check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mikealan OKeefe

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

50% off! Charming Cottage.. Downtown High End Area.. Walk to Town & Harbor

28 Reviews
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Laurel Park Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Historic Adorable Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Rates are currently 1/2 off Peak Season Rates

Mikealan and Jeff OKeefe

(757) 663-2025

Website: www.SarasotaCottage.com

PREMIUM LOCATION!

5 STAR REVIEWS!

7n/8 Day Minimum

We have 2 cottages for you to choose from- The Coral Cottage, Rear 1/1 or The Coral Cottage, Front 2/2.

Both Cottages are located within walking distance to the most sought-after areas of Downtown and The Harbor.

This one bedroom Coral Cottage, Rear has a charming fenced-in backyard, private patio so you can expand your living space to include indoor and outdoor living. Inside, you will find light, bright open living area, kitchen and separate bedroom with bathroom. PREMIUM LOCATION!!

A private, quiet location yet within walking distance to shops, restaurants, cafes, marina and more!

Adorable Cottage! Laurel Park was voted Sarasota's #1 Neighborhood by, The Best of Sarasota' Magazine!

Visit our webiste:

ww w. Sarasota Cottage. Com .... (retype with no spaces)

Cozy, Romantic, Historic Cottage has Living Room, Eat-in Kitchen, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath. Fantastic private fenced-in yard & patio. Premium Queen Mattress, Luxury Linens, Private Outdoor Patio with Fenced-in Yard. Free Wi-Fi, Plasma HDTV w/DVR, Cable, (FiOS), Free Laundry and Parking. Tropical Landscaping Sunny & Shade.

WALK 5 minutes to 100's of things to do. Only 2 blocks from Main Street and the City's Bayfront Park & Harbor provide you with the best location in town. Walk to everything from upscale Restaurants, Shopping, Art Galleries, Museums, Cultural Arts. Enjoy walking to outdoor Cafes, Farmer's Markets, Festivals and Parades. Walk the City's Waterfront Park & Harbor to Marina Jack's Restaurant or O'Leary's Beach/ Tiki Bar. Rent a Bicycle and go over the Causeway to St. Armand Circle or Lido Beach- you don't even need a car!

Your Comfort is Our Success! Extra Attention to the Details Makes the Difference. High-End, Plush Pillow-Top Mattresses well appointed with Luxury Linens. Bathrooms with Scented Soaps and Thick, Thirsty Towels -details make the difference.

Never miss a TV show or football game with the HDTV with DVR, 100's of cable channels. Reliable Highest Internet Speed with Wi-Fi supplied by Verizon FiOS.

Save money by fixing meals in the nicely outfitted Kitchenette with Microwave, Fridge, Stove & Coffee Maker.

Enchanting private patio with fenced-in yard is a wonderful place to sunbathe or relax. Light the tiki torches and enjoy the tropical breeze under the stars!

Sarasota has many unique & wonderfully quirky things to- but the 3 that are extraordinary are Siesta Beach, Ringling Musuem and the amount of Cultural Events taking place throughout the town. Siesta Beach is worth researching. You will find it commonly ranks #1 in the COUNTRY (VOTED #1 in USA)! The water is Caribbean Turquoise and the sand is (honestly) baby powder soft and white. The cultural events are huge. International Film Festival has grown to be a locals favorite event and brings in A-list movie stars and Directors. Sarasota Orchestra, Theatre, Play Houses, Opera, Artist Studios, Galleries, Lectures and Museums. The most famous is the Ringling Museum with it's waterfront mansion, art museum, courtyard and world famous miniature circus exhibit is great for the whole family-that's a must to checkout. The Van Wezel is Downtown on the water and holds premier engagements.

If you want to search the coolest things to do in town and get a better appreciation for our unique area, search:

Siesta Beach

Armand Circle, on Longboat Key for upscale restaurants and shopping!

Ringling Museum

Van Wezel

FST

Farmer's Market

Festivals

Sarasota's Official Calendar of events

Close Drives:

Siesta Key Beach -10 minutes

Lido Key Beach -5 minutes

Longboat Key -7 minutes

St. Armand Circle -5 minutes

Anna Marie Island -20 minutes

Bradenton -5 to 15 minutes

Venice -20 minutes

Short Destinations-

Tampa Busch Gardens (1+ hour drive)

Orlando & Theme Parks (2 hour drive)

Senior and Pet Friendly

Keywords: cottage, house, apartment apt, flat, condo, downtown, urban, beach, villa, home, vacation rental, snowbird,

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Mikealan OKeefe (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Mikealan OKeefe

I am a single 55+ woman who lives just around the corner, in the same neighborhood as the cottages. It's a safe and charming area. Since I reside in town, I am able to respond immediately to your needs, as well as offer you local advise. I can help you with anything from theater tickets to the best coffee shops! I have been to all the local hot spots and seen and done it all. We can advise you about area festivals.

Mikealan OKeefe purchased this cottage in 2009

Why Mikealan OKeefe chose Sarasota

Area real estate is among the most expensive in Sarasota. Among multi-million dollar condos. It's the best location in Sarasota to have an active, engaging lifestyle. Downtown and close to the waterfront Harbor is like a dream come true. I have found when you get out and walk a few blocks, you see so much more and feel connected to the area. I think it's ideal for anyone who wants to enjoy the city, as well as beaches. I like to quietness of the street and neighborhood. The charming Historic Cottages and Bungalows with towering oak trees and lush tropical neighborhood reminds me of Old FLorida 25 years ago....

What makes this cottage unique

LOCATION and Sarasota's Chic Key West Style Cottage!

Walk 10 minutes in any direction and you will 100's of things to do.

WALK TO:

Waterfront Harbor with Chartered Fishing Boats, Boat rentals, O'Leary's Tiki Beach Bar, Marina Jack's Restuant (best place to watch sunset).

Walk to 5 minutes to Main Street with:

Movie theaters-20 screens

Outdoor cafes

Wine Bar

Grocery store

Restuarants

Shopping

Art Galleries

Opera House

Library

Banks

Towles Court Artist Colony

Burns Court Movie theater, serving wine

Too much to mention........

Guestbook comments from the owner

I'm going to call my friend who's the Editor of a National Home & Garden (you know the one) and send her pictures of this fabulous cottage! It is outstanding! It's high on my list to come back.
Sep 2015
  • 1 of 8

Reviews

4.6
based on 28 traveler reviews

50% off! Charming Cottage.. Downtown High End Area.. Walk to Town & Harbor
average rating of 4.571429 based on 36 reviews
5

Family gathering was outrageously fun!!! rented all 5 cottages

  • 5 of 5

We had the best time gathering our family of all ages. The location offered something for everyone from young to old. We all went our separate ways getting into the downtown area and beyond. The owners supplied us with beach stuff that proved to save us hundreds of dollars PER DAY! Renting beach stuff, 1 chair and 1 umbrella is $46 PER DAY and we have a large group…this alone compensated for the rental prices! It’s a no brainer, stay here and save money. Plus free parking, Wi-Fi, movies and laundry. Cooking meals too. WE saved so much money as a group. The cottages were all adorable. The owners we great. We will come back every year because this was really great!

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
5

Great location, friendly, and accommodating host

  • 5 of 5

My boyfriend and I took a trip down to Sarasota for Labor Day weekend and this was our first time using HomeAway. I can't say anything negative about our experience.

The cottage was clean, comfy and cozy. There was a great backyard where we were able to grill (thanks to the host!). Great location!

The host was extremely responsive and kind. Definitely worth your stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect spot!

  • 5 of 5

Quiet, roomy, tastefully decorated cottage in eclectic neighborhood very close (walking) to downtown shops and restaurants and very short ride out to the beach!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

The location is perfect. The space was super clean. Owner was great. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our second time at this property.

  • 5 of 5

When we first found this cottage on line we feel in love with it. After we rented it two years ago we knew we wanted to come back to it.

We rented the front two bedroom, two bath unit first and found it to have everything we wanted. It is is so comfortable and well decorated along with being walking distance (we are walkers) to downtown and Whole Foods. This winter we rented the rear unit - a one bedroom, one bath. It was fine but we did miss the space and the ambiance of the two bedroom unit. Oh yes. we were invited to the Potluck at Laurel Park and met some very friendly people.

Thanks to Mikelan and Jeff.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Cute cottage near downtown

  • 3 of 5

We wanted to be able to walk to main street, and my daughter liked the cute photos so we rented. It had a well stocked kitchen, we were able to cook pasta, burritos, eggs to eat in some nights. it was pretty and in a nice area. The owner was accessible when needed. It was perfectly fine overall but with lots of little glitches. The mattress is on a frame with slats, and the slats are not secure-the first night the mattress was sagging, and the second night my husbands middle was halfway to the floor- -I crawled under the bed to investigate -we found the slats were askew with no support in place-my husband held up the mattress and I moved the slats into place for a temporary fix-but my husband had 2 bad nights. Next night we hear a crash and our canned goods are on the floor-the kitchen cabinet shelf had fallen since it was missing a corner support. There is an AC unit in the living room which does reach the bedroom-but the bathroom had no ventilation at all and if you wanted privacy and closed the door it got quite hot and unpleasant. All the windows are nailed or painted shut-I tried to open them for fresh air on cool nights and couldnt- except for one large window in the kitchen that opened easily and had no lock at all which worried me. there was no smoke detector. I enjoyed the yard but I wished the pile of broken furniture and paint cans in back of the shed was disposed of-only seen if you walked around the yard-I did give feedback to the owner Jeff who was very receptive.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review of our property and for the kind things you had to say. We take great pride in our cottages and strive to make sure that our guests are happy and enjoy a nice stay. For our future guests we have looked into all the issues and have made arrangements for them to be taken care of. The bed and the mattress in the bedroom are new and and we have not had any issues in the past but based on what you said I have already gone over and secured the slats so this should not be an issue in the future. A kitchen shelf was overloaded so I secured the shelf properly and rearranged the items on it. There is a smoke detector in the unit and I checked to make sure it was working properly. I will look into an additional AC unit, but all of our guests have said the one there works fine and cools the entire cottage. It is rated to cool an area much larger than this cottage. If any of our future guests need anything, to insure their stay is as pleasant as possible, I encourage them to call me on my cell when they are here. I only live a block away from the cottage and am always available to help our guests with any concerns they may have, as you indicated in your review. Thanks again for pointing out these issues out to us and as you can see they have all been taken care of.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
SRQ
Nearest Barpub
0.02 Miles
100's within walking distance
Nearest Restaurant
0.02 Miles
100's within walking distance
Nearest Beach
3.7 Miles
Lido Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Entrance to Siesta Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Bay Front Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Towles Court Artist Colony
Nearest Point of Interest
Burns Court
Nearest Point of Interest
Selby Botanical & Marine Gardens
Nearest Point of Interest
Lido Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
St Armands Circle- A Must to Visit!
Nearest Point of Interest
Regal Hollywood Movie Theaters
Nearest Point of Interest
Main Street
Nearest Point of Interest
Upscale & Bargain Shopping!
Nearest Point of Interest
Another great section of Downtown with Cafes, Rest, Shp'g
Nearest Point of Interest
Whole Foods Grocery
Nearest Point of Interest
Grocery Store, McDonalds, Taco Bell
Nearest Point of Interest
Regal Movie Theater 20 Plex
Nearest Point of Interest
Cafe
Nearest Point of Interest
Car: not necessary

Quiet location yet only 2 blocks from downtown and The Harbor (Marina Jack)!

Sarasota has many annual festivals like the International Film Festival, Art and Music. Comedy Clubs, Baseball Spring Training for the Baltimore Orioles, Longboat Key and St. Armand's Circle for upscale shopping and restaurants. Craft shows, conventions, hotels, Mote aquarium, boat rentals, offshore charter fishing boats, Tampa cruise ship terminal 1.5 hour away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Laurel Park Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Season
Dec 17 2016 - Apr 29 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,595
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$110
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Pet Fee $140
Tax Rate 12.0%

All pets need prior approval. Please call 941 342-1639
Refundable Pet/Security Deposit Required. Cost is based on length of stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Laurel Park Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Queen size Bed Premium pillow-top mattress. Luxurious linens-FRESH!, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Walk to it all! Location and Comfort are 2 best things about this cottage 1 bedroom property! Amaziningly quiet yet only 2 blocks from all the Downtown fun! Luxury linens and plush towels make your stay very comfortable. VERY CLEAN and quaint!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties