Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Property Manager

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Relax in Spacious Pasadena Foothills Home with Spas/Gym/Patios/Gardens/Hiking

23 Reviews
Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalize payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Los Angeles County House Rental Photos and Description

4+ Bedrooms,6 beds(4-Queen;1 Twin; 1 Queen sofa bed) 3-1/2 baths,sleeps 9

Spacious home for vacationing, family get-togethers, graduations, weddings, or executive retreats/getaways. Background is the Angeles National Forest with trails for nature lovers ony minutes away yet quick access to Pasadena and LA County activities.

Accommodations: 4,000 sq. ft. Home, 4 Bedrooms, Family/Entertainment Room which has a sofa bed

(5th bed) and 1 twin, Indoor Gym, Large Living Room with 2 Outdoor Brick Patios, 3.5 Bath, Breakfast Room, Kitchen, Library/Dining Room, Large Backyard Deck overlooking Gazebo with Mountain View, 6'x6' outdoor spa surrounded by Olive and Oak Trees, Circular Brick Driveway, Garage (not available). (Sleeps up to 11).

An excellent, comfortable, and convenient location to launch a vacation, wedding quests, small special events, a temporary business stay, or a relocation effort. Approximately 3 miles from the Rose Bowl or 4 miles from Pasadena Old Town with local bus transportation and Pasadena shuttles nearby.

Rose Garden, Fruit Trees, Walking Paths, Relaxing Seating Spots

LARGE HOME TO RELAX IN: Great Pasadena suburb (Altadena) location in the San Gabriel Mountain foothills. Renovated Kitchen and bathrooms with large, open feeling. French doors and ceiling fans throughout house. One wood burning fireplace, 2 gas fireplaces. Large 1-1/2 acre property surrounded by oaks, 52 olive trees, pines, fruit trees, white rose garden, California natives. Hardwood floors, tile and carpet throughout. Close to grocery markets, shopping centers, the Goldline Light rail, 210/134/710 freeway, Rose Bowl, New Years Rose Parade, Brookside/Altadena/Hastings Ranch golf courses. Snuggled close to the beautiful San Gabriel Valley Mountain Range with hiking and biking trails and a 30-ft. Waterfall in Mallard Canyon a short walk away. Occasional deer sightings. You can hear coyotes and sometimes see small flying bats in the tranquility of the night. Rose garden available for cuttings. Indoor Jacuzzi in the master bedroom and a 6 person outdoor spa to sooth the night away.

OUTDOOR LIFE/HOUSE AMENITIES ARE WAITING FOR YOU: Granite counter tops in the kitchen and breakfast room which overlooks a former canyon wash. Walk-in closets, lots of entertainment rooms for music, recreation, exercise, or just plan relaxing. Extensive library of science fiction, romance, professional books (legal, engineering, real estate, sociology, poli sci, economics). Great neighborhood with lots of walking areas to the park, to the foothills, and through the neighborhood. Lots of evening and early morning walkers, horseback, and bike riders. Local pool, picnic areas, equestrian ring, tennis courts, basketball gym, children's playground less then 1/2 mile away.

CONVENIENT TO SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA ACTIVITIES: Many amenities within a mile (grocery, gym, dining, library, community center, local shopping).

Approximate distances: 3 min from Angeles National Forest and Mallard Camp ground/waterfall, 5-15 minutes to Altadena Lincoln Crossing shopping center/gym, downtown Altadena, La Canada shopping area, Old Town Pasadena Restaurants, shops and theatres, The Jet Propulsion Laboratory, The Rose Bowl, Altadena golf club, Hastings Ranch Golf, Brookside Golf, Norton Simon Museum, Rose Bowl Aquatics Center, Rose Bowl Football Stadium and Pasadena Corporate offices (Parsons, Avery Dennison, Jacob Engineering, Kaiser, etc.), California Institute of Technology, Art Center School of Design, Pasadena City College, Fuller Theological Seminary, Occidental College, the Huntington Library, the Huntington Hospital and the Metro Goldline Light Rail.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Property Manager (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Property Manager

We like to travel and decided to make this into a vacation spot at home with lush low maintenance landscaping and modern upgrades. When in Southern California, this becomes our vacation home.

Why Property Manager chose Los Angeles County

This large property is spacious with modern amenities for today's living. The Altadena/Pasadena area prides itself on historical homes and this home maintains the feel of openness with modern features.

What makes this house unique

Privacy, many patios for outdoor activities, beautiful views of the San Gabriel Mountains, and close to the National Forest to take a nice hike at all levels of desired activity. Spacious grounds can easily accommodate a small wedding party.

Reviews

4.1
based on 23 traveler reviews

Relax in Spacious Pasadena Foothills Home with Spas/Gym/Patios/Gardens/Hiking
average rating of 4.0869565 based on 23 reviews
5

Beautiful Home in Altadena

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home in Altadena with plenty of space for a large group. Close to Pasadena and with no issues getting around. Wonderful stay, would come again.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was a 2 day overnight stay for a wedding with 11 people. The house is a very good match for such an occasion and supports small dinner parties. Wedding accommodations are always welcome.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Poorly managed, no power, dead mouse in hot tub.

  • 1 of 5

The property was fine. It's in a quiet neighborhood near the mountains. Lots of parking, a very big, interesting house.

But really, none of it matters when the property is so severely mismanaged. The manager, Eric MacCalla, does an extremely poor job, and is extremely hard to contact and work with.

The property was not properly cleaned before us. There was a dead mouse disintegrating in the hot tub--there for days and days. The electricity was shut off for 24 hours because the owner did not pay the electricity bill. We found four contact numbers--none of them worked, we eventually got in contact via email.

In the end, we only got a one day refund for all of our trouble, despite a night with no electricity (we had to work but could not), being unable to use the hot tub (a key reason we chose this property; if you think we went in there after they fished out the "mouse" and filled it with chemicals, you're crazy), and the big trouble trying to get the owner to do anything about these.

not only that, but it took the owner months to give the refund, and I had to contact him via phone or email at least 5 times to get it done. When "no funds are available", you should take the time to contact the person you own, not silently hope that he'll forget that you owe money for your really, really, terrible service and attitude..

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is from a stay last year during mid summer. We addressed the concerns last year and even issued a one day refund to make up for the inconvenience. Almost a year later, the guest feels the need to submit this. The issues are addressed as follows: The electricity is on automatic pay with SCE. For some reason they did not pull payment. This resulted in electricity shut off the day of arrival. We notified SCE immediately after notification. SCE recognized the mistake and turned it on immediately. We tried many times to contact the guest who was attending a conference and had to leave messages. We finally reached the guest, discussed the situation, and assured him that the electricity would be on when they returned from the conference. At the time the guest was satisfied with the solution. The property borders the Angeles National Forest. As a result, we get visits from the woods, including field mice, especially in August. Treatment is done annually around August and is very successful. The spa has a plastic/foam cover and nothing can get into it unless removed. Apparently it was removed at some time and had a visitor. On notice, housekeeping came to the property, removed the rodent, sanitized the spa with bromide, and let it run. Bromide is a strong chemical used as an effective odorless chorine. Tests verified that it did sanitize the water. Typical temperature use is at 100 degrees which further kills bacteria in the water. Psychologically this unwanted visitor was not good and we can understand why they did not want to use it. But everything was clean and sanitized. My cell phone was provided and many attempts were made to reach the guest. The company policy is to issue refunds within 14 days of departure. This stay was July 21-26. Homeaway records show that the $750 security deposit was forwarded to their account in August. Additional $381 (one day stay) compensation was made to make up for the night without lights (they arrived around 10pm and had to sleep through the night without lights) and the rodent incident. This additional refund over and above the security deposit was issued in November as funds became available. We pride ourselves on responsiveness and feel bad about this unfortunate incident. We hoped that immediate response and additional compensation was adequate. Seven months later, we find that it is not. All we can do is respond and correct unexpected situations to the best of our ability.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

acceptable

  • 3 of 5

Beautiful location and property that accommodated out gathering well. Hot tub wonderful. Owner easy to work with. The house is not well maintained, (peeling paint,) and was a bit dirty. Worn furniture some which was threadbare, very cluttered. Brick walkways very uneven thus fall were a concern for the older people.

  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The interior paint is relatively new. The exterior is scheduled for paint this year. Due to the weather and trees, some of the white paint needs remediation. The walkway and driveway are brick. The driveway is very flat due to cars driving on it. The walkway may need to be made more even which will be done in conjunction with our lighting upgrade project this year. The front living room couches have throw pillows recently recovered. They are scheduled to be retightened. The remainder of the furniture will be reviewed for remediation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing property!!!

  • 5 of 5

This beautiful home was just perfect for our group. There were 8 of us and we fit comfortably. The kitchen was amazing and all the rooms were comfortable and spacious. I would absolutely recommend this place and the Altadena Estates renting company for any future stays in the area! Just perfection!

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The occasion was housing guests from a very large wedding. Wedding was at another location. We welcome arrangements like this. The house fits in very well for small dinner parties under 25 people in this residential neighborhood.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Spacious quiet home

  • 4 of 5

The home was very spacious with ample room for 10 of us. This was my first time using vrbo and Eric was quick to respond to help me thru the process of making the reservation. The location was close to a family wedding we attended in nearby Sierre Madre.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The house accommodated guest for a nearby wedding. The house is very spacious with lots of kitchen/dining room/open space/patio areas for a memorable event. We welcome wedding guests and small dinner parties.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The home was perfect for our needs

  • 5 of 5

The grounds were lovely. We had 10 people sharing the house, and there was plenty of room.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guests were here for a college graduation. Glad everything worked out well. We welcome guests for important personal events.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Huntington Library Art Collections and Botanical Gardens
Pasadena Playhouse
Santa Anita Park
Pasadena Tournament Of Roses
Kabuki Japanese Restaurant
Buca di Beppo
Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Burbank
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Lake Avenue
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
Lomg Beach
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Brookside/Altadena/Hastings Ranch
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Union Station
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
134/210
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Lake Ave
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Mt. Waterman
Nearest Beach
40 Miles
Santa Monica
Car: recommended

The property is located at the base of the Angeles National Forest. It is 30 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of downtown LA, 15 minutes from Old Town Pasadena, 5 minutes from hiking and horse trails, and easy access to freeways to visit vacation spots of Los Angeles/Orange County.

Other Activities: Loma Alta Park has equestrian ring, tennis courts, full gym, pool, kids park, family picnic park,

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pasadena House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Standard pricing
2 night minimum stay
$385
From
$450
Fri,Sat
$2,250
$8,100
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $750
Cleaning $150

Rent due at acceptance of application. Security/cleaning fee due 30 days before move-in. This is a residential neighborhood and can accommodate small events with up to 25 people (weddings, receptions, parties, etc.). Fall and winter rate flat at $321/day. Ideal for 6 or more people over rooms at a hotel. Rate is for up to 11 people. Over 11 is an additional $30/person-day. Cleaning fee:$150.
NEW YEARS: We do not charge extra for the Rose Bowl/New Years stay. Due to the high demand, we require a 6-7 day stay at the weekly rate for this period. Longer periods are encouraged. This typically books 1 year in advance.

We require an application and approval. We do not participate in BOOK IT NOW and any declinations should be ignored.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Los Angeles County House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Town ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bedroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Double sinks
    Guest Room - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Family Room - toilet , Sink
    Jack & Jill Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower , Double Sinks shared with Reading/Computer Room
  • Relax in MBR indoor Jacuzzi or shower in the modernized shower with stationary shower head, hand sprayer and/or jets in this multi-combination enclosed shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Reading Room - 1 queen
    Guest Room - 1 queen
    Family Room - 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Large Family room w/Queen Sofa bed
    Computer Room - 1 queen
  • Large Master Bedroom with Queen bed, fireplace, TV, satellite (Direct) TV, walk-in closets, bath with jacuzzi/shower/twin sinks/toilet, window deck. Reading room has Queen Bed surrounded by bookcases with large science fiction/romance paperback library and leather chair Computer room has Queen with desks, chairs, bookcases, desktop computer, printer, phone answering machine Jack & Jill bathroom between Computer/reading room Guest room has private bath Family room is 500 sq. ft. with a queen sofa bed, twin bed, bathroom, large flat screen TV, sink/refrigerator/countertop, popcorn maker, cabinet space, library, games, two tables with 8 chairs, 2 leather recliners, and patio view of backyard.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 25 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Spa Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Hardwood floors throughout. Fans throughout house. All brick driveway/walkway. Long driveway with circular drive can accommodate many cars.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Request to Book

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote