check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Al Cummings

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Lovely home, steps to town! Fall weeks available and SUMMER 2017!!!!

15 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

Nantucket Town House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms plus studio, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 8, gourmet kitchen,

A beautiful, antique sea captain's home completely renovated and well appointed. Featured on Nantucket's Christmas Stroll tour 2009. This is the perfect family home or a romantic couples getaway. Home features wood floors throughout, chef's kitchen, new bathrooms, living room filled with ship models and 2 down-filled sofas. Beautiful private garden in back, during the summer months filled with blueberries, apples and strawberries. Home has 3 bedrooms plus a studio that can be used as an extra bedroom.The home offers three full bathrooms,(one full bathroom on first floor) and soaking tub. An outdoor shower, also included perfect for after the beach or bathing your dog. Amenities include high speed Internet, 2 flat screen TV's and housekeeping 4 hours a week if rental longer that one week. This lovely, Nantucket home is a 5 minute walk to town. Off street parking available. Daffodil weekend rents for $2,100.

Location, Location, Location: This elegant home is central to all the the island has to offer. Ideal for Daffodil Weekend, Thanksgiving festivities, Christmas Stroll and beach vacations. A five minute walk to the Ferry, this 1758 renovated Nantucket home has been a featured attraction on the annual Christmas Stroll.

Elegance Abounds: This is the quintessential island home. Formerly a ship captain's home, then the Nantucket School House, the home features 4 beautiful fireplaces, a chef's kitchen, lovely furnishings, modern conveniences and charming seasonal gardens.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Al Cummings (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 15 traveler reviews

Lovely home, steps to town! Fall weeks available and SUMMER 2017!!!!
average rating of 4.866667 based on 15 reviews
5

Home Sweet Home!

  • 5 of 5

We were so pleased the first time we stayed at this wonderful home that we keep going back every summer!

Kitchen: We walk off the ferry and right to the grocery store. Everyone carries a bag or two home to fill the very large refrigerator. Perfect way to start the week, a quick bite and a Whale's Tale beer on the patio! GIANT stovetop griddle, perfect for cooking a bunch of hot sandwiches or pancakes in the morning. Long farm style table in the kitchen and plenty of seating in the dining room, but we alway sit outside. More than enough pot, pans, dishes and glasses. Usually there are a few staples (tea, sugar, salt pepper, oil etc. (nice not to have to buy that for a short stay). If you like to cook at home, the outdoor grill is a great addition, but there are also many fun restaurants to choose from. Writing this review is really making want to be there right now ...

Bedrooms: Plenty of space to spread out in all of the bedrooms. We didn't use the studio bedroom, but it's a large private space with it's own stairway to the first floor. My kids are all in their twenties and were perfectly happy with their rooms/beds.

Workspace: This historic home has so many different areas for the family to spread out. Everyone in my family has had some sort of work to do while on vacation and we were always able to find a quiet, cozy spot to work. Inside, there is an area to use as a private office. Outside, we brought our laptops to the enclosed patio and worked around the spacious & quiet seating area. Big soft couches in the living room too.

Outdoor Shower: Another fun addition. My husband thinks this is the greatest thing ever. I haven't used it, but he said it's fantastic.

Yard: Meticulously maintained by a friendly gardner, lots of berries and flowers and the boxes on the front of the house are always in perfect condition. Some herbs in the yard too if you like to cook with them. Lots of room to put bikes in the garage. Spacious driveway for parking your car if you choose to bring or rent one.

Neighborhood: Quiet & close to town. We walk to town a few times a day. Lots of historic homes in the neighborhood. We also walk our dog through a nearby trail everyday and usually see a few other dogs for him to play with.

Amenities: Washer and Dryer look brand new and work great. Lots of beach towels in the laundry room to choose from. Linens are all soft and comfy. New addition of a few Dash and Albert rugs gave a fresh update this summer.

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Beautiful written review of our home on Nantucket. Thanks for taking the time to write it. Our family has worked ,hard to make it nice and comfortable--just as you de scribed it. We love Nantucket and happy to share it with loving,thoughtful,people like you. Thanks again Margaret Cummings
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Washington DC
4

Lovely Home

  • 4 of 5

The house is historic and therein lies its charm and quirks. It is full of antiques and has been modernized. The upstairs has 2 lovely bedrooms but the third bedroom is suited for small children only--it is not private, under rafters and the beds are too small for a teenager. The outdoor sitting area is small and minimally landscaped. The garage is nice for bike storage and the house had lots of beach towels, chairs and umbrellas. We walked and rode bikes every where. The house is close to the bike paths and downtown is easily walkable. This is a quiet part of town but the street is busy (at least in the summer). The owner was great to deal with and the property manager very helpful if we needed anything.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful house in the perfect location!!

  • 5 of 5

I cannot say enough great things about this house. Such a beautiful and charming home. I would give it 5 plus stars if I could. It is very comfortable and welcoming to all. The house is kept in pristine condition and the owners Al and Margaret take fantastic care of the house. The location is prime and cannot be beat. An easy 5 minute walk from the ferry and to the water. It is a truly special house with an amazing history behind it. The renovations were done so well and it is clear that a lot of love and detail went into the work. Al, Margaret and Sally are truly lovely and caring people and were so helpful and kind. I can't wait to come back to such a special home in my favorite place.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Reflects all that is special about Nantucket

  • 5 of 5

This is an historic home, beautifully furnished, with today's amenities. My family of five with children ages 15, 12 and 10 thoroughly enjoyed our vacation. The house has something for everyone. I loved, an early morning walk down a quiet Main street to pick up the morning paper then reading it with my coffee as I sat in the wicker chairs just off the courtyard, biking to the beaches and after a day in the sun winding down before a 2 block walk to town for eat dinner. Some nights we picked up fresh ingredients at Bartlett Farm and grilled. My children LOVED being able to walk to town and the Juice Bar by themselves for ice cream! Owners are very helpful and the pictures reflect the home accurately. The experience is one of a kind.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Wonderful Stay in a Lovely One of a Kind Home

  • 5 of 5

We cannot say enough about the fantastic experience we had staying in this beautiful and charming home. If we could give it more than 5 stars, we would! The Cummings family did a wonderful job with the property, it is comfortable, welcoming and well-equipped for visitors. The location cannot be beat. It is a very special house, and it is apparent that the Cummings family has put a lot of love into its renovation. Al, Margaret and Sally are lovely people and were very helpful. We hope we can stay here agin next year! Best regards, The Smith Family

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Longmeadow, Ma
5

Wonderful, well-appointed home

  • 5 of 5

Dear Margaret and Al,

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your wonderful home! It is a remarkable place – full of history and charm (the pictures do not do it justice)! The location was ideal and the accommodations were fantastic. My sister, her family and our family thoroughly enjoyed a quiet respite as the summer ended.

We definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to appreciate Nantucket Island and all it has to offer.

Warm regards,

Kate Theroux

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Nantucket
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Nearest Ferry
0.4 Miles
Hi-Line
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Sankaty Head, Miacomet and Nantucket Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Black-eyed Susan's
Nearest Beach
0.6 Miles
Children's and Jetties
Car: not necessary

Nantucket is the far-away island, loaded with charm, history and recreation. Golfing, antiquing, fishing, beach activities, fine dining, shopping or just strolling the historic and captivating surroundings. One truly feels they are away from it all, with America 15 miles away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Nantucket Town House Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Pet Fee $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Nantucket Town House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Security System
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchenette
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , double sink
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , downstairs
    Bathroom 4 - outdoor shower , outdoor hot/cold
  • Bathrooms are modern and spacious. Outdoor shower is key after a long run or day at the beach.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Kitchenette
  • 2 Bedrooms are connected via a modern double sink bathroom. Very comfortable sleeping for 8.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
4 hours of professional cleaning after first rented week is provided during your stay. Cleaners will call you to arrange a convenient time.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties