Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Location, Location: Renovated Cottage in the Heart of Historic Downtown Beaufort

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4), High Celings, Tile floors, Bright

Welcome to the Cottage by the Historic Arsenal! Located at 404 Scott Street. This 2 BR/1.5BA was renovated in 2010. This cottage was our weekend home until we purchased a larger home for our family that is also Downtown. Walking distance to everything, you can park your car and never need it again until you leave downtown Beaufort. 40 steps from Beaufort Visitor Center (the Historic Arsenal). Very quiet. Bright and Clean. Great area. Since you do not know the area or location, we have added pictures on all sides and behind the house so that you can see how great the surroundings are, no surprises!

1 block away from great restaurants, 1 block from Beaufort Day Spa,

2 blocks from Bay Street and the beautiful Waterfront Park, and 2 blocks from the Historic Old Point neighborhood with beautiful AnteBellum Mansions. The cottage is beautifully furnished with 2 Queen beds and a living room with drop leaf table and comfortable leather couch. One bathroom has a shower (no tub). The other bathroom is an extra large half bath. The kitchenette includes a Microwave, Keurig coffee machine with K-Cup supplies and small Refrigerator and Granite Countertop. This is not a cooking kitchen. The entire cottage is beautifully tiled throughout with Central Air and Heat. Private bricked courtyard off Master Bedroom. The master bed is made of antique pine , armoire, two side tables, lamps, and ceiling fan with lights and two ceiling can lights.

The second bedroom has a comfortable queen bed, with a antique pine dresser and built in reading lamps on the wall, and two can lights overhead.

The house is a 1950's RENOVATED BLOCK cottage, drywall over block, high ceilings, all new: electrical, plumbing and windows.

Great area. Location Location Location.

The surrounding homes are mostly owner occupied, not short term rental.

You can park right in front of the cottage.

We are very careful about pest control and cleanliness, and have contracted with a national pest control company.

Across the street is a small Historic synagogue and next to that is the Methodist Church. The cottage is on a one way street, which is extremely quiet and safe.

Parking can be on street, or in the grass lot right before the cottage.

The house has 9 foot ceilings and the master has a vaulted ceiling.

*****FREE WIFI WIRELESS and ~100 channels on the CABLE TV.*****

Keywords: House, Bungalow

More Details

Charlie Calvert
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2018

About Charlie Calvert

My wife and I are native South Carolinians. We live in Beaufort about a mile from the Cottage.We are available if you need anything as we are owner/managers. Beaufort is becoming a retirement destination and we are thrilled that many of our guests want to move here!

Charlie Calvert purchased this cottage in 2007

Why Charlie Calvert chose Historic District

This is our personal guest cottage used by family and friends for overflow from our home. Many family and friends inquired about having friends stay there after enjoying Downtown Beaufort so much, so we decided to make it available.

There are VERY few properties as close to the waterfront as this property.

It is on a one way street, very quiet, upscale furnishings, residential feel, in an urban setting. The cottage is like a hotel suite, small kitchen area for coffee, microwave, bar fridge and sink. There is no washer and dryer, this is like a hotel suite.

What makes this cottage unique

Fully refundable deposit for any Parris Island Marine Family that needs to cancel.

Awesome, downtown location. This cottage is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and historical attractions. You can see the Historic Arsenal, now the Beaufort Visitors Center, from the front door! Convenient to Paris Island for graduations.


Historic District Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
  • No smoking No Pets
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • FULL Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , PRIVATE access to Full bathroom from both bedrooms.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , LARGE, private half bath in front bedroom.
  • 1.5 I full bath, with shower very Large private half bath, great for two couples
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Front Bedroom - 1 queen , Private Half Bath, venietian tile floors, chest of drawers.
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Antique Pine Bed, venetian tile floor, access to patio.
  • Queen size Bed in each bedroom
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Beaufort day spa is one block away on same street 8434707777 Close Walking distance to restaurants , art galleries, and waterfront park. Visit Hunting Island state park beach, 20 minutes away. 2 Blocks from Bay, park your car and never need it while in Beaufort. Safe area, The house is withing a few steps from the Historic Arsenal, visitor center. The Arsenal is the home to the visitor center, the chamber of commerce and the Beaufort History Museum. Bagel restaurant, Day Spa, and the Famous Lowcountry Produce Restaurant ( products featured on Oprah) a block away .This cottage is owner operated by a professor and his wife, and is located in a unique block that is close to the business district, but surrounded by private homes, and churches. Great family location, perfect for getaways, walk to restaurants!


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(164 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Location, Location: Renovated Cottage in the Heart of Historic Downtown Beaufort
average rating of 4.8292685 based on 164 reviews
Mount pleasant

Cottage at the Arsenal

  • 5 of 5

We love this cottage! It is so close to Bay Street and all the restaurants. Will definitely return.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

cute...Great location

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was cute and clean. The location was Great. It was within walking distance of most everything. Charlie, was very helpful and responsive.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sanford, NC

Lots of potential

  • 4 of 5

The good: cute cottage in a great location. Easy walk to lots of shops and restaurants. Convienant to Parris Island. Very comfortable beds. Having two bathrooms is a plus. Owner was super friendly and responsive via text/calls/etc. Neighborhood was safe and quiet.

Room for improvement: the “patio” is in need of repair. Paved with old bricks that have been pushed up by tree roots. Full of leaves and debris. A snake haven! The picture of the parking area behind the patio was misleading to me. You can’t park back there and, if you do, the neighbor WILL come knocking on the door. Even though the ad for the cottage says you can park in the grass lot next door, there are signs that say you will be towed. After 5pm on weekdays, it is easy to get free parking directly in front of the cottage. Otherwise, you will have to find paid parking nearby (most are limited to 2 hours). There were lots of light bulbs burnt out (including the front door, back patio, and master bathroom). I’m sure if I had called, the owner would have came right over...but we just worked around it. There is no coffee provided (I assumed there would be kcups based on the photo). Lastly, the couch in the living room has been swapped out for an old leather couch (was comfortable...just different from the pics provided).

The owner generously brought us a cooler by so we could store ice (freezer section of the mini fridge has collapsed so there’s no room for ice trays).

All-in-all, I would rent this place again ... but as a first time guest, was a bit disappointed. However, as stated, the homeowner seems to genuinely want his renters to enjoy their stay and I’m sure the issues I’ve mentioned will be addressed and resolved.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! I appreciate the rating of 4 stars. I am glad you liked the cottage, but will also respond to the concerns below. There are extra K cups coffee in the breakfront, I do wish you had called me, and I am soooo sorry you could not find them. The back patio is made up of historic brick and is uneven due to trees, I am sorry there were leaves in that back area, that is unacceptable and they should have been picked up. The picture of "behind the house" was to show guests a view of all angles. Front , side and back. Many of our guests are elderly and want to see the view of the house from all sides for safety reasons. I apologize for any confusion and will put a caption on the picture that you cant park behind, When you called me about parking in that neighbors driveway, you realized that the description does not say park behind the house and that you read it incorrectly . Thanks for letting me know about the lights, as you said, I would have gladly come by to address any that were burned out. Thank you for letting us know that the picture of the sofa on-line is cloth and that the one in the house is leather. We changed out the sofa after it was stained for a leather one. I thought the picture was updated. We do our best to ensure a comfortable, safe, and affordable experience and really appreciate your feedback! I really enjoyed meeting you and thank you for letting me know your concerns. sincerely, charlie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

It was NOT Pristine!! And it was NOT clean as advertised!!!! And I have pictures!

  • 1 of 5

There is NO parking for the cottage. The was no coffee provided as advertised, and the cups provided were dirty and chipped! The corners of the floor are black with undisturbed dirt. There was exposed cable wires from the front door to the guest bedroom with at least 8 feet of cable wadded up under the chair which is dangerous for someone to trip over!. The air vent in the ceiling has a hole next to it allowing cold air from the attic! We were provided only 2 towels each for a planned 3 night stay. The lamps and overhead lighting did not have light bulbs - there wasn't enough light and the cottage had low watt bulbs. The door did not bolt shut. The refrigerator freezer hasn't been cleaned or defrosted in a LONG time. There are only hooks to hang clothes - no closets. It was extremely cold outside and the cottage thermostat didn't work. Additionally, only 1 blanket was provided and there are two bedrooms. STRONGLY recommend seeing this cottage BEFORE renting it. In order to submit the review at least one star must be checked - I give it a zero!!

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I wish this guest had waited for housekeeping to finish before entering the cottage prior to stated check-in time- housekeeping was cleaning and interrupted. I will respond to the concerns below: 1)Extra -K-Cup Coffee is located in the Breakfront, Two chipped coffee cups were found and replaced. 2)The tile floors are clean.3)The house has an ADT Monitored fire alarm, Internet Wi-fi and Cable Television. All cables originate in spare bedroom, where the Jack is located. All cables are secure, safe and pictures have been added to this listing to show guests.4)The air vent has been secured/repaired.5)There is no limit to towels, extra towels in Armoire, and owners closet, spoke with guest on numerous occasions my wife even stopped, no mention to us about towels or coffee.6)The can lights in all rooms were retrofitted on 2/15/2018-they have built in bulbs that last approximately 15 years- bulbs do go out every now and then and this will solve that problem and increase brightness. A picture of one of the NEW Can lights was uploaded. I wish we could have scheduled this upgrade prior this guests arrival. 7)The front door dead bolt does lock and shut. The front door handle also locks properly. The salt air can make it a "sticky" at times, we keep W-D 40 on hand to loosen. This cottage is VERY safe, has properly locking doors and a monitored alarm system.8)The former Galley Fridge did get ice build up in the Freezer, we replaced it with a frost free model on 2/18/2018. 9)There is a clothes rack, and extra blankets in armoire. 10)The Thermostat and Heat work properly. During this guests stay, the low was 37 degrees, yes it was COLD for South Carolina! As stated in the advertisement, parking is busy on the street in front of the cottage up until about 4. I am sorry this guest did not like the cottage, the reviews tell a story of happy, satisfied and repeat customers. This guest did ask to leave early, and I was happy to give them an immediate refund for the night they did not stay. Our goal is to ensure that our guests have an exceptional experience! When and if an issue arises, we respond promptly and courteously and do everything in our power to fix any issue that may arise.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Great location!

  • 4 of 5

Charlie was very friendly and helpful. The cottage was just the right size for us and having 2 bathrooms was great. We loved the shower - very hot and strong! Very clean, comfortable bed and the location couldn't be beat! We just loved Beaufort and will be back again. Great central location to visit Savannah and Charleston also!

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed the cottage! Thank you so much for staying with us, happy new year, sincerely Charlie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Louisville KY

Location, location, location

  • 5 of 5

This is a cute little spot right in the middle of everything. No kitchen (microwave/coffee maker/bar fridge) but head down not quite two blocks to Blackstone"s and do it up for breakfast southern style. Charlie was very easy to deal with - so much so I never actually met him. If the circumstances arise again I'd stay here in a heart beat.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you David, I am so glad you enjoyed the cottage! I do hope you can come to Beaufort and stay at the cottage again! Happy New Year! Sincerely, Charlie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Chocolate Tree
"Great local candy company! "
Waterfront Park
"Walk to the Beautiful Waterfront Park from this cottage. Take a right on Scott street from t..."
St. Helena's Episcopal Church
"Visit history within a short walk to this cottage."
Panini's on the Waterfront
"Casual lunch and dinner, waterfront dining. "
Beaufort's Kayak Tours
"Always fun to enjoy the waterways here in Beaufort!"
Carolina Buggy Tours
"These tours allow you to experience first hand one of the largest historic districts in the ..."
Nearest Point of Interest
Visitor Center
Nearest Point of Interest
Waterfront Park
Nearest Point of Interest

This cottage is perfectly situated to get out and enjoy the day in beautiful Downtown Beaufort and the Waterfront Park. Have breakfast at the Palm and Moon Bagel or Blackstone Cafe, both on the same one way street as the cottage.

At night, walk down Scott Street to Bay Street and have your choice of waterfront dining. ( Plums, Saltus, Panini's ) .

After dinner, sit on the water front swings and relax on the Bayfront. Then walk back to the cottage- no parking necessary.

Shop on walkable Bay Street- Jewelry, Gifts, Clothing, Outfitters- to name a few.

You may also walk one block over ( East) and cross Carteret Street to take a walkable tour of the Old Point- home to AnteBellum homes, and the setting for movies such as Forest Gump, The Great Santini, The Big Chill and other movies. Beaufort Day Spa is just one block away @ 304 Scott Street. The Historic Arsenal that houses the Visitor Center can be seen from the front door, and is open every day. Please stop in and ask the staff for recommendations about Beaufort!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $65
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties