just one of those renters that comes along every couple of years and no matter what you do, it will not make him happy!! So, I continue to pray for Mr. Robert P. that he will one day enjoy the simple things in life and all of God's beauty instead of focusing on one small child's hair found in the shower! I absolutely take pride in my investment homes and I have 100's of reviews to prove it with all of the homes we rent out!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Williamsburg Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 3 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$250
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable