check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Thom Chu

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

Spacious ground-floor loft one block from Tompkins Square Park

86 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

East Village Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Giant studio loft (60m²/ 650 ft²) sleeps 4 adults on queen bed and full sofabed

Why stay in an overpriced cookie-cutter hotel room in a so-called boutique hotel when you can live the life: 'la vie boheme'? Enjoy this one-of-a-kind 650-sq.ft. studio outfitted with all the modern conveniences, steps from the vibrant life of the East Village with its clubs, shops, bars, and restaurants, yet situated in a quiet building insulated from noise and bright lights. You will have easy access to everything in Manhattan (two bus lines stop at the corner and a subway station a few blocks away) and live in a real neighborhood with students, artists, and young families. Full kitchen, TV/DVD player, computer/printer with Internet access, towels, sheets provided.

Booking process: The availability calendar shows only the dates which have been solidly booked or otherwise unavailable. We receive many requests for overlapping dates and have given up on the 'first-refusal' system, where we keep a list and give each person a chance to look over the offer separately. Instead, we have switched to a 'first come-first served' system whereby the first completed contract and payment received gets the apartment. If you are in a hurry, use the 'Book It Now' button--our calendar is up-to-the-minute in accuracy.

Contract and payment details: The contract outlines our responsibilities to one another and the payment scheme. In general:

You send a $300.00 (reservation/damage deposit) to secure your reservation (may need to be combined with other payments if your dates are close). At 60 days before your arrival, send 50% of the rental plus a $95.00 one-time cleaning charge. 14 days before your arrival, you will send the other 50%. The damage deposit is refundable within 5 days after you've checked out and left everything in good order.

About us: This is more than just a line of business for us--hospitality is an integral part of who we are. The studio is in an owner-occupied building, so you're not dealing with a faceless management agency with music on hold. We aspire to offer you the kind of experience we would give to our own family and friends in New York, where you enjoy the comforts of your own home while in one of the world's greatest cities and will want to return again and again.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Thom Chu (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 86 traveler reviews

Spacious ground-floor loft one block from Tompkins Square Park
average rating of 4.9883723 based on 86 reviews
5

Beautiful Spacious Modern Clean Trendy Apartment

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a week in this beautiful apartment. (2 adults, 2 teenagers) It was a beautiful, modern, trendy, very clean apartment in a great area of New York. There was a great black file with lots of helpful information and all the bus/subway/local maps you could possibly need - it made organising our time easy. We ate at some of the best places of our whole holiday immediately around the apartment (including the 2 weeks in Canada as well!). Westvillage Deli, Tompkins Bagels, Daveys Ice Cream, Gruppo Pizza worth extra extra mentions! I had the best pedicure EVER in Galleria (recommended in Thoms book). Travelling was so easy with bus right at end of street to Union where you could pick up any subway line or even a short walk to "L" on 1st Ave - one quick stop to Williamsburg for some great cafes and independent shops too ( -321 for liquid nitrogen made ice cream too!!) We will definitely be back and recommend to all our friends planning a City break in New York.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home from home!

  • 5 of 5

A really great place for a city holiday, highly recommended. This is the fourth time we have been, we like it so much! It is very well looked after, and the owner-manager provides prompt and helpful replies to any queries. The property is well placed, in East Village, for exploring New York, there are plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby, and it's a lively part of the city.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The ultimate compliment and affirmation is a return visit! Look forward to having you back again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco, CA
5

Great apartment in the East Village.

  • 5 of 5

My experience is on par with the rest of the glowing reviews. Communication for getting things set up was stellar. Thom is a very thorough and a nice person. I was a solo traveler and felt very safe here. The place is huge especially by hotel standards. The bathroom is big and spotless upon arrival. The little kitchen is perfect for making your own breakfast before heading out. The block is quiet compared to other properties I've stayed at in the East Village - there is not much retail and no restaurants which makes for a good nights sleep. I can't say enough positive things about the neighborhood. You have everything you need in a 3-4 block walk. Subway is close at 14th Street and 1st Ave. I would stay here again without reservation. Thank you, Thom!

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love reading a review like yours, specific and positive! So very glad that you chose to stay with us and please let others know about us back home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Roomy Loft in a Quiet Neighborhood in NYC

  • 5 of 5

My father and I stayed in the loft for a birthday present trip to NYC. The loft is very spacious and clean. My dad and I each felt like we had our own space and weren't stacked on top of each other. It certainly gives you more space than an average hotel room in NYC might. The furniture is all very comfortable, including the sofa which turns into a full/Queen size bed. I slept on the sofa the entire length of my stay and found it very comfortable.

One thing to note before renting this apartment. The bed and couch are a little lower to the ground than traditional furniture. My father is a bit older and had some but not significant trouble navigating in and out of them, so you may want to consider if you have mobility issues.

I did have a problems accessing the internet when I first arrived, but I messaged Thom and he called me within minutes and helped me resolve the issue. In fact, Thom has been really easy to work with from the moment I first made the reservation. He offered a lot of good advice and even recommended a car service for my dad to use to and from the airport, which my dad loved.

There are a number of restaurants within a short walking distance so you don't have to leave the neighborhood to get a nice meal if you don't want to and it is a pretty short walk to the subway station. The subway station is for the L train which is great because it connects up with a lot of other lines, so it is really convenient to get around the city from here and it is also pretty easy to find a cab in the neighborhood.

Overall my dad and I were very happy to have stayed here for our trip.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An Outstanding Experience

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was all it was represented to be and more. Very clean, attractive and completely furnished with everything you would need. Thom came by and was most attentive. Our son lives in the East Village and we visit him often. This will be our first choice for future trips.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the good words and compliments! You had a great suggestion for us (which we solicit from all of our guests) to provide a pillow-top for our memory-foam mattress, which we have already ordered and will have ready for your return. Very glad that we got to meet in person, so often our guests are out and about when we come through to check on details, look forward to having you back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Always a great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

This a great place to stay—a gem in the east village. The location is safe, lively, and within walking distance of everything. Inside the apartment is well appointed, comfy, stylish and clean! Thom is always helpful with arrangements for arrival, departure, information about the neighborhood and all great places to go. I am a regular visitor and appreciate that I can count on this apartment to be my home away from home.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: not necessary

One block from historic Tompkins Square Park on the very street made famous by Jonathan Larson in his Tony Award-winning musical 'Rent,' the East Village is filled with a myriad of unique shops, bars, and restaurants. Live in a real international neighborhood with students, artists, and young families with easy access to everything that New York City has to offer. 10 minute walk from L subway at 1st Avenue & 14th Street and 2 bus lines stop on our corner, M14D and M9, connecting you to every subway line every 4-8 minutes. We are proud of our consistent 5-star ratings (and not a single owner-submitted review) which we intend to earn from every single guest!

The calendar for this property is quite full--you should check our newest property in the same building across the hall: Homeaway 903716. It has more luxurious appointments including a whirlpool, rainshower and full-sized kitchen. If you request a date that is clearly occupied on our calendar, please forgive us for not responding

Other Activities: Shopping

Photos

Rates & Availability

East Village Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2016 Main
Sep 6 2016 - Nov 22 2016
4 night minimum stay
$275
$1,799
 
 
Holiday 2016/17
Nov 23 2016 - Jan 8 2017
4 night minimum stay
$305
$2,025
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95
Refundable damage deposit $300

There are no refunds available after 60 days prior to your arrival, so we strongly encourage you to take out trip cancellation/trip interruption insurance at www.insuremytrip.com. New York City Hotel Room Occupancy Tax of 5.875%, New York City and State sales taxes of 8.875%, plus $2.00 per night occupancy tax, and $1.50 per night Jacob K. Javits Convention Center tax are included in your rate.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

East Village Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 60 m²
  • 6 stories
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Computer Available ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Brand-new fixtures with all the comforts of home.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Studio - 2 queen , additional inflatable bed available on request
  • The sofa folds out to a full-sized bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Notes:
Full massage services available, ask about day passes to local gyms and yoga studios; local car service available for airport pickups or five-borough travel (e.g. shopping day around town or a private driving tour). We also provide a laser printer as well as an internet-enabled phone with US & Canadian calls as a special gift from us, not included in your rate (requires self-service). The studio is only a few steps up from the street (not wheelchair accessible). It is strictly a non-smoking property.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties