check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

5-BR Beachfront House-Outer Banks Feel at Delaware Seashore

15 Reviews
Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights


Broadkill Beach House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 13-17)

Relax in Your Comfortable Beach-Front Beach House, Right on the Bay


Link to Detailed Floor Plans & many xtra photos

Link to The Rookery Golf Course.

The Links are below under Section Heading 'Links to More Information'.

Your beach-front vacation home can easily handle a crowd or provide comfortable, quiet, private space for a few close friends. Located Bay front, it boasts a phenomenal view of the morning sunrise across the water over Cape May -- a delightful way to greet each vacation day, hot cup of tea or coffee in hand!

Later, take just a few short steps to your private sandy beach for a refreshing swim in the gentle waters of the Delaware Bay, or a leisurely stroll along the shore in search of seashells or sea glass; or maybe to just bask lazily in the sun on your stretch of clean, isolated beach.

For lunch, take a short ride on one of our bikes to pick up really good deli sandwiches & smoothies at the locally popular Broadkill Market.

The sportsman of your group may opt for 18 holes of championship golf (only 4 miles away), or for surfcasting or kayaking; or maybe for a deep sea fishing excursion from nearby Lewes, DE.

Adjacent to Broadkill, the Prime Hook National Wildlife Refuge is a ‘must see’ for your group’s resident naturalist. One of the best wetland areas on the Atlantic Coast, it is a 10,000 acre protected habitat for hundreds of species of birds, reptiles, amphibians and mammals. So bring binoculars and camera to spot and capture the wildlife on film as you amble along the Refuge walking paths.

In the evenings, adults may be attracted to the back yard for a friendly game of horseshoes, or for intimate conversation around your fire pit. Be forewarned though that the kids may be attracted to the same fire pit in anticipation of toasted marshmallows or s’mores! So be prepared!

The Rookery Golf Course is abt 10 minutes away. And just 15 minutes or so down Rt#1 you'll discover many fine restaurants and nearby shopping outlets. Of course you also can seek out the excitement of near-by Rehoboth’s boardwalk and shops.

Even closer-by, the old towns of Milton and Lewes have a special charm for shoppers. And for sure don’t miss a scoop from King’s Home Made Ice Cream Shop in either location (a 40 year tradition of ice cream decadence).

Keywords: Beach House, Near Golf Course, Rehoboth

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Mike Ponsi
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2016
Call Owner


based on 15 traveler reviews

5-BR Beachfront House-Outer Banks Feel at Delaware Seashore
average rating of 4.4 based on 15 reviews

Amazing location and comfortable house

  • 5 of 5

Our family has met annually at Broadkill Beach for several years, but this year was extra special for us and we wanted a special place. This house was a great choice for a large group of adults (11 total - 4 couples + 3 singles) with a baby - you have amazing views of the bay while eating, cooking, or hanging out in the sunroom or on the decks. We liked that even if you had to be inside tending to the baby, you could always take in the great views of the water. We really enjoyed the fire pit right next to the house (there was even firewood stocked while we were there); much easier than getting the whole family out to the beach in the dark for a beach fire (although those are fun, too). Having linens and towels provided was very convenient, too. The kitchen and baths were nicely updated, and the beds and furniture were very comfortable. This is the first house we've stayed at that could accommodate the whole family at one dining table, including the baby in her high chair!

The downstairs area also was nicely updated, and we found having a second kitchen (with full fridge and coffee maker) was helpful for our large group - the second fridge was awesome for storing the huge pot full of crabs that we caught. One important thing to note is that the lower level is only accessible from the outside of the house - if you want to go from the upper level to the lower, you have to go outside. For some groups, this might be a plus - you have more quiet and privacy in a separate area of the house, but for us it was not so great. We tended to congregate upstairs through the evening, and every time someone wanted to get something from downstairs or retire for the night, a lot of bugs would get into the house when we opened the doors to the outside. Also, we never figured out how to turn on all the outside lights, so you had to be careful going down in the dark. Note there is a full bath on the lower level, a full bath on the main level, and a half bath on the upper level.

We were surprised to find that the house had a lot of bikes for use, including kids bikes, and Broadkill is a great place to get around by bike. There were also folding beach chairs and boogie boards for our use. The beach chairs were the only outside seating available, except for two lounge chairs on the upper deck. Speaking of the upper deck, the views were amazing and so relaxing.

Broadkill is a very special place and this house is a great place to enjoy it!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Always a relaxing stay at a perfect location.

  • 5 of 5

Over the past few years we've had the opportunity to stay numerous times at this home in Broadkill Beach. To start off, there is no better location, this is the first house off the bay and off course it has an outstanding view. You can sit in one of the two outside decks or stay inside in the enclosed deck. It's a perfect home for a large (or multi-family) to use. With its beach front property (practically private), on a warm summer day you can walk to the beach at anytime AND they have all the necessities you need (at no charge) to be comfortable...included are beach chairs, umbrellas, boggie boards, etc. After returning you can spend some time playing horse shoes, bike riding (both supplied), relax inside in the central air or perhaps sit by the fire pit on a cool night...

There are many fine restaurants (Finns and Big Fish Grill in Rehobeth), fast foods & supermarkets all within a short distance. You can also eat-in and use their kitchen if cooking is your thing...all the appropriate appliances are there: stove, micro, coffee maker, etc (though we brought our Keurig).

You can do as much or as little as you want. My preference is going off season with a few other couples, (October(ish), reading a book on the deck and watching the sunrise coming right out of the bay. It doesn't get any better!

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Thorough Review of Location and Home

  • 2 of 5

+Location (general)- Broadkill is a nice, if isolated community situated on the Delaware Bay. For food shopping, etc expect to drive 15 minutes to get to those destinations. The community is situated between the bay and a nature preserve and while it leads to a quiet setting, it has the potential to be quite buggy. Luckily for us the wind was blowing in off the bay but I have a feeling if it was blowing in from the south the green flies and mosquitos would be unbearable. But the area is quiet, the beach is beautiful and it allows freedoms that I wasn’t expecting which included- surf fishing, bonfires, no life guards and vehicles allowed on the beach. It was very relaxing but still put you within a short 30 minute drive of the hustle and bustle of Rehoboth.

Score: B

+Location (specific)- The property is the last house on the street which also serves as an access road to the beach. Not an issue though because the access road is locked and only those that have keys (residents of New Mexico Ave) can access it. The property is exactly as advertises- it is a short walk to the beach which was a godsend.

Score: A

+Home- sadly, this is where things take a bit of a turn. The house is a quaint cape cod but it is in serious need of a refreshing. The property itself is overgrown with weeds to the point that the fire and horseshoe pits were used only once which is a shame. The exterior and interior of the house need a major overhaul, plain and simple. Minor things like the “screened in porch” were overgrown and had a flimsy, broken door all the way to major water damage seen in the basement bedroom and main floor bathroom. The white sofas and wicker pieces are now dulled grey and covered with stains from years of use. Opening the windows to capture the amazing breeze off the bay is not an option because a.) the windows will not open or b.) if they did the screens did nothing to keep the insects out. As for insects- the solution seemed to be leaving strips of fly paper hanging from the ceiling- not what we expected to see. The home had its bright spots- the rooftop deck and dining area were very nice, but this home needs MAJOR work.

Score: D

+Conclusion- Broadkill beach is great- if you have little kids it is an ideal beach vacation (small waves, etc.). I would strongly recommend it. I wouldn’t recommend this property until there are a number of positive reviews showing that the deficiencies have been fixed.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Wilmington, DE

Disappointed Family Vacation

  • 2 of 5

While we liked the location, views, and convenience to the bay, we were unpleasantly surprised by several issues with the house. Although some were fixed within the first couple of days by a handy man, general cleanliness was an issue for us.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you were disappointed in our vacation home's general cleanliness late last month. The concerns you expressed to me are constructive, and we will try to do better in the future. Our Broadkill vacation home's cleanliness is all-the-more important to me because it is used not just for vacation rentals, but also for our own family stays at the beach.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Annapolis, MD, USA

Great beach front house

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful vacation at this great beach front house with amazing views from the main floor. Plenty of room for 8 guests, with a separate apartment for guests who like a little privacy/some extra room. Ideal to walk out steps to a beautiful, uncrowded beach (full of horseshoe crabs when we were there). Broadkill Beach was a very cool, laid back beach community. Nice to have bikes available. On the first day we had a problem with the AC and Mike had it fixed right away. We're already talking about coming back!

  • Submitted: May 24, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Southern NJ

Great family vacation house

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely adored this relaxing retreat. It has a very homey NC atmosphere. It fit a lot of family members and there was enough space that we didn't feel on top of each other. There are so many great things like the proximity to the beach, fire pit, ocean views, serenity, fishing, kayaking, dolphins, biking, Dogfish brewery, Rehoboth boardwalk, rooftop deck, star gazing, outlet shopping, etc. This vacation was very special to our family and we hope to return.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Broadkill Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
2017 New Year Holiday
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
2017 In Season
May 27 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $250
Cleaning fee $295
Refundable damage deposit $1,000

Rates subject to change until reservation confirmed and signed lease received with payment.

Payment by Personal check or Cashier's check.
Rent (incl cleaning fee and pet fee if applicable) due with signed lease.
Damage deposit, fully refundable, due 30 days prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Broadkill Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Kitchen ...
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 17
  • Queen size Beds (2) In bedrooms 1 and 2 (main level), Double Beds (3) In bedrooms 3 and 4 (loft level) and bedroom 5 (ground level), Twin or Single Beds (3) In bedrooms 3 and 4 (loft level), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) Sofabeds In Living Room 1 (main level) and in Living Room 2 (ground level)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Ceiling Fans, alarm clocks, outdoor speakers & stereo controls, books, enclosed outdoor beach shower, beach chairs & umbrella, bicycles

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties