check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Eric Hutchison

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Tropical Plantation Beach Cottage

32 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Encinitas House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-3)

This is an enchanted 1,000 square foot plantation style cottage situated within a 10,000 square foot lush tropical garden. The entire property has been designed with a high attention to detail. The house is fully furnished with Indonesian furniture and stocked with everything you would expect in your home. High ceilings, lots of light, great cookwares and luxurious linens!

What a place to enjoy the outdoor lifestyle in coastal Southern California. There are three outdoor living areas that provide amazing retreat and entrainment options. The outdoor wood fire is surrounded by deep seating to create the perfect evening garden lounge. The gas fireside dining deck provides a sunrise coffee venue or romantic fireside dining experience. Sink into to the Palapa spa for a cedar tub soak or surrender in the Palapa day bed for a siesta. Enjoy it all! These areas provide ample choices to fit your mood and really take you away from your daily life!

This is an ideal escape for 2-3 people (or 2 +/- 2 children) looking for a high quality resort property on a personal scale. Feel free to inquire about available services, activities and events. The house web site has additional links and activity details too! Grab the bikes and ride to and along the beach or try longboarding on one of the surfboards! Everything you need is waiting for you to walk in and immediately feel at home!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Eric Hutchison (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Eric Hutchison

A native Southern California coastal resident for 40+ years! I have spent the past 20 years in North San Diego County enjoying the coastal community and environment as I will always be drawn to a western sunset! I have a 20+ year commercial real estate background with broad geographic coverage with a Global firm before starting my own firm in 2011, Commercial West Realty Advisors. Love traveling and using VRBO/Homeaway properties all over! Spend lots of time in Baja enjoying the rugged country it offers In close proximity to San Diego. Trail running in local mountains occupies much of my time as well. Just love that southern CA lifestyle so much....

Eric Hutchison purchased this house in 1999

Why Eric Hutchison chose San Diego County

I looked into Encinitas since it is a great beach town with tremendous locational benefits! Coastal access for beach and surfing is awesome, trials for running, and great easy access to both downtown Encinitas and the greater road systems, etc! Love the quiet neighborhood of eclectic homes dating back to the 30's! Large lot sizes allow for more than typical land per house in comparison to any other coastal community!

What makes this house unique

There is a solar powered Level 2 Charge Station J1772 available with prior arrangement. We support electric cars powered by the sun!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for everything. We loved our stay at the "Hutch" and will be back again for sure. Your place, landscaping, and generosity are amazing. If only everyone were as friendly, hospitable and laid back as you... we could all just enjoy life a little more.
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 18

Reviews

5
based on 32 traveler reviews

Tropical Plantation Beach Cottage
average rating of 4.96875 based on 50 reviews
Ravenshead, Nottingham, England
5

Excellent property and owner!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage is a most wonderful place to stay. It is just delightful. We enjoyed just being around the property, especially drinking cocktails on the warm evenings. There is so much room and everything you could need for a brilliant stay. The walk into Encintas itself is along very quiet streets and there is a good choice of places to eat and drink there. We enjoyed every minute of our time there and the owner is happy to chat about things to do, places to eat and anything else that springs to mind. I can't recommend Eric and his cottage highly enough. If we return to the area we would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful cottage in a great location

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful cottage home in a great location. We felt right at home. It was minutes from the beach and restaurants in town. It was clean and beautifully decorated. It also had all the amenities we needed for the beach (chairs, boogie boards, buckets, etc). My son especially enjoyed roasting marshmallows on the fire every evening. We would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chandler, AZ
5

In love with this place

  • 5 of 5

Best ever accommodations. It's comfortable and cozy with plenty of room and lovely outdoor space. We had a great time and had everything we needed including great host that was only around as much as we needed. Perfect!!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

"Home away from home"

  • 4 of 5

This cottage was absolutely beautiful inside and out. We were very happy with the space overall and the view was amazing.. Not only we were 10 mins away from the beach, we were also close to convenience stores. I would definitely recommend this cottage to other couples or family traveling to San Diego!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Magical

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed this cottage so much during our stay. It felt like home. Loved the rain shower, outdoor area and furnishings. Near by is the cutest town, awesome beach and the botanical gardens which my little kids loved. We were sad to leave! Thanks for a beautiful place for us to enjoy.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Happy couple

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for five days, and completely enjoyed our stay. The place was clean and very comfortable. The out-door seating areas were a definite plus. Will stay there whenever I need to be in the San Diego area!

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
San Diego & Carlsbad
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Lumberyard
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Encintias Ranch
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Encinitas Coaster
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-5
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Multiple walking distance
Nearest Ski
90 Miles
Mt Baldy
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Swamis/moonlight

The beach is a 10 minute walk and the historic downtown Encinitas is two blocks! Hit the beach, farmers markets, street fairs or surf at one of the local spots. Legoland, Del Mar Track, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Cedros Design district, and Del mar are all close by and just the tip of available activities in San Diego. Encinitas is a great suf town with a popular coastal main street.

Other Activities: Shopping, Kayaking, Boating, Shelling, Wildlife Viewing, Health/Beauty Spa,Racquetball, Basketball Court, Mini Golf, Hot Air Ballooning

Photos

Rates & Availability

Encinitas House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$305
$1,995
$7,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 10.0%

Reservations are subject to owner confirmation of the requested booking. Sub-minimum stays are OK for infill dates. Please inquire.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Encinitas House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower
    House bath - toilet , shower
  • 8' Glass wall and 12' Vaulted ceilings.... Large enclosure with lots of light from glass block windows and skylight... rain head.... Stereo and flat screen TV as well... Plush linens and robes included.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Other than the King bed in the Bedroom, A futon can be pulled out, in addition to the single couch, for children use.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 bicycles
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Lots of outdoor living space in a great neighborhood setting.... Everyone loves the friendliness and walking nature of the community as well as the close proximity to downtown, beaches, and general access roads! There is a Level 2 Electric Car Charge Station available on site. Inquire if interested in use.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties