check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Marlu West, Serving North Shore of Oahu since 1976.

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Peacefull Retreat/private POOL/ A Frame Home on 2 Acres of Fruit Trees /gardens.

16 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Haleiwa House Rental Photos and Description

Private Pool /Gardens/ 1 Bdrm House,1 Bath w/tub/, Full Kitchen (Sleeps 4)

Hawaii State License # W013723380

Before you contact us, please see the video. Thank you!

This property is the North Shore, at its best. House id at top of the hill, so no traffic.

Pool is private, not heated or gated.

Our un-attached 1 bedroom A Frame Home/ Guest House, is on a private, gated, 2.5 acre estate, Home is approx. 700 sq ft residence and is located at at 1100 foot elevation in the foothills of the Ko’olau Mountains above beautiful North Shore beaches. Nights are pleasantly cool. Days are warm. This is the perfect spot to avoid the new terrible North Shore traffic and still have many beaches at the bottom of our Pupukea Road, that are about 1.6 miles downhill: Waimea Bay & Park, ,Three Tables, Sharks Cove and Sunset Beach & More. .

There are only two buildings on the 2.5 acres: the owner's house and the guest house. One is about 300 yards from the other and neither can be seen from the other. Each house has its own private gardens. The property is gated and kept locked; you will have your own key to come and go as you like. Your space on the property is very private. The owners are privacy nuts.

The property was once a botanical garden, open to the public. Although it is now kept private, many of the plantings have been maintained and new ones have been added. Wild birds can be seen in the gardens, and heard twittering at sunrise.

There is a well-equipped kitchen, ( Coffee & English Tea always stocked) a bath with tub and shower, one bedroom upstairs containing a double bed built in the 1860s during the administration of Abraham Lincoln. The house is furnished with antiques brought to Hawaii from New Orleans as well as Pacific Island inspired pieces. The living room has 20 foot clerestory windows with a Queen Sofa Bed.

The getaway A Frame home has cable TV on a 42 inch flat screen, Internet, WiFi, cable radio, DVD player, CD player, and its own private gardens front and back. The swimming pool is between the guest house and the main house and is available only for your use -Only, although the owners have been known to sneak a dip, when their guests are out exploring the island. Pick your own citrus in season and admire the flora of this botanical garden.

We always get guests started with breakfast foods- Coffee & Tea, so you don't have to go shopping when you first get here or arrive late. Foodland is at the bottom of the hill. You can make your own grapefruit juice from our trees. (there's a juicer up there). There are cereals and condinaments, too. The cottage has an iron, ironing board, washer and dryer, and hair dryer. There is a charcoal grill outside; charcoal, mesquite and starter fluid are provided. There is also an outdoor shower. Some beach supplies- Beach Chairs Coolers and Ice packs/ Boggie Boards, snorkel gear, umbrella, Towels etc.

The property is located up the hill above Waimea beach, Waimea falls park and Foodland supermarket. There are hiking trails behind the property on state conservation land. There are also horseback riding trails that overlook Waimea valley. Bikes and surf equipment can be rented right across from the supermarket, and a paved, bike/jogging/walking trail winds for several miles past the most famous North Shore surf spots, Sunset Beach and Pipeline.

To find us, drive along Kam. Hwy., then turn right at Foodland/Pupukea Rd. It's the 3rd signal light on the North Shore, just past Waimea Bay. Then head up the mountain for 1.3 miles. Our home is on the right.

We do allow pets, with an additional cleaning charge. Note two dogs on property not allowed in A Frame house.

Hawaii State License # W013723380

******Pool is not gated.

******Note: We don't accept same day back-to-back reservations at this property without prior owner permission. .

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
Marlu West, Serving North Shore of Oahu since 1976. (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Marlu West, Serving North Shore of Oahu since 1976.

Owners are very - very private at far end of property. Owner does have two friendly dogs-

on the property not allowed in A Frame home. Also exotic chickens and Birds. No Roosters! * However some try to visit a few tines a year and we remove them as fast as we can.

Marlu West has managed their guest house rental for over 10 years.

Marlu West, Serving North Shore of Oahu since 1976. purchased this house in 1985

Why Marlu West, Serving North Shore of Oahu since 1976. chose North Shore Oahu

Peaceful and Quiet with old Botanical Gardens, fish ponds and lots of fruit trees. Walk and Pick your breakfast. Property is located 1.6 miles at top of the mountain. Hiking trails are just above home. You do need a car. See my list of 30 things to do on North Shore.

' The Private Garden Swimming Pool' is just for guests Only.

Hiking behind property is unmatched and not on many maps.

Out of the Honolulu traffic that starts at 6AM to 9:30 AM and again at 2PM to 6:30 PM.

What makes this house unique

Total Retreat..A Frame home has Antiques from New Orleans. - Fresh eggs are available when birds are laying them on property. Foodland Market & Surf- Beaches at bottom of the hill. This means you can avoid all the traffic! Honolulu is 60 minutes away. Airport is 35 minutes away only if there is no rush hour traffic.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Aloha,

I am the manager for over 10 years. I just did a stay vacation at the property for 6 wonderful nights.

The only roosters were two acres away and hard to hear them. Our specially Hens were just laying eggs, and do not make noise. YUM... You get a dozen on check in. I had to ask for more.....



Geckos are our Hawaiian "very small Lizards" that eat the flies and mosquitos and are found in most homes in Hawaii! Their poop is the size of a pin head.... Give us a break.

I found almost no Gecko POOP in 6 days. Owners do spray for bugs.

This property is the true Beautiful Hawaiian getaway. I wanted to stay much longer.

I slept on the hide a bed couch ..and it was very comfortable.

The pool-- wow- I went swimming daily and do not tell- that I did a few midnight full moon skinny dips.. Orchids hanging over the pool.. I can not wait to get back.

Marlu West- Manager.
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 7

Reviews

4.7
based on 16 traveler reviews

Peacefull Retreat/private POOL/ A Frame Home on 2 Acres of Fruit Trees /gardens.
average rating of 4.6875 based on 23 reviews
5

Honeymoon getaway

  • 5 of 5

Although it rained most of the time we happened to be here it was an amazing place to stay. Exactly what we needed on vacation- nice and relaxing. They go above and beyond to accommodate you and to make you feel comfortable. You'll never get an experience like this at a resort!

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

AMAZING

  • 5 of 5

The place was very beautiful and peaceful. The pool was just the best feature of our stay. The owners were awesome and such beautiful people. We totally loved the house and the fresh eggs was excellent. We had the best stay...

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Watch out for lizard poop

  • 2 of 5

The good: Owners are very nice, layout is neat, short drive to the beach, free eggs.

The bad: Owners have a chicken coop that is immediately outside the rental. They WILL wake you up every morning at 4:30. If you are lucky, they will stop around 5:00, but often last until 6:00.

Worse than that, the house is also home to a family of lizards that treat the entire interior as a toilet. Their favorite place to poop? The bed. You will have to check the bed for lizard poop before laying down, and it is very likely you will get pooped on in your sleep.

At one point or another during our 3 night stay they pooped on just about every piece of furniture in the house, making sitting down without looking a risky gamble. Careful walking barefoot, as the ground also has poop here me there.

Also, careful turning on the upstairs fan as it is covered in lizard poop as well, and the spinning fan will deposit it all around the room (and probably on the bed).

We were pretty grossed out and have to assume the owners are aware as they must clean it between guests.

The pillows on the couch also looked to have black mold, but I am not a moldologist, so I'm not sure.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, I just stayed at the property for 6 nights. I am the manager for over 10 years. See my review. No Rooster(s) on the property. Three Geckos in the home that are necessary for mosquito control and are in most Hawaii homes. ****Gecko poop is the size of a pin head? This home is true Hawaii with the best eggs on the Island. The gardens and pool can not be matched any where on this Island. . _______Not a Hotel Room.in Waikiki. ________This is on over an acre of gardens and pool.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great peaceful retreat in the hills - only minutes from the beaches!

  • 4 of 5

The house was great - it on the same grounds as the main house but Jean and Kleibert were very respectful of our privacy so we rarely saw them, although if we needed any help we knew we could call them or come and knock on the door. When we did chat to them they were very interesting and friendly people, and it was a real pleasure to learn about them. The house is very unique and spacious - with a nice kitchen/bathroom and double bed. It's up the hill from the beach (maybe 5 minute drive) so very peaceful - away from the shops and busy roads. Very green and tropical in the grounds. There are some great forest hiking trails nearby, and you're only a 5 min drive from the best supermarket in the north shore and a number of food trucks, as well as loads of great beaches. Being up the hill does mean the temperature is a few degrees cooler and it rains at night (most days were clear so it was only wet at night) - as there is a different climate up the hill. Not a problem, but useful to know! In addition, there are no bedroom curtains, so the natural light will shine through in the mornings. It is not especially bright due to the trees around the property so again, not really problematic, but good to know. The checking in/checking out process was all super smooth - although we did find Marlene (the agent) a little tricky to communicate with prior to us flying to Hawaii as we had some questions and had to chase her a few times for answers - however once we were there everything was fine and the home-owners Jean & Kleibert really are fantastic. Overall, we would reccomend the accomodation. It is beautiful, peaceful and very unique!

  • Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Simply Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here during the month of April. It could not have been more perfect!! The owners are simply wonderful in providing help with the area, use of the property and privacy when needed. The guest house on the property is something out of a fairy tale. The porch out back over looks their beautiful landscape and was a lovely place to relax after a long day of hiking or playing at the beach. The evenings cool off and it was lovely to sleep with the windows open and fans going. The North Shore in general is very laid back and had a lot of adventure from nature parks, hiking, beaches and shopping! We simply had the best time and I really hope we can make it back one day!

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Imperial Beach, CA
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful location, very private, very peaceful. We enjoyed the opportunity to watch the Eddie Aikua - and waves in excess of 55 feet! We traveled all over the island and were able to come home and prepare a nice home cooked meal! Convenient grocery store at the bottom of the hill. We explored the beaches and swam with turtles! We spent a few nights in Waikiki before traveling to our North Shore property and it was a terrific break from the over crowded city! The owners were very accomodating and even allowed us to drop off our bags and groceries four hours before our check in time!!! Thank you for sharing your property!

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo-Thank You!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Honolulu
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Proud Peacock or Turtle Bay Resort's Surfer Bar
Nearest Golf
11 Miles
Turtle bay Resort or Kahuku Public Beach
Nearest Restaurant
1.6 Miles
Lunch trucks. Haleiwa Town. Waimea Valley
Nearest Beach
1.6 Miles
1.6 miles down hill
Car: necessary

Great Weekly Farmers markets. Call Marlu for updates on events.

Shark swimming is the BIG must do on North Shore!

AND Do not miss the Pupukea Heiau or Waiamea Falls and Valley just down the hill. Waiamea Beach rock jump also a must do..!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Haleiwa House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$195
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $55 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100 + Tax
Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 13.96%

$195 night for 2 people Only/ $50 a night extra for adults 18 years or older. A completed contract and billing will put reservation into pending until fees are received.
50% down to confirm reservation. Balance due 60 days prior to check in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Haleiwa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Double Beds (1) In loft, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Futon Couch
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Call Marlu for updated Farmer Markets and Events. 808-637-2211

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties